DETAILED ACTION
A. This action is in response to the following communications: Request for Continued Examination filed 02/25/2026.
B. Claims 1-20 remains pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuda, Ken et al. (US Pub. 2019/0250806 A1), herein referred to as “Matsuda” in view of Avedissian, Narbeh et al. (US Pub. 20240314387 A1), herein referred to as “Avedissian”.
As for claims 1 and 10, Matsuda teaches. An information display method and corresponding electronic device, comprising at least one processor; and memory configure4d to store at least one program; wherein when executed by the at least one processor, the at least one program causes the at least one processor to perform (par. 342 hardware environment):
receiving a first triggering operation to view detection information of a target video (par. 89 The preview display area 120 (also referred to as a “viewer”) displays images from media files that the user is skimming through, playing back, or editing. These images may be from a composite presentation in the timeline 115 or from a media clip in the clip browser 110; a user has selected a media clip and it is displayed in the “viewer” 120); and
in response to the first triggering operation, displaying the detection information of the target video in a video details interface of the target video, wherein the video details interface comprises a video playback area (fig. 1, 120) and a detection information display area, the detection information display area displays the detection information, and the detection information comprises at least one of interaction detection information (fig. 1, 115 the timeline is an interaction editing user interface area that allows for the user to edit the playback of media clips) or video detection information (fig. 1, 110 or 125 , wherein 110 is an area that displays video clips in a hierarchical folder structure for user selection and 125 displays information metadata about the video clips of 110 selected; thus the video can preview in 120 and metadata is displayed in 125; par. 86-90).
Matsuda does not specifically teach wherein the interaction detection information corresponds to at least one interaction detection item, wherein the interaction detection item is a detection item configured to detect an interaction corresponding to the target video, and comprises at least one of a guide interaction detection item or a dynamic comment interaction detection item; however in the same field of endeavor Avedissian does at paragraph 63 wherein Avedissian teaches a control may be provided to the user at the same time the video review is displayed, where the user can activate the control to indicate the start of an item review and/or to add tags associated with the item review. Optionally, the user is provided the option of uploading an image of the product before or after they have tagged the item. This image may optionally then be displayed in a scrubber area when the review is displayed to a user. Optionally, the tag and/or a user interface is provided via which the user can indicate which frame within the item review is to be used to represent the item review in future search results or the like. This allows for interaction by the user and the system detecting said interaction to add a tag to a target video wherein the tag functions as a dynamic comment interaction item or even a guide pending on use of end user.
Avedissian teaches wherein the interaction detection information corresponds to at least one interaction-type detection item, and the interaction-type detection item is a detection item configured to detect an interaction corresponding to the target video, wherein the at least one interaction-type detection item comprises at least one of an association user interaction detection item (fig. 3, user uploads a video or records a video), a guide interaction detection item (fig. 4 user adds a tag to a time stamp location on the video; fig. 16A adding product to video for playback guide), or a bullet comment interaction detection item (par. 143 polling video from social network adds bullet comment interactions to video playback), wherein the guide interaction detection item is a detection item corresponding to a guide interaction, the guide interaction is an interaction performed through an element in the target video, and the element is added by a creator (fig.16A, par. 199 a user is presented in association with a play/pause control, and a scrubber area including a scrubber control and timeline. An “add a product” control is provided, which when activated by the user, causes a tag or other indicator to be stored in association with the current point in the video review being displayed and/or the current position of the scrubber control in the timeline); wherein receiving the first triggering operation to view the detection information of the target video comprises: receiving a triggering operation acting on a detecting control in the video details interface when the video details interface does not display the detection information of the target video (par. 199-200 fig. 16B the user interface steps through a series of input by the user without showing the video playback to the user while the user creates a guide interaction for future playback, wherein a thumbnail is being created and contextual information about the time period that is currently paused in the video is being denoted by the creator/user; par. 201-203 go into further detail); wherein the detecting control is displayed in the video details interface of the target video, and the target video is a video posted by the creator (fig. 16E and par. 204 displays thumbnails created by creator/user in the scrubber bar so users digesting playback within the user interface are able to skip to tagged content by creator/user).
Also note paragraphs 65, 86, 89 and 90.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Avedissian into Matsuda because Avedissian suggests conventional techniques for distributing such video content have been inefficient, and conventional media players have not provided adequate controls for navigating through or sharing video content over a network in paragraph 3 and therefore suggest a novel solution to the problem.
