DETAILED ACTION
Claim status
The examiner acknowledges the amendment made to the claims on 08/19/2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending in the application. Claims 1, 8-12, 14 and 19 are currently amended. Rest of the claims are previously presented. Claims 1-20 are hereby examined on the merits.
Examiner Note
Any objections and/or rejections that are made in the previous actions and are not repeated below, are hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 7-13, 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alyssa, “Healthy Popcorn Seasoning: 6 ways” [Online], published in 2022-09-16, [retrieved on 2026-07-24]. Retrieved from the Internet: <URL: https://www.simplyquinoa.com/healthy-popcorn-seasoning-6-ways/> (hereinafter referred to as Alyssa) in view of Kristin, “4th July Fire Cracker Popcorn” [Online], published as least on 2021-01-19, [retrieved on 2025-10-19]. Retrieved from the Internet: <URL: https://web.archive.org/web/20210119051808/https://modernparentsmessykids.com/4th-of-july-fire-cracker-popcorn/> (hereinafter referred to as Kristin).
Regarding claims 1, 8-12, 14-17 and 19, Alyssa teaches a method of making a popped snack food (e.g., seasoned popcorn), comprising coating a popped base product (e.g., popped corn) with an oil mixture (e.g., cooking spray), followed by coating the freshly oil-coated popcorn with a dry seasonings blend that includes dry sugar (e.g., cinnamon sugar, which is the combination of cinnamon and coconut sugar) (page 9, “How to make seasoned popcorn”; and page 14 “Cinnamon sugar” and “Instructions”)
Alyssa teaches a dry seasoning blend including dry sugar but is silent regarding dry carbonated popping candy.
Kristin in the same field of endeavor teaches a method of making fire cracker popcorn comprising coating the popped popcorn with an oil mixture (e.g., melted white chocolate and vegetable oil) followed by coating the freshly oil-coated popcorn with a dry sugar (e.g., sprinkles) and a dry carbonated popping candy (e.g., Pop Rocks especially Pop Crystals) (“Firework Popcorn” and “Instructions”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Alyssa by combining or mixing the dry seasoning blend of Alyssa with the Pop Rocks as disclosed by Kristin with reasonable expectation of success, for the reason that "it is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). MPEP 2144.06. In the instant case, prior art has established that each of the spices/seasoning, sprinkles and Pop Rocks is suitable for flavoring/seasoning a popcorn thus one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to mix/combine them to form a seasoning mixture for seasoning popcorn.
On the limitations about the proportions of dry sugar, dry carbonated popping candy and dry seasoning in the mixture that comprises the three: Kristin teaches adding Pop Rocks candy or Sprinkles “to taste” (Firework Popcorn). Further, the proportions of individual seasoning in a seasoning blend is a conventional result effective variable in the food art. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have varied the amounts of dry sugars, Pop Rocks and seasoning such as cinnamon depending, respectively, on the intensity of sweetness, intensity of flavoring brought by the cinnamon, and the effect of popping effect brought by the Pop Rocks desired for the spiced popcorn. As such, the proportions of the components recited in claims 1, 8-12, 14-17 and 19 are merely obvious variants of the prior art.
On the limitation that the dry carbonated mixture is a powdery mixture: Alyssa teaches that the seasoning blend is ground into fine powder to help the seasoning stick better (page 9, “How to make seasoned popcorn”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to grind each of the seasoning including dry sugar, dry seasoning (e.g., cinnamon) and dry carbonated popping candy into fine powder to help them stick better.
Regarding claim 3, Alyssa in view of Kristin teaches what is recited above but is silent regarding coating the oil-coated popcorn with the dry seasoning blend within 10 seconds of coating the popped popcorn with the oil mixture. However, judging from the description of Alyssa, it does not appear that there is a reason or benefit to delay the action of coating the oil-coated popcorn with the dry seasoning blend (page 14, “Instruction”), therefore, one of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the seasoning coating any time after the popcorn is coated with the oil, as long as the final seasoned popcorn is timely served.
Regarding claim 7, the description of Alyssa suggests that the cooking spray is at ambient temperature (page 14, “Instruction”) thus rending claim 7 obvious.
Regarding claims 13 and 18, Alyssa teaches that salt can be used as a part of a seasoning to season the popped popcorn (page 13-14, “Ingredient”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have included salt in the seasoning blend for delivering saltiness flavor to the popcorn. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to grind salt into fine powder to help the seasoning stick better.
Regarding the amount of salt in the dry mixture: the proportions of salt in a food is a conventional result effective variable in the food art. In other words, one of ordinary skill in the art would have varied the amount of salt depending on the intensity of saltiness desired for the popcorn. As such, the proportion of salt recited in claims is merely an obvious variant of the prior art.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alyssa in view of Kristin as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jenna, “Firecracker Popcorn Recipe” [Online], published on 2022-05-24, [retrieved on 2025-10-19]. Retrieved from the Internet: <URL: https://www.heyitsjenna.com/2022/05/24/firecracker-popcorn-recipe/> (hereinafter referred to as Jenna).
