DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claims 3 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 3 and 17: claims 3 and 17 recite “at least one of the first length or the second length is an extension size of the heat dissipation part in the first direction”. It is unclear which lengths are being compared. For examination purposes “at least one of the first length is an extension size of the heat dissipation part in the first direction” will be interpreted as “the total length of the longest heat dissipation part is at least the length of the of the extension size in the first direction”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-10 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang et al. (CN 211350906 U), and further in view of Uchiyama et al. (US 10374269 B2).
Claims 1-2: Tang teaches an energy storage battery plug-in box (i.e., energy storage device) provided with an inlet (110) and an outlet(120) of cooling air for heat dissipation located at opposite ends of the box forming an air channel in a plurality of rows of battery cell groups (200) are fixed on the base (100) and are arranged between the inlet and the outlet in multiple rows, comprising a first row (001) (i.e., first cell) and a second row (002) (i.e., second cell) (Fig. 1) [0007, 0019],
wherein each row of the battery cell group comprises a plurality of equally spaced battery cells (210) and heat dissipating fins (220) are arranged on the base (100) between the adjacent cells (210) wherein the number of fins in the heat dissipating areas of the battery cell groups increases sequentially [0006, 0007,] such that the first cell group has a fin area with 2 fins forming the first air channel region and the second cell group has a fin area with 3 fins forming the second air channel region. [0007] (Fig. 2),
wherein the fin area of the heat dissipation fin near the inlet is 1/3-1/2 of the fin area of the heat dissipation fin near the outlet [0010] such that the total heat dissipation area of the heat dissipation fins in the battery core group near the inlet (i.e., second air channel region) is smaller than the total heat dissipation area of the heat dissipation fins in the battery core group close to the outlet (i.e., in the second air channel region) [0005, 0006] to enable the cells in different positions to obtain the same heat dissipation effect and thus make the cell temperature more uniform [0003].
Tang does not teach the energy storage comprises an air channel mechanical part and the first and second cell are disposed outside the air channel mechanical part. However, Uchiyama teaches a battery pack including a passage forming member (4) (i.e., air channel mechanical part) that demarcates the fluid passage (42) (i.e., air channel), where the cooling fluid (i.e., air) flows, as an independent passage from the area near the outer casing of the unit battery (20) (Col 2 lines 8-11, Col 6 lines 52-54) which prevents any gasses leaking from the batteries from mixing in the fluid flowing through the passage and diffusing to other places (Col 2 lines 17-20). Uchiyama further teaches the passage forming member (4) comprises a cooled portion (50) (i.e., heat dissipation part positioned) on one side (i.e., inner wall) with a plurality of fins in order to enlarge a surface area for heat radiation (Col 6 lines 23-38) (Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling the instant invention to have modified Tang’s energy storage device by adding an air channel separated from the battery cells by an air channel mechanical part so that the fluid in the air channel is not contaminated by any gasses that could leak from the cells.
Claim 3: Tang teaches the direction in which the fins of the heat dissipation part are arranged is perpendicular to the direction in which the side walls of the battery core are located [0011]. Tang does not teach the heat dissipation fins have different lengths.
However, Uchiyama teaches the plurality of the cooled portions (50, 405a) (i.e., heat dissipation part) aligned in the stacking direction of the heat conducting member group in the stacking direction are disposed so as to be denser in the central part than the both end parts (Col 15 lines 45-60), wherein the length of the middle portion of the heat dissipation part is greater than the length on the edge (Fig. 9),
such that the surface area of the cooled portion per unit volume in the central part is configured to be larger than the surface area of the cooling part per unit volume in each of the end parts because the temperature of the unit battery (20) positioned in the central part in the stacking direction tends to become higher than those in the end parts (Col 15 lines 45-60). By increasing the area in the middle portion, the contacting area of the fluid flowing through the fluid passage (42) to the cooled portions (heat dissipation part) at the central part becomes larger than at the both end parts in the stacking direction (top and bottom parts) (Col 16 lines 6-10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling the instant invention to have modified Tang’s heat dissipation fins by varying the lengths of the middle portion and the outer edges so as to allow more heat dissipation in the middle of the cell group where the temperature is likely to be higher such that there is more uniform cooling of the battery cells in the battery module.