As for claims 2 and 11, Matsuda teaches. The method of claim 1, wherein the interaction detection information comprises interaction-type detection information corresponding to at least one interaction-type detection item, and displaying the detection information of the target video in the video details interface of the target video comprises (par. 90 clip shown in the display area 120 of fig. 1):
displaying an interaction detection result corresponding to each interaction-type detection item of the at least one interaction-type detection item in the video details interface for each interaction-type detection item (fig. 1, 125 the inspector display rea displays detailed properties about the selected item and allows a user to modify some or all of these properties).
As for claims 3 and 12, Matsuda teaches. The method of claim 1, wherein the video detection information comprises picture detection information corresponding to at least one picture detection item, and displaying the detection information of the target video in the video details interface of the target video comprises: displaying, for each picture detection item, a picture detection result corresponding to each picture detection item of the at least one picture detection item, a video clip identifier corresponding to the picture detection result, and creation guide information corresponding to the picture detection result in the video details interface (par. 90 inspector display area 125 displays detailed properties about a selected item and allows a user to modify some or all of these properties. The selected item might be a clip, a composite presentation, an effect, etc. In this case, the clip that is shown in the preview display area 120 is also selected, and thus the inspector displays information about media clip 140. This information includes duration, file format, file location, frame rate, date created, audio information, etc. about the selected media clip. In some embodiments, different information is displayed depending on the type of item selected).
As for claims 4 and 13, Matsuda teaches. The method of claim 3, wherein the at least one picture detection item comprises a picture resolution detection item, a picture stability detection item, a picture sharpness detection item, or a picture content detection item; and the picture detection information comprises picture resolution detection information, picture stability detection information, picture sharpness detection information, or picture content detection information (note claim 3 analysis above along with par. 92 The illustrated toolbar 135 includes items for video effects, visual transitions between media clips, photos, titles, generators and backgrounds, etc. In addition, the toolbar 135 includes an inspector selectable item that causes the display of the inspector display area 125 as well as items for applying a retiming operation to a portion of the timeline, adjusting color, trimming, anchoring, creating position clips, and other functions).
As for claims 5 and 14, Matsuda teaches. The method of claim 3, wherein after displaying the detection information of the target video in the video details interface of the target video, the method further comprises: receiving a second triggering operation acting on the video details interface; and
in response to the second triggering operation, switching the video details interface to a video editing interface of the target video for a user to modify the target video based on the creation guide information (par. 93 The left side of the toolbar 135 includes selectable items for media management and editing. Selectable items are provided for adding clips from the clip browser 110 to the timeline 115. Par. 96 is one of many examples of different ways a user can edit a clip “video” within the timeline 115 of figure 1 as shown throughout the figures; another example par. 110 of changing video presentation through inserting clips in the middle, beginning or end of already established clips of the timeline) .
As for claims 6 and 15, Matsuda teaches. The method of claim 3, wherein after displaying the detection information of the target video in the video details interface of the target video, the method further comprises: receiving a third triggering operation acting on the video clip identifier of the target video; and
in response to the third triggering operation, adjusting playback progress of the target video in the video playback area to play a video clip corresponding to the video clip identifier (par. 105 the primary and skimming playheads of the user interface provides two means of adjusting playback progress of the target video (clip)).
As for claims 7 and 16, Matsuda teaches. The method of claim 1, wherein after displaying the detection information of the target video in the video details interface of the target video, the method further comprises: receiving a playback progress adjusting operation acting on the video playback area; and in response to the playback progress adjusting operation, adjusting playback progress of the target video, and displaying detection information of a video clip corresponding to adjusted playback progress in the detection information display area (par. 105-107 user interaction with the primary playhead and the skimming playhead to adjust the playback progress of target videos (clips) and displaying detection information of arbitrary information about the selected clip either in the inspector 125 area or various indications throughout the user interface interactions).
As for claims 8 and 17, Matsuda teaches. The method of claim 1, wherein after displaying the detection information of the target video in the video details interface of the target video, the method further comprises:
receiving a fourth triggering operation acting on the video details interface; and
in response to the fourth triggering operation, displaying a target interaction curve over a video picture being displayed in the video playback area, wherein the target interaction curve is used for displaying an amount of interaction corresponding to a target interaction-type at a plurality of time nodes of the target video (fig. 2 item 221, 254 and 231 are user interactable elements that adjust a curve overlay on top of a clip thumbnail to adjust aspects of the playback of the video clip; par. 102 and 96,98-99).
