DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
1. This office action is in response to communications filed 11/7/2025 Claims 1-20 are original.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/7/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 2 of the remarks/arguments that “Zhu fails to disclose or suggest at least the technical feature "the page display picture including a personalized display area and an information display area, wherein the personalized display area displays media data information of associated media data of a page user," as recited in claim 1. (Emphasis added).
The video collection entry in Zhu is different from the "media data information of associated media data of a page user" recited in claim 1. At the very least, the video collection entry in Zhu does not display "media data information," and Zhu also does not disclose that the video collection linked to the video collection entry is "associated with a page user."”
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Zhu is relied upon to teach 1) “wherein the personalized display area displays media data information of associated media data of a page user” and 2) “the target media data belonging to the associated media of the page user”. Zhu teaches a trigger to play a video from a collection of videos where the trigger is to play the first video in a set of videos. Zhu then displays a half-screen window on the playback page with the list of video collection on the bottom half.
“Associated media data of a page user”
Zhu discloses that: the user personal homepage includes video set entrances (Fig. 2; page 5)
Each video set corresponds to media created, collected or selected by the user when the user selects a video set entrance, the system:
Jumps to a video combined set corresponding to that user Plays videos belonging to that user’s video set.
This directly supports: “associated media data of a page user” because the media is associated with the user’s account/homepage.
2. “Target media data belonging to the associated media of the page user”
Zhu discloses: a target video is added to a selected video set. The selected video set is one of the user’s video sets.
Therefore, once added, the target video belongs to the associated media data of that page user Described in page 3: trigger operation of adding a target video to a selected video set
Page 5: video set entrance on the user personal homepage
Applicant further submits that the video list in Jiang cannot reasonably be said to correspond to the claimed "personalized display area," as alleged by the Office. This is at least because in the present application, the personalized display area displays media data information of associated media data of a page user. That is, the videos in the personalized display area of the present application are associated with the page user in the information display area. Jiang does not disclose or suggest at least this feature.
Jian teaches: A personalized display area in a video list interface.
The display behavior (e.g., automatic loading/playing, preview behavior) is:
Selected according to user preferences,
Determined by received selection instructions,
This establishes a user-specific display region, i.e., a personalized display area.
Zhu provides what media is displayed (user-associated media).
Jiang provides how/where it is displayed (a personalized display area).
Moreover, Applicant submits that without the inspiration of the technical solution of the present application, a person having ordinary skill in the art would not have had any motivation to combine the teachings of Zhu and Jiang. In other words, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have no motivation to modify the video collection entry in Zhu into the list in Jiang, let alone modify it into a video list associated with the page user.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the homepage as taught in Zhu to provide options of a display a personalized display area/preference settings as taught in Jian in order to improve user experience.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim(s) 1, 2 3, 4, 5, 18, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 112954440A, Zhu (English Translation Provided). In view of CN 105898610 A, Jiang (English Translation Provided).
2. Regarding Claim 1, Zhu discloses A media data playing method (Abstract, video processing method), comprising:
displaying a page display picture in response to a page trigger operation (page 4, Fig. 2: provides a jump [i.e. page trigger operation] to video set of playing effect diagram of the page),
the page display picture including an information display area (Fig. 2; Page 5, the user personal homepage can be set with a video set entrance),
wherein the personalized display area displays media data information of associated media data of a page user (Fig. 2; page 5, video set entrance can be set on the user personal homepage, and on the user personal homepage, the user can through clicking any video set entrance mode; triggering the user personal homepage to jump to the video combined set corresponding to the video set entrance of the preset first video playing page, realizing the video playing of the video set); and
playing target media data corresponding to the page display picture, the target media data belonging to associated media data of the page user (Page 3, trigger operation of the added video set of the target video. If receiving the selected operation of any one video set of the added set, then adding the target video to the selected video set).
However, Zhu may not explicitly disclose a personalized display area
Jian teaches a personalized display area (page 5, when displaying the list of videos, whether automatic loading and playing video can be selected by the user terminal equipment according to the received selection instruction to determine whether the preview area of the display video list for playing video item. Preference settings).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the homepage as taught in Zhu to provide options of a display a personalized display area/preference settings as taught in Jian in order to improve user experience.
3. Regarding Claim 2, Zhu in view of Jian discloses The method according to claim 1,
Zhu discloses wherein the media data information displayed in the personalized display area (page 4, Fig. 2: provides a jump to video set of playing effect diagram of the page. Page 5, the user personal homepage can be set with a video set entrance) includes at least one of associated images of at least partially associated media data of the page user,
or tag information corresponding to the associated media data of the page user (page 3, trigger operation created by the video set, based on the video set name and the selected video identification, creating a first video set).
4. Regarding Claim 3, Zhu discloses The method according to claim 2, wherein the media data information displayed in the personalized display area (page 4, Fig. 2: provides a jump to video set of playing effect diagram of the page. Page 5, the user personal homepage can be set with a video set entrance) includes at least one of the associated images (Fig. 2)
or tag images corresponding to the tag information, wherein at least one of the associated images (Claimed in the alternative)
or the tag images are displayed in a mosaicking manner (Fig. 2: mosaicking manner).
