DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 27 August 2026 has been entered. Claims 1 and 3-11 remain pending in the application. Claim 2 has been canceled. Claim 11 has been added.
All prior art grounds of rejection are withdrawn in light of amendments to the claims. New grounds of rejection are presented herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 7, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horie et al. (JP H06-146045 A, as previously attached) in view of Wu et al. (CN 109082683 A, as previously attached).
Regarding claims 1, 7, 10, and 11, Horie teaches an electrode for use as an anode ([0001]) comprising a substrate ([0008]), a metal nitride layer formed on the substrate ([0010]: as coating the substrate surface), and an iridium oxide layer formed on the metal nitride layer ([0016]: active layer covers the nitride layer, preferably at least 50% by weight iridium oxide). The metal of the metal nitride layer comprises nickel, titanium, vanadium, or chromium, among other metals also claimed ([0009]-[0010]: as base material and nitride formation on surface thereof). The electrode may be used in water electrolysis and therefore a device for such use ([0001]).
Horie does not teach wherein the metal nitride layer comprises metal nitride nanowires.
However, Wu teaches that metal nitride nanowires grown on a porous substrate may be used as a catalyst in a water splitting electrode ([0002]: water splitting; [0010]-[0011]: nickel foam substrate used in preparing the electrocatalyst). The nanowires can therefore be said to extend from the substrate and adjacent nanowires have a porous structure between them.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use metal nitride nanowires in the anodic electrode taught by Horie. One would be motivated to make this modification with the expectation of further improving the performance of the electrode by increasing the surface area compared to a roughened substrate subject to a nitride-forming process (Horie [0015]). Increasing surface area is known in the art to increase the rate of electrolysis reactions because the rate of molecular collisions between the catalyst and reactants increases, and the nanowires are characterized by their high surface area as shown in Wu Figs. 2 and 3. Furthermore, Horie teaches that nickel and titanium substrates are both appropriate for use (Horie [0010]), and absent of a showing of unexpected results, one of ordinary skill in the art would therefore expect to be able to grow metal nitride nanowires on a titanium substrate.
Claim 1 recites the limitation of the iridium oxide layer’s formation by electrodeposition on the metal nitride layer. The Examiner notes that the product of a product-by-process claim (i.e., intended method of making) is not patentably distinct from the prior art when the end product is anticipated or obvious. See MPEP § 2113(I). In the instant case, the underlying structure of the electrode is obvious over the combination of Horie and Wu as previously explained.
Regarding claims 3-5, Horie and Wu teach all inherited limitations from claim 1 on which they depend. Furthermore, Wu Figs. 2 and 3 are scanning electron microscope images of the metal nitride nanowire material, showing orientation of the wires in multiple directions and with a rough surface. The nanowires have a diameter between 50 and 100 nanometers and a length of 500 to 3000 nanometers (Wu [0009]; as a length of 0.5-3 μm). The diameter taught by Wu is fully within the claimed 10-100 nm, and the length partially overlaps the claimed length of 200-800 nm. However, it is obvious to one skilled in the art to find a more ideal range for the length of the nanowires through routine experimentation with the parameters of the process used to create them. See MPEP § 2144.05(II). The range of 200-800 nm would have been obvious through such routine experimentation.
Claims 6, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horie et al. (JP H06-146045 A) and Wu et al. (CN 109082683 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Park et al. (US 2020/0131657).
Regarding claim 6, Horie and Wu teach all inherited limitations from claim 1 on which it depends. Horie does not teach the thickness or unit area weight of the iridium oxide layer.
However, Park teaches an electrode for use in a water electrolysis device (Abstract), in which the substrate has an intermediate layer and a top iridium oxide layer electroplated over this intermediate layer ([0003]). The iridium oxide layer has a thickness preferably between 10 and 100 nm ([0047]). While not identical to the claimed range of 10 to 50 nm, it is obvious to one skilled in the art to arrive at a smaller/more preferable range through routine experimentation similar to Park (Table 1) for different electroplating times, which would be expected to result in different layer thicknesses. See MPEP § 2144.05(II). The range of 10 to 50 nm as claimed would have been obvious through such routine experimentation.
Regarding claim 8, the iridium oxide layer taught by Park has a weight of between 0.15 and 0.2 mg/cm2, demonstrated to result in improved electrolysis performance compared to an electrode of only electrodeposited iridium oxide on a substrate ([0078]; Fig. 8: compare “ED-IrO2 on ED-Pt” to “ED-IrO2”). It is therefore obvious to use such a layer weight on the electrode taught by Horie, in order to achieve the improved electrolysis performance shown in Figure 8.
Regarding claim 9, Horie and Wu do not teach a titanium paper substrate composed of titanium fibers. However, Park further teaches that the substrate is a titanium paper composed of titanium fibers; this selection of substrate prevents carbon corrosion and improves the stability of the electrode ([0050]). It is therefore obvious to one skilled in the art to use such a titanium paper substrate in the electrode taught by Horie and Wu, in order to improve the longevity of the electrode as Park demonstrates.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 27 August 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the incorporation of the Wu nanowires into the electrode of Horie would render the Horie, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). In the instant case, the teaching is that metal nitride nanowires are a suitable alternative to a solid metal nitride layer for the same purpose of electrocatalytic water splitting. The primary purpose of the Horie electrode is electrocatalytic water splitting ([0003]). Additionally, the arguments have not addressed that the iridium oxide layer still covers the metal nitride layer and can be placed onto the metal nitride layer by a variety of methods ([0016]-[0017]).
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Consequently, for at least these reasons, the Examiner finds the Applicant’s arguments unpersuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CBF/Examiner, Art Unit 1711
/MICHAEL E BARR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1711