Claims 7-8: Tang teaches an energy storage device comprising rows of battery cells arranged sequentially wherein each row of the battery cell group comprises a plurality of equally spaced battery cells (210) and heat dissipating fins (220) are arranged a plurality heat dissipating fins (220) (i.e., heat sink fins) arranged on the base (100) (i.e. inner wall) between the adjacent cells (210), wherein the second cell group has a fin area with 3 fins forming the second air channel region [0007, 0020] (Fig. 2). Tang further teaches the straight radiating fins in the above disclosed embodiment of the utility model can be changed into bent or curved radiating fins to further increase the total heat dissipation area of the heat dissipation fins [0024].
Claim 9: Tang teaches an energy storage device comprising heat dissipation fins to cool the battery cells therein [0024]. Tang does not teach the energy storage device comprises a heat-conducting part. However, Uchiyama teaches a heat conducting plate (5) that includes a portion that is directly or indirectly sandwiched by the outer casings of the two unit batteries (20) ) (i.e., second cell), and the cooled portion (50) (i.e., second air channel region) that extends from the sandwiched portion towards the battery 25 stack (2) side and penetrates the passage forming member (4) to exist in the fluid passage (42) (Col 6 lines 10-25).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling the instant invention to have modified Tang’s energy storage device by including a heat-conducting plate because Uchiyama teaches such a configuration is functional.
Claim 10: Tang teaches the arrangement of first and second cells in the energy storage device as shown in Tang’s Fig. 1, wherein two first cells (001) spaced apart in a third direction (horizontal) that is perpendicular to an extension direction of the air channel (vertical), two second cells (002) spaced apart in the third direction and the first air channel region comprising heat dissipating fins (220) disposed between adjacent first cells in the third direction and the second air channel region heat dissipating fins (220) disposed between adjacent second cells in the third direction (See Fig. 1 below).
Fig. 1
Claim 14: Tang teaches an energy storage system (i.e., energy storage apparatus), comprising a box body (i.e., housing) and a battery insert box bracket arranged in the box body, wherein the battery insert box bracket is fixed energy storage battery plug-in box (i.e., energy storage device) described in claim 1 by the combination of Tang and Uchiyama’s teachings.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling the instant invention to have modified Tang’s energy storage device by adding an air channel separated from the battery cells by an air channel mechanical part so that the fluid in the air channel is not contaminated by any gasses that could leak from the cells.
Claims 4-5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang et al. (CN 211350906 U), and further in view of Uchiyama et al. (US 10374269 B2) and Asahina et al (US 20040142238 A1).
Claims 4-5: Tang teaches a first and second cell region. Tang does not teach sub-regions for the second air channel. However, Asahina does not explicitly teach the batteries are arranged in subregions, however, Asahina teaches a battery module (11) comprising a plurality of prismatic sealed rechargeable batteries (10) [0035] that are arranged in parallel with a cooling path (8) wherein cooling fluid is made to flow in the direction in which the rechargeable batteries (10) are arranged, wherein the number of the protruding portions (15) (i.e., heat dissipation fins) in the thin plate (4) in the downstream of the flow of the cooling fluid is more than that in the upstream [0037] (Figs. 2 and 3B). Asahina further teaches this cooling structure ensures higher efficiency of cooling by the thin plates in the downstream region than the upstream region such that the batteries are cooled evenly, even if the temperature of the cooling fluid increases in the downstream region [0038].
While Asahina only shows six batteries (10) in the example shown in Fig. 3B [0035], a battery module comprising seven batteries (10) can also be considered, wherein the first four upstream thin plates (14) define the first air channel region and the three downstream thin plates form the second air channel region, and the plates in the downstream region are arranged sequentially with increasing number of heat dissipation fins, such that most downstream region, the third sub-region (i.e., closest to the air-outlet) (not shown in fig. 3B) has the most number of heat dissipation fins and thus the greatest heat dissipation area per unit volume compared to the other sub-regions (See fig. 2 below); wherein the number first cells is greater than the number of arranged second cells.
Fig. 2
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling the instant invention to have modified Tang’s energy storage unit by further sub-dividing the heat dissipation regions with gradual increase of heat dissipating fins in the downstream flow, in the second air channel region , and arranging the cells such that the number of cells close to the inlet is greater than the number of cells father from the inlet because Asahina teaches such is an effective cooling system that ensures even cooling of batteries in the storage unit.
