DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Laroche teaches reconfiguring reconstructed luma block. Laroche discloses down sampling which depicts reconfiguring. Further, to predict chroma block, Laroche, it is disclosed that a prediction process associated with the luma block is applied to the chroma block.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laroche et al (US 2020/0288135, hereafter Laroche) in view of Tsukuba (US 2021/0092413).
As per claim 1, Laroche discloses an image decoding method performed by a decoding apparatus, the method comprising:
receiving a prediction parameter for intra prediction of a chroma block (¶ 118; In case of INTRA mode, an INTRA predictor block is determined 205 based on the INTRA prediction mode specified in the bitstream 201. );
reconstructing a luma block corresponding to the chroma block; reconfiguring the luma block (¶ 80 and 139); and
deriving a prediction block of the chroma block based on the reconfigured luma block and the prediction parameters, wherein the chroma block is for one of a Cb component or a Cr component, and wherein a prediction parameter for the Cb component and a prediction parameter for the Cr component are derived respectively (¶ 139; It is used to predict both chroma components Cb and Cr from the luma Y, more specifically from the reconstructed luma output by the decoding process (possibly the decoding loop at the encoder).).
However, Laroche does not explicitly teach wherein the deriving the prediction block of the chroma block comprises: deriving a prediction a signal based on one of intra prediction modes, wherein the intra prediction modes include a DC mode, wherein the prediction block of the chroma block is derived based on the prediction signal.
In the same field of endeavor, Tsukuba teaches wherein the deriving the prediction block of the chroma block comprises: deriving a prediction a signal based on one of intra prediction modes, wherein the intra prediction modes include a DC mode, wherein the prediction block of the chroma block is derived based on the prediction signal (¶ 239 and 240).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Laroche in view of Tsukuba. The advantage is an improved video coder.
As per claim 2, Laroche discloses the image decoding method of claim 1, further comprising:
determining whether the luma block is used to predict the chroma block is determined based on an encoding parameter for the chroma block; wherein the encoding parameter includes prediction mode information for the chroma block (¶ 139 and 140; Here, Lacroche discloses whether to apply cross-component linear model for predicting the current chroma block).
As per claim 3, Laroche discloses the image decoding method of claim 1, wherein the prediction parameter is applied to the reconfigured luma block, and wherein the prediction parameter is obtained from a bitstream (¶146; the linear model (defined by one or two parameters, a slope a and an offset β) is derived from RecL).
As per claim 4, the image decoding method of claim 1, wherein the reconfiguring the luma block includes sub-sampling the reconstructed luma block.
Regarding claim 5, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 1 are applicable for claim 5.
Regarding claim 6, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 2 are applicable for claim 6.
Regarding claim 7, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 3 are applicable for claim 7.
Regarding claim 8, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 4 are applicable for claim 8.
Regarding claim 9, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 1 are applicable for claim 9.
Conclusion
/CHIKAODILI E ANYIKIRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487