DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 9-12, 14, 17, and 18-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guan (CN 113715661 A), Jin et al. (CN 209683471 U), Taimela et al. (2014/0316593), and Lee (WO 2013/042988).
Regarding independent claims 1, 17, and 18, and dependent claims 2 and 9, Guan teaches (Figs. 1, 2, 5) a power distribution system (a) and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions thereon which, when executed by a processor in a controller (70), cause the processor to perform a method comprising:
a charging port (1, 2) for connection to an electric vehicle, EV, battery;
a gas engine generator, GEG, (7) configured to generate a first current output for delivery to an array of accumulator batteries (30, via 90 and 100 in Fig. 5; last paragraph on page 6 of the provided translation) and/or a converter (60);
the array of accumulator batteries (30) configured to generate a second output current and configured to receive at least a first portion of the first current output as a third current output to charge the array of accumulator batteries (last paragraph on page 6);
the converter (60) configured to receive at least a second portion of the first current output and the second current output and to output a regulated power supply to the charging port (far right of Fig. 5); and
the controller (70) configured to independently control:
the GEG to determine the first current output;
the array to determine the second current output; and
the converter to determine the regulated power supply. (Guan teaches this in the middle paragraph on pg. 5 of the provided translation describing Figs. 1 and 2)
Guan fails to explicitly teach the converter being a DC/DC converter, nor the idea of a generator voltage regulator. Jin teaches a similar power distribution system (Fig. 1) to that of Guan. Jin teaches a power distribution system (2) comprising a charging port (7), generator (3), array of batteries (11), a generator voltage regulator (41; i.e. AC/DC) controlled by a controller, and a converter (9). Jin also teaches the converter (9) being a DC/DC converter. (Jin teaches this on pg. 5 of the provided translation at the paragraph starting with “engine controller 41…”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement a generator voltage regulator at the output of Guan’s GEG and have their converter being just a DC/DC converter, since it involves a mere matter of design choice as to how/when to convert the generator’s AC output voltage to DC, and Jin teaches the claimed manner to be known in the art, and the system would function equally well with either circuit configuration.
Guan and Jin fail to explicitly teach operating the generator at or above a first predetermined operation power capacity. Taimela teaches a similar plural power supply system (Figs. 3 and 5) to that of Guan. Taimela teaches a variable speed gas engine generator (320) and an array of batteries (inside 200) collectively providing power to a load (302), and/or the generator supplying a portion of their output power to charge the batteries ([0009]). Taimela also teaches operating the generator (320) at or above a first predetermined operational power capacity to power loads ([0010]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention have Guan’s GEG operating in the way described in Taimela (i.e. operating the generator at or above a first operational power capacity) to improve the efficiency of the generator and the system as a whole.
Guan, Jin, and Taimela teach the idea of providing output power to the vehicle based on charging requirements of the EV (Guan@pg. 7, paragraph starting with “for the electric automobile…”), but fail to explicitly teach determining a maximum input power capacity of the EV battery. Lee teaches a similar EV battery charging system (Fig. 1; Abstract) to that of Guan and Jin. Lee teaches a controller configured to determine a maximum input power capacity of an EV battery connected to the charging port, and control a converter (110) to output a maximum regulated power supply to the charging port, according to the determined maximum input power capacity (Abstract; pg. 4 of provided translation, the first paragraph that starts with “In addition…”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the controller determine a maximum input power capacity of the EV battery and control the converter based on the determined information so that the controller/converter has more information to use in determining the output power to be supplied to the EV battery and have the system operate more efficiently.
Regarding claims 10 and 11, Guan teaches the power system comprising a fuel supply, wherein the fuel supply comprises one or more of: natural gas, liquefied natural gas, LNG, biofuel, hydrogen, and/or a hydrogen-methane blend. (Abstract)
Regarding claim 12, Guan teaches a renewable energy system (PV or wind) configured to charge the array and/or deliver a third current output to the DC/DC converter, wherein the renewable energy system is controllable by the controller. (Bottom of pg. 6 of the provided translation; “The invention can simultaneously…”)
Regarding claim 14, Jin teaches a cooling system (Bottom of pg. 7; “thermal management subsystem”) to make sure the power system does not overheat.
Regarding claims 19 and 21, Taimela teaches the idea of operating a generator when its operational power capacity is above a certain level, and turning off the generator when its operational power capacity is below a certain level ([0038]-[0040], [0044]). Taimela fails to explicitly teach the certain levels being 60% and 30%. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first predetermined operational power capacity being 60% and the second capacity being 30%, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim(s) 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guan (CN 113715661 A), Jin et al. (CN 209683471 U), Taimela et al. (2014/0316593), and Lee (WO 2013/042988) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jackson et al. (2021/0408614). Guan, Jin, Taimela, and Lee teach the power distribution system as described above.
