DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-6, 8, and 10-14 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 5-8, filed on 10/10/2025, have been fully considered and are persuasive. In the light to the amendment to claims and the arguments filed on 10/10/2025, the previous rejections of claims 1-6, 8, and 10-13 have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejection for claims 1-6, 8 and 10-13 are presented below.
Claim 14 has not been amended. In addition, no arguments have been presented in regard to the rejection of claim 14. Therefore, the previously presented rejection of claim 14 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over DE 19730610 to Braun et al. in view of DE 2842771 to Lechmetall, and DE 202004020375 to RATIONAL AG et al. has been maintained.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 has been amended; however, the status of the claim is "Previously Presented".
All claims being currently amended in an amendment paper shall be presented in the claim listing, indicating a status of “Currently Amended”. Therefore, the status of claim 1 should be corrected to “Currently Amended”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 1020130029646 to Ji et al. (hereinafter “Ji”, see attached English translation) in view of DE 2842771 to Lechmetall (hereinafter “Lechmetall”), and in further view of KR 101334611 to Kim (hereinafter “Kim”, presented in the IDS filed on 11/14/2023, see attached English translation).
Regarding claim 1, Ji teaches an oven (see figures 1 and 2, English translation [0001]) comprising a first portion having an inner cavity surrounded by an inner housing (see figure 2, English translation [0035]), wherein the first portion includes a ventilation area (see figures 1 and 2, convection fan device area, English translation [0035]), a second portion (see figure 2, English translation [0035-0036]), a cleaning pipe for delivering water (reads on “water line”, figure 2 , #42, English translation, [0008], page 5, lines 5-15) that includes a first branch and a second branch that are both fed by the cleaning pipe (see figure 2, English translation [0048]), a first nozzle (figure 2, #42a) configured to extend from the first branch of the cleaning pipe for delivering water (reads on “water line”, figure 2 , #42) into the inner cavity (see figure 2, English translation [0048]), a second nozzle (figure 2, #42a) configured to extend from the second branch of the cleaning pipe (reads on “water line”, figure 2 , #42) down through the inner housing and into the ventilation area (see figure 2, and English translation [0048]). Ji further teaches that the first nozzle is configured to extend from the first branch into the inner cavity (see figure 2), that the second nozzle is configured to extend from the second branch through the inner housing and into the ventilation area (see figure 2). Moreover, Ji teaches that the ventilation area (see figures 1 and 2, convection fan device area, English translation [0035]) is provided behind a blower guide plate (figure 2, #13, English translation [0036]).
Ji does not teach that the first nozzle includes a plurality of nozzles, and that the second nozzle includes a plurality of nozzles.
However, Lechmetall teaches an oven (see figures 1-3, and English translation [0002-0003]) comprising a first plurality of nozzles (figure 3, #36) configured to extend into an inner cavity (see figure 3, English translation [0028-0029]), and a second plurality of nozzles (figure 3, #29) configured to extend into the ventilation area (see figure 3, English translation [0028-0029]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Ji wherein the first nozzle includes a plurality of nozzles, and the second nozzle includes a plurality of nozzles, with a reasonable expectation of success, since Lechmetall teaches that it is effective to include a plurality of nozzles in the inner cavity of the oven, and a second plurality of nozzles in the ventilation area of the oven (see figure 3, English translation [0028-0029] of Lechmetall). Moreover, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. Consult 2144.04 VI.
Ji/Lechmetall does not teach that the second plurality of nozzles is configured to direct jets of water upward towards the inner housing within the ventilation area.
Kim teaches an automatic cooking chamber cleaning device of a multifunctional oven (English translation [0001]) comprising spray nozzles installed inside the cooking room (English translation [00031]). Kim teaches a spray nozzle installed at the top of the convection blower fan provided inside the cooking room, and a spray nozzle installed at the top of the food preparation counter insertion space in the cooking room, so that the spray nozzles can intensively clean the convection blower fan side, and the cooking space (English translation [0031]). In addition, Kim teaches that the spray nozzle is configured to spray detergent or washing water at an upward spray angle of 15° for washing food waste attached to the inner wall of the cooking chamber (English translation [0044]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Ji/Lechmetall wherein the second plurality of nozzles is configured to direct jets of water upward towards the inner housing within the ventilation area, with a reasonable expectation of success, since Kim teaches that a spray nozzle configured to spray detergent or washing water at an upward spray angle of 15° is effective for washing the inner wall of the cooking chamber (English translation [0044] of Kim).
