DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Note
Examiner and Attorney Peter Zura (872-208-8102) had interview on 3/13/2026 and 3/31/2026 regarding Examiner’s amendment. Attorney Peter Zura explained on 3/31/2026 that the applicant would like to have clear explanation in the Office Action. Therefore, Examiner explained each argument in the REMARKS filed 01/19/2026 and added figure with marks in the rejection for clarification in this Office Action.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 2/19/2026 has been entered. Claims 11-29 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 01/19/2026 and 02/19/2026 have been fully considered. Following answers regard the arguments filed on 01/19/2026.
Regarding Applicant’s argument (REMARKS pages 8-9) about the rejections of claims 11-29 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), the rejections have been overcome by the amendment and clarifications in the REMARKS filed on 01/19/2026.
Regarding Applicant’s argument (REMARKS pages 10-12) about the rejections of claim 1, Examiner disagrees because:
1) For argument “Under the Office's broadest reasonable interpretation standard, distinct signal paths and internal reference signals cannot be re-labeled or collapsed to satisfy an expressly recited shared "optical transmission signal" distributed across both the transmitter and receiver devices.” (see REMARKS page 10 lines 14-17), prior art Xu (‘NPL) Fig.1 (see marks below) does disclose the “shared "optical transmission signal" distributed across both the transmitter and receiver devices”. In Xu (‘NPL) Fig.1, “LD” in “Transmitter” generates “optical transmission signal”, which is sent to transmitter of Lidar and radar from the optical coupler “OC” in “Transmitter” and also sent the same signal to receiver of Lidar and radar from the same optical coupler “OC” in “Transmitter” (see marks below).
2) For argument “Keller does not disclose these relationships.” (see REMARKS page 10 line 18) and “Keller also fails to disclose the receiver-side limitation requiring "an optical input configured for receiving the optical transmission signal."” (see REMARKS page 11 lines 3-4), Examiner agrees because as indicated in the rejection of claim 1 in the Office Action filed on 11/03/2025 “However, Keller (‘877) does not explicitly disclose (see words with underlines) “an optical device for generating an optical transmission signal”, “an optical input configured for receiving the optical transmission signal”, “a radio-based transmitter unit configured for emitting an electrically-emitted signal, based on the optical transmission signal”, “ an optical transmitter unit, the optical transmitter unit being configured for emitting an optical emitted signal based on the optical transmission signal”, and “an optical input configured for receiving the optical transmission signal”, the words with underlines above is what Keller (‘877) does not explicitly disclose. The relationship is disclosed in prior art Xu (‘NPL).
3) For argument “Xu does not cure these deficiencies” (see REMARKS page 11 line 13), “However, Xu does not disclose a receiver device comprising an optical input configured to directly receive the optical transmission signal itself” (see REMARKS page 11 lines 19-20), “Xu does not describe providing the transmission-side optical signal itself to the receiver device via an optical input” (see REMARKS page 11 lines 22-24), and “Xu still lacks any disclosure of a receiver-side optical input that directly receives the transmission-side optical signal itself” (see REMARKS page 11 lines 25-26), prior art Xu (‘NPL) Fig.1 (see marks below) does disclose “a receiver device comprising an optical input configured to directly receive the optical transmission signal itself” and “providing the transmission-side optical signal itself to the receiver device via an optical input”.
4) For argument “This reconstruction is not supported by either reference” (see REMARKS page 11 lines 2-3 from bottom), “Neither reference discloses, nor suggests, a system in which a single optical transmission signal generated by an optical device is used as the basis for both electrically-emitted and optically-emitted signals and is also received at a receiver device via an optical input” (see REMARKS page 12 lines 1-4), as explained in 3), prior art Xu (‘NPL) Fig.1 (see marks in 3)) does disclose “a system in which a single optical transmission signal generated by an optical device is used as the basis for both electrically-emitted and optically-emitted signals and is also received at a receiver device via an optical input”.
5) For argument “Nor does the Office identify any articulated reason, grounded in the references, why a person having ordinary skill in the art would have modified Keller's internal local-oscillator architecture using Xu's transmission-oriented laser source to create a shared optical transmission signal distributed across both the transmitter and receiver devices. The proposed combination thus depends on hindsight reconstruction using Applicant's claim language as a roadmap, rather than on teachings or suggestions found in the applied references themselves.” (see REMARKS page 12 lines 4-10), Examiner rejected claim 11 under 35 USC § 103. The combination is based on fundamental operation principle (or theory) of radar and lidar sensors. That is, at radar and lidar receiver, the transmitted signal must be used in receiver to extract differences between the transmitted signal and received signal. The features of detected object (e.g. distance, moving velocity, etc.) are extracted from the differences between the transmitted signal and the received signal. Therefore, the combination is not “hindsight reconstruction”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-18, 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keller et al. (US 2020/0266877, hereafter Keller) in view of Xu et al. (Xu, Zhongyang, Jianing Zhao, Fangzheng Zhang, Lejing Zhang, Tianwen Yang, Qinru Li, and Shilong Pan. "Photonics-based radar-lidar integrated system for multi-sensor fusion applications." IEEE Sensors Journal 20, no. 24 (2020): 15068-15074, hereafter Xu).
