DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 08/10/2026 has been entered. Claims 11-29 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 08/10/2026 have been fully considered.
Regarding Applicant’s argument (REMARKS pages 8-13) about amended Claim 1, especially “Xu fails to teach or suggest that the resulting electrical emitted signal and optical emitted signal are mutually coherent based on the optical transmission signal in the manner expressly required by claim 11, nor does Xu teach that the central computing device is configured to process an electrical radar signal based on the electrical received signal together with an electrical LIDAR signal based on the optical received signal for surrounding area detection.” (see REMARKS page 11 lines 6-11), Examiner disagrees because prior art Xu (‘NPL) does disclose the newly added limitations: “wherein the radio-based transmitter unit and the optical transmitter unit are configured such that the electrical emitted signal and the optical emitted signal are mutually coherent based on the optical transmission signal” {Fig.1; page 15070 left column lines 2-5 (the modulated light is split into four parts by an optical coupler. The first part is used as the transmitted signal of the lidar subsystem. The second part is converted to the transmitted signal of the radar subsystem); page 15072 right column lines 1-3 from bottom (For the lidar subsystem, not only the distance of the spinning disk, but also the velocity information on the disk can be obtained because coherent detection is used); page 15073 right column below TABLE I lines 1-2 (the bandwidth of the radar is small, the coherent lidar is used); Examiner’s note: same signal “split into four parts”, therefore the “four parts” are “mutually coherent” because “mutually coherent” means two or more waves or signals share a stable, predictable, and constant phase or correlation relationship with one another.}, and “wherein the central computing device is configured to process an electrical radar signal based on the electrical received signal together with an electrical LIDAR signal based on the optical received signal for surrounding area detection” {Fig.1 (BPD, PD2, DSP, ADC, ELPF, Radar, Lidar); page 15073 right column below title “IV. CONCLUSION” lines 7-8 (The prototype of the integrated system is constructed and used to detect the static and moving targets); Examiner’s note: BPD and PD2 in “Receiver” box are photodetectors, which convert incoming light (photons) into an electrical response (usually as an electric current or a voltage) using the photoelectric effect. “Data acquisition” in Fig.1 is interpreted as “central computing device”. Input of “Data acquisition” is from PD2 from Radar antenna and BPD from Lidar telescope. Therefore the “Data acquisition” “process an electrical radar signal based on the electrical received signal together with an electrical LIDAR signal based on the optical received signal for surrounding area detection”}.
Claim Objections
Claims 11, 20, 29 objected to because of the following informalities: 1) “the electrical emitted signal” in claim 11 line 5 from bottom, claim 20 line 5 from bottom, claim 29 lines 5-6 from bottom, respectively. It appears that it should be “the electrically-emitted signal” to be consistent with previous mentioned “an electrically-emitted signal” (see claim 11 lines 5-6, claim 20 lines 6-7, claim 29 line 5). 2) “for surrounding area detection” in line from bottom. It appears that “the” is missing after “for”. Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-18, 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xu et al. (Xu, Zhongyang, Jianing Zhao, Fangzheng Zhang, Lejing Zhang, Tianwen Yang, Qinru Li, and Shilong Pan. "Photonics-based radar-lidar integrated system for multi-sensor fusion applications." IEEE Sensors Journal 20, no. 24 (2020): 15068-15074, hereafter Xu).
