DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the width direction (see at least claim 4), and the central longitudinal axis (see at least claim 5) and the shaving direction (see at least claim 25) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). It is unclear whether the present drawings illustrate the features of claim 1 because the region that physically supports the at least one shaving blade and the region that is free of the at least one shaving blade are not indicated with a reference character in the present drawings. Therefore, the features of claim 1 should be shown in the present drawings or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). If the features of claim 1 are shown in the drawings, then the region that physically supports the at least one shaving blade and the region that is free of the at least one shaving blade should be indicated with reference characters to make clear that these features are illustrated (see MPEP 608.01(o), explaining that in mechanical cases the meaning of every term used in any of the claims should be identified in the descriptive portion of the specification by reference to the drawing, designating the part or parts therein to which the term applies). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7, 13, 15-16, 18, and 23-25 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1:
it is unclear what is intended by the limitation “a guard located in front of the at least one shaving blade”, since a front has not been defined and appears to depend on an unclaimed orientation of the device
it is unclear what is intended by the limitation “a cap located in rear of the at least one shaving blade”, since a rear has not been defined and appears to depend on an unclaimed orientation of the device
it is unclear what is intended by the limitation “a region that is free of the at least one shaving blade and disposed to correspond to the guard”; does “correspond” in this context refer to the position of the region relative to the guard?
it is unclear what is intended by the limitation “one stop surface positioned in front of the pivot axis with respect to the transverse direction”, since a front has not been defined and appears to depend on an unclaimed orientation of the device
it is unclear what is intended by the limitation “wherein both of the two stop surfaces are disposed in front of the at least one shaving blade with respect to the transverse direction”, since a front has not been defined and appears to depend on an unclaimed orientation of the device
Claim 2: it is unclear what is intended by the limitation “two fourth surfaces formed in the rear of the third surface”, since a rear has not been defined and appears to depend on an unclaimed orientation of the device
Claim 4: it is unclear which direction the width direction corresponds to
Claim 5: it is unclear where the central longitudinal axis of the connector is intended to be located since it does not appear to be present in the drawings
Claim 7: it is unclear what is intended by the limitation “wherein the pivot axis passes through a front end of the concave portion”, since a front has not been defined and appears to depend on an unclaimed orientation of the device
Claim 13:
it is unclear what is intended by the limitation “wherein the second surface of the first coupling portion is formed in front of the first surface”, since a front has not been defined and appears to depend on an unclaimed orientation of the device
it is unclear what is intended by the limitation “wherein a fourth surface of the second coupling portion is formed in the rear of the third surface”, since a rear has not been defined and appears to depend on an unclaimed orientation of the device
Claim 15: it is unclear what is intended by the limitation “wherein the pivot axis passes through a front end of the first coupling portion”, since a front has not been defined and appears to depend on an unclaimed orientation of the device
Claim 16: it is unclear what is intended by the limitation “a convex curved surface corresponding to the concave curved surface”; are the two surfaces required to “correspond” such that the shapes are configured to engage one another?
Claim 18: it is unclear what is intended by the limitation “a curvature of the first surface corresponds to a curvature of the third surface”; are the two surfaces required to “correspond” such that the shapes are configured to engage one another?
Claim 23: at line 4, “wherein third surface” should be amended to read “wherein the third surface”
Claim 24: it is unclear what is intended by the limitation “the upper portion of the second coupling portion” since an upper portion has not been previously recited
Claim 25: it is unclear which direction the shaving direction corresponds to
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 11-20, and 23-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Follo (US 20040181954).
