DETAILED ACTION
Withdrawn Rejections
Any rejections made in the previous Office Action mailed on 9/22/2025 and not repeated below are hereby withdrawn due to Applicant's amendment filed on 1/21/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Krassowski et al. (US 2008/0131756) [hereinafter Krassowski].
Regarding claim 22, Krassowski discloses a micro-textured flexible graphite material comprising an array of features (40 or 42) formed on at least a portion of at least one major surface thereof (Figs. 1-2; paragraphs [0011-0013]), wherein at least one dimension (depth) of the array of features is less than 100 µm (0.1 mm), since the depth is about 0.1 mm (paragraph [0042]), wherein the micro-textured flexible graphite material comprises a flow field plate comprising flow channels (Figs. 1-2; paragraphs [0024-0025]), and wherein the array of features is within the flow channels (Figs. 1-2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21 and 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krassowski et al. (US 2008/0131756) [hereinafter Krassowski].
Regarding claim 21, Krassowski discloses a micro-textured flexible graphite material comprising an array of features (40 or 42) formed on at least a portion of at least one major surface thereof (Figs. 1-2; paragraphs [0011-0013]), wherein the micro-textured flexible graphite material is formed into a component of a fuel cell and comprises a flow field plate comprising flow channels (Figs. 1-2; paragraphs [0024-0025]), and wherein the array of features is within the flow channels (Figs. 1-2), and wherein at least one dimension (depth) of the array of features is less than 100 µm (0.1 mm), since the depth is about 0.1 mm (paragraph [0042]).
Krassowski fails to specifically teach the spacing between the array of features being less than 100 µm.
Krassowski teaches the dimensions and separation of the features (grooves and ridges) can depend on many factors, and are primarily based on the engineering of the fuel cell plate is destined to be used in (paragraph [0042]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the spacing between the array of features in Krassowski to be less than 100 µm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.05 (II).
It is to be pointed out that claim 21 defines the product by how the product was made. The limitations “said method comprising embossing" and “using a roller embosser patterned with the array of features or die patterned with the array of features” are deemed process limitations. Thus, claim 21 is a product-by-process claim. For purposes of examination, product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulation of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. See MPEP 2113. In the present case, the recited step implies forming an array of patterned features on a surface of a flexible graphite material. As shown above, Krassowski suggests such a product. The method of forming the product is not germane to the issue of patentability of the product itself. MPEP 2113.
Regarding claim 23, Krassowski teaches a lateral dimension (depth) of the array of features being less than 100 µm (0.1 mm), since the depth is about 0.1 mm (paragraph [0042]). However, Krassowski fails to specifically teach the spacing between the array of features being less than 100 µm. Krassowski teaches the dimensions and separation of the features (grooves and ridges) can depend on many factors, and are primarily based on the engineering of the fuel cell plate is destined to be used in (paragraph [0042]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the spacing between the array of features in Krassowski to be less than 100 µm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.05 (II).
Regarding claim 24, Krassowski teaches at least one dimension (depth) of the array of features being in a range between and inclusive of about 10 µm to about 100 µm, since the depth is about 0.1 mm (paragraph [0042]). However, Krassowski fails to specifically teach the spacing between the array of features being between and inclusive of about 10 µm to about 100 µm. Krassowski teaches the dimensions and separation of the features (grooves and ridges) can depend on many factors, and are primarily based on the engineering of the fuel cell plate is destined to be used in (paragraph [0042]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the spacing between the array of features in Krassowski to be between and inclusive of about 10 µm to about 100 µm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.05 (II).
Regarding claim 25, Krassowski fails to specifically teach the depth of the array of features being in the range between and inclusive of about 15 µm to about 50 µm, and the spacing between the array of features being in the range between and inclusive of about 15 µm to about 25 µm. Krassowski teaches the dimensions and separation of the features (grooves and ridges) can depend on many factors, and are primarily based on the engineering of the fuel cell plate is destined to be used in (paragraph [0042]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the spacing between the array of features in Krassowski to be between and inclusive of about 15 µm to about 25 µm and to modify the depth of the array of features in Krassowski to be in the range between and inclusive of about 15 µm to about 50 µm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.05 (II).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 1/21/2026, with respect to claims 21-25 have been considered, but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection and because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
CATHERINE A. SIMONE
Examiner
Art Unit 1781
/Catherine A. Simone/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781