Ji/Lechmetall/Kim does not explicitly teach that the ventilation area (see figures 1 and 2 of Ji, convection fan device area, English translation [0035]) of Ji) cannot be reached by an aircraft cabin or ground crew during cleaning.
Moreover, since the apparatus of the Ji/Lechmetall/Kim teaching includes the structural features of the claimed apparatus, wherein the ventilation area (see figures 1 and 2 of Ji, convection fan device area, English translation [0035] of Ji) is provided behind a blower guide plate (figure 2, #13, English translation [0036] of Ji) (similar to the baffle plate disclosed in applicant’s specification [0016]), it is the base presumption that the ventilation area of the apparatus disclosed by Ji/Lechmetall/Kim cannot be reached by a ground crew during cleaning.
Ji/Lechmetall/Kim does not teach that the oven is an aircraft oven.
However, since the apparatus of the Ji/Lechmetall/Kim teaching includes the structural features of the claimed apparatus, it is the base presumption that the apparatus of the Ji/Lechmetall/Kim teaching is fully capable of being used as an aircraft oven.
Regarding claim 4, Ji/Lechmetall/Kim further teaches a container (figure 2, #60 of Ji) configured to be fluidly attached to the cleaning pipe for delivering water (reads on “water line”) (English translation [0035] of Ji).
Regarding claim 5, Ji/Lechmetall/Kim further teaches that the container includes a cleaning agent (detergent) (English translation [0034, and 0052] of Ji).
Regarding claim 6, Ji/Lechmetall/Kim further teaches that the container includes a solenoid valve (figure 1, #15 of Lechmetall) for controlling the amount of cleaning agent that is provided through a distribution line (see figure 1 of Lechmetall).
Regarding claim 8, Ji/Lechmetall/Kim further teaches that the plurality of first nozzles is configured to direct water downward into the inner cavity (see figure 2 of Ji, and figure 3 of Lechmetall).
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 1020130029646 to Ji et al. (hereinafter “Ji”, see attached English translation) in view of DE 2842771 to Lechmetall (hereinafter “Lechmetall”), and KR 101334611 to Kim (hereinafter “Kim”, presented in the IDS filed on 11/14/2023, see attached English translation), and in further view of US 2016/0341431 to Topfer (hereinafter “Topfer”).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Ji/Lechmetall/Kim further teaches a pump configured to pump water through the cleaning pipe (reads on “water line”, see figure 2, English translation [0048] of Ji). In addition, Ji/Lechmetall/Kim teaches an electric motor for driving the blower (figure 1, #8 of Lechmetall), and a solenoid valve (figure 1, #15 of Lechmetall) for controlling the flow of water through a distribution line (see figure 1 of Lechmetall).
Ji/Lechmetall/Kim does not teach that the pump is attached to the motor, and a solenoid valve provided downstream of the pump to control the flow of water through the water line.
Topfer teaches an oven comprising a pump (figure 1, #22) configured to pump water through the water line, and a valve (figure 1, #24) provided downstream of the pump to control the flow of water through the water line ([0052] of Topfer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus disclosed by Ji/Lechmetall/Kim with a solenoid valve provided downstream of the pump, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of controlling the flow of water through the water line as disclosed by Topfer ([0052] of Topfer).
In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing fate of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus disclosed by Ji/Lechmetall/Kim/Topfer wherein the pump is rearranged and attached to the motor, with a reasonable expectation of success, since the rearrangement of parts is an obvious matter of design choice. Consult MPEP 2144.04 IV.
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 1020130029646 to Ji et al. (hereinafter “Ji”, see attached English translation) in view of DE 2842771 to Lechmetall (hereinafter “Lechmetall”), and KR 101334611 to Kim (hereinafter “Kim”, presented in the IDS filed on 11/14/2023, see attached English translation), and in further view of US 8,193,470 to Harlamert et al. (hereinafter “Harlamert”).