Claims 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang et al. (CN 211350906 U) and further in view of Uchiyama et al. (US 10374269 B2) and Martz et al. (US 20110293982 A1).
Claim 6: Tang teaches a heat dissipation part comprising of heat dissipation fins. Tang does not teach the heat dissipation part comprises of multiple plates that are sequentially connected and staggered. However, Martz teaches a battery module assembly comprising a corrugated fin interposed between two plates [0009] forming a plurality of fluid flow channels between the plates, wherein the flow channels are in heat transfer communication with the pair of sheet plates and at least one battery cell disposed between adjacent cooling modules and in heat transfer communication with the cooling fin of one of the cooling modules [0010, 0015] (Fig. 4 and 6). Mart does not distinctly describe each channel of the corrugated sheet, however the plates forming each channel can be viewed as shown below.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling the instant invention to have modified Tang’s heat dissipation part by using Martz’s corrugated fin comprising of flow channels because Martz teaches such is an effective heat dissipation configuration.
Fig. 3
Claims 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang et al. (CN 211350906 U), and further in view of Uchiyama et al. (US 10374269 B2) and Park et al. (US 20220328905 A1).
Claim 11: Tang does not teach an air inlet panel with varying quantity or size of inlet holes per region. However, Park ‘905 teaches an upper wall (211a, 212a) of an upper housing (211A) of a battery module housing having cooling holes (211h, 212h), and at least two of the cooling holes may be configured such that the cooling holes close to the center (i.e., second hole region) have a larger diameter than the cooling holes disposed at the outer sides (i.e., first hole region and third hole region) [0072-0073, 0076-0077] (Fig.3 and 4) so that the battery module may have a higher cooling efficiency at the center in the horizontal direction, and degradation of the cylindrical battery cell (100) caused by heat concentrated at the center of the plurality of cylindrical battery cells is effectively prevented.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to have modified Tang’s energy storage apparatus by increasing the diameter of the inlet holes in the second region to increase cooling efficiency at the center because the cells in that region have higher temperature compared to the cells on the outside.
Claims 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang et al. (CN 211350906 U) in view of Uchiyama et al. (US 10374269 B2) and Park et al. (US 20220328905 A1), as applied to claim 11, and further in view of Kurita et el. ( US 20130149583) and Park et al. (US 20160099489 A1).
Claim 12: Tang teaches an energy storage plug-in box comprising a cooling air inlet (110) and an outlet (120) (fig. 1) wherein all the battery cells, including the first cells, are separated from the side walls by an air passage (Fig. 1). Tang does not explicitly teach the position of the air inlet with respect to the side walls of the energy storage box or the air inlet panel is provided on the side hole region. However, Park ‘489 teaches an energy storage device comprising a perforated plates (61) with a plurality of supply holes (6) (i.e., air inlet holes) fixed to the upper plate (41 (i.e., air inlet panel) and the side plate (i.e., side hole region) (42) (Fig. 3) wherein the side hole region and the first hole region are disposed at 90 degrees.
Tang does not teach a busbar. However, Kurita teaches a battery system comprising a battery accommodation casing, and a cooling fan where in the battery accommodation casing is provided with a cooling fluid introduction port (i.e., inlet) disposed on the bottom of the case, that introduces the cooling air to cool a plurality of cells (41) in the battery accommodation casing, wherein the cells are arranged spaced apart from the walls of the casing, and electrically connected by a busbar (42) [0119, 0123] and is spaced apart from the side walls (Fig. 10 B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling the instant invention to have modified Tang’s energy storage device by connecting the cells with a busbar spaced apart from the side wall and arranging air inlet holes on the side panel at a 90 degree angle because the combination of Park ‘489 and Kurita teaches such a configuration is operable.
Claims 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang et al. (CN 211350906 U) and Uchiyama et al. (US 10374269 B2), and further in view of Kiya (US 20150133041 A1).
