DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 9-12, 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(1) as being anticipated by Puleston et al. (US 2010/0134257).
Referring to Claim 1, Puleston teaches an electronic system comprising an electronic device and a reader, the electronic device including:
a non-volatile memory (see paragraph 101 which shows non-volatile memory 162 as part of RFID tag 102 as shown in fig. 1A);
a first wireless communication device (see 108 of fig. 1A); and
a first component configured to:
receive at least one signal from a sensor (see RFID tag 102 of fig. 1A receiving signals from sensors 138A); and
convert the signal into first digital data, wherein when the electronic device receives the signal the first component converts the signal into the first digital data (see paragraph 101 which shows the data processing unit 132 of tag 102 as digital and paragraph 79 which shows the process of converting data into digital data) and stores the first digital data into the non-volatile memory (see paragraph 101 which shows storing digital data in non-volatile memory), and wherein the first wireless communication device is configured to send the first digital data to the reader (see fig. 2 which shows tag 102 sending data to reader 140), and
wherein the reader includes:
a second wireless communication device (see antenna of reader 140 in fig. 2); and
a second component configured to implement a digital filtering, wherein the second wireless communication device is configured to receive the first digital data and the second component is configured to apply the digital filtering to the first digital data (see paragraph 353 which shows the reader performing a filtering operation on digital data sent from the tag).
Claim 11 has similar limitations to what is taught in claim 1.
Claim 17 has similar limitations to what is taught in claim 1.
Referring to Claim 2, Puleston also teaches the electronic device including the sensor (see paragraph 106 which shows sensors connected to communications facility 134A of the tag 102).
Referring to Claim 3, Puleston also teaches the non-volatile memory is an electrically erasable programmable read-only memory (EEPROM)-type memory (see paragraph 114 which shows EEPROM memory).
Referring to Claim 4, Puleston also teaches the electronic device communicating with the sensor using at least one communication channel (see paragraph 106 which shows sensors communicating with communications facility 134A of the tag 102).
Referring to Claim 5, Puleston also teaches the electronic device communicating with the sensor using at least two communication channels (see fig. 1A which shows sensors 138A communicating with tag 102 by communicating with comm facilities 134A and 134B which implies the use of two communications channels for two separate facilities).
Referring to Claims 6 and 12, Puleston also teaches the first component including at least one first analog conversion circuit configured to convert the signal to second analog data (see analog block 302 in fig. 1A and paragraph 209 which shows analog to digital conversion).
Referring to Claim 14, Puleston also teaches an analog-to-digital converter circuit configured to convert the second analog data to the first digital data (see paragraph 95 which shows an ADC converting information in the tag to digital data).
Referring to Claims 9 and 15, Puleston also teaches the first and second wireless communication devices configured to communicate using near-field communication (see paragraph 110 which shows near-field communication).
Referring to Claims 10 and 16, Puleston also teaches the electronic device including a battery (see paragraph 89 which shows a battery as a power source for the tag).
Referring to Claim 18, Puleston also teaches transmission, by the wireless communication device, of the first data to the reader started before reception of the signal from the sensor (see paragraph 57 which shows signals received from sensors stored in memory and paragraph 353 which shows the reader and tag communications independent of the communications between the tag and sensors which implies the ability of the tag to transmit data to the reader before receiving data from sensors further noting that the reader and tag communications independent of the communications between the tag and sensors is mentioned because it is technically impossible for a signal which is not received from a sensor and converted to be transmitted to a reader).
Referring to Claim 19, Puleston also teaches the reader powering the electronic device during near-field communication (see paragraph 87 which shows nodes harvesting power from the reader and paragraph 110 which shows near-field communication).
Referring to Claim 20, Puleston also teaches the reader powering the electronic device during near-field communication (see paragraph 87 which shows nodes harvesting power from the reader and paragraph 110 which shows near-field communication), and wherein the transmitting of the first data to the reader is only used to supply energy to the reader until the transmission of the first data (see paragraph 110 which shows near-field communication where it is known in the art for near-field signals to contain energy further noting that it is technically impossible to transmit data until transmission of the same data), and the reader initiating transmission of the first data by sending a control signal to the electronic device using wireless communication (see paragraph 353 which shows the reader sending a command to the tag to send information).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-8 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Puleston in view of Shelton (WO 2019/186501).
Referring to Claims 7 and 13, Puleston does not teach the first component including at least two first analog conversion circuits configured to convert the signal to second analog data. Shelton teaches the first component including at least two first analog conversion circuits configured to convert the signal to second analog data (see fig. 58 which shows the component using two DAC circuits 818 and 834). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the teachings of Shelton to the device of Puleston in order to make the device more efficient by enabling the device to handle higher amounts of data.
Referring to Claim 8, Puleston also teaches the first component including an analog-to-digital converter circuit configured to convert the second analog data to the first digital data (see paragraph 95 which shows an ADC converting information in the tag to digital data).
Conclusion
/EUGENE YUN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648