Regarding claim 11, Keller (‘877) discloses that A sensor system for surrounding area detection { Fig.1 items 156 (optical scene), 158 (radio frequency scene ); [0025] line 1 (FIG. 1 is a block diagram of a sensing system); [0031] line 8 (an optical scene 156); [0036] line 4 (radio frequency scene 158)} comprising:
an optical device { Fig.4 (optical local oscillator)} ;
a transmitter device { Fig.1 item 140 (Optical transmitter); 145 (RF transmitter)}, the transmitter device comprising:
- ,
- a radio-based transmitter unit configured for emitting an electrically-emitted signal { Fig.1 item 145 (RF transmitter); [0007] lines 3-4 (radio frequency pulse emitted by the radio frequency transmitter)}, and
- an optical transmitter unit, the optical transmitter unit being configured for emitting an optical emitted signal { Fig.1 item 140 (Optical transmitter); [0012] line 3 (an optical pulse emitted by the optical transmitter)} ,
a receiver device {Fig.1 items 105 (optical telescope), 115 (RF antenna array); [0004] lines 3-4 (an imaging radio frequency receiver, an imaging optical receiver)}, the receiver device comprising:
- an optical input configured for receiving { Fig.3 (optical local oscillator input); Fig.4 (optical local oscillator)},
- a radio-based receiver unit for receiving an electrical received signal { Fig.1 items 115 (RF antenna array), 120 (RF to optical converter); Fig.2 radio frequency receiver, item 205 (antenna); [0034] lines 1-3 (the radio frequency antenna array 115 may include a plurality of antenna elements 205 as illustrated in FIG. 2); Examiner’s note: antenna outputs electrical signal }, and
- an optical receiver unit for receiving an optical received signal { Fig.1 item 105 (optical telescope); [0031] lines 7-8 (the optical telescope 105 may receive light from an optical scene 156)}; and
a central computing device configured for processing emitted and/or received signals { Fig.1 item 150 (processing circuit)}.
However, Keller (‘877) does not explicitly disclose (see words with underlines) “an optical device for generating an optical transmission signal”, “an optical input configured for receiving the optical transmission signal”, “a radio-based transmitter unit configured for emitting an electrically-emitted signal, based on the optical transmission signal”, “ an optical transmitter unit, the optical transmitter unit being configured for emitting an optical emitted signal based on the optical transmission signal”, and “an optical input configured for receiving the optical transmission signal”. In the same field of endeavor, Xu (‘NPL) discloses that
an optical device for generating an optical transmission signal {Fig. in abstract item Laser; Fig.1 item LD in transmitter};
an optical input configured for receiving the optical transmission signal {Fig.1 input of OC in transmitter };
a radio-based transmitter unit configured for emitting an electrically-emitted signal, based on the optical transmission signal {Fig.1 radar with input from OC in transmitter (see marks below)};
an optical transmitter unit, the optical transmitter unit being configured for emitting an optical emitted signal based on the optical transmission signal {Fig.1 Lidar with input from OC in transmitter(see marks below)};
an optical input configured for receiving the optical transmission signal { Fig.1 LO in receiver is from LD via OC in transmitter (see marks below)};
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Keller (‘877) with the teachings of Xu (‘NPL) {generate laser signal for transmission by radar and Lidar} to generate laser signal for transmission by radar and Lidar. Doing so would provide a photonics-based radar-lidar integrated system with compact configuration so as to obtain higher performance of the lidar and radar subsystems than commonly used radar-lidar fusion system, as recognized by Xu (‘NPL) {abstract line 1 (A photonics-based radar-lidar integrated system), 19-21 (compact configuration, the performance of the lidar and radar subsystems are higher than the commonly used radar-lidar fusion system)}.
