DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 13-14, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Guy et al. US 2003/0147618.
Re claim 13, Guy et al. teach a laser beam dump assembly, comprising: at least one beam dump housing having at least one housing body having at least one passage formed therein (see the rejection of claim 1), wherein the at least one passage is sized to allow at least one incident laser beam to propagate therethrough therein (see the rejection of claim 1); at least one beam scattering member therein (see the rejection of claim 1) having at least one convex curvilinear scattering surface (concave portion is round on both side individually) configured to scatter or reflect at least a first portion of the at least one incident laser beam and allow a second portion of the at least one incident laser beam to be absorbed by the at least one scattering member as thermal energy (figs); and at least one heat sink (18) in thermal communication with the at least one beam scattering member.
Re claim 14, Guy et al. teach wherein the at least one convex curvilinear scattering surface has a shape selected from a group consisting of spherical shape, hemispherical shape, elliptical shape, oval shape, cylindrical shape, aspherical shape (fig 1).
Re claim 18, Guy et al. teach a laser beam dump assembly (10), comprising: at least one beam dump housing having at least one passage formed therein (see the rejection of claim 1), wherein the at least one passage is sized to allow at least one incident laser beam to propagate therethrough (see the rejection of claim 1); at least one beam scattering member having at least one convex curvilinear scattering surface (concave portion is round on both side individually) configured to scatter or reflect at least a first portion of the incident laser beam; and at least one heat sink (18) in thermal communication with the at least one beam scattering member (fig 1).
Re claim 19, Guy et al. teach wherein the at least one convex curvilinear beam scattering surface has a shape selected from a group consisting of spherical shape, hemispherical shape, elliptical shape, oval shape, cylindrical shape, aspherical shape (fig 1).
Re claim 20, Guy et al. teach wherein the at least one convex curvilinear scattering surface configured to allow a second portion of the incident laser beam to be absorbed by the at least one scattering member as thermal energy (fig 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guy et al. US 2003/0147618 Al in view of and Lu US 20220078944 A1.
Re claim 1, Guy et al. teach a laser beam dump assembly (10), comprising: at least one beam dump housing (exterior of ) having at least one housing body having at least one passage (14) formed therein, wherein the at least one passage is sized to allow at least one incident laser beam to propagate therethrough into at least one interior volume formed in the at least one housing body;
at least one beam scattering member (annotated fig ) having at least one convex curvilinear scattering surface configured to scatter or reflect at least a first portion of the at least one incident laser beam and allow a second portion of the incident laser beam to be absorbed by the at least one beam scattering member as thermal energy (para 16);
and at least one heat sink (18) coupled to the at least one beam dump housing and in thermal communication with the at least one beam scattering member, wherein the at least one heat sink is configured to absorb at least a portion of the thermal energy from the at least one beam scattering member,
wherein the at least one convex curvilinear scattering surface has a spherical shape (concave portion is round on both side individually).
Guy et al. fail to explicitly teach detachably.
Lu teach and at least one heat sink (para 17) detachably coupled to allow removable fins.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include detachably as taught by Lu in the Guy et al. invention in order to advantageously allow for helping air flow to flow smoothly through the combined heat-dissipating structure.
Re claim 2, Guy et al. teach wherein the at least one convex curvilinear scattering surface has a hemispherical shape (fig 1).
Re claim 3, Guy et al. teach wherein the at least one convex curvilinear scattering surface has an elliptical shape (fig 1, see the rejection of claim 1).
Re claim 4, Guy et al. teach wherein the at least one convex curvilinear scattering surface has an oval shape (fig 1, see the rejection of claim 1).
Re claim 5, Guy et al. teach wherein the at least one convex curvilinear scattering surface has a cylindrical shape (fig 1, see the rejection of claim 1).
Re claim 10, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to form the at least one beam scattering member is formed from a copper tungsten material for increased heat transfer, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as matter of obvious design choice. See MPEP 2144.07.
Re claim 11, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to form the at least one beam scattering member is formed from a tungsten carbide material for increased heat transfer, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as matter of obvious design choice. See MPEP 2144.07.
Claim(s) 7-9, 12, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guy et al. US 2003/0147618 Al in view of and Lu US 20220078944 A1 and KITANO US 20180017220 A1.
Re claim 7, Guy et al. , as modified, fail to explicitly teach ceramic.
