Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a conveying module, a carriage module, a recycling mechanism, a recycling driving module, in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsien (WO2022167857A1) in view of Zheng (CN212399026U).
Regarding claim 1, Hsien discloses a recycling device adapted for recycling a solar panel of a solar cell module (abstract and pages 4-5), comprising:
a frame mechanism defining a recycling zone therein (figs.1-2: the frame of the apparatus having the recycling zone at elements (3)); and
a carriage module (fig.2: (2)) that is disposed in the recycling zone, the carriage module being adapted for carrying a pending section of the solar panel (fig.2: (10)) that is located in the recycling zone, and being operable to urge the pending section of the solar panel to abut thereagainst (page 5 lines 10-13 and page 10 lines 16-24); and
a recycling mechanism (fig.2: (3)) mounted to the frame mechanism, and including at least one recycling module that is operable to conduct a physical recycling process for recycling the solar panel (page 5 lines 14-18), and
a recycling driving module (fig.2: (4)) that is connected to the at least one recycling module (page 6 lines 4-11 and page 8 line 26-page 9 line 12), the at least one recycling module being operable to move from a cutter-retraction position, in which the at least one recycling module is distal from the carriage module, to a cutter-extension position, in which the at least one recycling module is proximate to the carriage module and abuts against the pending section of the solar panel, when the at least one recycling module is in the cutter-extension position (fig.2; page 6 lines 4-11 and page 8 line 26-page 9 line 12: the vertical driving mechanism (42) of the drive device for moving the element (3) between a retraction position to an extension position),
the recycling driving module being operable to drive the at least one recycling module to move in a processing direction so that the at least one recycling module is further movable between a first position and a second position to conduct the physical recycling process for recycling the pending section of the solar panel (fig.2; page 6 lines 4-11 and page 8 line 26-page 9 line 12: the drive device (4) move the elements (3) in three dimensional space “corresponding a processing direction”).
Hsien does not disclose a feeding mechanism mounted to the frame mechanism, and including a conveying module that is operable to convey the solar panel through the recycling zone.
Zheng teaches a recycling device adapted for recycling a solar panel of a solar cell module (paragraphs 0004 and 0033-0034), comprising:
a feeding mechanism (fig.1: (10)) mounted to a frame mechanism, and including a conveying module that is operable to convey the solar panel through the recycling zone (paragraph 0034).
Both of the prior arts of Hsien and Zheng are related to a recycling device;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Hsien to have a feeding mechanism mounted to the frame mechanism, and including a conveying module that is operable to convey the solar panel through the recycling zone as taught by Zheng, since it has been held that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results requires only routine skill in the art. [KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)].
Regarding claim 2, Hsien discloses wherein the carriage module has a plurality of suction holes that open toward the pending section of the solar panel, and is operable to discharge air in the recycling zone via the suction holes at negative air pressure so that the pending section of the solar panel is urged to abut against the carriage module (page 5 lines 10-13 and page 10 lines 16-24).
Therefore, the modification of Hsien in view of Zheng teaches the limitations of claim 2.
Regarding claims 3-9, Hsien in view of Zheng does not discloses the limitations of claims 3-9;
However, Hsien discloses a recycling mechanism (fig.2: (3)) mounted to the frame mechanism, and including at least one recycling module that is operable to conduct a physical recycling process for recycling the solar panel (page 5 lines 14-18); and a recycling driving module (fig.2: (4)) that is connected to the at least one recycling module (page 6 lines 4-11 and page 8 line 26-page 9 line 12), the at least one recycling module being operable to move from a cutter-retraction position, in which the at least one recycling module is distal from the carriage module, to a cutter-extension position, in which the at least one recycling module is proximate to the carriage module and abuts against the pending section of the solar panel, when the at least one recycling module is in the cutter-extension position (fig.2; page 6 lines 4-11 and page 8 line 26-page 9 line 12: the vertical driving mechanism (42) of the drive device for moving the element (3) between a retraction position to an extension position),
the recycling driving module being operable to drive the at least one recycling module to move in a processing direction so that the at least one recycling module is further movable between a first position and a second position to conduct the physical recycling process for recycling the pending section of the solar panel (fig.2; page 6 lines 4-11 and page 8 line 26-page 9 line 12: the drive device (4) move the elements (3) in three dimensional space “corresponding a processing direction”).