Regarding claim 11, Xu (‘NPL) discloses that A sensor system for surrounding area detection { Figure in abstract; Fig.1 (Radar, Lidar); page 15073 right column below title “IV. CONCLUSION” lines 7-8 (The prototype of the integrated system is constructed and used to detect the static and moving targets); Examiner’s note: Figure in abstract for “surrounding area detection”} comprising:
an optical device for generating an optical transmission signal {Fig. in abstract item Laser; Fig.1 item LD in transmitter};
a transmitter device { Fig.1 (transmitter)}, the transmitter device comprising:
- an optical input configured for receiving the optical transmission signal { Fig.1 input of OC in transmitter },
- a radio-based transmitter unit configured for emitting an electrically-emitted signal, based on the optical transmission signal {Fig.1 radar with input from OC in transmitter (see marks below)}, and
- an optical transmitter unit, the optical transmitter unit being configured for emitting an optical emitted signal based on the optical transmission signal {Fig.1 Lidar with input from OC in transmitter(see marks below)},
a receiver device {Fig.1 (receiver)}, the receiver device comprising:
- an optical input configured for receiving the optical transmission signal {Fig.1 (see marks below) },
- a radio-based receiver unit for receiving an electrical received signal { Fig.1 (EA2, antenna in Receiver); Examiner’s note: antenna outputs electrical signal }, and
- an optical receiver unit for receiving an optical received signal { Fig.1 (Telescope, EDFA in Receiver)}; and
a central computing device configured for processing emitted and/or received signals {Fig.1 (Data acquisition, DSP)},
wherein the radio-based transmitter unit and the optical transmitter unit are configured such that the electrical emitted signal and the optical emitted signal are mutually coherent based on the optical transmission signal {Fig.1; page 15070 left column lines 2-5 (the modulated light is split into four parts by an optical coupler. The first part is used as the transmitted signal of the lidar subsystem. The second part is converted to the transmitted signal of the radar subsystem); page 15072 right column lines 1-3 from bottom (For the lidar subsystem, not only the distance of the spinning disk, but also the velocity information on the disk can be obtained because coherent detection is used); page 15073 right column below TABLE I lines 1-2 (the bandwidth of the radar is small, the coherent lidar is used); Examiner’s note: same signal “split into four parts”, therefore the “four parts” are “mutually coherent” because “mutually coherent” means two or more waves or signals share a stable, predictable, and constant phase or correlation relationship with one another.}, and
wherein the central computing device is configured to process an electrical radar signal based on the electrical received signal together with an electrical LIDAR signal based on the optical received signal for surrounding area detection {Fig.1 (BPD, PD2, DSP, ADC, ELPF, Radar, Lidar); page 15073 right column below title “IV. CONCLUSION” lines 7-8 (The prototype of the integrated system is constructed and used to detect the static and moving targets); Examiner’s note: BPD and PD2 in “Receiver” box are photodetectors, which convert incoming light (photons) into an electrical response (usually as an electric current or a voltage) using the photoelectric effect. “Data acquisition” in Fig.1 is interpreted as “central computing device”. Input of “Data acquisition” is from PD2 from Radar antenna and BPD from Lidar telescope. Therefore the “Data acquisition” “process an electrical radar signal based on the electrical received signal together with an electrical LIDAR signal based on the optical received signal for surrounding area detection”.}.
Regarding claim 12, which depends on claim 11, Xu (‘NPL) discloses that in the sensor system,
the radio-based transmitter unit is configured for generating and emitting the electrical emitted signal in dependence on the optical transmission signal, or generating and emitting the electrical emitted signal based on a manipulation of the optical transmission signal {Figure in abstract (radar transceiver) with input from laser source; Fig.1 radar antenna in transmitter with input signal from LD}, and
wherein the optical transmitter unit is configured for directly emitting the optical transmission signal as the optical emitted signal, or converting the optical transmission signal to the optical emitted signal through manipulation and emitting the optical emitted signal {Figure in abstract (Lidar transceiver) with input from laser source; Fig.1 Lidar telescope in transmitter with input signal from LD}.
Regarding claim 13, which depends on claim 11, Xu (‘NPL) discloses that in the sensor system,
the receiver device comprises a first optical output {Fig.1 (OC in Lidar receive path to “Data acquisition” box)}, and
wherein the receiver device comprises a second optical output and/or a second electrical output configured for providing an optical output signal, which is based on the electrical received signal, to the central computing device { Fig.1 (OBPF (optical band-pass filter) in radar receive path to “Data acquisition” box); Examiner’s note: output of EA2 for “a second electrical output”. output of OBPF for “a second optical output” and “an optical output signal, which is based on the electrical received signal”}.