KITANO teach wherein the at least one beam scattering member is formed from a ceramic material to make a reflector out of a known material (para 38).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include ceramic as taught by KITANO in the Guy et al. , as modified, invention in order to advantageously allow for heat resistance to be improved.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to form at least one beam scattering member is formed from a ceramic material for increased heat transfer and to use a specific ceramic known in the art, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as matter of obvious design choice. See MPEP 2144.07.
Re claim 8, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to form at least one beam scattering member is formed from a silicon carbide material (noting KITANO using ceramics) for increased heat transfer and to use a specific ceramic known in the art, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as matter of obvious design choice. See MPEP 2144.07.
Re claim 9, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to form wherein the at least one beam scattering member is formed from a silicon nitride material (noting KITANO using ceramics) for increased heat transfer and to use a specific ceramic known in the art, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as matter of obvious design choice. See MPEP 2144.07.
Re claim 12, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to form wherein the at least one beam scattering member is formed from a material selected from a group consisting of Aluminum Nitride (AlN), Boron Carbide (B4C), a Silicon Carbide/Boron Carbide ceramic composite (SiC/B4C), Zirconia (ZrO2), Zirconia-toughened Alumina (Zr-Al2O3), Alumina-toughened Zirconia (Al2O3-Zr), and machinable glass ceramic (noting KITANO using ceramics) for increased heat transfer and to use a specific ceramic known in the art, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as matter of obvious design choice. See MPEP 2144.07.
Re claim 21, Guy et al. , as modified, fail to explicitly teach ceramic.
KITANO teach wherein the at least one beam scattering member is formed from a ceramic material to make a reflector out of a known material (para 38).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include ceramic as taught by KITANO in the Guy et al. , as modified, invention in order to advantageously allow for heat resistance to be improved.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to form at least one beam scattering member is formed from a ceramic material for increased heat transfer and to use a specific ceramic known in the art, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as matter of obvious design choice. See MPEP 2144.07.
Claim(s) 15-17, 22-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guy et al. US 2003/0147618 Al in view of KITANO US 20180017220 A1.
Re claim 15, Guy et al. , as modified, fail to explicitly teach ceramic.
KITANO teach wherein the at least one beam scattering member is formed from a ceramic material to make a reflector out of a known material (para 38).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include ceramic as taught by KITANO in the Guy et al. , as modified, invention in order to advantageously allow for heat resistance to be improved.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to form at least one beam scattering member is formed from a ceramic material for increased heat transfer and to use a specific ceramic known in the art, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as matter of obvious design choice. See MPEP 2144.07.
Re claim 16, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to form the at least one beam scattering member is formed from a material selected from a group consisting of ceramic materials, silicon carbide materials, silicon nitride materials, copper tungsten materials, and tungsten carbide materials (noting KITANO using ceramics) for increased heat transfer and to use a specific ceramic known in the art, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as matter of obvious design choice. See MPEP 2144.07.
Re claim 17, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to form the at least one beam scattering member is formed from a material selected from a group consisting of Aluminum Nitride (AlN), Boron Carbide (B4C), a Silicon Carbide/Boron Carbide ceramic composite (SiC/B4C), Zirconia (ZrO2), Zirconia-toughened Alumina (Zr-Al2O3), Alumina-toughened Zirconia (Al2O3-Zr), and machinable glass ceramic (noting KITANO using ceramics) for increased heat transfer and to use a specific ceramic known in the art, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as matter of obvious design choice. See MPEP 2144.07.
Re claim 22, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to form the at least one beam scattering member is formed from a material selected from a group consisting of ceramic materials, silicon carbide materials, silicon nitride materials, copper tungsten materials, and tungsten carbide materials (noting KITANO using ceramics) for increased heat transfer and to use a specific ceramic known in the art, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as matter of obvious design choice. See MPEP 2144.07.
Re claim 23, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to form the at least one beam scattering member is formed from a material selected from a group consisting of Aluminum Nitride (AlN), Boron Carbide (B4C), a Silicon Carbide/Boron Carbide ceramic composite (SiC/B4C), Zirconia (ZrO2), Zirconia-toughened Alumina (Zr-Al2O3), Alumina-toughened Zirconia (Al2O3-Zr), and machinable glass ceramic (noting KITANO using ceramics) for increased heat transfer and to use a specific ceramic known in the art, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as matter of obvious design choice. See MPEP 2144.07.