Claim 13: Tang does not teach a battery management system. However, Kiya teaches an energy storage unit comprising a battery pack (10) with an upper case (11) and a lower case (12) (i.e., single-plate box), a blower for supplying the electric storage unit with air for temperature adjustment [0001] and a monitor unit (51) enclosed within a housing formed by a protecting member (25) (i.e., single plate) and endplate (22) which monitors the voltage and the current of the battery stack (20), wherein the monitor unit (51) is disposed between a battery stack (20) and a duct portion (42 A) of the exhaust duct (42) (i.e., outlet end) of a blower (30) (i.e., air control component) [0068, 0072], and the monitor unit is provided with a protecting member (25) formed of a single plate-shaped member (i.e., single plate) [0031, 0072, 0077] (Figs. 4, 9 and 10), wherein the protecting member (25) is configured to protect the monitor unit from external force such as collision with the blower [0087, 0098], and the blower is configured dissipate heat from the protecting member (25). Kiya does not explicitly teach the air control component is in communication with the air channel mechanical part, however, Kiya teaches the blower is inn communication with the lower case (12) [0055] which forms part of the wall (i.e., air channel mechanical part) of the air passage S2 (i.e., air channel) (fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling the instant invention to have modified Tang’s energy storage device by including a blower at the outlet end to direct air flow in the battery storage device and a monitor unit provided with a protecting member ( i.e., single-plate box) to monitor the battery’s parameters such as voltage while also protecting the monitor unit from impact from the blower.
Claims 15-17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang et al. (CN 211350906 U), and further in view of Uchiyama et al. (US 10374269 B2) and Jin et al (US 20160226110 A1).
Claims 15-16: Tang and Uchiyama teach the features of claim 1, as described above.
Tang does not teach a power generation system, comprising a transformer connected to the energy storage apparatus. Jin teaches a power system (3) comprising and electrical power generator, an electrical transformer and an electrical power transmission line, wherein the power system (3) supplies electrical power to the battery system (20) (i.e., energy storage apparatus) [0053], and a battery cooling system (100) [0061] wherein the battery cooling system comprises a heat exchanger (120) and a cooling fluid flowing through the heat exchanger to cool the battery fluid [0066, 0071] (figs. 1 and 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling the instant invention to have modified Tang’s energy storage device by connecting it to a transformer because Jin teaches such is an operable configuration.
Claim 17: Tang teaches the direction in which the fins of the heat dissipation part are arranged is perpendicular to the direction in which the side walls of the battery core are located [0011]. Tang does not teach the heat dissipation fins have different lengths.
However, Uchiyama teaches the plurality of the cooled portions (50, 405a) (i.e., heat dissipation part) aligned in the stacking direction of the heat conducting member group in the stacking direction are disposed so as to be denser in the central part than the both end parts (Col 15 lines 45-60), wherein the length of the middle portion of the heat dissipation part is greater than the length on the edge (Fig. 9),
such that the surface area of the cooled portion per unit volume in the central part is configured to be larger than the surface area of the cooling part per unit volume in each of the end parts because the temperature of the unit battery (20) positioned in the central part in the stacking direction tends to become higher than those in the end parts (Col 15 lines 45-60). By increasing the area in the middle portion, the contacting area of the fluid flowing through the fluid passage (42) to the cooled portions (heat dissipation part) at the central part becomes larger than at the both end parts in the stacking direction (top and bottom parts) (Col 16 lines 6-10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling the instant invention to have modified Tang’s heat dissipation fins by varying the lengths of the middle portion and the outer edges so as to allow more heat dissipation in the middle of the cell group where the temperature is likely to be higher such that there is more uniform cooling of the battery cells in the battery module.
Claims 18-19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang et al. (CN 211350906 U), and further in view of Uchiyama et al. (US 10374269 B2), Jin et al (US 20160226110 A1) and Asahina et al (US 20040142238 A1).
Claim 18-19: Tang teaches a first and second cell region. Tang does not teach sub-regions for the second air channel. However, Asahina does not explicitly teach the batteries are arranged in subregions, however, Asahina teaches a battery module (11) comprising a plurality of prismatic sealed rechargeable batteries (10) [0035] that are arranged in parallel with a cooling path (8) wherein cooling fluid is made to flow in the direction in which the rechargeable batteries (10) are arranged, wherein the number of the protruding portions (15) (i.e., heat dissipation fins) in the thin plate (4) in the downstream of the flow of the cooling fluid is more than that in the upstream [0037] (Figs. 2 and 3B). Asahina further teaches this cooling structure ensures higher efficiency of cooling by the thin plates in the downstream region than the upstream region such that the batteries are cooled evenly, even if the temperature of the cooling fluid increases in the downstream region [0038].
