DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/23/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1 in the reply filed on 01/23/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lalwaney et. al (US 2016/0029204 A1, hereinafter Lalwaney).
Regarding claim 1, Lalwaney teaches an automated process ([0002] describes device auto configuration) comprising: generating a plurality of subscriber-identity-module (SIM) configurations to dynamically configure a plurality of user devices in communication with a cellular network ([Figure 7] and [00162-0166] FIG. 7 depicts receiving a plurality of SIM configurations in block B710, to compare the received SIM configurations with the generated SIM configurations needed to access the network as shown in block B720-B730, in block B740 a generated SIM configuration is selected to dynamically configure the needed changes on a plurality of user devices in communication with a cellular network); receiving a communication from a user equipment (UE) connected to a guest network of the cellular network ([Figure 1] and [0057-0062] FIG. 1 depicts network region 130, read as guest network, and UE 110 connecting to network region 160, read as network of the cellular network), wherein the communication comprises an identifier associated with the guest network and the UE ([0041] FIG. 4 illustrates an example of an indicator table containing examples of indicators associated with configuration routines according to some embodiments, which contains network information, i.e. the identifier may be associated with the guest network); retrieving a SIM configuration from a SIM database using the identifier associated with the guest network and the UE ([0084] FIG. 3 is a block diagram illustrating an example of a configuration storage 300, and [0085] at least a portion of contents included in the configuration storage 300 is stored at a remote device and/or memory device, where the content stored in the configuration storage 300 may be downloaded or otherwise copied to the UE 200 through a network, i.e. a [0085] database for [Figure 7, B720-B740] retrieving SIM configurations, using [Figure 4/5] an identifier associated with the guest network and UE); and updating a SIM card of the UE with the SIM configuration from the database ([Figure 7, B740] select one of the configuration routines to begin the update process for the SIM card), wherein the SIM configuration includes branding for the guest network to display on the UE ([0090] the configuration routines may include (but is not limited to) UE settings (e.g., model name, brand, etc.) and operator name display settings, i.e. branding for the guest network with the ability to be displayed on the UE), wherein the SIM configuration includes network access settings to control communication by the UE with the cellular network ([0170] FIG. 9 illustrates the touchscreen display 226 of the UE 200 may be configured to display the target configuration selection screen 900, i.e. the ability for the user to see network access settings to control communication by the UE with the cellular network).
Regarding claim 2, Lalwaney teaches the identifier included in the communication comprises a field stored on the SIM card in a previous SIM configuration ([0124] the identifier may be based on one or more parameters such as Mobile Network Code (MNC), Mobile Country Code (MCC), Service Provider Name (SPN), Group Identifier (GID), and other suitable parameters of the like, and the values for these parameters may be stored on a SIM or other suitable devices, i.e. the ability for the identifier to include previous SIM configurations).
Regarding claim 3, Lalwaney teaches the SIM configuration is transmitted to the UE over a cellular connection to the cellular network ([0175] The UE 1000 may have one or more cellular network transceivers 1008a, 1008b coupled to the processor 1002 and to two or more antennae 1010 and configured for sending and receiving cellular communications, and FIG. 1 depicts communications over a cellular connection, i.e. the SIM configuration is transmitted to the UE over a cellular connection).
Regarding claim 4, Lalwaney teaches determining the retrieved SIM configuration differs from an old SIM configuration currently installed on the UE ([Figure 7, B730] matching the SIM configuration indicators to determine if the retrieved SIM configuration differs from an old SIM configuration currently installed on the UE via indicators as shown in FIG. 4/5); and updating the SIM card of the UE with the SIM configuration from the database in response to the retrieved SIM configuration differing from the old SIM configuration ([Figure 7, B740] beginning the update procedure wherein the user is given the ability to select configuration settings as shown in FIG. 9, from SIM configurations from the [0085] database, in response to the retrieved SIM configuration differing from the old SIM configuration as shown in block B730).
