Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species I in the reply filed on 08 April 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is an overlap of common elements between the alleged species and one species would be found during a search for another. This is not found persuasive because species tend to share common elements but also have distinct structures (ie. curved sidewalls versus flat sidewalls). Due to these distinct structures, there would be different search queries and even different search strategies with different art interpretations. With this, search burden would still exist.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Note by the Examiner
For clarity, references to specific claim numbers are presented in bold. Cited claim limitations are presented in bold the first time they are associated with a particular prior art disclosing the cited limitations, and subsequent reference to the already disclosed claim limitations are presented un-bolded. Certain elements from prior art which are not required by the claims are also presented bolded if they are particularly pertinent to understanding how the references are being combined. Item-to-item matching and examiner explanations for 102 &/or 103 rejections are provided in parenthesis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 10, 13, 14, 16, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kanemura et al. (Pub. No.: US 20170236872 A1), herein after as Kanemura.
Image A: Kanemura Fig. 5A showing Gate and Channel cutting patterns
Image B: close up of Kanemura Fig. 5A showing 1st and 2nd memory channel structures contacting the gate cutting pattern
Image C: showcasing that the space next to the connection parts act as the first and second separation structures in Kanemura
Image D: close up of Kanemura Fig. 5A showing width difference between the gate cutting pattern and the memory channel structures
With regards to claim 1, Kanemura teaches a semiconductor device, comprising: a first conductive pattern (see Kanemura Fig. 5A, conductive layer 42A) including a first connection part (see Kanemura Fig. 5A, connecting part 42Ab) and a plurality of first branch parts (see Kanemura Fig. 5A, branch parts 42Aa) connected to the first connection part (see Kanemura Fig. 5A); a second conductive pattern (see Kanemura Fig. 5A, conductive layer 42B) including a second connection part (see Kanemura Fig. 5A, connecting part 42Bb) and a plurality of second branch parts (see Kanemura Fig. 5A, branch parts 42Ba) connected to the second connection part (see Kanemura Fig. 5A); a first memory channel structure (see Kanemura Fig. 5A, columnar semiconductor layer 43 and variable resistance films 44A and 44B) in contact with a corresponding one of the first branch parts and a corresponding one of the second branch parts (see Kanemura Fig. 5A); and a gate cutting pattern (see Kanemura Fig. 5A and above Image A, where the space between the first connection part and the second branch act as the gate cutting pattern) in contact with the corresponding one of the second branch parts and the first connection part (see Kanemura Fig. 5A), wherein the first conductive pattern and the second conductive pattern are spaced apart from each other (see Kanemura Fig. 5A).
With regards to claim 2, Kanemura teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the first branch parts (see Kanemura Fig. 5A, branch parts 42Aa) and the second branch parts (see Kanemura Fig. 5A, branch parts 42Ba) are arranged alternately with each other (see Kanemura Fig. 5A).
With regards to claim 3, Kanemura teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, further comprising: a channel cutting pattern (see Kanemura Fig. 5A and above Image A-3) in contact with the first memory channel structure (see Kanemura Fig. 5A, columnar semiconductor layer 43 and variable resistance films 44A and 44B), the corresponding one of the first branch parts (see Kanemura Fig. 5A, branch parts 42Aa), and the corresponding one of the second branch parts (see Kanemura Fig. 5A, branch parts 42Ba).
With regards to claim 10, Kanemura teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, further comprising: a bit line (see Kanemura Fig. 18, conductive layer 36 (upper global bit line GBLU)) electrically connected to the first memory channel structure (see Kanemura Fig. 18), wherein the first and second branch parts (see Kanemura Fig. 5A, branch parts 42Aa and 42Ba) extend in a first direction (see Kanemura Figs. 5A and 18, where they extend in the x-direction), and wherein the bit line extends in a second direction intersecting the first direction (see Kanemura Fig. 18, where it extends in the y-direction).