Regarding claim 12, which depends on claim 11, Keller (‘877) does not explicitly disclose “the radio-based transmitter unit is configured for generating and emitting the electrical emitted signal in dependence on the optical transmission signal, or generating and emitting the electrical emitted signal based on a manipulation of the optical transmission signal” and “the optical transmitter unit is configured for directly emitting the optical transmission signal as the optical emitted signal, or converting the optical transmission signal to the optical emitted signal through manipulation and emitting the optical emitted signal”. In the same field of endeavor, Xu (‘NPL) discloses that in the sensor system,
the radio-based transmitter unit is configured for generating and emitting the electrical emitted signal in dependence on the optical transmission signal, or generating and emitting the electrical emitted signal based on a manipulation of the optical transmission signal {Figure in abstract (radar transceiver) with input from laser source; Fig.1 radar antenna in transmitter with input signal from LD}, and
wherein the optical transmitter unit is configured for directly emitting the optical transmission signal as the optical emitted signal, or converting the optical transmission signal to the optical emitted signal through manipulation and emitting the optical emitted signal {Figure in abstract (Lidar transceiver) with input from laser source; Fig.1 Lidar telescope in transmitter with input signal from LD}.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Keller (‘877) with the teachings of Xu (‘NPL) {generate laser signal for transmission by radar and Lidar} to generate laser signal for transmission by radar and Lidar. Doing so would provide a photonics-based radar-lidar integrated system with compact configuration so as to obtain higher performance of the lidar and radar subsystems than commonly used radar-lidar fusion system, as recognized by Xu (‘NPL) {abstract line 1 (A photonics-based radar-lidar integrated system), 19-21 (compact configuration, the performance of the lidar and radar subsystems are higher than the commonly used radar-lidar fusion system)}.
Regarding claim 13, which depends on claim 11, the combination of Keller (‘877) and Xu (‘NPL) discloses that in the sensor system,
the receiver device comprises a first optical output and/or a first electrical output configured for providing the optical received signal to the central computing device {see Keller (‘877) Fig.1 output of item 105 (optical telescope) to item 150 (processing circuit)}, and
wherein the receiver device comprises a second optical output and/or a second electrical output configured for providing an optical output signal, which is based on the electrical received signal, to the central computing device { see Keller (‘877) Fig.1 output of item 120 (RF to optical converter) based on output of item 115 (RF antenna array) to item 150 (processing circuit); Examiner’s note: RF antenna outputs electrical signal }.
Regarding claim 14, which depends on claim 11, the combination of Keller (‘877) and Xu (‘NPL) discloses that in the sensor system,
the receiver device comprises one or more of an optical amplifier, an electrical amplifier, an optical demodulator, and an electrical demodulator { see Keller (‘877) Fig.1 item 115 (RF antenna array), 120 (RF to optical converter); Fig.3 item 210 (low noise amplifiers), 305 (optical modulator); [0034] lines 4-6 (optical converter 120 includes a corresponding plurality of low noise amplifiers 210), 19-21 (the output of the optical modulator 305, in a signal including a carrier component, an upper sideband, and a lower side band.); Examiner’s note: modulator in receiver is for demodulating because of upper and lower sideband signal outputs}.
Regarding claim 15, which depends on claim 11, the combination of Keller (‘877) and Xu (‘NPL) discloses that in the sensor system,
the receiver device comprises an electrical return channel and/or an optical return channel { see Keller (‘877) Fig.1 item 115 (RF antenna array) is “an electrical return channel” receiving reflected signal 158 (radio frequency scene ) and item 105 (optical telescope) is “an optical return channel” receiving reflected signal from items 156 (optical scene)}, the receiver device being operatively coupled with the optical device via the electrical return channel and/or the optical return channel {see Keller (‘877) Fig.1 items 115 (RF antenna array), 120 (RF to optical converter); Fig.2 (radio frequency receiver), item 205 (antenna); Fig.3 (RF-optical converter, optical local oscillator input); Fig.4 (optical local oscillator)}.
Regarding claim 16, which depends on claims 11 and 15, the combination of Keller (‘877) and Xu (‘NPL) discloses that in the sensor system,
the optical return channel of the receiver device is fed by the optical transmission signal of the optical device and/or the receiver device comprises an optical source operatively coupled to the optical return channel { see Keller (‘877) Fig.1items 115 (RF antenna array), 120 (RF to optical converter); Fig.3 (RF-optical converter, optical local oscillator input); Fig.4 (optical local oscillator)}.
Regarding claim 17, which depends on claim 11, the combination of Keller (‘877) and Xu (‘NPL) discloses that in the sensor system,
the central computing device comprises an interface with an external signal processing unit, and/or a signal processing unit is integrated in the central computing device { see Keller (‘877) Fig.1 item 150 (processing circuit); [0039] lines 13-16 (Processing circuit hardware may include, for example, application specific integrated circuits (ASICs), general purpose or special purpose central processing units (CPUs), digital signal processors (DSPs ))}.
