DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-6, 8-13, and 15-20 are presented for consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-13, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Himler et al. [ US Patent No 9,774,626 ], in view of Higbee et al. [ US Patent Application No 2018/0191754 ].
As per claim 1, Himler discloses the invention as claimed including a method, comprising:
accessing, by a computer system, an email addressed to an email address of an email system, wherein the email address is for a user of the email system [ i.e. receive an electronic message by client computing device ] [ 203, Figure 2; and col 7, lines 41047 ];
determining a behavior of the user with respect to the email [ i.e. the user has reported the received message as a potentially malicious message ] [ 204, Figure 2; Abstract; and col 7, lines 47-52 ];
based on the behavior of the user, using content of the email to update a database [ i.e. database containing identifying information about one or more users of the system that may receive messages and report the messages ] [ 116, Figure 1; and col 5, lines 51-67 ];
determining that a corrective action for the email is to be taken [ i.e. delete the message ] [ col 6, lines 66-col 7, lines 19; and col 8, lines 52-67 ];
Himler does not specifically disclose
performing, by the computer system, an aggregate analysis of behavior of multiple users of the email system, wherein the aggregate analysis takes into account the determined behavior of the user, and wherein the corrective action comprises sending a message to a different user of the multiple users; and
updating the database based on the aggregate analysis.
Higbee discloses
performing, by the computer system, an aggregate analysis of behavior of multiple users of the email system, wherein the aggregate analysis takes into account the determined behavior of the user [ i.e. cluster and analyze reports ] [ Figures 11, 12, and 15; and paragraphs 0080, 0085, and 0086 ], and wherein the corrective action comprises sending a message to a different user of the multiple users [ i.e. sending a message to all users who have reported messages ] [ paragraphs 0110, and 0143 ]; and
updating the database based on the aggregate analysis [ i.e. reputation score of the report user is updated accordingly depending on the outcome of the message analysis ] [ paragraphs 0132, and 0144 ].
It would have been obvious to a person skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Himler and Higbee because the teaching of Higbee would enable to provide an integrated environment for automated processing of reports of suspicious messages, and to a network for distributing information about detected phishing attacks [ Higbee, paragraph 0002 ].
As per claim 2, Himler discloses wherein the email has been categorized as a legitimate email after passing through a malware detector [ Abstract ].
As per claim 3, Himler discloses wherein the email is a password reset email [ i.e. change password ] [ col 10, lines 47-64 ].
As per claim 4, Himlet discloses performing a matching analysis using the email [ i.e. matching the file ] [ col 12, lines 42-58 ].
As per claim 5, Himlet discloses wherein the matching analysis comprises a set of rules [ i.e. using rules ] [ col 8, lines 1-13 ].
As per claim 6, Himlet discloses wherein the database stores Internet activity of users [ i.e. URL or links ] [ col 11, lines 46-col 12, lines 41 ].
As per claims 8-13, they are rejected for similar reasons as stated above in claims 1-6.
As per claims 15-20, they are rejected for similar reasons as stated above in claims 1-6.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As per remarks, Applicants argued that (1) the rejection of Himlet does not amount to a determination that a corrective action for the email is to be taken.
As to point (1), Examiner respectfully disagrees because Himlet clearly discloses when a user reports a potentially malicious message, if the message is determined to be potentially malicious, the client computing device may delete the message after sending it to the cybersecurity analyzer server, if the message is determined to be legitimate, the client computing device may release the message from quarantine and make it available to the user again [ i.e. broadly interpret as determination that a corrective action for the email is to be taken as claimed ] [ col 8, lines 52-66 ].
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lowry et al. [ US Patent Application No 2018/0324201 ] discloses system and method for providing user interfaces based on actions associated with untrusted emails
/DUSTIN NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2446