DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments to claims 11 and 20 merit new claim objections, as Applicant has amended “severer” to “sever” in lieu of “severe”.
Applicant's arguments filed 4/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. On p. 8, Applicant states that the independent claims require “constructing a reference model by integrating anamnesis and clinical condition data into (a user-specific physiological baseline).”
This argument is unpersuasive as Applicant’s characterizations of the independent claims are not reflective of the claim scope. The independent claims merely require “reference parameters” and there appears to be no special definition of reference parameters such that would replace a broadest reasonable interpretation. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Applicant would appear to agree with the Examiner’s application of this guidance in the MPEP, as “anamnesis” and other specific reference parameters are not defined or claimed until dependent claims 9 and 19.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicant’s remaining arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claims 11 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities: the claims include a typographical error “sever” in lieu of “severe”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9, 11-18, and 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Panteloupos et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0293028) hereinafter referred to as Panteloupos; in view of Zhuo et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0215749) hereinafter referred to as Zhuo; in view of Frank et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0259557) hereinafter referred to as Frank.
Regarding claim 1, Panteloupos teaches a calibrated system for measuring and monitoring vital signs of a user, the system comprising:
a wearable device (Fig. 9A-B), the wearable device comprises an optical module (¶[0175]) and an electrocardiogram (ECG) module (¶¶[0119-0120]);
at least one processor; and a non-transitory machine-readable medium comprising instructions stored therein, which when executed by the at least one processor, cause the processor to perform operations (¶[0142]) comprising:
establishing a user initial profile based on an initial information (¶[0136] initiate sensors);
determining a user baseline profile from the initial information, vital signs measurements received from the wearable device for a time period (Fig. 4, ¶[0139] baseline during a rest state, ¶[0189] for tracking baseline parameters), the user baseline profile comprises a user-specific physiological baseline for the user determined using the user baseline profile collected over the time period (¶[0189] track the user’s baseline stress, cardiac health over time, and plural data are tracked during multiple periods where the user is motionless and these are used for a user baseline);
determining a user reference model based on the user baseline profile (Fig. 4, step 412, ¶[0138]),
receiving actual vital signs measurements in real time (¶[0326] real time capture and transmission) from the wearable device (¶[0140] PTT sensors on wearable device);
comparing the actual vital signs measurements with the user reference model (¶[0138] reference model for a user derived from calibration process, ¶[0141] checking for if recalibration is required entails checking user context, including looking for significant change in user’s vital signs);
interpreting whether a result of the comparison between the actual vital signs measurements and the user reference model is within predetermined parameters (¶[0141] user context, looking for “significant change has occurred in perfusion properties when stationary” therefore, the predetermined parameters are insignificant change); and
providing a feedback based on the interpretation of the result of the comparison between the actual vital signs measurements and the user reference model (¶[0141], Fig. 4, recalibration is a feedback to the model in step 412).
Panteloupos further teaches an oscillometric module (¶[0126]) but does not teach the oscillometric module on the wearable device. Panteloupos further does not teach the user reference model comprising zone indicators or a user-specific baseline range, wherein the user reference model is constructed by integrating reference parameters of the user into the user-specific physiological baseline range; or determining a deviation of the actual vital signs measurements relative to the user-specific physiological baseline range rather than a population-based norm; wherein the feedback includes a personalized risk indication based on the deviation from the user-specific physiological baseline range.
Attention is brought to the Zhuo reference, which teaches an oscillometric module on a wearable device (¶¶[0074-0076] finger ring or wrist wearable), with a user reference model comprising zone indicators (¶[0063], ¶[0164]); comparing the actual vital signs measurements with the user reference model (¶[0135]); interpreting whether a result of the comparison between the actual vital signs measurements and the user reference model is within predetermined parameters (¶[0135]); providing a feedback based on the interpretation of the result of the comparison between the actual vital signs measurements and the user reference model (¶¶[0164-0165]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the wearable system of Panteloupos to include an oscillometric sensor in a wearable, and additional blood pressure health zone indicators with comparison, interpretation, and feedback, as taught by Zhuo, because the sensor and wearable device of Zhuo increases user comfort (Zhuo ¶[0138]) and deep learning algorithms with demographic and physiological information can improve accuracy of the calculation (Zhuo ¶[0148]).
Attention is brought to the Frank reference, which teaches a user-specific baseline range, wherein the user reference model (¶[0242]) is constructed by integrating reference parameters of the user into the user-specific physiological baseline range (¶[0211] general wellness considerations, ¶[0236]); or determining a deviation of the actual vital signs measurements relative to the user-specific physiological baseline range rather than a population-based norm (¶[0236], ¶[0240]); wherein the feedback includes a personalized risk indication based on the deviation from the user-specific physiological baseline range (¶[0017], ¶[0236]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the wearable device vital sign monitoring of Panteloupos as modified to include user-specific baseline ranges in a user reference model integrating reference parameters, and using the user-specific model to determine deviations and risk for an individual user, as taught by Frank because user context driven baselines improve the accuracy of detecting physiological responses (Frank, ¶[0540]).
Regarding claim 2, Panteloupos as modified teaches the system according to claim 1.
Panteloupos further teaches wherein the wearable device further comprises an accelerometer and/or a gyroscope (¶[0112]) that are configured to determine the positioning of the wearable device during receiving the vital signs measurements by the processor (¶[0142], ¶[0144]) and a user activity state (¶[0167] activity information).
