DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1-20 are rejected below.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 11, and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities: Each acronym should be spelled out at least once in each claim set. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 4-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Boardman (U.S. PG Pub. 2016/0179120).
As to claims 1, 11, and 16, Boardman teaches a method comprising: measuring PDU output port power values of PDU output ports that distribute power to a plurality of loads over time [0037 In an aspect, in each tier, there can be a power system balance component (PSBC) that can be associated with the DNNC component of that tier and can monitor power system balance, such as load phase balance, associated with multi-phase power distribution for that tier, and detect power system imbalances in that tier.]; performing pattern recognition on the PDU output port power values over time to produce recognized power patterns The PSBC can analyze information relating to a detected power system imbalance and can identify (e.g., automatically) a power balance correction action that can rectify or compensate for the imbalance in that portion of the tier of the multi-tier hierarchical EDN, wherein a power balance correction action can comprise, for example, switching (e.g., automatically or dynamically) certain loads (e.g., consumer consumption nodes (CCNs) (e.g., homes or businesses consuming power) connected to that portion of the tier of the EDN from a transmission line of one phase to a transmission line of another phase of the multi-phase power transmission lines to restore balance between phases of the multi-phase power for that portion of the tier, isolate a node or component that is at least partially causing the power system imbalance from other nodes and components in the EDN to facilitate restoring balance between phases of the multi-phase power for that portion of the tier, respectively adjust voltage or current amplitude of the respective transmission lines of the phases of the multi-phase power, send notifications relating to the power system imbalance to desired locations (e.g., CCN, another DNNC component, etc.) or entities (e.g., utility repairman) to provide information regarding the power system imbalance and/or request that a manual power system correction action be performed, and/or filter out undesired (e.g., harmful) harmonics associated with the multi-phase power.]; creating switching rules based on the recognized power patterns to provide input phase load balancing, wherein the switching rules include at least one of (i) predicted output port power values for a periodic time interval, or (ii) predicted output port power values based on the measured PDU output port power values associated with the loads [ 0101 The predefined control criteria can comprise predefined power distribution criteria (and corresponding predefined power distribution rules) can relate to, for example, maximization of net consumption of power at the lower level of the hierarchy, minimization of requesting or demanding power be transferred from a higher level in the hierarchy to the lower level, minimization of the imbalance in the multi-phase power, minimization of harmonic level in the multi-phase power, minimization of interference in the multi-phase power, number of tiers in the multi-tier EDN, type of load (e.g., resistive load, resistive-capacitive load, resistive-inductive load) connected to the multi-phase power, respective number of power control components or node controller components in respective tiers of the multi-tier EDN, maximum amount of power that can be received by the PDS at a given time, maximum amount of power that can be distributed at a given time by the PDS, maximum operating temperature of the PDS, power distribution control information or rules received from a higher level (e.g., higher level DNNC), available local power from local power sources in the lower level, expected or predicted future power demands in the lower tier, consumer agreements relating to power distribution for CCNs in the lower level, etc.]; and switching input phases that connect to one or more PDU output ports based on the switching rules[0101].
As to claims 4, 12 and 17, Boardman teaches wherein the measuring the PDU output port power values of the PDU output ports that distribute power to the plurality of loads over time further comprises measuring current using respective current sensors coupled to each of the PDU output ports for providing a measured current signal for each of the respective loads[0043 current sensors for monitoring of parameters for control of power distribution].
As to claims 5, 13 and 18, Boardman teaches wherein the performing pattern recognition on the PDU output port power values over time to produce recognized power patterns further comprises: performing pattern recognition on the PDU output port power values to recognize differing power utilization of one or more PDU output ports that last for at least a threshold period of time that change three-phase input load balancing[0120].
As to claims 6, 14 and 19, Boardman teaches wherein the performing pattern recognition on the PDU output port power values over time to produce recognized power patterns further comprises: performing pattern recognition on the PDU output port power values to identify periodic times of differing power utilization of one or more loads of at least a threshold period of time that change three-phase input load balancing[0120].