As for claims 9 and 18, Matsuda teaches. The method of claim 1, wherein before receiving the first triggering operation to view the detection information of the target video, the method further comprises: receiving a details viewing operation for the target video from a poster of the target video; and in response to the details viewing operation, displaying the video details interface of the target video, and displaying a detecting control in the video details interface for the user to perform the first triggering operation (par. 90 The inspector display area 125 displays detailed properties about a selected item and allows a user to modify some or all of these properties. The selected item might be a clip, a composite presentation, an effect, etc. In this case, the clip that is shown in the preview display area 120 is also selected, and thus the inspector displays information about media clip 140. This information includes duration, file format, file location, frame rate, date created, audio information, etc. about the selected media clip. In some embodiments, different information is displayed depending on the type of item selected).
As for claim 19, Matsuda teaches. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program which, when executed by a processor, performs the information display method of claim 1 (par. 320 computer readable mediums used to implement the software invention).
As for claim 20, Matsuda teaches. A computer program product, comprising a computer program carried in a non-transitory computer-readable medium, wherein when executed by a processor, the computer program performs the information display method of claim 1 (par. 320 computer readable mediums used to implement the software invention).
(Note :) It is noted that any citation to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the references should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006,1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
A1. Applicant argues that prior arts do not teach “Amended Claim 1 requires, inter alia, that the interaction detection information corresponds to at least one interaction-type detection item, wherein the at least one interaction- type detection item comprises an association user interaction detection item, a guide interaction detection item, or a bullet comment interaction detection item. The claim further specifies that the guide interaction detection item is a detection item corresponding to a guide interaction, and the guide interaction is an interaction performed through an element in the target video, and the element is added by a creator”.
R1. Examiner does not agree, Avedissian teaches in paragraph 63 that a creator of a video can add a guide interaction detection item, by means of tagging a video to denote a portion of video related to a time of interest (e.g. 1:03min – 1:34min), specifically of an item (e.g. shoes from brand A) within the video at the time frame denoted by tagging, wherein the user is able to upload an image (e.g. thumbnail) related to the time period tagged (item, shoes from brand A featured in video) to denote special interest which this image (thumbnail) is displayed in a scrubber bar area of the user interface to aid in the user to navigate to time period in video which is related to the thumbnail. This image functions as a control and is displayed to the user on the user interface of a target video which was posted by creator/ user posting video review as mentioned in paragraph 65 (e.g. An item tag associated with the reviewed item may be received from the user posting the video review).
Note the following claim analysis:
Avedissian teaches wherein the interaction detection information corresponds to at least one interaction-type detection item, and the interaction-type detection item is a detection item configured to detect an interaction corresponding to the target video, wherein the at least one interaction-type detection item comprises at least one of an association user interaction detection item (fig. 3, user uploads a video or records a video), a guide interaction detection item (fig. 4 user adds a tag to a time stamp location on the video; fig. 16A adding product to video for playback guide), or a bullet comment interaction detection item (par. 143 polling video from social network adds bullet comment interactions to video playback),
wherein the guide interaction detection item is a detection item corresponding to a guide interaction, the guide interaction is an interaction performed through an element in the target video, and the element is added by a creator (fig.16A, par. 199 a user is presented in association with a play/pause control, and a scrubber area including a scrubber control and timeline. An “add a product” control is provided, which when activated by the user, causes a tag or other indicator to be stored in association with the current point in the video review being displayed and/or the current position of the scrubber control in the timeline);
wherein receiving the first triggering operation to view the detection information of the target video comprises: receiving a triggering operation acting on a detecting control in the video details interface when the video details interface does not display the detection information of the target video (par. 199-200 fig. 16B the user interface steps through a series of input by the user without showing the video playback to the user while the user creates a guide interaction for future playback, wherein a thumbnail is being created and contextual information about the time period that is currently paused in the video is being denoted by the creator/user; par. 201-203 go into further detail);
wherein the detecting control is displayed in the video details interface of the target video, and the target video is a video posted by the creator (fig. 16E and par. 204 displays thumbnails created by creator/user in the scrubber bar so users digesting playback within the user interface are able to skip to tagged content by creator/user).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Inquires
/NICHOLAS AUGUSTINE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2178 May 27, 2026