Regarding claim 1, Follo discloses a razor cartridge (razor cartridge 36; see fig. 1) configured to be coupled to a razor handle (shaving head 10 can be coupled to a handle; see paragraph [0007]) including a first coupling portion (cartridge retainers 20; see fig. 5) comprising a first surface (rear of ends 26; see annotated portion of fig. 5 below) and a second surface (front of ends 26; see annotated portion of fig. 5 below), the razor cartridge comprising: at least one shaving blade having a cutting edge (blades 44 comprise cutting edges 54; see paragraph [0022] and figs. 6-7); a blade housing accommodating the at least one shaving blade in a longitudinal direction (razor cartridge 36 comprises a housing designed to support blades 44 in a longitudinal direction that extends the length of the housing; see figs. 1, 6, and 7), the blade housing comprising an upper surface exposing at least a portion of the cutting edge (cutting edges 54 are exposed to an upper surface of the blade housing; see annotated portion of fig. 6 below), a lower surface opposite to the upper surface in a Y-axis direction perpendicular to the longitudinal direction (the blade housing has a lower surface opposite the upper surface; see annotated portion of fig. 6 below), a guard located in front of the at least one shaving blade (guard bar 49 is located near leading surface 46, in front of blades 44; see paragraph [0022] and figs. 6-7), and a cap located in rear of the at least one shaving blade (a cap is located near trailing surface 48, to the rear of blades 44; see annotated portion of fig. 6 below), and the lower surface comprising: a region that physically supports the at least one shaving blade and forms a continuous open space extending between the guard and the cap to allow washing fluid to pass therebetween (the region supports blades 44 and forms an open space between guard bar 49 and the cap; see annotated portion of fig. 6 below and fig. 3), and a region that is free of the at least one shaving blade and disposed to correspond to the guard (the region does not overlap blades 44 and corresponds to guard bar 49; see annotated portion of fig. 6 below); and a connector fixed entirely within the region that is free of the at least one shaving blade such that the connector does not overlap the region that physically supports the at least one shaving blade in the Y-axis direction and is spaced from the at least one shaving blade in a transverse direction to maintain the continuous open space (mounting members 38 are fixed entirely within the region free of blades 44, and mounting members 38 do not overlap the region supporting blades 44; see fig. 3), the connector comprising a second coupling portion configured to be coupled to the first coupling portion of the razor handle (arcuate retaining surfaces 40 are configured to be coupled to cartridge retainers 20; see paragraph [0021] and fig. 5), the second coupling portion comprising a third surface (front of mounting members 38; see annotated portion of fig. 5 below) configured to face the first surface of the first coupling portion of the razor handle (the third surface faces the first surface; see annotated portion of fig. 5 below), at least part of the second coupling portion being positioned within the region that is free of the at least one shaving blade (at least a portion of arcuate retaining surfaces 40 are positioned within the region free of blades 44; see annotated portion of fig. 6 below), wherein the transverse direction is perpendicular to the longitudinal direction (the transverse direction is formed perpendicularly to the longitudinal direction; see annotated portion of fig. 6 below) and the Y-axis direction is perpendicular to both the transverse direction and the longitudinal direction (the y-axis direction is perpendicular to the transverse and longitudinal directions; see annotated portion of fig. 6 below), wherein in a state in which the first coupling portion and the second coupling portion are coupled to each other, the connector is configured to be pivotable about a pivot axis (razor cartridge 36 is configured to rotate about pivot axis 52 when force is applied to it, such as during shaving; see paragraphs [0005, 0023] and figs. 6, 7) parallel to the longitudinal direction with respect to the razor handle (pivot axis 52 is parallel to the longitudinal direction; see figs. 6, 7), wherein the pivot axis is disposed forward of the at least one shaving blade and between the upper surface of the blade housing and the third surface (pivot axis 52 is positioned in front of blades 44 and is located between the upper surface and third surface; see annotated portion of fig. 6 below), wherein the connector comprises: two stop surfaces disposed at an angle with respect to the lower surface of the blade housing (a first and second stop surface are formed at an angle relative to the lower surface; see annotated portion of fig. 6 below), one stop surface positioned in front of the pivot axis with respect to the transverse direction and oriented to contact the first coupling portion at a rest position (the first stop surface is positioned in front of pivot axis 52 in the transverse direction and is configured to contact cartridge retainers 20; see annotated portion of figs. 5 and 6 below), and the other stop surface positioned in rear of the pivot axis with respect to the transverse direction and extending perpendicular to the lower surface of the blade housing to limit a pivot angle by engagement with the first coupling portion (the second stop surface is positioned behind pivot axis 52 in the transverse direction and extends at least partially perpendicular to the lower surface such that the pivot angle is limited; see annotated portion of fig. 6 below), and wherein both of the two stop surfaces are disposed in front of the at least one shaving blade with respect to the transverse direction (both stop surfaces are located at least partially in front of at least one of blades 44 in the transverse direction; see annotated portion of fig. 6 below).