Regarding claims 3-5, Guan, Jin, Taimela, and Lee fail to explicitly teach the claimed battery management system. Jackson teaches a similar array of accumulator batteries (100; Fig. 2) to that of Guan. Jackson teaches the array comprising a battery management system, BMS, for each accumulator battery, and wherein the current output is controlled using information from the battery management systems in the array, wherein the information comprises a maximum voltage/temperature and a minimum voltage/temperature of each of the accumulator batteries, and wherein the current output is determined using a highest maximum voltage/temperature and/or lowest minimum voltage/temperature across all of the accumulator batteries ([0021]; “operates safely within acceptable limits”) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Jackson’s BMS into Guan’s invention to monitor the batteries and make sure they aren’t over/under charged and they don’t become overheated, so that they can function as optimally and efficiently as possible.
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Guan, Jin, Taimela, and Lee fail to explicitly teach the details of the accumulator batteries. Jackson teaches the idea of the accumulator batteries being any configuration or number of batteries ([0020]; i.e. 8 batteries connected in series). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the accumulator batteries comprising 8 batteries in series, since it involves a mere matter of design choice depending on the desired output of the accumulator batteries in Guan’s invention, and Jackson teaches the idea of the batteries being in various configurations including 8 batteries in series.
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guan (CN 113715661 A), Jin et al. (CN 209683471 U), Taimela et al. (2014/0316593), and Lee (WO 2013/042988) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kong et al. (CN 114889456A). Guan, Jin, Taimela, and Lee teach the power distribution system as described above. Jin teaches (Fig. 4) the power distribution system (2) being mounted on a vehicle (1) or vessel, but fails to explicitly teach said vehicle or vessel’s engine providing power to the charge the EV battery. Kong teaches a similar vehicle battery charging system to that of Guan, Jin, and Taimela. Kong teaches the idea of one vehicle using its engine to provide power to output to a different vehicle to charge the different vehicle’s battery (Abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the engine of the vehicle or vessel the power distribution system is mounted on output power (to the DC/DC converter) to assist in providing enough power to the EV battery to charge it effectively.
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guan (CN 113715661 A), Jin et al. (CN 209683471 U), Taimela et al. (2014/0316593), and Lee (WO 2013/042988) as applied to claims 1 and 14 above, and further in view of Podhola (2024/0042877). Guan, Jin, Taimela, and Lee teach the power distribution system as described above. They fail to explicitly teach the system being mounted on a vessel.
Podhola teaches a similar power distribution system (Abstract; Fig. 11) to that of Guan and Jin. Podhola teaches the power distribution system being mounted on a vessel (484), and wherein the cooling system is configured to exchange heat with water surrounding the vessel. ([0131]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the power distribution system on a vessel and use the water surrounding the vessel to exchange heat, since Podhola teaches this similar system known in the art and it would allow for EV batteries to be charged even when they are being transported on a vessel and the cooling system would still be operable to cool down the system as needed.
Claim(s) 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guan (CN 113715661 A), Jin et al. (CN 209683471 U), Taimela et al. (2014/0316593), and Lee (WO 2013/042988) as applied to claims 1 and 14 above, and further in view of Hall et al. (11,850,961). Guan, Jin, Taimela, and Lee teach the power distribution system as described above. They fail to explicitly teach the cooling system configured to exchange heat with liquefied natural gas of the LNG supply system. Hall teaches a similar EV charging system (Abstract) to that of Guan and Jin. Hall teaches a cooling system configured to exchange heat with liquefied natural gas (i.e. coolant via a cooling channel) of an LNG supply system before evaporation (i.e. before use by the generator) (Col. 2, lines 52-59; Col. 10, line 39 – Col. 11, line 23; Hall teaches using coolant, which comes in all types (i.e. LNG) to flow in cooling channels to exchange heat). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the cooling system being configured to exchange heat with the LNG to assist in keeping the elements of the power distribution system cool during operation to prevent overheating, and since Guan and Jin were silent as to how their cooling system functions and Hall teaches a known cooling system known in the charging art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed February 24, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Examiner believes that the Lee reference teaches the added limitations to the independent claims. Lee teaches an EV battery controller that controls a converter to convert a voltage to an output voltage to charge an EV battery, according to state information of the battery including a maximum input power capacity of the EV battery to be charged. In the Abstract, Lee teaches controlling the converter based on state information of the battery to be charged, and (on page 4, the last paragraph starting with “In addition…”) Lee teaches the state information including a maximum input power capacity.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DMP
3/10/2026
/DANIEL KESSIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836