With regards to claim 13, Kanemura teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, further comprising: a second memory channel structure (see Kanemura Fig. 5A, columnar semiconductor layer 43 and variable resistance films 44A and 44B, and above Image B) adjacent to the first memory channel structure (see Kanemura Fig. 5A, columnar semiconductor layer 43 and variable resistance films 44A and 44B, and above Image B), wherein the gate cutting pattern (see Kanemura Fig. 5A and above Image A) is in contact with the first memory channel structure and the second memory channel structure (see Kanemura Fig. 5A and above Image A).
With regards to claim 14, Kanemura teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, further comprising: a first separation structure (see Kanemura Fig. 5A & 18 and Image C, where the space next to the connection parts act as the first and second separation structures) and a second separation structure (see Kanemura Fig. 5A & 18 and Image C, where the space next to the connection parts act as the first and second separation structures) spaced apart from each other (see Kanemura Fig. 5A & 18 and Image C), the first separation structure being in contact with the first connection part (see Kanemura Fig. 5A & 18 and Image C) and the second separation structure being in contact with the second connection part (see Kanemura Fig. 5A & 18 and Image C), wherein at least a portion of the first connection part is between the gate cutting pattern (see Kanemura Fig. 5A and above Image A) and the first separation structure (see Kanemura Fig. 5A and Image C).
With regards to claim 16, Kanemura teaches a semiconductor device, comprising: a first separation structure (see Kanemura Fig. 5A & 18 and Image C, where the space next to the connection parts act as the first and second separation structures); a second separation structure (see Kanemura Fig. 5A & 18 and Image C, where the space next to the connection parts act as the first and second separation structures) adjacent to the first separation structure (see Kanemura Fig. 5A & 18 and Image C); a first conductive pattern (see Kanemura Fig. 5A, conductive layer 42A) between the first and second separation structures (see Kanemura Fig. 5A & 18 and Image C), the first conductive pattern including a first connection part (see Kanemura Fig. 5A, connecting part 42Ab) in contact with the first separation structure (see Kanemura Fig. 5A & 18 and Image C) and a first branch part (see Kanemura Fig. 5A, branch parts 42Aa) connected to the first connection part (see Kanemura Fig. 5A); a second conductive pattern (see Kanemura Fig. 5A, conductive layer 42B) between the first and second separation structures (see Kanemura Fig. 5A & 18 and Image C), the second conductive pattern including a second connection part (see Kanemura Fig. 5A, connecting part 42Bb) in contact with the second separation structure (see Kanemura Fig. 5A & 18 and Image C) and a second branch part (see Kanemura Fig. 5A, branch parts 42Ba) connected to the second connection part (see Kanemura Fig. 5A); and a plurality of memory channel structures (see Kanemura Fig. 5A, columnar semiconductor layer 43 and variable resistance films 44A and 44B) in contact with the first branch part and the second branch part (see Kanemura Fig. 5A), wherein the first branch part and the second branch part are spaced apart from each other (see Kanemura Fig. 5A).
With regards to claim 18, Kanemura teaches the semiconductor device of claim 16, further comprising: a gate cutting pattern (see Kanemura Fig. 5A and above Image A, where the space between the first connection part and the second branch act as the gate cutting pattern) separating the first connection part (see Kanemura Fig. 5A, connecting part 42Ab) and the second branch part (see Kanemura Fig. 5A, branch parts 42Ba) from each other (see Kanemura Fig. 5A and above Image A).
With regards to claim 19, Kanemura teaches the semiconductor device of claim 18, wherein a width (see Kanemura Fig. 5A and above Image D) of the gate cutting pattern (see Kanemura Fig. 5A and above Image A) is greater than a width (see Kanemura Fig. 5A and above Image D) of each of the memory channel structures (see Kanemura Fig. 5A, columnar semiconductor layer 43 and variable resistance films 44A and 44B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 5, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanemura in view of Zhou et al. (Pub. No.: US 20200006375 A1), hereinafter as Zhou.