Regarding claims 10-12, Ji/Lechmetall/Kim does not teach a controller adapted to control the amount of water through the water line, the amount of cleaning agent, the pressure of the jets of water from the first plurality of nozzles and/or the second plurality of nozzles, and the controller is configured to control the temperature of the ventilation area and the inner cavity, wherein the temperature is between an ambient temperature and 110 °C.
Harlamert teaches an oven comprising a control logic (figure 7, #100) adapted for controlling the amount of water through the water line (see figure 7, and column 6, lines 35-40), the amount of cleaning agent (see figures 6 and 7), the pressure of the jets of from the first plurality of nozzles or the second plurality of nozzles (see figure 7), and the temperature of the ventilation area and the inner cavity to be within a predetermined threshold value (see figure 7, and column 6, lines 3-56). Moreover, Harlamert teaches that the temperature can be maintained at 180°F (approximately 82°C) (column 6, lines 55-56).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Ji/Lechmetall/Kim with a controller adapted to control the amount of water through the water line, the amount of cleaning agent, the pressure of the jets of water from the first plurality of nozzles and/or the second plurality of nozzles, and the controller is configured to control the temperature of the ventilation area and the inner cavity, wherein the temperature is 82 °C, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of controlling the amount of water or cleaning agent delivered, pressure of water through the plurality of nozzles and the temperature of the ventilation area and inner cavity during the cleaning process, and for removing active human involvement.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2013/0248652 to Godecker et al. (hereinafter “Godecker”) in view of KR 1020130029646 to Ji et al. (hereinafter “Ji”, see attached English translation), and DE 2842771 to Lechmetall (hereinafter “Lechmetall”), and in further view of KR 101334611 to Kim (hereinafter “Kim”, presented in the IDS filed on 11/14/2023, see attached English translation).
Regarding claim 13, Godecker teaches an aircraft comprising an oven [0002, 0005].
Godecker does not teach that the oven comprises a first portion having an inner cavity surrounded by an inner housing, wherein the first portion includes a ventilation area that cannot be reached by aircraft cabin or ground crew during cleaning, a second portion, a water line that includes a first branch and a second branch that are both fed by the water line, a first plurality of nozzles configured to extend from the first branch of the water line into the inner cavity, a second plurality of nozzles configured to extend from the second branch of the water line down through the inner housing and into the ventilation area, wherein the first plurality of nozzles is configured to extend from the first branch into the inner cavity, and wherein the second plurality of nozzles is configured to extend from the second branch, through the inner housing and into the ventilation area, wherein the second plurality of nozzles is configured to direct jets of water upward towards the inner housing within the ventilation area.
However, Ji teaches an oven (see figures 1 and 2, English translation [0001]) comprising a first portion having an inner cavity surrounded by an inner housing (see figure 2, English translation [0035]), wherein the first portion includes a ventilation area (see figures 1 and 2, convection fan device area, English translation [0035]), a second portion (see figure 2, English translation [0035-0036]), a cleaning pipe for delivering water (reads on “water line”, figure 2, #42, English translation, [0008], page 5, lines 5-15) that includes a first branch and a second branch that are both fed by the cleaning pipe (see figure 2, English translation [0048]), a first nozzle (figure 2, #42a) configured to extend from the first branch of the cleaning pipe for delivering water (reads on “water line”, figure 2 , #42) into the inner cavity (see figure 2, English translation [0048]), a second nozzle (figure 2, #42a) configured to extend from the second branch of the cleaning pipe (reads on “water line”, figure 2, #42) down through the inner housing and into the ventilation area (see figure 2, and English translation [0048]). Ji further teaches that the first nozzle is configured is configured to extend from the first branch into the inner cavity (see figure 2), that the second nozzle is configured to extend from the second branch through the inner housing and into the ventilation area (see figure 2). Moreover, Ji teaches that the ventilation area (see figures 1 and 2, convection fan device area, English translation [0035]) is provided behind a blower guide plate (figure 2, #13, English translation [0036]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Godecker wherein the oven comprises a first portion having an inner cavity surrounded by an inner housing, wherein the first portion includes a ventilation, a second portion, a water line that includes a first branch and a second branch that are both fed by the water line, a first nozzle configured to extend from the first branch of the water line into the inner cavity, and a second nozzle configured to extend from the second branch of the water line down through the inner housing and into the ventilation area, wherein the first nozzle is configured to extend from the first branch into the inner cavity, and wherein the second nozzle is configured to extend from the second branch, through the inner housing and into the ventilation area, with a reasonable expectation of success, since Godecker teaches that the aircraft can comprise an oven in general ([0002 and 0005] of Godecker), and Ji teaches that an oven comprising a first portion having an inner cavity surrounded by an inner housing, wherein the first portion includes a ventilation area (see figures 1 and 2, convection fan device area, English translation [0035] of Ji), a second portion (see figure 2, English translation [0035-0036] of Ji), a cleaning pipe for delivering water (English translation, [0008], page 5, lines 5-15 of Ji) including a first branch and a second branch that are both fed by the cleaning pipe (see figure 2, English translation [0048] of Ji), a first nozzle (figure , #42a of Ji) configured to extend from the first branch of the cleaning pipe for delivering water into the inner cavity (see figure 2, English translation [0048] of Ji), a second nozzle (figure 2, #42a of Ji) configured to extend from the second branch of the cleaning pipe down through the inner housing and into the ventilation area (see figure 2, and English translation [0048] of Ji) is effective for cleaning the interior surfaces of the oven.