Regarding claim 18, which depends on claim 11, the combination of Keller (‘877) and Xu (‘NPL) discloses that in the sensor system,
the transmitter device, the receiver device, the optical device, and the central computing device are configured to be physically and/or spatially separate with respect to each other, or the transmitter device, the receiver device, the optical device, and the central computing device are configured together as a joint unit {see Keller (‘877) Fig.1}.
Regarding claim 29, Keller (‘877), as modified above, discloses that A method for operating a sensor system for surrounding area detection { Fig.1 items 156 (optical scene), 158 (radio frequency scene ); [0023] lines 1-2 (sensing system, operating, mode), 6 (modes, methods); [0025] line 1 (FIG. 1 is a block diagram of a sensing system); [0031] line 8 (an optical scene 156); [0036] line 4 (radio frequency scene 158)} comprising:
generating an optical transmission signal via an optical device;
receiving the optical transmission signal in an optical input of a transmitter device;
emitting an electrically-emitted signal via a radio-based transmitter unit of the transmitter device, based on the optical transmission signal
emitting an optical emitted signal based on the optical transmission signal, via an optical transmitter unit of the transmitter device;
receiving the optical transmission signal via an optical input of a receiver device; receiving an electrical received signal via a radio-based receiver unit of the receiver device;
receiving an optical received signal via an optical receiver unit of the receiver device; and
processing the emitted and/or received signals via a central computing device.
{The claim limitations above are the same or substantially the same scope as the corresponding claim limitations in claim 1. Therefore the claim limitations above are rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as in claim 1. See the rejections of claim 1}.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keller (‘877) and Xu (‘NPL) as applied to claim 11 above and further in view of Stochino (US 11,340,346, hereafter Stochino).
Regarding claim 19, which depends on claim 11, Keller (‘877) and Xu (‘NPL) do not explicitly disclose “the transmitter device, the receiver device, the optical device, and/or the central computing device are configured as at least partially physically and/or spatially separate entities with respect to each other”. In the same field of endeavor, Stochino (‘346) discloses that in the sensor system,
the transmitter device, the receiver device, the optical device, and/or the central computing device are configured as at least partially physically and/or spatially separate entities with respect to each other {Fig.10 items 1002 (central unit), 1004a-h; col.2 line 58 (lidar-radar transponders); col.30 lines 62-63 (a central unit 1002 , 8 transponders 1004a-1004h)}.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of Keller (‘877) and Xu (‘NPL) with the teachings of Stochino (‘346) {locate sensors and processors in different locations around a vehicle} to locate sensors and processors in different locations around a vehicle. Doing so would provide one or more of the centralized sensor network systems so as to monitor the position and/or the velocities of one or more objects in an environment surrounding an automobile, as recognized by Stochino (‘346) {col.30 lines 55-58 (one or more of the centralized sensor network systems, can be used to monitor the position and/or the velocities of one or more objects in an environment surrounding an automobile)}.
Claim 20-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keller (‘877) in view of Xu (‘NPL) and Stochino (‘346).
Regarding claim 20, Keller (‘877) disclose that { Fig.1 items 156 (optical scene), 158 (radio frequency scene ); [0025] line 1 (FIG. 1 is a block diagram of a sensing system); [0031] line 8 (an optical scene 156); [0036] line 4 (radio frequency scene 158)}, the sensor system comprising:
an optical device { Fig.4 (optical local oscillator)}
a transmitter device { Fig.1 item 140 (Optical transmitter); 145 (RF transmitter)}, the transmitter device comprising:
- a radio-based transmitter unit configured for emitting an electrically-emitted signal { Fig.1 item 145 (RF transmitter); [0007] lines 3-4 (radio frequency pulse emitted by the radio frequency transmitter)},
- an optical transmitter unit, the optical transmitter unit being configured for emitting an optical emitted signal { Fig.1 item 140 (Optical transmitter); [0012] line 3 (an optical pulse emitted by the optical transmitter)}
a receiver device {Fig.1 items 105 (optical telescope), 115 (RF antenna array); [0004] lines 3-4 (an imaging radio frequency receiver, an imaging optical receiver)}, the receiver device comprising:
- an optical input configured for receiving { Fig.3 (optical local oscillator input) ; Fig.4 (optical local oscillator) },
- a radio-based receiver unit for receiving an electrical received signal { Fig.1 items 115 (RF antenna array), 120 (RF to optical converter); Fig.2 radio frequency receiver, item 205 (antenna); [0034] lines 1-3 (the radio frequency antenna array 115 may include a plurality of antenna elements 205 as illustrated in FIG. 2); Examiner’s note: antenna outputs electrical signal }, and
- an optical receiver unit for receiving an optical received signal { Fig.1 item 105 (optical telescope); [0031] lines 7-8 (the optical telescope 105 may receive light from an optical scene 156)}; and