As to claims 7, 15 and 20 Boardman teaches wherein the creating switching rules based on the recognized power patterns to provide input phase load balancing further comprises: identifying predicted differing power utilization of one or more PDU output ports at predicted periodic times that change three-phase input load balancing[0101, 0120].
As to claim 8, Boardman teaches wherein the creating switching rules based on the recognized power patterns to provide input phase load balancing further comprises: identifying predicted output port power values, of one or more PDU output ports, that change three-phase input load balancing[0120].
As to claim 9, Boardman teaches wherein the switching input phases that connect to one or more PDU output ports based on the switching rules further comprises: switching the input phases that connect to one or more PDU output ports a set time before the predicted periodic time interval of the differing output port power values of a differing power utilization[0037, 0120, expected power imbalance].
As to claim 10, Boardman teaches wherein the switching input phases that connect to one or more PDU output ports based on the switching rules further comprises: switching the input phases that connect to one or more PDU output ports for input phase load balancing based on predicted output port power values of differing power utilization predicted to last at least a threshold time interval[0037, 0120].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boardman (U.S. PG Pub. 2016/0179120) in view of Yang (U.S. Pat. 9,577,435).
Boardman teaches most of the claimed invention, but fails to explicitly teach that the three phase input power configurations are Delta of Wye configurations. However, this is a well-known and obvious configurations in the art as shown by Yang as follows:
As to claim 2, Yang teaches identifying a three phase input power configuration of a Delta-configuration input, or a Wye-configuration input (fig. 6 and 7).
As to claim 3, further comprising: configuring PDU output load switches, based on the Delta-configuration input, or the Wye-configuration input, wherein the PDU output load switches are used for the switching the input phases that connect to one or more PDU output ports (col. 14 lines 28-39).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date to include the teachings Yang to system and methods of Broadman. The motivation to combine is that Yang teaches broadly, it will be understood that the teachings herein exploit the model 44 to accommodate multi-phase, unbalanced distribution networks using detailed mathematical component models, such as Wye and/or Delta connected transformers (grounded or ungrounded), voltage dependent loads, and so on (col. 14 lines 28-39).
A reference to specific paragraphs, columns, pages, or figures in a cited prior artreference is not limited to preferred embodiments or any specific examples. It iswell settled that a prior art reference, in its entirety, must be considered for allthat it expressly teaches and fairly suggests to one having ordinary skill in theart. Stated differently, a prior art disclosure reading on a limitation of Applicant'sclaim cannot be ignored on the ground that other embodiments disclosed wereinstead cited. Therefore, the Examiner's citation to a specific portion of a singleprior art reference is not intended to exclusively dictate, but rather, todemonstrate an exemplary disclosure commensurate with the specificlimitations being addressed. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33,216 USPQ 1038,1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006,1009, 158 USPQ 275,277 (CCPA 1968)). In re: Upsher-Smith Labs. v. Pamlab, LLC, 412 F.3d 1319,1323, 75 USPQ2d 1213, 1215 (Fed. Cir. 2005); In re Fritch, 972 F.2d 1260, 1264, 23USPQ2d 1780, 1782 (Fed. Cir. 1992); Merck& Co. v. BiocraftLabs., Inc., 874 F.2d804, 807, 10 USPQ2d 1843, 1846 (Fed. Cir. 1989); In re Fracalossi, 681 F.2d792,794 n.1,215 USPQ 569, 570 n.1 (CCPA 1982); In re Lamberti, 545 F.2d 747,750, 192 USPQ 278, 280 (CCPA 1976); In re Bozek, 416 F.2d 1385, 1390, 163USPQ 545, 549 (CCPA 1969).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Wang (U.S. PG Pub. 2024/0275258) teaches monitoring for an overload condition within a group of loads and regulating voltage.
Lin (U.S. PG Pub. 2021/0325959) teaches a multi-power management system for distributing multiple types of power.
Dozier (U.S. PG Pub. 2017/0149243) teaches load balancing within a 3-phase system.
Haffner (U.S. PG Pub. 2025/00484580) teaches distributing power using a delta configuration.
Conclusion
/NATHAN L LAUGHLIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2119