Image E: close up of Zhou Fig. 12B showing branch parts and structure of the memory channel structure
With regards to claim 4, Kanemura teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1.
Kanemura does not teach that the first memory channel structure includes: a first memory layer in contact with the corresponding one of the first branch parts; a second memory layer in contact with the corresponding one of the second branch parts; a first channel layer and a second channel layer between the first and second memory layers; and a memory core dielectric layer between the first and second channel layers.
Zhou teaches a first memory channel structure (see Zhou Fig. 12B, in-process memory stack structure 155) that includes: a first memory layer (see Zhou Fig. 12B, in-process charge storage layer 154) in contact with the corresponding one of a first branch parts (see Zhou Fig. 12B and Image E, sacrificial material layers 42); a second memory layer (see Zhou Fig. 12B, in-process charge storage layer 154) in contact with the corresponding one of a second branch parts (see Zhou Fig. 12B and Image E, sacrificial material layers 42); a first channel layer (see Zhou Fig. 12B, vertical semiconductor channels 60) and a second channel layer (see Zhou Fig. 12B, vertical semiconductor channels 60) between the first and second memory layers (see Zhou Fig. 12B); and a memory core dielectric layer (see Zhou Fig. 13D, laterally undulating dielectric rail 62) between the first and second channel layers (see Zhou Fig. 13D).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to substitute the memory channel structure of Kanemura with the memory channel structure taught by Zhou in order to provide a wider programming window and wider erase window (see Zhou [0049]: “The flat memory cells of an embodiment of the present disclosure can provided in an inverse configuration, in which the tunneling dielectric is located adjacent to the control gate electrode and the blocking dielectric is located adjacent to the semiconductor channel. The inverse flat memory provides a wider programming window and a wider erase window than prior art flat memory cells.”).
With regards to claim 5, Kanemura and Zhou teach the semiconductor device of claim 4, wherein the first channel layer (see Zhou Fig. 12B, vertical semiconductor channels 60) and the second channel layer (see Zhou Fig. 12B, vertical semiconductor channels 60) are electrically separated from each other (see Zhou Fig. 13D, where there is a laterally undulating dielectric rail 62 separating the two layers. Zhou Fig. 13C is a cross-sectional view showing the electrical separation of the two layers.).
With regards to claim 8, Kanemura and Zhou teach the semiconductor device of claim 4, wherein the first memory layer (see Zhou Fig. 12B, in-process charge storage layer 154) and the second memory layer (see Zhou Fig. 12B, in-process charge storage layer 154) each have a flat sidewall (see Zhou Fig. 12B).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanemura and Zhou, in view of Kanamori et al. (Pub. No.: US 20170287928 A1), hereinafter as Kanamori.
With regards to claim 6, Kanemura and Zhou teach the semiconductor device of claim 5.
Kanemura and Zhou do not teach a first selection channel structure on the first channel layer; and a second selection channel structure on the second channel layer.
Kanamori teaches a first selection channel structure (see Kanamori Fig. 3, first string channel pillars SCP1) on a first channel layer (see Kanamori Fig. 3, vertical channel section VC); and a second selection channel structure on a second channel layer (this would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art because every channel layer has a selection channel structure (see Kanamori Fig. 3, first string channel pillars SCP1 and second string channel pillars SCP2). So, if the vertical pillar VP1 were to be cut in half and each half electrically isolated from each other, there would be a selection channel structure for each half. Thus, showing a second selection channel structure on a second channel layer.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the semiconductor device of Kanemura and Zhou with the selection channel structure taught by Kanamori in order to further control the connection between the memory channel structure and the bit line.
Claims 11, 12, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanemura in view of Kim et al. (Pub. No.: US 20180374961 A1), hereinafter as Kim.
