DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 6, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant’s argument is that the prior art of record, Laroche et al (US 2020/0288135) in view of Tsukuba (US 2021/0092413), does not teach deriving the chroma prediction block based on a DC mode. The examiner respectfully disagrees. The applicant argues that Laroche teaches a LM mode. The examiner points that the LM mode just references linear mode used as part of the prediction process for the chroma block. Intra prediction modes are known to be DC, planar, and /or angular modes. The LM mode adds a layer to the intra prediction to enable chroma prediction block using the proposed intra modes (Laroche: ¶ 104) and a reconfigured reconstructed luma block. Thus, the examiner maintains the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laroche et al (US 2020/0288135, hereafter Laroche) in view of Tsukuba (US 2021/0092413).
As per claim 1, Laroche discloses an image decoding method performed by a decoding apparatus, the method comprising:
receiving a prediction parameter for intra prediction of a chroma block (¶ 118; In case of INTRA mode, an INTRA predictor block is determined 205 based on the INTRA prediction mode specified in the bitstream 201. );
reconstructing a luma block corresponding to the chroma block; reconfiguring the luma block (¶ 80 and 139); and
deriving a chroma prediction block of the chroma block based on the reconfigured reconstructed luma block and the prediction parameter,
wherein the deriving the chroma prediction block of the chroma block comprises:
deriving a prediction block based on a DC mode (¶ 104),
wherein the chroma block is for one of a Cb component or a Cr component, wherein a prediction parameter for the Cb component and a prediction parameter for the Cr component are derived respectively (¶ 139; It is used to predict both chroma components Cb and Cr from the luma Y, more specifically from the reconstructed luma output by the decoding process (possibly the decoding loop at the encoder).);
wherein the chroma prediction block of the chroma block is derived based on the reconfigured reconstructed luma block, the prediction parameter, and the prediction block derived based on the DC mode (¶ 239 and 240).
However, Laroche does not explicitly teach deriving a prediction block based on a DC mode, wherein the chroma block is for one of a Cb component or a Cr component, wherein a prediction parameter for the Cb component and a prediction parameter for the Cr component are derived respectively.
In the same field of endeavor, Tsukuba teaches deriving a prediction block based on a DC mode, wherein the chroma block is for one of a Cb component or a Cr component, wherein a prediction parameter for the Cb component and a prediction parameter for the Cr component are derived respectively (¶ 239 and 240).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Laroche in view of Tsukuba. The advantage is an improved video coder.
As per claim 2, Laroche discloses the image decoding method of claim 1, further comprising:
determining whether the luma block is used to predict the chroma block is determined based on an encoding parameter for the chroma block; wherein the encoding parameter includes prediction mode information for the chroma block (¶ 139 and 140; Here, Lacroche discloses whether to apply cross-component linear model for predicting the current chroma block).
As per claim 3, Laroche discloses the image decoding method of claim 1, wherein the prediction parameter is applied to the reconfigured luma block, and wherein the prediction parameter is obtained from a bitstream (¶146; the linear model (defined by one or two parameters, a slope a and an offset β) is derived from RecL).
As per claim 4, the image decoding method of claim 1, wherein the reconfiguring the luma block includes sub-sampling the reconstructed luma block.
Regarding claim 5, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 1 are applicable for claim 5.
Regarding claim 6, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 2 are applicable for claim 6.
Regarding claim 7, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 3 are applicable for claim 7.
Regarding claim 8, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 4 are applicable for claim 8.
Regarding claim 9, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 1 are applicable for claim 9.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHIKAODILI E ANYIKIRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487