Godecker/Ji does not teach that the first nozzle includes a plurality of nozzles, and that the second nozzle includes a plurality of nozzles.
However, Lechmetall teaches an oven (see figures 1-3, and English translation [0002-0003]) comprising a first plurality of nozzles (figure 3, #36) configured to extend into an inner cavity (see figure 3, English translation [0028-0029]), and a second plurality of nozzles (figure 3, #29) configured to extend into the ventilation area (see figure 3, English translation [0028-0029]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Godecker/Ji wherein the first nozzle includes a plurality of nozzles, and the second nozzle includes a plurality of nozzles, with a reasonable expectation of success, since Lechmetall teaches that it is effective to include a plurality of nozzles in the inner cavity of the oven, and a second plurality of nozzles in the ventilation area of the oven (see figure 3, English translation [0028-0029] of Lechmetall). Moreover, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. Consult 2144.04 VI.
Godecker/Ji/Lechmetall does not teach that the second plurality of nozzles is configured to direct jets of water upward towards the inner housing within the ventilation area.
Kim teaches an automatic cooking chamber cleaning device of a multifunctional oven (English translation [0001]) comprising spray nozzles installed inside the cooking room (English translation [00031]). Kim teaches a spray nozzle installed at the top of the convection blower fan provided inside the cooking room, and a spray nozzle installed at the top of the food preparation counter insertion space in the cooking room, so that the spray nozzles can intensively clean the convection blower fan side, and the cooking space (English translation [0031]). In addition, Kim teaches that the spray nozzle is configured to spray detergent or washing water at an upward spray angle of 15° for washing food waste attached to the inner wall of the cooking chamber (English translation [0044]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Godecker/Ji/Lechmetall wherein the second plurality of nozzles is configured to direct jets of water upward towards the inner housing within the ventilation area, with a reasonable expectation of success, since Kim teaches that a spray nozzle configured to spray detergent or washing water at an upward spray angle of 15° is effective for washing the inner wall of the cooking chamber (English translation [0044] of Kim).
Godecker/Ji/Lechmetall/Kim does not explicitly teach that the ventilation area (see figures 1 and 2 of Ji, convection fan device area, English translation [0035]) of Ji) cannot be reached by an aircraft cabin or ground crew during cleaning.
Moreover, since the apparatus of the Godecker/Ji/Lechmetall/Kim teaching includes the structural features of the claimed apparatus, wherein the ventilation area (see figures 1 and 2 of Ji, convection fan device area, English translation [0035] of Ji) is provided behind a blower guide plate (figure 2, #13, English translation [0036] of Ji) (similar to the baffle plate disclosed in applicant’s specification [0016]), it is the base presumption that the ventilation area of the apparatus disclosed by Godecker/Ji/Lechmetall/Kim cannot be reached by a ground crew during cleaning.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 19730610 to Braun et al. (hereinafter “Braun”) in view of DE 2842771 to Lechmetall (hereinafter “Lechmetall”), and in further view of DE 202004020375 to RATIONAL AG et al. (hereinafter “DE’375”).