With regards to claim 11, Kanemura teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1 further comprising: a plurality of selection lines (see Kanemura Fig. 18, upper select gate line SGU) on the first and second conductive patterns (see Kanemura Fig. 5A, conductive layer 42A and 42B).
Kanemura does not teach a plurality of selection isolation dielectric layers separating the selection lines, wherein each of the selection isolation dielectric layers overlaps the first branch parts and the second branch parts.
Kim teaches a plurality of selection lines (see Kim Fig. 16, uppermost gate electrode layers 133, where “The plurality of regions of the uppermost gate electrode layer 133 may be referred to as a plurality of upper selection lines.” Kim [0025]) on first and second conductive patterns (see Kim Fig. 16, where the uppermost gate electrode layers 133 is disposed upon the intermediate gate electrode layers 133 (of which make up the first and second conductive patterns)); and a plurality of selection isolation dielectric layers (see Kim Fig. 16 & 22, upper isolation insulating layers 143) separating the selection lines (see Kim Fig. 16 & 22), wherein each of the selection isolation dielectric layers overlaps first branch parts and second branch parts (see Kim Fig. 16 & 22, where the upper isolation insulating layers 143 is disposed upon the intermediate gate electrode layers 133 (of which make up the first and second conductive patterns)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to substitute the selection lines of Kanemura with the selection lines and selection isolation dielectric layers taught by Kim in order to connect to more memory channel structures with the same selection line while also isolating the selection lines from each other.
With regards to claim 12, Kanemura and Kim teach the semiconductor device of claim 11, further comprising: a bit line (see Kanemura Fig. 18, conductive layer 36 (upper global bit line GBLU)) electrically connected to the first memory channel structure (see Kanemura [0091]: “As shown in FIGS. 18 and 19, a conductive layer 36 (upper global bit line GBLU) is connected to an upper end of the columnar semiconductor layer 43 (bit line BL).”), wherein the first and second branch parts (see Kanemura Fig. 5A, branch parts 42Aa and 42Ba) extend in a first direction (see Kanemura Fig. 5A, where the branches extend in the x-direction), and wherein the bit line extends in a second direction intersecting the first direction (see Kanemura Fig. 18, where the bit line extends in the y-direction), and wherein the selection isolation dielectric layers (see Kim Fig. 16 & 22, upper isolation insulating layers 143) extend in a third direction that intersects the first direction and the second direction (see Kim Fig. 22, where the upper isolation insulating layers 143 extend at an angle between the x and y directions).
With regards to claim 17, Kanemura teaches the semiconductor device of claim 16 further comprising: a plurality of selection lines (see Kanemura Fig. 18, upper select gate line SGU) on the first and second conductive patterns (see Kanemura Fig. 5A, conductive layer 42A and 42B).
Kanemura does not teach a plurality of selection isolation dielectric layers between the selection lines, wherein the selection isolation dielectric layers overlap the first branch part and the second branch part.
Kim teaches a plurality of selection lines (see Kim Fig. 16, uppermost gate electrode layers 133, where “The plurality of regions of the uppermost gate electrode layer 133 may be referred to as a plurality of upper selection lines.” Kim [0025]) on the first and second conductive patterns (see Kim Fig. 16, where the uppermost gate electrode layers 133 is disposed upon the intermediate gate electrode layers 133 (of which make up the first and second conductive patterns)); and a plurality of selection isolation dielectric layers (see Kim Fig. 16 & 22, upper isolation insulating layers 143) between the selection lines (see Kim Fig. 16 & 22), wherein the selection isolation dielectric layers overlap the first branch part and the second branch part (see Kim Fig. 16 & 22, where the upper isolation insulating layers 143 is disposed upon the intermediate gate electrode layers 133 (of which make up the first and second conductive patterns)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to substitute the selection lines of Kanemura with the selection lines and selection isolation dielectric layers taught by Kim in order to connect to more memory channel structures with the same selection line while also isolating the selection lines from each other.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanemura, in view of Hu (Pub. No.: US 20210358890 A1).