a central computing device configured for processing emitted and/or received signals { Fig.1 item 150 (processing circuit)}
However, Keller (‘877) does not explicitly disclose (see words with underlines) “A vehicle comprising a sensor system”, “an optical device for generating an optical transmission signal”, “an optical input configured for receiving the optical transmission signal”, “a radio-based transmitter unit configured for emitting an electrically-emitted signal, based on the optical transmission signal”, “ an optical transmitter unit, the optical transmitter unit being configured for emitting an optical emitted signal based on the optical transmission signal”, “an optical input configured for receiving the optical transmission signal”, and “a central computing device configured for processing emitted and/or received signals to function as a drive and evaluation unit of the sensor system”. In the same field of endeavor, Xu (‘NPL) discloses that
A vehicle comprising a sensor system {page 15068 right column below abstract lines 4-5 (radar-lidar fusion systems have been used in automotive driving)};
an optical device for generating an optical transmission signal {Fig. in abstract item Laser; Fig.1 item LD in transmitter};
an optical input configured for receiving the optical transmission signal {Fig.1 input of OC in transmitter};
a radio-based transmitter unit configured for emitting an electrically-emitted signal, based on the optical transmission signal {Fig.1 radar with input from OC in transmitter(see marks below)};
an optical transmitter unit, the optical transmitter unit being configured for emitting an optical emitted signal based on the optical transmission signal {Fig.1 Lidar with input from OC in transmitter (see marks below)};
an optical input configured for receiving the optical transmission signal { Fig.1 LO in receiver is from LD via OC in transmitter (see marks below) };
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Keller (‘877) with the teachings of Xu (‘NPL) {generate laser signal for transmission by radar and Lidar for automotive driving application} to generate laser signal for transmission by radar and Lidar for automotive driving application. Doing so would provide a photonics-based radar-lidar integrated system with compact configuration so as to obtain higher performance of the lidar and radar subsystems than commonly used radar-lidar fusion system, as recognized by Xu (‘NPL) {abstract line 1 (A photonics-based radar-lidar integrated system), 19-21 (compact configuration, the performance of the lidar and radar subsystems are higher than the commonly used radar-lidar fusion system)}.
However, Xu (‘NPL) does not explicitly disclose (see words with underline) “a central computing device configured for processing emitted and/or received signals to function as a drive and evaluation unit of the sensor system”. In the same field of endeavor, Stochino (‘346) discloses that
a central computing device configured for processing emitted and/or received signals to function as a drive and evaluation unit of the sensor system { Fig.10 item 1002 (CU); col.5 lines 25-31 (centralized sensor systems and methods can support both RADAR and LIDAR sensors to enable detection based on both radio waves and light waves, they may enable the realization of compact multi-emitter detection systems that combine high-resolution directional detection with and long-range wide area detection and low-visibility resilience.); col.12 lines 13-19 (Common signal processing between lidar, radar or other sensing modalities, enhance detection and ranging performance. Exchanging early heuristics through a common signal processing platform may provide mutual reinforcement and validation among the different sensing modalities.); col.30 lines 62-64 (a central unit 1002 is communicatively connected to 8 transponders 1004a-1004h installed at different sites on the automobile)}.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of Keller (‘877) and Xu (‘NPL) with the teachings of Stochino (‘346) {locate sensors and processors in different locations around a vehicle and process data from different sensors for validation among the different sensing modalities } to locate sensors and processors in different locations around a vehicle and process data from different sensors for validation among the different sensing modalities. Doing so would monitor the position and/or the velocities of one or more objects in an environment surrounding an automobile using different sensing modalities so as to enhance detection and ranging performance, as recognized by Stochino (‘346) { col.12 lines 13-19 (Common signal processing between lidar, radar or other sensing modalities, enhance detection and ranging performance. Exchanging early heuristics through a common signal processing platform may provide mutual reinforcement and validation among the different sensing modalities.); col.30 lines 55-58 (one or more of the centralized sensor network systems, can be used to monitor the position and/or the velocities of one or more objects in an environment surrounding an automobile)}.
Regarding claims 21-28, Applicant recites claim limitations of the same or substantially the same scope as that of claims 12-19, respectively. Accordingly, claims 21-28 are rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as claims 12-19, respectively, shown above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YONGHONG LI/ Examiner, Art Unit 3648