DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed December 2, 2025. By that response, claims 1, 14, 18 and 19 were amended; claim 21 was newly presented; and claim 17 was canceled. Claims 1-8, 14, 16, and 18-21 are pending.
Response to Arguments
The outstanding objection to claim 1 is overcome by the amendment of December 2, 2025.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5, 7 and 8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The newly presented rejection is necessitated by the amendments to the claims of December 2, 2025.
Claim Objections
Claim 21 is objected to because of the following informalities: The claim teaches “a tool” at line 1 and “a tool” at line 5. Examiner understands this to be the same tool, but as written, it is not necessarily clear if this is the same tool or a different tool. Appropriate correction is required. Examiner suggests the second instance refer to “the tool”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 teaches “at least one cut slot or a sharp…” at line 2. Examiner is unclear what “a sharp” is intended to be. “Sharp” is a commonly used word, generally understood to be an adjective – such as “a sharp blade”. “A sharp” is also known to examiner to be a name for a sharp object in a surgical setting (e.g. a scalpel blade or a needle being disposed of in a sharps container). However, that second interpretation does not appear to apply here – a scalpel blade or needle would not appear to be capable of use in the disclosed fashion. Examiner respectfully requests clarification on this matter.
Examiner notes instant [0051] provides a list of sharp objects: “a sharp (e.g. a bone saw, rasp rongeur, knife, bone cutter, osteotome, curette, chisel, bone lever, forceps, drill, k-wire, tap, etc.)”. If applicant wishes to treat the term “a sharp” as a ‘specially defined term’ from his specification, he is permitted to do so, but must state so on the record, since the term ‘a sharp’ has a standard meaning which is not generally understood by this examiner to encompass all of the items of that list.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wasielwski (US 2004/0243148 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wasielwski teaches a system as in fig. 7 for positioning a tool 90 in surgery relative to a bone, the system comprising:
an implantable device 103 (at least temporarily implantable into the bone 106) having at least a first sensor 102 configured to collect first data regarding one or more characteristics of a bone of a patient [0064], wherein the implantable device 103 including the at least first sensor 102 is capable of being implanted in a medullary canal of the tibia with the at least first sensor 102 in the medullary canal (while demonstrated bone 106 is a femur, there is no reason that this device could not be inserted into a medullary canal of a properly sized and shaped tibia);
a tool 90/100;
a second sensor 92 configured to collect second data regarding at least an angle of the tool [0064]; and
a controller 96, communicatively coupled (via wireless receiver 98 and transmitters 94/104) to the first sensor 102 of the implantable device and the second sensor 92, the controller configured to [0064]:
determine a first position of the implantable device 103 from the first data;
determine an orientation of a landmark of the bone based at least in part on the first data (analysis of depth of the cut permits orientation of the tool 90 relative to a bone landmark – e.g. the area to be cut); and
determine an orientation for the tool 90/100 relative to the bone 106 based upon the second data and at least one of the orientation of the landmark and the first data [0064]. (It is noted that known position of 100 on the bone is also of importance in establishing the data to be derived about the relative positions of the components, and position of the landmark of the bone relative thereto).
Regarding claim 2, the tool 90/100 comprises at least one of a cut guide 100 having at least one cut slot (seen receiving the blade in fig. 7) configured to perform the resection of the proximal end portion of the bone 106.
Regarding claim 21, Wasielwski teaches a system at fig. 7 for positioning a tool 90 in surgery relative to a bone 106, the system comprising:
an implantable device 103 having a housing including at least a first sensor 102 configured to collect first data regarding one or more characteristics of a bone of a patient [0064], wherein the housing is configured for implantation in a medullary canal of the tibia (demonstrated in a femur in fig. 7; no reason it could not be implanted into a medullary canal of a properly sized and shaped tibia);
a tool 90;
a second sensor 92 configured to collect second data regarding at least an angle of the tool [0064]; and
a controller 96, communicatively coupled to the first sensor 102 of the implantable device and the second sensor 92 (through 98/104/94), the controller configured to:
determine a first position of the implantable device 103 from the first data;
determine an orientation of a landmark of the bone based at least in part on the first data (analysis of depth of the cut permits orientation of the tool 90 relative to a bone landmark – e.g. the area to be cut); and
determine an orientation for the tool 90 relative to the bone 106 based upon the second data and at least one of the orientation of the landmark and the first data [0064]. (It is noted that known position of 100 on the bone is also of importance in establishing the data to be derived about the relative positions of the components, and position of the landmark of the bone relative thereto).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wasielwski in view of Gilhooley et al. (US 2019/0083191 A1).
Regarding claims 3-5 and 8, Wasielwski teaches the limitations of claim 1, but fails to teach an adjustment mechanism operably coupled to the controller and configured to orient the tool relative to the bone at the behest of the controller.
Gilhooley teaches a cutting tool 30 and a controller 32 (used with a navigation system 13). The cutting tool 30 is carried by an adjustment mechanism 20 which is operably coupled to the controller 32 and orients the cutting tool 30 at the behest of the controller 32. (Surgeon operates the robotic arm with a haptic control and tracks various portions [0032], [0033]) The system permits five or six degrees of freedom. The tool can be moved along any variety of paths (tracks) under control of the controller.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to move the tool portion 90 of Wasielwski with an adjustment mechanism in the form of a robotic arm based on the Gilhooley teaching. One could have controlled the position of the components using the trackers of Wasielwski. One would have done so to relieve the surgeon from manual operation of the tool 90, and prevent human error such as tremor or over-deep driving of the tool 90 permitted by manual manipulation of the tool.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 14, 16, and 18-20 are allowed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID W BATES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799