With regards to claim 15, Kanemura teaches the semiconductor device of claim 14, wherein the first and second separation structures (see Kanemura Fig. 5A & 18 and Image C, where the space next to the connection parts act as the first and second separation structures) extend in a first direction (see Kanemura Fig. 18 and Image C, where the separation structures extend in the z-direction), and the first and second separation structures are spaced apart from each other in a second direction (see Kanemura Fig. 5A and Image C, where the separation structures spaced apart in the x-direction), the second direction intersecting the first direction (the x and y directions are orthogonal)
Kanemura does not teach that the first and second branch parts extend in a third direction intersecting the first direction and the second direction.
Hu teaches first and second separation structures (see Hu Fig. 18, slit structures 1706) that extend in a first direction (see Hu Fig. 18) and are spaced apart from each other in a second direction (see Hu Fig. 18, where they are spaced apart by a direction orthogonal to the angle they extend), where, by modifying the separation structures of Kanemura with the angle taught by Hu, the first and second directions would intersect a third direction (along the x-axis) in which the branch parts of Kanemura extend.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the separation structures of Kanemura with the angle taught by Hu in order to increase the amount of memory channel structures in a given area of a memory cell.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (Pub. No.: US 20230024655 A1), hereinafter as Lee, in view of Kanemura.
With regards to claim 20, Lee teaches an electronic system, comprising: a main board (see Lee Fig. 2, main board 2001); a semiconductor device (see Lee Fig. 2, semiconductor package 2003) on the main board (see Lee Fig. 2); and a controller (see Lee Fig. 2, controller 2002) on the main board (see Lee Fig. 2) and electrically connected to the semiconductor device (see Lee [0046]: “The semiconductor package 2003 and the DRAM 2004 may be connected to the controller 2002 through wiring patterns 2005 formed on the main board 2001.”), wherein the semiconductor device includes, a source structure (see Lee Fig. 7, source structure CST), a gate stack structure (see Lee Fig. 7, stack structure ST) on the source structure (see Lee Fig. 7), a memory channel structure (see Lee Fig. 7, lower vertical structures VS) penetrating the gate stack structure (see Lee Fig. 7), a first separation structure (see Lee Fig. 5&7, separation structure SS; as one can see, there are two, so let the separation structure SS on the right be the first and the separation structure SS on the left be the second.) and a second separation structure (see Lee Fig. 5&7, separation structure SS on the left) spaced apart from each other and in contact with the gate stack structure (see Lee Fig. 5&7), a plurality of selection lines (see Lee Fig. 7, first and second selection gate electrodes SGE1 and SGE2) on the gate stack structure (see Lee Fig. 7), a plurality of selection isolation dielectric layers (see Lee Fig. 7, upper isolation structure SIP, UIL below SIP; in which there would be a plurality of if more than two selection lines are desired, in order to electrically separate said lines from each other) separating the selection lines (see Lee Fig. 6&7), a selection channel structure (see Lee Fig. 7, upper vertical structures UVS, UVP) electrically connected to the memory channel structure (see Lee Fig. 7), and a bit line (see Lee Fig. 7, bit lines BIL) electrically connected to the selection channel structure (see Lee Fig. 7 and Lee [0093]: “The upper vertical structures UVS may be electrically connected to the bit lines BIL through lower and upper contact plugs BCTa and BCTb.”), wherein the gate stack structure includes, a plurality of first conductive patterns (see Lee Fig. 7, gate electrodes GE) and a plurality of first dielectric patterns (see Lee Fig. 7, dielectric layers ILD) alternately stacked on each other (see Lee Fig. 7).