Regarding claim 14, Braun teaches a method for cleaning an oven (English translation [0002]), wherein the oven (see figure 1, #10, and English translation [0054]) comprises a first portion having an inner cavity surrounded by an inner housing (see figure 1, and English translation [0052]), wherein the first portion includes a ventilation area (see figure 1, #39, area comprising a fan (figure 1, #32), and English translation [0050-0052]), a second portion (see figure 1, and English translation [0050]), a water line (figure 1, #54) that includes a first branch and a second branch that are both fed by the water line (see figure 1, and English translation [0058]), a first nozzle (figure 1, #36) configured to extend from the first branch of the water line into the inner cavity (see figure 1, English translation [0055]), a second nozzle (figure 1, #42) configured to extend from the second branch of the water line, through the inner housing and into the ventilation area (see figure 1, and English translation [0056]). Braun further teaches that the first nozzle (figure 1, #36) is configured to extend from the first branch into the inner cavity (see figure 1), that the second nozzle is configured to extend from the second branch through the inner housing and into the ventilation area (see figure 1 of Braun). In addition, Braun teaches that the second nozzle is configured to direct jets of water upward towards the inner housing and into the ventilation area (see figure 1, nozzle (figure 1, #42) of Braun). Moreover, Braun teaches that the ventilation area (see figure 1 of Braun, area comprising a fan (figure 1, #32)) is provided behind a bulkhead (figure 1, #34) and that the second nozzle is arranged so that water or another liquid can emerge into the interior or in particular towards the blower, wherein the second nozzle is positioned inside the ventilation area (see figure 1 of Braun, and English translation [0056]).
Braun does not teach that the first nozzle includes a plurality of nozzles and that the second nozzle includes a plurality of nozzles.
However, Lechmetall teaches an oven and method for cleaning the over (see figures 1-3, and English translation [0002-0003]), wherein the oven comprises a first plurality of nozzles (figure 3, #36) configured to extend into an inner cavity (see figure 3, English translation [0028-0029]), and a second plurality of nozzles (figure 3, #29) configured to extend into the ventilation area (see figure 3, English translation [0028-0029]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Braun wherein the first nozzle includes a plurality of nozzles, and the second nozzle includes a plurality of nozzles, with a reasonable expectation of success, since Lechmetall teaches that it is effective to clean an over with a first plurality of nozzles in the inner cavity of the oven, and a second plurality of nozzles in the ventilation area of the oven (see figure 3, English translation [0028-0029] of Lechmetall). Moreover, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. Consult 2144.04 VI.
Braun/Lechmetall does not teach that the ventilation area (see figure 1, #39 of Braun, area comprising the fan (figure 1, #32)) cannot be reached by aircraft cabin or ground crew during cleaning.
However, it was known in the art that a ventilation area of an oven can be separated from the interior area of the oven. For example, DE’375 teaches an oven comprising a cooking chamber (figure 1, #2) and a fan chamber (figure 1, #4) including a fan wheel (figure 1, #5) which is separated from the cooking chamber by an air baffle (figure 1, #3) (English translation [0018]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Braun/Lechmetall wherein the ventilation area is separated from the interior area with an air baffle as taught by DE’375, with a reasonable expectation of success, since Braun teaches that the ventilation area (see figure 1 of Braun, area comprising a fan (figure 1, #32)) can be provided behind a bulkhead and that the second nozzle is arranged so that water or another liquid can emerge in particular towards the blower, wherein the second nozzle is positioned inside the ventilation area (see figure 1 of Braun, and English translation [0056] of Braun), and for the purpose of protecting the fan.
Moreover, since Braun/Lechmetall/DE’375 teaches that the ventilation area is separated from the interior area by an air baffle (similar to the baffle plate disclosed in applicant’s specification [0016]), it would be reasonably expected that the ventilation area cannot be reached by a ground crew during cleaning.
Braun/Lechmetall/DE’375 does not teach that the method is for cleaning an aircraft oven.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform the method disclosed by Braun/Lechmetall/DE’375 for cleaning an aircraft oven, with a reasonable expectation of success, since Braun teaches that the cleaning method is effective for cleaning an oven in general (English translation [0002] of Braun).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.I.R/Examiner, Art Unit 1714
/KAJ K OLSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1714