Regarding claim 3, Panteloupos as modified teaches the system according to claim 1.
Panteloupos further teaches wherein the oscillometric module comprises:
a cuff configured to inflate using a pump and deflate (Fig. 7, inflatable cuff) using an electric valve (¶[0149]);
a pump driver (Fig. 7, inflating cuff); and
a pressure sensor (¶[0150]) to determine user’s systolic and diastolic blood pressure.
Regarding claim 4, Panteloupos as modified teaches the system according to claim 1.
Panteloupos further teaches wherein the ECG module comprises:
a first electrode; a second electrode (¶[0115] first and second electrode for ECG); and
a plurality of electric sensors configured to collect ECG datapoints that are converted into an ECG waveform by the processor, wherein the ECG module is configured to automatically switch an ECG algorithm depending on a hand selection of the wearable device (¶[0115] second electrode contact for ECG depends on hand contact to the second electrode).
Regarding claim 5, Panteloupos as modified teaches the system according to claim 4.
Panteloupos further teaches wherein the first electrode is located on a bottom of the wearable device, the bottom being closest to the user’s wrist, and the second electrode is located on a front of the wearable device (¶[0115], Figs. 13A-B).
Regarding claim 6, Panteloupos as modified teaches the system according to claim 1.
Panteloupos further teaches wherein the optical module comprises:
an optical sensor (Fig. 12, ¶[0212]);
a light-emitting diode (LED) (Fig. 12, LEDs); and
a photodetector (Fig. 12, Photodetector).
Regarding claim 7, Panteloupos as modified teaches the system according to claim 1.
Panteloupos further teaches wherein the operations further comprise:
determining a rest activity state of the user (¶[0139], ¶[0280] resting);
establishing an assigned position of the wearable device (Fig. 6, “Calibrating by Holding an Arm at Different Positions”, and ¶[0142], ¶[0141] one user context for recalibrating is a specific position of the hand of the user);
assigning a validation period (¶[0141], one user context for recalibrating is a specific position of the hand of the user);
determining a first blood pressure measurement by the oscillometric module (Fig. 6, step 604, ¶[0143]);
determining a second blood pressure measurement by the optical module (Fig. 6, step 614, ¶[0146]);
comparing the first blood pressure measurement to the second blood pressure measurement (Fig. 6, step 6014, ¶[0146]); and
if the second blood pressure measurement is measurably different from the first blood pressure measurement, calibrating the optical module based on the first blood pressure measurement (Fig. 6, steps 614 and 616, ¶[0146]).
Regarding claim 8, Panteloupos as modified teaches the system according to claim 1.
Panteloupos further teaches wherein the vital signs measurements comprise skin temperature (¶[0165], ¶[0168]), blood pressure (¶[0172]), heart rate (¶[0172]), respiration rate (¶[0172]), ECG pulse rate (¶[0241] ECG pulse wave timing), and functional oxygen saturation (¶[0201]).
Regarding claim 9, Panteloupos as modified teaches the system according to claim 1.
Panteloupos further teaches wherein the user initial profile comprises name (¶[0341] user profiles can be searched by name) a non-medical information of the user (¶[0341] e-mail address).
Panteloupos does not teach wherein the user initial profile comprises gender and age.
Attention is brought to the Zhuo reference, which further teaches wherein the user initial profile comprises gender, age and a non-medical information of the user (¶[0040]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the blood pressure system of Panteloupos to include additional demographic information, as taught by Zhuo, because Zhuo teaches increased accuracy of blood pressure measurements (Zhuo ¶[0039]).
Regarding claim 11, Panteloupos as modified teaches the system according to claim 1.
Zhuo further teaches wherein the zone indicators comprise normal, insignificant deviation, and severe deviation (¶[0063]).
Regarding claim 12, Panteloupos as modified teaches the system according to claim 1.
Panteloupos further teaches wherein the feedback is displayed as a text, a voice, and/or an animation on a user device (¶[0368]).
Regarding claims 13-18 and 20/21, the claims are directed to a method comprising substantially the same subject matter as the system of claims 1-2, 7-9, and 11/7 and are rejected under substantially the same sections of Panteloupos, Zhuo, and Frank.
Claim(s) 10 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Panteloupos, Zhuo, and Frank as applied to claims 1 and 13 above, and further in view of Sampson (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0085380) hereinafter referred to as Sampson.
Regarding claim 10/19, Panteloupos as modified teaches the system/method according to claim 1/13.
Panteloupos further teaches wherein the user reference model (¶[0384] mathematical model) comprises reference parameters, the reference parameters comprise guidelines (¶[0384]), deviations inherent in a disease (¶[0383]), medication treatment of the user (¶[0172] medication intake), life style of the user (¶[0381]), and the vital signs measurements for a predetermined period of time (¶[0381] biometric monitoring).
Panteloupos as modified does not teach reference parameters comprising anamnesis.
Attention is brought to the Sampson reference, which teaches reference parameters comprising anamnesis (¶[0022] user’s past medical history, user input ¶¶[0082-0087]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the system/method of Panteloupos as modified to include anamnesis as a parameter reference to a user model, because Sampson teaches that taking into account a user’s medical history can reduce false alarms (Sampson ¶[0022]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0241923 to Foschini et al. teaches a machine learning model that compares user activity to a user baseline.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AMANDA L STEINBERG/ Examiner, Art Unit 3792