Regarding claim 2, Alyssa as recited above teaches coating a popped popcorn with oil followed by adding spices/seasoning but is silent regarding the popped popcorn being kettle corn.
Jenna in the same field of endeavor teaches that it is suitable to coat a kettle corn with an oil mixture (e.g., Wilton candy melts) followed by adding a flavoring (e.g., Pop Rocks and sprinkles) to the coated kettle popcorn (“Ingredients” and “Recipe”)/
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Alyssa by using the kettle corn as the popped popcorn with reasonable expectation of success, for the reason that prior art has established that kettle corn is suitable for coating with an oil mixture and flavoring for making a flavored popcorn.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alyssa in view of Kristin as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Amano US Patent No. 5,608,119 (hereinafter referred to as Amano).
Regarding claim 4, Alyssa as recited above teaches adding seasonings blend to a food (e.g., popcorn) but is silent regarding dry soda seasoning.
Amano teaches adding a flavor material such as soda flavor can be used to flavor a food such as candy (col. 5, ln. 18-21).
Both Alyssa and Amano are directed to food that contains a flavoring. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Alyssa by including soda flavor in the seasoning blend of Alyssa so as to obtain a popcorn that has soda flavor. Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to manipulate the amount of soda flavor in the dry mixture for the desired degree of soda flavor. Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use soda flavor in powdered form known that the rest of the seasonings are in powdered form.
Claims 5-6 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alyssa in view of Kristin as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hockett, “How can I flavor air popped popcorn?” [Online], published in 2019, [retrieved on 2025-10-19]. Retrieved from the Internet: <URL: https://www.quora.com/How-can-I-flavour-air-popped-popcorn> (hereinafter referred to as Hockett).
Regarding claims 5-6 and 20, Alyssa in view of Kristin teaches what is recited above but is silent regarding coating the oil-coated popcorn with the seasoning blend within 10 seconds of coating the popped popcorn with the oil mixture. However, judging from the description of Kristin, it does not appear that there is a reason or benefit to delay the action of coating the oil-coated popcorn with the seasoning blend (page 14. “Instruction”), therefore, one of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the seasoning coating any time after the popcorn is coated with the oil, as long as the final seasoned popcorn is timely served.
Alyssa teaches adding the seasoning and tossing to coat (page 9 “How to make seasoned popcorn”) thus failing to teach the limitation about tumbling the popped base product in a drum, and the limitation about draping a curtain of the dry mixture onto the popped base product.
Hockett in the same field of endeavor teaches a method of making a popped snack food (e.g., spiced popcorn), comprising coating a popped base product (e.g., popped popcorn) with an oil mixture (e.g., canola oil), followed by coating the freshly oil-coated popcorn with dry spices and seasonings (2nd para.). Further, Hockett teaches placing the popped popcorn in a paper grocery bag, spraying it with canola oil spray, shaking the bag after every few sprays to coat all the popcorn well so as ensure the seasoning stick, and adding the seasoning and shaking well (2nd para.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Alyssa by placing the popped popcorn in a paper grocery bag, spraying it with canola oil spray, shaking the bag after every few sprays, and adding the seasoning and shaking well so as to ensure a satisfactory coating of the oil on the popcorn and the sticking of the seasoning.
The action of sealing the paper grocery bag that holds the oil-coated popcorn after adding all spices and shaking well as disclosed by Hockett is interpreted to read on the limitation about tumbling the popped base product in a drum, and the limitation about draping a curtain of the dry mixture onto the popped base product.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pages 11-12 of the Remarks that prior art fails to teach all of the dry sugar, dry seasoning and dry carbonated popping candy together in the same powdery mixture, rather, the three ingredient as disclosed by prior art is instead separately attached to melted chocolate.
The argument is considered but found unpersuasive. Para. 17 of the office action issued 07/29/2026 proposes combining dry sugar, dry seasoning and dry carbonated popping candy in one mixture. Further, Allysa teaches coating a popped bases product (e.g., popped corn) with an oil mixture (e.g., cooking spray). Further, the melted white chocolate is in Kristin, which is not relied upon in the rejection at all.
Applicant argues on page 12 of the Remarks that Alyssa fails to teach popping candy at all.
The argument is considered but found piecemeal. The rejection is over Alyssa in view of Kristin, not over Alyssa alone. Alyssa in view of Kristain teaches a popping candy.
Applicant argues on pages 12-13 of the Remarks that Kristin teaches attaching popping candy to melted white chocolate as opposed to an oil mixture. Applicant goes on to argue on page 13 of the Remarks that Kristin “teaches away” from the claimed invention.