5. Regarding Claim 4, Zhu discloses The method according to claim 3, wherein the method for displaying at least one of the associated images (Page 5, the user personal homepage can be set with a video set entrance) or the tag images in a mosaicking manner (Fig. 2 mosaicking manner) comprises:
determining the display positions of at least one of the associated images (page 9, order adjusting operation adjusting the first video set in the list of the video arrangement order. For example, the user can drag a certain video in the list to the corresponding position)
or the tag images in the personalized display area according to the display sequence of at least one of the associated images (claimed in the alternative)
or the tag images, and displaying at least one of the associated images (claimed in the alternative)
or the tag images at each display position (claimed in the alternative).
6. Regarding Claim 5, Zhu discloses The method according to claim 3, wherein the method for displaying at least one of the associated images (Page 5, the user personal homepage can be set with a video set entrance) or the tag images in a mosaicking manner (Fig. 2 mosaicking manner) comprises:
acquiring a mosaicking display frame, wherein the mosaicking display frame comprises a plurality of display positions (See Fig. 2); and
determining the display positions of at least one of the associated images (page 9, order adjusting operation adjusting the first video set in the list of the video arrangement order. For example, the user can drag a certain video in the list to the corresponding position)
or the tag images in the mosaicking display frame and displaying correspondingly at least one of the associated images (claimed in the alternative)
or the tag images at the display positions (claimed in the alternative).
7. Regarding Claim 18, Zhu discloses An electronic device (Page 3, a device), characterized in comprising:
one or more processors (Page 3, a processor);
a storage means to store one or more programs, wherein, when executed by the one or more processors (Page 3, a computer program stored on the memory and capable of running on the processor; when the processor executes the computer program), the one or more programs enable(s) the one or more processors to implement a media data playing method (Abstract, video processing method), comprising:
displaying a page display picture in response to a page trigger operation (page 4, Fig. 2: provides a jump [i.e. page trigger] to video set of playing effect diagram of the page),
the page display picture including a personalized display area and an information display area (Fig. 2; Page 5, the user personal homepage can be set with a video set entrance),
wherein the personalized display area displays media data information of associated media data of a page user (Fig. 2; page 5, video set entrance can be set on the user personal homepage, and on the user personal homepage, the user can through clicking any video set entrance mode; triggering the user personal homepage to jump to the video combined set corresponding to the video set entrance of the preset first video playing page, realizing the video playing of the video set); and
playing target media data corresponding to the page display picture, the target media data belonging to associated media data of the page user (Page 3, trigger operation of the added video set of the target video. If receiving the selected operation of any one video set of the added set, then adding the target video to the selected video set.).
However, Zhu may not explicitly disclose a personalized display area
Jian teaches a personalized display area (page 5, when displaying the list of videos, whether automatic loading and playing video can be selected by the user terminal equipment according to the received selection instruction to determine whether the preview area of the display video list for playing video item. Preference settings).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the homepage as taught in Zhu to provide options of a display a personalized display area/preference settings as taught in Jian in order to improve user experience.
8. Regarding Claim 19, Zhu in view of Jian discloses The electronic device according to claim 18,
Zhu discloses wherein the media data information displayed in the personalized display area (page 4, Fig. 2: provides a jump to video set of playing effect diagram of the page. Page 5, the user personal homepage can be set with a video set entrance) includes at least one of associated images of at least partially associated media data of the page user (claimed in alternative),
or tag information corresponding to the associated media data of the page user (page 3, trigger operation created by the video set, based on the video set name and the selected video identification, creating a first video set).
9. Regarding Claim 20, Zhu discloses A non-transitory storage medium containing computer-executable instructions which, when executed by a computer processor (Page 3, a computer program stored on the memory and capable of running on the processor; when the processor executes the computer program), are configured to implement a media data playing A media data playing method (Abstract, video processing method), comprising:
displaying a page display picture in response to a page trigger operation (page 4, Fig. 2: provides a jump [i.e. page trigger operation] to video set of playing effect diagram of the page),
the page display picture including an information display area (Fig. 2; Page 5, the user personal homepage can be set with a video set entrance),
wherein the personalized display area displays media data information of associated media data of a page user (Fig. 2; page 5, video set entrance can be set on the user personal homepage, and on the user personal homepage, the user can through clicking any video set entrance mode; triggering the user personal homepage to jump to the video combined set corresponding to the video set entrance of the preset first video playing page, realizing the video playing of the video set); and
playing target media data corresponding to the page display picture, the target media data belonging to associated media data of the page user (Page 3, trigger operation of the added video set of the target video. If receiving the selected operation of any one video set of the added set, then adding the target video to the selected video set.).
However, Zhu may not explicitly disclose a personalized display area
Jian teaches a personalized display area (page 5, when displaying the list of videos, whether automatic loading and playing video can be selected by the user terminal equipment according to the received selection instruction to determine whether the preview area of the display video list for playing video item. Preference settings).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the homepage as taught in Zhu to provide options of a display a personalized display area/preference settings as taught in Jian in order to improve user experience.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OMER KHALID/Examiner, Art Unit 2422
/JOHN W MILLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2422