Regarding claim 5, Lalwaney teaches the SIM configuration instructs the UE to connect to a cell site of the cellular network using a predetermined interface of the cell site ([0171] describes how different SIM configurations may instruct the UE to connect to different areas/regions, countries, service providers and/or the like, areas/regions read as cell sites, with predetermined configurations, i.e. an instruction to use a predetermined interface of a cell site).
Regarding claim 6, Lalwaney teaches the SIM configuration instructs the UE to display a brand of the guest network in a status bar ([0090] the configuration routines may include (but is not limited to) UE settings (e.g., model name, brand, etc.) and operator name display settings, i.e. branding for the guest network with the ability to be displayed on the UE).
Regarding claim 7, Lalwaney teaches the SIM configuration instructs the UE to use a predetermined roaming priority ([0080] the configuration routines may include data roaming settings, i.e. the ability for a predetermined roaming priority).
Regarding claim 8, Lalwaney teaches receiving a selection of services from an operator of the guest network through a SIM management portal ([0059] the base stations may comprise of various mobile service providers and mobile virtual network operators (MVNO), and FIG. 8/9 show a display asking the user to make configuration setting selections, i.e. a management portal for SIM configurations), wherein the SIM configurations are generated to implement the selection of services for the user devices in response to the user devices being subscribed to the guest network ([Figure 1] depicts the user device 110 being previously subscribed to region network 130, i.e. the user device is subscribed to the guest network).
Regarding claim 9, Lalwaney teaches updating the SIM card of the UE further comprises transmitting the SIM configuration to the UE through a SIM over-the-air (OTA) service ([0108] additional content or data corresponding to one or more configuration routine may be stored in repositories or a hidden partition and/or in a remote server (e.g., the cloud) and accessible through the network, and [0085] retrieving configurations from a database, i.e. the ability to transmit SIM configurations through a OTA service).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Park, Jaemin et al. (2014). Method for changing mno in embedded sim on basis of dynamic key generation and embedded sim and recording medium therefor (US 20140140507 A1). Filed 2012-07-06. Discloses a method of changing a mobile network operator (MNO) in an embedded subscriber identity module (hereinafter, referred to as an "eSIM" or "eUICC") based on dynamic key generation. [0001]
Xu, Richard H. et al. (2011). System and method for dynamically providing communication profiles for mobile devices (US 20110269461 A1). Filed 2010-05-05. Discloses a storage device that stores a plurality of communication profiles in accordance with SIMs, determines local access requirements for connecting to a local cellular network operator and determines whether the plurality of communication profiles comprises a local communication profile that satisfies the local access requirements. (abstract)
Yang, Bing et al. (2021). Network search and configuring method, registratio method, device and system (US 20210282080 A1). Filed 2021-05-26. Discloses a registration method for receiving a service request carrying location information sent by a communication terminal, obtaining parameters in a SIM card to be registered, dynamically configuring the various parameters in the SIM card, and sending the dynamically configured SIM card to be registered to the communication terminal accordingly. (abstract)
Chauhan, Devesh et al. (2021). System and method of customizing and updating information (US 20210084486 A1). Filed 2020-09-17. Discloses a method for customizing/updating information displayed at a user equipment in accordance with OTA updates for a SIM card. (abstract)
Balasubramanian, Sundarraman et al. (2019). Wireless device sim activation while roaming (US 20190223003 A1). Filed 2018-03-21. Discloses an activation and updating method for a SIM card via a roaming cellular wireless network by a mobile device in accordance with the mobile network operator (MNO) for the SIM. (abstract)
Guan, Xuepan et al. (2019). Network camp on for multi-sim devices (US 20190159116 A1). Filed 2016-04-27. Discloses a method for wireless communication between a plurality of SIMs in accordance with a plurality of Public Land Mobile Networks (PLMN).
/MATTHEW JAMES DWYER/Examiner, Art Unit 2649
/GEORGE ENG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2699