The arguments are considered but found unpersuasive. The attention of the applicant is drawn to para. 17 of the office action issued 07/29/2026, which proposes modifying Alyssa by including the dry carbonated popping candy (e.g., Pop Rocks) in the mixture that comprises dry sugar and dry seasoning. The modification does not propose including the melted white chocolate in the seasoned popcorn of Alyssa. Alyssa has the oil mixture (e.g., oil spray, see para. 14 of the office action issued 07/29/2026). Of note that oil mixture or melted white chocolate is essentially a sticky base for the dry seasoning to attach thereon. On the other hand, the melted white chocolate along with the vegetable oil as disclosed by Kristin is actually an oil mixture, given that white chocolate comprises cocoa butter which is an oil.
Further, prior art’s silence about a feature recited in the claim does not constitute a teaching away, since prior art never criticizes or discourages the feature as claimed.
For the reason set forth above, applicant’s argument on pages 14-15 of the Remarks that the position taken by the office action that Kristin teaches coating an oil-coating on popcorn is mispresented is not persuasive, either.
For the reason set forth above, applicant’s argument on page 17 of the Remarks that the melting chocolate often sets off the popping candy is not persuasive, either.
Applicant argues on page 15 of the Remarks that the examiner is incorrect in asserting that Kristin teaches coating the popped corn with a dry sugar (e.g., sprinkle), since sprinkle is not dry sugar.
The arguments are considered but found unpersuasive. The attention of the applicant is drawn to para. 17 of the office action issued 07/29/2026, which proposes modifying Alyssa by including the dry carbonated popping candy (e.g., Pop Rocks) in the mixture that comprises dry sugar and dry seasoning. The modification does not propose including the sprinkles in the mixture. On the other hand, applicant is reminded that sprinkles has dominant amount dry sugar this it is not wrong to say that the dry sugar is attached on the popcorn if sprinkles are coated on the popcorn.
Applicant argues on pages 15-16 of the Remarks that reliance on M.P.E.P. # 2144.06 is misplaced at paragraph 17 at page 5 of the Office Action. In particular, applicant argues that the Office Action apparently attempts to equate these two different things by very broadly stating their purpose as "seasoning popcorn" so that they seem to be the same in sharing such a broad purpose (this is arguably akin to stating car airbags and car fenders are the same thing because they both broadly make a car safer). However, a seasoning and a candy that pops in one's mouth used in popcorn do not have the same purpose, because the seasoning provides seasoning and the popping candy bursts to make the food surprisingly dynamic, which are distinctly different purposes.
The office disagrees. The fact that either dry sugar or dry carbonated candy can be used to coat popcorn established the either one is a suitable seasoning to flavor popcorn thus according to MPEP 2144.06 a skilled person will combine the two seasonings to form a new seasoning composition. Further it is noted that applicant has not been able to shown any new result associated with the combination.
Applicant argues on pages 17-19 of the Remarks that cited arts fail to teach the proportions of each of the ingredient in the mixture. Applicant further argues that the office action’s assertion that the proportions are conventional result is unsupported conclusive assertion.
The examiner disagrees. The proportions of individual seasoning in a seasoning blend is a conventional result effective variable in the food art. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have varied the amounts of dry sugars, Pop Rocks and seasoning such as cinnamon depending, respectively, on the intensity of sweetness, intensity of flavoring brought by the cinnamon, and the effect of popping effect brought by the Pop Rocks desired for the spiced popcorn. The examiner further submits that the result of varying a dry sugar, a dry carbonated popping candy or a dry seasoning in a seasoning blend is predictable, which is different from varying a specific metal in an alloy the effect of which is not predictable. Applicant appears to have underestimated the level of skilled person in the art of food.
Further, attention is invited to In re Levin, 84 USPQ 232 and the cases cited therein, which are considered in point in fact situation of the instant case. At page 234, the Court stated as follows:
This court has taken the position that new recipes or formulas for cooking food which involve the addition or elimination of common ingredients, or for treating them in ways which differ from the former practice, do not amount to invention, merely because it is not disclosed that, in the constantly developing art of preparing food, no one else ever did the particular thing upon which the applicant asserts his right to a patent. In all such cases, there is nothing patentable unless the applicant by a proper showing further establishes a coaction or cooperative relationship between the selected ingredients which produces a new, unexpected and useful function. In re Benjamin D. White, 17 C.C.P.A. (Patents) 956, 39 F.2d 974, 5 USPQ 267; In re Mason et al., 33 C.C.P.A. (Patents) 1144, 156 F.2d 189, 70 USPQ 221.
In the instant case, the examiner notes that applicant has not been able to shown any coaction or cooperative relationship between the selected ingredients (e.g., dry sugar, dry carbonated popping candy and dry seasoning) which produces a new, unexpected and useful function.
For the reason set forth above, applicant’s argument on page 19 of the Remarks that the office action is using impermissible hindsight to reject the instant claims is not persuasive, either. Further, in response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). In the instant case, it is found that coating popping candy with each of the dry sugar, dry carbonated popping candy and dry seasoning is known before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, and simply manipulating the amount of each seasoning is within the grasp of one of ordinary skill in the food art, and the result of which is predictable. See In re Levin as cited above too.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHANGQING LI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1791