Claim(s) 7-9, 12, 16-17, 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guy et al. US 2003/0147618 Al .
Re claim 7, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to form at least one beam scattering member is formed from a ceramic material for increased heat transfer and to use a specific ceramic known in the art, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as matter of obvious design choice. See MPEP 2144.07.
Re claim 8, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to form at least one beam scattering member is formed from a silicon carbide material for increased heat transfer and to use a specific ceramic known in the art, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as matter of obvious design choice. See MPEP 2144.07.
Re claim 9, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to form wherein the at least one beam scattering member is formed from a silicon nitride material for increased heat transfer and to use a specific ceramic known in the art, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as matter of obvious design choice. See MPEP 2144.07.
Re claim 12, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to form wherein the at least one beam scattering member is formed from a material selected from a group consisting of Aluminum Nitride (AlN), Boron Carbide (B4C), a Silicon Carbide/Boron Carbide ceramic composite (SiC/B4C), Zirconia (ZrO2), Zirconia-toughened Alumina (Zr-Al2O3), Alumina-toughened Zirconia (Al2O3-Zr), and machinable glass ceramic for increased heat transfer and to use a specific ceramic known in the art, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as matter of obvious design choice. See MPEP 2144.07.
Re claim 16, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to form the at least one beam scattering member is formed from a material selected from a group consisting of ceramic materials, silicon carbide materials, silicon nitride materials, copper tungsten materials, and tungsten carbide materials for increased heat transfer and to use a specific ceramic known in the art, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as matter of obvious design choice. See MPEP 2144.07.
Re claim 17, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to form the at least one beam scattering member is formed from a material selected from a group consisting of Aluminum Nitride (AlN), Boron Carbide (B4C), a Silicon Carbide/Boron Carbide ceramic composite (SiC/B4C), Zirconia (ZrO2), Zirconia-toughened Alumina (Zr-Al2O3), Alumina-toughened Zirconia (Al2O3-Zr), and machinable glass ceramic for increased heat transfer and to use a specific ceramic known in the art, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as matter of obvious design choice. See MPEP 2144.07.
Re claim 21, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to form at least one beam scattering member is formed from a ceramic material for increased heat transfer and to use a specific ceramic known in the art, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as matter of obvious design choice. See MPEP 2144.07.
Re claim 22, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to form the at least one beam scattering member is formed from a material selected from a group consisting of ceramic materials, silicon carbide materials, silicon nitride materials, copper tungsten materials, and tungsten carbide materials for increased heat transfer and to use a specific ceramic known in the art, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as matter of obvious design choice. See MPEP 2144.07.
Re claim 23, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to form the at least one beam scattering member is formed from a material selected from a group consisting of Aluminum Nitride (AlN), Boron Carbide (B4C), a Silicon Carbide/Boron Carbide ceramic composite (SiC/B4C), Zirconia (ZrO2), Zirconia-toughened Alumina (Zr-Al2O3), Alumina-toughened Zirconia (Al2O3-Zr), and machinable glass ceramic for increased heat transfer and to use a specific ceramic known in the art, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as matter of obvious design choice. See MPEP 2144.07.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that the prior art fail to teach a “convex curvilinear scattering surface”. The examiner respectfully disagrees. If on were to half a half circle shape, on one side of the half circle the circle is hollowed or rounded inward like the inside of a bowl, and on the other side of the circle the circle is curved or rounded outward like the exterior of a sphere or circle. Therefore, whether an item is convex or concave can be relative. In the instant case Guy et al. teach “at least one beam scattering member having at least one convex curvilinear scattering surface” since relative to the right side, there are two circular shapes which are “curved or rounded outward like the exterior of a sphere or circle” and meet at a central point (“member” in annotated figure above). Therefore, the broad limitation “at least one beam scattering member having at least one convex curvilinear scattering surface” is met by the prior art of Guy. The Merriam definition of ‘convex’ is “curved or rounded outward like the exterior of a sphere or circle”.
Applicant argues the claims dependent on the independent claim(s) are allowable based upon their dependence from an independent claim. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 13, 18 have been addressed above. Thus, the rejections are proper and remain.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GORDON A JONES/Examiner, Art Unit 3763