Regarding claim 14, which depends on claim 11, Xu (‘NPL) discloses that in the sensor system,
the receiver device comprises one or more of an optical amplifier, an electrical amplifier, an optical demodulator, and an electrical demodulator {Fig.1 EDFA (Erbium-doped fiber amplifier), EA2 (electrical amplifier)}.
Regarding claim 15, which depends on claim 11, Xu (‘NPL) discloses that in the sensor system,
the receiver device comprises an electrical return channel and/or an optical return channel { Fig.1 (Radar receive path, Lidar receive path)}, the receiver device being operatively coupled with the optical device via the electrical return channel and/or the optical return channel {Fig.1 (LD in transmitter to OC in transmitter and LO from OC in transmitter to PM in Radar receive path and to OC in Lidar receive path); Examiner’s note: “the receiver device being operatively coupled with the optical device” via DP-MZM and OC in transmitter. }.
Regarding claim 16, which depends on claims 11 and 15, Xu (‘NPL) discloses that in the sensor system,
the optical return channel of the receiver device is fed by the optical transmission signal of the optical device and/or the receiver device comprises an optical source operatively coupled to the optical return channel {Fig.1 (LO from OC in transmitter to OC in Lidar receive path) (see mark below)}.
Regarding claim 17, which depends on claim 11, Xu (‘NPL) discloses that in the sensor system,
the central computing device comprises {Fig.1 DSP in “Data acquisition”}.
Regarding claim 18, which depends on claim 11, Xu (‘NPL) discloses that in the sensor system,
the transmitter device, the receiver device, the optical device, and the central computing device are configured to be physically and/or spatially separate with respect to each other, or the transmitter device, the receiver device, the optical device, and the central computing device are configured together as a joint unit {Fig.1; title (Photonics-Based Radar-Lidar Integrated System)}.
Regarding claim 29, Keller (‘877), as modified above, discloses that A method for operating a sensor system for surrounding area detection { Fig.1; Examiner’s note: Fig.1 shows “a method”} comprising:
generating an optical transmission signal via an optical device;
receiving the optical transmission signal in an optical input of a transmitter device;
emitting an electrically-emitted signal via a radio-based transmitter unit of the transmitter device, based on the optical transmission signal
emitting an optical emitted signal based on the optical transmission signal, via an optical transmitter unit of the transmitter device;
receiving the optical transmission signal via an optical input of a receiver device; receiving an electrical received signal via a radio-based receiver unit of the receiver device;
receiving an optical received signal via an optical receiver unit of the receiver device; and
processing the emitted and/or received signals via a central computing device;
emitting the electrical emitted signal and the optical emitted signal such that the electrical emitted signal and the optical emitted signal are mutually coherent based on the optical transmission signal; and
processing, via the central computing device, an electrical radar signal based on the electrical received signal together with an electrical LID AR signal based on the optical received signal for surrounding area detection.
{The claim limitations above are the same or substantially the same scope as the corresponding claim limitations in claim 11. Therefore the claim limitations above are rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as in claim 1. See the rejections of claim 11}.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (‘NPL) as applied to claim 11 above and further in view of Stochino (US 11,340,346, hereafter Stochino).
Regarding claim 19, which depends on claim 11, Xu (‘NPL) does not explicitly disclose “the transmitter device, the receiver device, the optical device, and/or the central computing device are configured as at least partially physically and/or spatially separate entities with respect to each other”. In the same field of endeavor, Stochino (‘346) discloses that in the sensor system,
the transmitter device, the receiver device, the optical device, and/or the central computing device are configured as at least partially physically and/or spatially separate entities with respect to each other {Fig.10 items 1002 (central unit), 1004a-h; col.2 line 58 (lidar-radar transponders); col.30 lines 62-63 (a central unit 1002 , 8 transponders 1004a-1004h)}.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Xu (‘NPL) with the teachings of Stochino (‘346) {locate sensors and processors in different locations around a vehicle} to locate sensors and processors in different locations around a vehicle. Doing so would provide one or more of the centralized sensor network systems so as to monitor the position and/or the velocities of one or more objects in an environment surrounding an automobile, as recognized by Stochino (‘346) {col.30 lines 55-58 (one or more of the centralized sensor network systems, can be used to monitor the position and/or the velocities of one or more objects in an environment surrounding an automobile)}.
