DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 12, and 20 under 35 USC § 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Williams (US 20130248721 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 9, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okazaki (US 20110039017 A1) in view of Williams (US 20130248721 A1).
With regards to claim 1, Okazaki discloses a defect detection system and method comprising:
a plurality of detectors 50, 51 positioned in proximity to the device 4 under inspection, each detector configured to detect radiation and generate a radiation electronic signal whose level varies according to an amount of radiation to which the detector is exposed [0043];
a signal processing unit 52 configured to receive the radiation electronic signal from each detector and output data derived from the radiation electronic signals [0057]; and
a computing device configured to receive the data from the signal processing unit and determine a radiation level for each detector [0057-0058]. Okazaki does not explicitly teach determining an accumulated radiation level for each detector.
Williams teaches a radiation dosimeter detection system and method comprising control electronics configured to extract cumulative dose from multiple dosimeters [0135], Therefor, it would have been well known, obvious, and predictably suitable to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Okazaki with the claimed configuration in order to improve radiation monitoring accuracy.
With regards to claims 2, 3, and 6, Okazaki does not explicitly teach the claimed Si PIN diode (which generates an electric current whose level varies according to an amount of radiation to which it is exposed) mounted on a PCB. Nevertheless, those skilled in the art recognize that such configurations were generally known. It would have been well known, obvious, and predictably suitable to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Okazaki with the claimed configuration in order to improve sensitivity.
With regards to claim 4, Okazaki discloses a support structure (rollers or metal plate) [0090] comprising a first portion of detectors 50 on a first side (Figs. 8a and 8b).
With regards to claim 5, Okazaki does not teach a second portion of the detectors is positioned on the lower surface with each detector on the lower surface positioned roughly in alignment with a successive one of the detectors positioned on the upper surface. However, such a modification would have been known and considered obvious in order to more accurately inspect both sides of the device. In view of the recited benefit, it would have been well known, obvious, and predictably suitable to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Okazaki with the claimed configuration.
With regards to claim 9, Okazaki does not specify wherein the components of the signal processing unit are mounted on a signal processing unit printed circuit board. However, such a modification was generally well known and would have been considered an obvious design choice. It would have been well known, obvious, and predictably suitable to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Okazaki with the claimed printed circuit board in order to couple said processing unit to other signal processing components in a reduced package size.
With regards to claim 10, Okazaki does not specifically teach the claimed monitor. However, such a modification was generally well known and would have been considered an obvious design choice. It would have been well known, obvious, and predictably suitable to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Okazaki with the claimed display in order to monitor operating conditions.
Claims 7, 8, and 12-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okazaki in view of Williams and Dieckmann (US 9468406 B2).
With regards to claims 7 and 8, Okazaki does not specify the claimed signal processing unit. However, Dieckmann teaches a similar configuration was already known (column 24, lines 15-34) for determining an absorbed dose. Since all the claimed elements were taught by Dieckmann, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. Although periodic sampling was not explicitly mentioned, solid-state detectors, like PIN diodes, produce charge pulses when radiation interacts with them, wherein the pulses are typically amplified and then digitized using an ADC to improve noise reduction and accuracy. Therefore, in view of the recited benefits, it would have been well known, obvious, and predictably suitable to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Okazaki with the claimed configuration.
With regards to claims 12, 15, 16, and 20, the limitations of the claims have been addressed in the rejections of claims 1, 4, 5, 7, and 8 above and are rejected accordingly.
With regards to claims 13, 14, and 17, Okazaki does not explicitly teach the claimed Si PIN diode (which generates an electric current whose level varies according to an amount of radiation to which it is exposed) mounted on a PCB. Nevertheless, those skilled in the art recognize that such configurations were generally known. It would have been well known, obvious, and predictably suitable to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Okazaki with the claimed configuration in order to improve sensitivity.
With regards to claim 18, Okazaki does not specify wherein the components of the signal processing unit are mounted on a signal processing unit printed circuit board. However, such a modification was generally well known and would have been considered an obvious design choice. It would have been well known, obvious, and predictably suitable to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Okazaki with the claimed printed circuit board in order to couple said processing unit to other signal processing components in a reduced package size.
With regards to claim 19, Okazaki does not specifically teach the claimed monitor. However, such a modification was generally well known and would have been considered an obvious design choice. It would have been well known, obvious, and predictably suitable to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Okazaki with the claimed display in order to monitor operating conditions.
Claim 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okazaki in view of Williams and Tsuji (US 20130077746 A1).
With regards to claim 11, Okazaki does not teach wherein the computing device is further configured to control operation of an X-ray source configured generate X-ray radiation which is detected by the detectors, and stop the generation of X-ray radiation if the accumulated radiation level from one or more of the detectors exceeds a threshold. However, Tsuji teaches it was already known to monitor exposure dose and to terminate radiation emissions when a threshold value has been reached [0055]. Therefore, in view of avoiding over exposure, it would have been well known, obvious, and predictably suitable to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Okazaki with the claimed computing device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/MARCUS H TANINGCO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884