While Asahina only shows six batteries (10) in the example shown in Fig. 3B [0035], a battery module comprising seven batteries (10) can also be considered, wherein the first four upstream thin plates (14) define the first air channel region and the three downstream thin plates form the second air channel region, and the plates in the downstream region are arranged sequentially with increasing number of heat dissipation fins, such that most downstream region, the third sub-region (i.e., closest to the air-outlet) (not shown in fig. 3B) has the most number of heat dissipation fins and thus the greatest heat dissipation area per unit volume compared to the other sub-regions (See fig. 2 above); wherein the number first cells is greater than the number of arranged second cells.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling the instant invention to have modified Tang’s energy storage unit by further sub-dividing the heat dissipation regions with gradual increase of heat dissipating fins in the downstream flow, in the second air channel region , and arranging the cells such that the number of cells close to the inlet is greater than the number of cells father from the inlet because Asahina teaches such is an effective cooling system that ensures even cooling of batteries in the storage unit.
Claims 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang et al. (CN 211350906 U), Uchiyama et al. (US 10374269 B2), Jin et al (US 20160226110 A1) and further in view of Martz et al. (US 20110293982 A1).
Claim 20: Tang teaches a heat dissipation part comprising of heat dissipation fins. Tang does not teach the heat dissipation part comprises of multiple plates that are sequentially connected and staggered. However, Martz teaches a battery module assembly comprising a corrugated fin interposed between two plates [0009] forming a plurality of fluid flow channels between the plates, wherein the flow channels are in heat transfer communication with the pair of sheet plates and at least one battery cell disposed between adjacent cooling modules and in heat transfer communication with the cooling fin of one of the cooling modules [0010, 0015] (Fig. 4 and 6). Mart does not distinctly describe each channel of the corrugated sheet, however the plates forming each channel can be viewed as shown in fig 2 above.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling the instant invention to have modified Tang’s heat dissipation part by using Martz’s corrugated fin comprising of flow channels because Martz teaches such is an effective heat dissipation configuration.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Nobuyoshi et al. (JP2013105687A) teaches a vehicle power source wherein the number of battery modules near the heating element (i.e., first cells) is greater than the number of cells farther from the heating element (i.e., second cells) [0042, 0044] (Fig. 6).
Sakakibara et al (US 6783886 B1) teaches a battery case comprising a plurality of cells divided into groups wherein the first cell group with a fewer number cells is located in the center and father from the radiator plates radiating cooling air and two second cell groups that are symmetrical are located on either side , and the cell group positioned centrally experiences the same degree of a cooling effect because it contains a fewer number of cells, thus requiring less cooling (Col 3 lines 38-51, Col 4 lines 17-20, Col 10 lines 51-57).
Suzuki et al. (US 20180178675 A1) teaches a battery-cooling device comprising a duct panel (40) (i.e., air inlet panel) arranged above a plurality of cells (23) wherein the duct panel comprises a plurality of introduction holes (43) (i.e., air inlet holes) provided in the first area (A1) (i.e., first hole region) and the second area (A2) (i.e., second hole region) and a third area (A3) (i.e., third hole region) without any holes,
wherein the number of holes (43) in the second area (A2) is greater than the number of holes in the first area (A1) and the third area (Fig. 1 and Fig. 3) [0031] because the temperature of the batteries in those regions is the highest.
Saito et al. (US 8507122B2). teaches a power supply device comprising of separator (2) (i.e., heat dissipation part) interposed between battery cells (1) wherein each separator comprises a plurality of grooves (2A) and cooling gaps (4) through which cooling gas flows to effectively cool adjacent cells (Col 2 lines 43-45, Col 6 lines 45-60, Col 6 lines 45-60 ), formed by forming the separator in a rectangular or trapezoidal wave shape (Col 2 lines 58-63) (Figs. 6 and 9).
/L.N.R./Examiner, Art Unit 1712
/MICHAEL B CLEVELAND/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1712