Regarding claim 2, Follo discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Follo further discloses wherein the connector includes two second coupling portions (mounting members 38 each include an arcuate retaining surface 40; see fig. 5), and wherein the two second coupling portions include two fourth surfaces formed in the rear of the third surface (each of mounting members 38 include a fourth surface formed in the rear of the third surface; see annotated portion of fig. 5 above), each having a predetermined inclined angle with respect to an axis perpendicular to the lower surface of the blade housing (each of the fourth surfaces are inclined with respect to an axis perpendicular to the lower surface; see annotated portion of fig. 5 above).
Regarding claim 4, Follo discloses the limitations of claim 2 as described in the rejection above.
Follo further discloses wherein the two fourth surfaces have a symmetric shape about a width direction perpendicular to the longitudinal direction (the fourth surfaces are symmetric about a width direction which is perpendicular to the longitudinal direction; see fig. 6).
Regarding claim 5, Follo discloses the limitations of claim 2 as described in the rejection above.
Follo further discloses wherein the two fourth surfaces are closer to a central longitudinal axis of the connector than to a lateral edge of the connector (the fourth surfaces are closer to a center of mounting members 38 than an outer edge of the mounting members 38 in a longitudinal direction; see annotated portion of fig. 5 above).
Regarding claim 6, Follo discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Follo further discloses wherein the connector comprises a receiving portion (arcuate guides 42; see fig. 3) configured to receive at least a part of the first coupling portion (a portion of ends 26 of cartridge retainers 26 engages with arcuate guides 42; see paragraph [0021] and fig. 4), and wherein a concave portion having a fan-shaped cross-section is formed in the receiving portion (arcuate guides 42 have a concave cross-section opposite the side that engages ends 26; see fig. 3), the pivot axis passing through the concave portion (pivot axis 52 passes through the cross-section of arcuate guides 42; see figs. 3 and 6).
Regarding claim 7, Follo discloses the limitations of claim 6 as described in the rejection above.
Follo further discloses wherein the pivot axis passes through a front end of the concave portion toward the upper surface of the blade housing (pivot axis 52 passes through a front end of arcuate guides 42; see figs. 3 and 6).
Regarding claim 11, Follo discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Follo further discloses wherein the connector is formed integrally with the blade housing (mounting members 38 are formed as part of the blade housing; see fig. 3).
Regarding claim 12, Follo discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Follo further discloses a razor assembly comprising: a razor handle (shaving head 10 can be coupled to a handle; see paragraph [0007]) including a first coupling portion (cartridge retainers 20; see fig. 5) comprising a first surface (rear of ends 26; see annotated portion of fig. 5 above) and a second surface (front of ends 26; see annotated portion of fig. 5 above); and the razor cartridge of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 13, Follo discloses the limitations of claim 12 as described in the rejection above.