So, it appears both of the configurations of the Applicant’s disclosure and the prior art of Hsien in view of Zheng lead to the same result of operation of the recycling device; Thus, having the features of claims 3-9 would have resulted from routine engineering practices and it therefore not patentable and would be obvious because there is no unexpected result;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have the features of claims 3-9, as a matter of routine engineering design choice.
Regarding claim 10, Zheng teaches wherein the conveying module includes a feed conveying unit and a discharge conveying unit that are spaced apart from each other and that are disposed on two opposite sides of the carriage module in a conveying direction (paragraph 0034: convoying rollers (12)), the feed conveying unit being operable to convey the solar panel in the conveying direction, the discharge conveying unit being operable to convey a remainder section of the solar panel in the conveying direction (paragraphs 0010 and 000034).
Therefore, the modification of Hsien in view of Zheng teaches the limitations of claim 10.
Regarding claim 11, Zheng teaches wherein the discharge conveying unit is adapted for pressing a top portion and a bottom portion of the remainder section of the solar panel to hold the remainder section while conveying the remainder section in the conveying direction, the feed conveying unit being adapted for pressing a top portion and a bottom portion of the solar panel to hold the solar panel while conveying the solar panel in the conveying direction (paragraphs 0014, 0033-0034).
Therefore, the modification of Hsien in view of Zheng teaches the limitations of claim 11.
Hsien in view of Zheng does not disclose a speed at which the discharge conveying unit conveys the remainder section of the solar panel being greater than a speed at which the feed conveying unit conveys the solar panel;
However, it is very known in art to control the discharging speed with respect to the feeding speed in order to maintain stability and product quality. If the feeding speed is greater than the discharge/processing capacity, the system can become overloaded, leading to:
Material blockages or plugging.
Off-spec or poor-quality products.
Increased power consumption and wear on equipment.
Potential system failure and downtime
Therefore, Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to select a speed at which the discharge conveying unit conveys the remainder section of the solar panel being greater than a speed at which the feed conveying unit conveys the solar panel in order to prevent material blockages or plugging.
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsien (WO2022167857A1) in view of Zheng (CN212399026U) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Houde (US5211280A).
Zheng teaches wherein the feeding mechanism further includes a feeding guide module that is adapted for carrying the solar panel and for guiding the solar panel to the conveying module in a conveying direction (paragraphs 0033-0034 and fig.1: the element (1) is convoyed and guided),
Hsien in view of Zheng does not disclose an orientation module, the orientation module being operable to push two opposite sides of the solar panel in the processing direction when the solar panel is carried by the feeding guide module for adjusting orientation of the solar panel; and wherein the orientation module includes an orientation rail unit that is elongated in the processing direction, two orientation seats that are mounted to the orientation rail unit and that are movable relative to the orientation rail unit in the processing direction, and an orientation driving unit that interconnects the orientation seats, the orientation driving unit being operable to drive the orientation seats to move toward each other along the orientation rail unit, thereby pushing the opposite sides of the solar panel in the processing direction.
Houde teaches an orientation module includes an orientation rail unit (fig.1: (2) and (4)) that is elongated in a processing direction, two orientation seats (fig.1: (20)) that are mounted to the orientation rail unit and that are movable relative to the orientation rail unit in the processing direction, and an orientation driving unit (fig.3: (30)) that interconnects the orientation seats, the orientation driving unit being operable to drive the orientation seats to move toward each other along the orientation rail unit (col.2 last 11 lines-col.4);
Both of the prior arts of Zheng and Houde are related to a conveyer;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Hsien in view of Zheng to have an orientation module includes an orientation rail unit (and (4)) that is elongated in a processing direction, two orientation seats that are mounted to the orientation rail unit and that are movable relative to the orientation rail unit in the processing direction, and an orientation driving unit (that interconnects the orientation seats, the orientation driving unit being operable to drive the orientation seats to move toward each other along the orientation rail unit as taught by Houde, since it has been held that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results requires only routine skill in the art. [KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)]. Thereby having an orientation module, the orientation module being operable to push two opposite sides of the solar panel in the processing direction when the solar panel is carried by the feeding guide module for adjusting orientation of the solar panel; and wherein the orientation module includes an orientation rail unit that is elongated in the processing direction, two orientation seats that are mounted to the orientation rail unit and that are movable relative to the orientation rail unit in the processing direction, and an orientation driving unit that interconnects the orientation seats, the orientation driving unit being operable to drive the orientation seats to move toward each other along the orientation rail unit, thereby pushing the opposite sides of the solar panel in the processing direction.
Conclusion
/MOHAMMED S. ALAWADI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725