Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 8, 15 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
With regards to claims 1, 8, 15 and 22 recite “a value of a maximum supported PRS bandwidth…”. The applicant’s disclosure doesn’t provide sufficient support for the limitation.
The dependent claims are rejected on the same grounds by virtue of their dependency.
With regards to claim 2, the claims recite “the maximum supported PRS BW with frequency hopping is a maximum bandwidth for a transmission across multiple slots”. The applicant’s disclosure doesn’t provide sufficient support for the limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-12, 15-19 and 22-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manolakos et al. US 2022/0109466 A1 in view of Jiang et al. US 2025/0030511 A1.
Claims 1 and 8:
Manolakos discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a User Equipment (UE) (See fig. 3A; 332), comprising: a processing system that includes one or more processors and one or more memories coupled with the one or more processors (See fig. 3A; 332), the processing system is configured to cause the UE to: transmit an indication of a capability of the UE to perform receive frequency hopping to measure a downlink positioning reference signal (DL-PRS) (See fig. 16; 1620 and para 273, UE determines a capability of the UE perform receive frequency hopping to measure a downlink positioning reference signal (DL-PRS) across a plurality of frequency hops. Also see para 274, UE transmits an indication of the capability to a network component), where the indication of the capability includes a possible number of frequency hops (See para 282, the capability indicated at 1620 or determined at 1710 may comprise a number of frequency hops that the UE can process over a particular time-domain window), a hop overlap for PRS measurement (See para 279, the capability indicated at 1620 or determined at 1710 may comprise a minimum sub-band overlap between consecutive frequency hops); and receive PRS configuration information from a network node, the PRS configuration information associated with the indication of the capability (See para 302, receiving a DL-PRS configuration that is based in part on the indication; fig. 17; 1720).
Manolakos doesn’t disclose indication of the capability includes a value of a maximum supported PRS bandwidth (BW) with frequency hopping.
Jiang discloses indication of the capability includes a value of a maximum supported PRS bandwidth (BW) with frequency hopping (See paras 77-79, UE includes maximum supported PRS bandwidth with frequency hopping in a report to the network).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Manolakos with the teachings of Jiang to improve the method disclosed by Manolakos by including the feature of indicating maximum supported PRS BW with frequency hopping. The motivation to combine would have been to achieve high level of accuracy with low bandwidth.
Claims 15 and 22:
Manolakos discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a Base Station (BS) (See fig. 2A, eNB/gNB), comprising: a processing system that includes one or more processors and one or more memories coupled with the one or more processors (See figs. 3A/3B, processing system and memory), the processing system configured to cause the BS to: receive an indication of a capability of a User Equipment (UE) to perform receive frequency hopping to measure a downlink positioning reference signal (DL-PRS) (See fig. 16; 1620 and para 273, UE determines a capability of the UE perform receive frequency hopping to measure a downlink positioning reference signal (DL-PRS) across a plurality of frequency hops. Also see para 274, UE transmits an indication of the capability to a network component), where the indication of the capability includes a possible number of frequency hops (See para 282, the capability indicated at 1620 or determined at 1710 may comprise a number of frequency hops that the UE can process over a particular time-domain window), a hop overlap for PRS measurement (See para 279, the capability indicated at 1620 or determined at 1710 may comprise a minimum sub-band overlap between consecutive frequency hops); and transmit PRS configuration information to the UE, the PRS configuration information associated with the indication of the capability (See para 302, receiving a DL-PRS configuration that is based in part on the indication; fig. 17; 1720).
Manolakos doesn’t disclose indication of the capability includes a value of a maximum supported PRS bandwidth (BW) with frequency hopping.
Jiang discloses indication of the capability includes a value of a maximum supported PRS bandwidth (BW) with frequency hopping (See paras 77-79, UE includes maximum supported PRS bandwidth with frequency hopping in a report to the network).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Manolakos with the teachings of Jiang to improve the method disclosed by Manolakos by including the feature of indicating maximum supported PRS BW with frequency hopping. The motivation to combine would have been to achieve high level of accuracy with low bandwidth.
Claims 2 and 9:
Manolakos discloses perform receive frequency hopping to measure the DL-PRS across a plurality of frequency hops (See fig. 13 and para 268-270, measurement of a sub-band that overlaps in part with a sub-band of an adjacent frequency hop. These sub-band measurements can be stitched to device a measurement of the entire DL-PRS transmission. Also see para 273, the transmission bandwidth (e.g., 100 MHz) of the DL-PRS comprises at least each sub-band (e.g., 20 MHz sub-bands associated with the plurality of frequency hops)) and wherein the maximum supported PRS BW with frequency hopping is a maximum bandwidth for a transmission across multiple slots (See paras 77-79, UE includes maximum supported PRS bandwidth with frequency hopping in a report to the network. Also see paras 85-86, slots).