Follo further discloses wherein the connector comprises a receiving portion (arcuate guides 42; see fig. 3) configured to receive at least a part of the first coupling portion (a portion of ends 26 of cartridge retainers 26 engages with arcuate guides 42; see paragraph [0021] and fig. 4), wherein the second surface of the first coupling portion is formed in front of the first surface (the second surface is formed in front of the first surface; see annotated portion of fig. 5 above), wherein a fourth surface of the second coupling portion is formed in the rear of the third surface (the fourth surface is formed to the rear of the third surface; see annotated portion of fig. 5 above), and wherein the fourth surface is configured to cam-actuate with the second surface while the first coupling portion enters the receiving portion so as to be coupled to the second coupling portion (when inserting razor cartridge 36 into shaving head 10, the fourth surface will actuate with the second surface; see annotated portion of fig. 5 above).
Regarding claim 14, Follo discloses the limitations of claim 13 as described in the rejection above.
Follo further discloses wherein an inclined angle formed by the fourth surface corresponds to an inclined angle formed by the second surface in order for the fourth surface to cam-actuate with the second surface (the fourth surface is inclined with respect to an axis perpendicular to the lower surface, and the inclined angle corresponds to that of the second surface to facilitate attachment of razor cartridge 36; see annotated portion of fig. 5 above).
Regarding claim 15, Follo discloses the limitations of claim 12 as described in the rejection above.
Follo further discloses wherein the pivot axis passes a front end of the first coupling portion (cartridge retainers 20 have front ends 26 which are passed by pivot axis 52; see annotated portion of fig. 5 above and fig. 6).
Regarding claim 16, Follo discloses the limitations of claim 12 as described in the rejection above.
Follo further discloses wherein the third surface comprises a concave curved surface (the third surface, formed by the front portion of mounting members 38, is concave; see annotated portion of fig. 5 above and fig. 6), and wherein the first surface comprises a convex curved surface (the first surface, formed by the rear portion of ends 26, is convex; see fig. 3 and annotated portion of fig. 5 above) corresponding to the concave curved surface of the third surface (the curvature of the third and first surfaces correspond to one another to facilitate mounting of razor cartridge 36; see fig. 4).
Regarding claim 17, Follo discloses the limitations of claim 16 as described in the rejection above.
Follo further discloses wherein the curved surface of the first surface and the curved surface of the third surface have a profile of an arc about the pivot axis (the curved first and third surfaces have an arc shape relative to pivot axis 52; see annotated portion of fig. 5 above and fig. 6).
Regarding claim 18, Follo discloses the limitations of claim 16 as described in the rejection above.
Follo further discloses wherein a curvature of the first surface corresponds to a curvature of the third surface (the curved first surface corresponds to the curved third surface to facilitate mounting of razor cartridge 36; see fig. 4 and annotated portion of fig. 5 above).
Regarding claim 19, Follo discloses the limitations of claim 12 as described in the rejection above.
Follo further discloses wherein the connector comprises a receiving portion (arcuate guides 42; see fig. 3) configured to receive at least a part of the first coupling portion (a portion of ends 26 of cartridge retainers 26 engages with arcuate guides 42; see paragraph [0021] and fig. 4), wherein the connector is configured to be pivotable within a predetermined angle range about the pivot axis (razor cartridge 36 is configured to rotate about pivot axis 52 when force is applied to it, such as during shaving, and has a predetermined angle range since it is limited by mounting members 38; see paragraphs [0005, 0023] and figs. 6, 7), and wherein the second coupling portion is configured to be coupled to the first coupling portion which enters the receiving portion within the predetermined angle range (arcuate retaining surfaces 40 are configured to be coupled to cartridge retainers 20 as ends 26 of cartridge retainers 20 abut arcuate guides 42 within the predetermined angle range; see paragraph [0021] and fig. 5).
Regarding claim 20, Follo discloses the limitations of claim 12 as described in the rejection above.