Claim 20-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (‘NPL) in view of and Stochino (‘346).
Regarding claim 20, Xu (‘NPL) discloses that A vehicle comprising a sensor system for surrounding area detection {page 15068 right column below abstract lines 4-5 (radar-lidar fusion systems have been used in automotive driving); Figure in abstract; Fig.1 (Radar, Lidar); page 15073 right column below title “IV. CONCLUSION” lines 7-8 (The prototype of the integrated system is constructed and used to detect the static and moving targets); Examiner’s note: Figure in abstract for “surrounding area detection”}, the sensor system comprising:
an optical device for generating an optical transmission signal;
a transmitter device, the transmitter device comprising:
- an optical input configured for receiving the optical transmission signal,
- a radio-based transmitter unit configured for emitting an electrically-emitted signal, based on the optical transmission signal, and
- an optical transmitter unit, the optical transmitter unit being configured for emitting an optical emitted signal based on the optical transmission signal,
a receiver device, the receiver device comprising:
- an optical input configured for receiving the optical transmission signal,
- a radio-based receiver unit for receiving an electrical received signal, and
- an optical receiver unit for receiving an optical received signal; and
a central computing device configured for processing emitted and/or received signals
wherein the central computing device is configured to process an electrical radar signal based on the electrical received signal together with an electrical LIDAR signal based on the optical received signal for surrounding area detection.
{The claim limitations above are the same or substantially the same scope as the corresponding claim limitations in claim 11. Therefore the claim limitations above are rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as in claim 1. See the rejections of claim 11}.
However, Xu (‘NPL) does not explicitly disclose (see words with underline) “a central computing device configured for processing emitted and/or received signals to function as a drive and evaluation unit of the sensor system”. In the same field of endeavor, Stochino (‘346) discloses that
a central computing device configured for processing emitted and/or received signals to function as a drive and evaluation unit of the sensor system { Fig.10 item 1002 (CU); col.5 lines 25-31 (centralized sensor systems and methods can support both RADAR and LIDAR sensors to enable detection based on both radio waves and light waves, they may enable the realization of compact multi-emitter detection systems that combine high-resolution directional detection with and long-range wide area detection and low-visibility resilience.); col.12 lines 13-19 (Common signal processing between lidar, radar or other sensing modalities, enhance detection and ranging performance. Exchanging early heuristics through a common signal processing platform may provide mutual reinforcement and validation among the different sensing modalities.); col.30 lines 62-64 (a central unit 1002 is communicatively connected to 8 transponders 1004a-1004h installed at different sites on the automobile)}.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Xu (‘NPL) with the teachings of Stochino (‘346) {locate sensors and processors in different locations around a vehicle and process data from different sensors for validation among the different sensing modalities } to locate sensors and processors in different locations around a vehicle and process data from different sensors for validation among the different sensing modalities. Doing so would monitor the position and/or the velocities of one or more objects in an environment surrounding an automobile using different sensing modalities so as to enhance detection and ranging performance, as recognized by Stochino (‘346) { col.12 lines 13-19 (Common signal processing between lidar, radar or other sensing modalities, enhance detection and ranging performance. Exchanging early heuristics through a common signal processing platform may provide mutual reinforcement and validation among the different sensing modalities.); col.30 lines 55-58 (one or more of the centralized sensor network systems, can be used to monitor the position and/or the velocities of one or more objects in an environment surrounding an automobile)}.
Regarding claims 21-28, Applicant recites claim limitations of the same or substantially the same scope as that of claims 12-19, respectively. Accordingly, claims 21-28 are rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as claims 12-19, respectively, shown above.
Conclusion
/YONGHONG LI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648