Lee does not teach a channel cutting pattern in contact with the memory channel structure and penetrating the gate stack structure, and a plurality of second conductive patterns and a plurality of second dielectric patterns alternately stacked on each other, and that each of the first conductive patterns includes, a first connection part in contact with the first separation structure, and a first branch part in contact with the memory channel structure and the channel cutting pattern, wherein each of the second conductive patterns includes, a second connection part in contact with the second separation structure, and a second branch part in contact with the memory channel structure and the channel cutting pattern, wherein the first branch part and the second branch part are spaced apart from each other, and wherein the selection isolation dielectric layers overlap the first branch part and the second branch part.
Kanemura teaches a channel cutting pattern (see Kanemura Fig. 5A and above Image A) in contact with a memory channel structure (see Kanemura Fig. 5A, columnar semiconductor layer 43 and variable resistance films 44A and 44B) and penetrating a gate stack structure (see Kanemura Fig. 4, where the gate stack structure comprises of inter-layer insulating layer 41 and conductive layer 42; and see Kanemura Fig. 12 for isometric view), a plurality of first conductive patterns (see Kanemura Fig. 5A, conductive layer 42A) and a plurality of first dielectric patterns (see Kanemura Fig. 4, inter-layer insulating layer 41) alternately stacked on each other (see Kanemura Fig. 4), and a plurality of second conductive patterns (see Kanemura Fig. 5A, conductive layer 42B) and a plurality of second dielectric patterns (see Kanemura Fig. 4, inter-layer insulating layer 41) alternately stacked on each other (see Kanemura Fig. 4), wherein each of the first conductive patterns includes, a first connection part (see Kanemura Fig. 5A, connecting part 42Ab) in contact with a first separation structure (see Kanemura Fig. 5A & 18 and Image C, where the space next to the connection parts act as the first and second separation structures), and a first branch part (see Kanemura Fig. 5A, branch parts 42Aa) in contact with the memory channel structure and the channel cutting pattern (see Kanemura Fig. 5A), wherein each of the second conductive patterns includes, a second connection part (see Kanemura Fig. 5A, connecting part 42Bb) in contact with a second separation structure (see Kanemura Fig. 5A & 18 and Image C), and a second branch part (see Kanemura Fig. 5A, branch parts 42Ba) in contact with the memory channel structure and the channel cutting pattern (see Kanemura Fig. 5A), wherein the first branch part and the second branch part are spaced apart from each other (see Kanemura Fig. 5A), and (if the conductive patterns of Lee are substituted with the conductive patterns taught by Kanemura) wherein the selection isolation dielectric layers (of Lee) overlap the first branch part and the second branch part (the selection isolation dielectric layer of Lee extends in the same direction as the separation structures of Lee and the branch parts of Kanemura extend in a direction orthogonal to the separation structures of Kanemura. When substituted in, the branching parts would be orthogonal to the separation structure of Lee. Therefore, there would be an intersection of directions where the selection isolation dielectric layer overlaps the branching parts.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to substitute the conductive pattern of Lee with the conductive patterns taught by Kanemura in order to reduce the number of contacts that would connect to the conductive pattern (see Kanemura [0047]: “Moreover, the conductive layer 42 functions as the word line WL. Forming the conductive layer 42 in a comb tooth shape makes it possible to reduce the number of contacts connected to the word line WL. For example, assuming the number of word lines WL arranged along the Z direction and the Y direction to each be 32, the number of contacts required when the word line WL is not formed in a comb tooth shape is 32×32=1024. However, the number of contacts required when the word line WL is configured in a comb tooth shape is 32. Moreover, by combining the pair of the conductive layers 42A and 42B, two variable resistance films 44A and 44B can be caused to function independently with respect to one columnar semiconductor layer 43 (bit line BL). The number of contacts at this time is 64.”). Note that the channel cutting patterns would occur due to the comb shape of the conductive pattern leaving gaps, which would be the channel cutting patterns, between the memory channel structures.
Conclusion
/E.T.B./Examiner, Art Unit 2818
/STEVEN H LOKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2818