Claims 16 and 23:
Manolakos discloses that the processing system is further configured to cause the BS to: receive, from the UE, a report of the DL-PRS measured across a plurality of frequency hops (See fig. 13 and para 268-270, measurement of a sub-band that overlaps in part with a sub-band of an adjacent frequency hop. These sub-band measurements can be stitched to device a measurement of the entire DL-PRS transmission. Also see para 273, the transmission bandwidth (e.g., 100 MHz) of the DL-PRS comprises at least each sub-band (e.g., 20 MHz sub-bands associated with the plurality of frequency hops)).
Claims 3, 10, 17 and 24:
Manolakos discloses a UE measurement delay requirement is derived from the indication of the capability (See para 303, a measurement period associated with the DL-PRS configuration is based at least in part upon the indication).
Claims 4, 11, 18 and 25:
Manolakos discloses that the measurement delay requirement is defined according to the UE measuring one or more PRS combs per PRS resource (See para 282, first resources per slot and second resources per measurement period. Also see para 284, the measurement period is based upon a number of DL-PRS instances associated with the plurality of frequency hops).
Claims 5, 12, 19 and 26:
Manolakos discloses that the total PRS BW measured by the UE is limited by at least one of a number of PRS resource repetitions with a measurement gap, a retuning time between hops, a maximum BW per hop, and an amount of frequency overlap between hops (See para 278, 50% overlap. Also see para 273, the transmission bandwidth (e.g., 100 MHz) of the DL-PRS comprises at least each sub-band (e.g., 20 MHz sub-bands associated with the plurality of frequency hops).
Claim(s) 6, 13, 20 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manolakos et al. in view of Jiang et al. and Akkarakaran et al. US 2021/058890 A1.
Claim 6:
Manolakos in view of Jiang doesn’t disclose that the processing system is further configured to cause the UE to: report a total PRS BW measured by the UE with frequency hopping according to the PRS configuration information.
Akkarakaran discloses that the processing system is further configured to cause the UE to: report a total PRS BW measured by the UE with frequency hopping according to the PRS configuration information (See para 131, UE reports PRS bandwidth to the BS. Also see para 105, frequency hopping for PRS).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Manolakos in view of Jiang with the teachings of Akkarakaran to improve the method disclosed by Manolakos in view of Jiang by including the feature of reporting total PRS BW. The motivation would have to let the location server know of the PRS bandwidth that the UE used to generate the measurement report.
Claims 13, 20 and 27:
Manolakos in view of Jiang doesn’t disclose receiving a report of a total PRS BW measured by the UE according to the PRS configuration information.
Akkarakaran discloses receiving a report of a total PRS BW measured by the UE with frequency hopping according to the PRS configuration information (See para 131, UE reports PRS bandwidth to the BS. Also see para 105, frequency hopping for PRS).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Manolakos in view of Jiang with the teachings of Akkarakaran to improve the method disclosed by Manolakos in view of Jiang by including the feature of reporting total PRS BW. The motivation would have to let the location server know of the PRS bandwidth that the UE used to generate the measurement report.
Claim(s) 7, 14, 21 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manolakos et al. in view of Jiang et al. and Futurewei: “On positioning of RedCap UE in Rel-18”, R1-2304368 (Applicant admitted prior art).
Claims 7 and 14:
Manolakos doesn’t disclose that the processing system is further configured to cause the UE to:
report an indication that a measurement with frequency hopping has been performed according to the PRS configuration information.
Futurewei discloses that the processing system is further configured to cause the UE to:
report an indication that a measurement with frequency hopping has been performed according to the PRS configuration information (Page 1, 2.1, FFS: indication of how many received hops which received hops were used in the measurement report).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Manolakos with the teachings of Futurewei to improve the method disclosed by Manolakos by including the feature of reporting indication of hops. The motivation for doing so would have been to enable accurate positioning of the UE.
Claims 21 and 28:
Manolakos doesn’t disclose that receiving, from the UE, a reporting of an indication that a measurement with frequency hopping has been performed according to the PRS configuration information.
Futurewei discloses that receiving, from the UE, a reporting of an indication that a measurement with frequency hopping has been performed according to the PRS configuration information (Page 1, 2.1, FFS: indication of how many received hops which received hops were used in the measurement report).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Manolakos in view of Jiang with the teachings of Futurewei to improve the method disclosed by Manolakos in view of Jiang by including the feature of reporting indication of hops. The motivation for doing so would have been to enable accurate positioning of the UE.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With regards to claim 1 and its corresponding claims, the applicant argues that Jiang does not disclose that the “support maximum PRS bandwidth” is a UE-reported capability or parameter to a network”.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Jiang’s para 77 indicates a maximum value of20 MHz PRS bandwidth per frequency hop in the report which corresponds to “a value of a maximum supported PRS bandwidth (BW) with frequency hopping.
Conclusion
HASHIM S. BHATTI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2472
/HASHIM S BHATTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2475