Follo further discloses wherein the connector comprises a receiving portion (arcuate guides 42; see fig. 3) configured to receive at least a part of the first coupling portion (a portion of ends 26 of cartridge retainers 26 engages with arcuate guides 42; see paragraph [0021] and fig. 4), and wherein the first coupling portion includes a latching portion formed to be received in the receiving portion when being coupled to the second coupling portion (at least a portion of the latching portion is received by arcuate guides 42; see annotated portion of fig. 5 above), and wherein a cross-section of the latching portion has a fan shape (the latching portion has a fan shape – that is, a curved line connected on either end by a straight line segment; see annotated portion of fig. 5 above).
Regarding claim 23, Follo discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Follo further discloses wherein the second coupling portion comprises the third surface (arcuate retaining surfaces 40 comprise the third surface; see annotated portion of fig. 5 above), wherein third surface is positioned within the region of the lower surface of the blade housing that is free of the at least one shaving blade (the third surface is positioned within the region free of blades 44; see annotated portion of figs. 5 and 6 above), and wherein the second coupling portion partially overlaps the region of the lower surface of the blade housing that physically supports the at least one shaving blade (at least a portion of arcuate retaining surfaces 40 overlap the region that supports blades 44; see annotated portion of fig. 6 above).
Regarding claim 24, Follo discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Follo further discloses wherein the upper portion of the second coupling portion of the connector is inclined relative to the longitudinal direction (at least a portion of arcuate retaining surfaces 40 is inclined relative to the longitudinal direction; see fig. 6).
Regarding claim 25, Follo discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Follo further discloses wherein the connector is positioned in front of the at least one shaving blade in a shaving direction such that water flow from the upper surface toward the lower surface is not obstructed by the connector (mounting members 38 are positioned at least partially in front of blades 44 relative to shaving direction A; see fig. 6).
Regarding claim 26, Follo discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Follo further discloses wherein the first coupling portion simultaneously engages the two stop surfaces at respective limits of a pivot range (cartridge retainers 20 engage both stop surfaces when the cartridge pivots to its limits; see figs. 3 and 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Follo (US 20040181954).
Regarding claim 3, Follo discloses the limitations of claim 2 as described in the rejection above.
Follo does not explicitly disclose wherein the predetermined inclined angle is 20 degrees to 80 degrees.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Follo to include a predetermined inclined angle between 20 degrees to 80 degrees since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device (see In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984)). In the instant case, the device of Follo would not operate differently if modified to have an angle within the recited range, particularly since it appears to have an angle of about 45 degrees from the axis. Further, it appears Applicant has placed no criticality on the claimed range, simply indicating that the predetermined inclined angle “may” be within 20 degrees to 80 degrees (see instant specification paragraph [0042]).
Claims 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Follo (US 20040181954) in view of Son (US 20180272549).
Regarding claim 21, Follo discloses the limitations of claim 12 as described in the rejection above.
Follo does not explicitly disclose wherein the razor handle further includes one or more plunger guards extended in a forward direction.
Son discloses wherein the razor handle further includes one or more plunger guards extended in a forward direction (plunger guards 235, 236 are arranged on either side of plunger 260 and extend in a forward direction; see paragraph [0070] and fig. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Follo in view of Son to include one or more plunger guards. Son discloses a pair of plunger guards (plunger guards 235, 236) that are designed to protect the plunger, even when the cartridge is not assembled (see paragraph [0027]). In order to provide protection for the plunger, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include plunger guards as disclosed by Son.
Regarding claim 22, Follo as modified discloses the limitations of claim 21 as described in the rejection above.
Follo as modified further discloses wherein the connector includes two second coupling portions (mounting members 38 each include an arcuate retaining surface 40; see fig. 5), and wherein in a state in which the first coupling portion and the two second coupling portions are coupled to each other, the plunger guard is extended from the razor handle so as to be inserted into a space between the two second coupling portions (as modified to include forwardly extending plunger guards on either side of the plunger, the plunger guards extend into a space between mounting members 38 when cartridge retainers 20 are coupled to mounting members 38).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-7 and 11-26 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HALEIGH N WATSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3724 /BOYER D ASHLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3724