Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 10 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
In the remarks, Applicant argued in substance that:
(a) Woodward discloses migrating applications between a source computing environment and a target computing environment, but fails to disclose migrating threads across different nodes that an application is running on, as recited in independent claims 1 and 10.
(b) Woodward fails to disclose that a thread is instantiated within a “proxy process” which “knows a home of the thread is on another node,” arguing that Woodward merely copies files and transcribes OS-specific changes.
Examiner respectfully traverses Applicant’s remarks:
As to point (a), Applicant’s argument that Woodward only migrates applications and not threads is not persuasive. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of specification, an application is comprised of processes and threads. Woodward explicitly discloses that the application being migrated utilizes components “which will run in their own threads of execution” (Woodward, paragraph [0045]). Woodward further discloses instantiating the application (and inherently its threads) within the virtual migration sandbox on the target OS (Woodward, paragraph [0093]). The claims do not require a specific distributed computing architecture; they merely require a request to create/migrate a thread to a second node, which Woodward discloses when the migration agent instantiates the application and its threads on the target computing environment.
As to point (b), Applicant’s argument that Woodward fails to disclose a proxy process that “knows a home of the thread is on another node” is not persuasive. The Examiner has mapped the claimed “proxy process” to Woodward’s “virtual migration sandbox 260.” The term “home” is a broad, descriptive term that is not strictly defined in the claims to preclude a source or legacy environment. In Woodward, the application and its threads are instantiated inside the virtual migration sandbox on the target node (the second node). As explicitly disclosed in Woodward at paragraph [0074], the virtual migration sandbox is configured to intercept calls made by the application/threads and redirect them back to the source agent 405 on the source computing environment 100 (the first node) to obtain resources. Because the virtual migration sandbox (proxy process) knows that the thread’s origin, legacy environment, and required resources reside on the source node, the proxy process inherently knows that the “home” (i.e., the source) of the thread is on another node of the system. Therefore, the virtual migration sandbox of Woodward reads on the claimed proxy process that knows the home of the thread is on another node. Accordingly, the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) are maintained for claims 1 and 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 7-11, 13, 14, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Woodward et al. (US 2019/0272172, hereinafter Woodward).
Regarding claim 1, Woodward discloses
A system comprising (fig. 1-7):
at least a first node of a first computer system and a second node of a second computer system, the first node comprising a first plurality of cores running a first operating system (paragraph [0021]: In an embodiment a method is provided for migrating an application from a source computing environment having a source Operating System (OS) to a target computing environment, the target computing environment having a target OS; paragraph [0113]: The electronic device 752 typically includes a processor 754, such as a Central Processing Unit (CPU), and may further include specialized processors such as a Graphics Processing Unit (GPU) or other such processor), a first thread proxy (paragraph [0109]: the source runtime 662, the surrogate system process 630), and a first thread daemon (paragraph [0109]: source agent 605), the second node comprising a second plurality of cores running a second operating system (paragraph [0021]: In an embodiment a method is provided for migrating an application from a source computing environment having a source Operating System (OS) to a target computing environment, the target computing environment having a target OS; paragraph [0113]: The electronic device 752 typically includes a processor 754, such as a Central Processing Unit (CPU), and may further include specialized processors such as a Graphics Processing Unit (GPU) or other such processor), a second thread proxy (paragraph [0088]: the virtual migration sandbox 260), and a second thread daemon (paragraph [0109]: migration agent 610 and/or administrative computing environment 275),
wherein the first operating system of the first node is a different instance than the second operating system of the second node (paragraph [0041]: In some embodiments, the source computing environment and the target environment may share a same hardware processor, though the source computing environment and the target computing environment may comprise separate instances of different operating systems, or different versions of a same operating system … The source computing environment and the target computing environment may each comprise different instances of a same operating system (typically different versions of that operating system)),
wherein the first thread daemon of the first node is configured to send a request to the second thread daemon of the second node in response to a request, from a process on the first node (paragraph [0109]: During execution of the source application 105, the source runtime 662 and the surrogate system process 630 report captured in-process and out-of-process calls to the source agent 605. The source agent 605 transmits the captured in-process and out-of-process calls to the migration agent 610), to create a thread on a core of the second plurality of cores of the second node (paragraph [0045]: an application 105 may need access to a number of resources provided by the source OS 102 … Some of the objects are out-of-process components which will run in their own threads of execution; paragraph [0093]: an application 205 is instantiated within the virtual migration sandbox 260; paragraph [0113]: The electronic device 752 typically includes a processor 754, such as a Central Processing Unit (CPU), and may further include specialized processors such as a Graphics Processing Unit (GPU) or other such processor),
wherein the second thread daemon on the second node (paragraph [0109]: migration agent 610 and/or administrative computing environment 275) is configured to create a proxy process (paragraph [0088]: The preparation step 308 also includes instantiation of the virtual migration sandbox 260 within the target OS 202 of the migration computing environment 200. The virtual migration sandbox 260 may be created by the administrative console 270) and instantiate the thread in the proxy process in response to the request (paragraph [0045]: an application 105 may need access to a number of resources provided by the source OS 102 … Some of the objects are out-of-process components which will run in their own threads of execution; paragraph [0093]: an application 205 is instantiated within the virtual migration sandbox 260), and
wherein the proxy process knows a home of the thread is on another node of the system (paragraph [0045]: Some of the objects are out-of-process components which will run in their own threads of execution; paragraph [0074]: The migration agent 410 acting as an interface to receive source file system 150 calls and source registry 155 calls redirected by the virtual migration sandbox 260 to serve a call by the application(s) 205 that is not supportable by the migration computing environment 200 in its current migration state. The migration agent 410 operative to direct the received calls to the source agent 405 operative in the source computing environment 100. The source agent 405 operative to receive the calls from the migration agent 410, and to access the source file system 150 and source registry 155 to obtain the resources corresponding to the received calls. The source agent 405 further operative to return the obtained resources responsive to the calls received from the migration agent 410. The migration agent 410 receiving the obtained resources from the source agent 405 and providing the obtained resources to the virtual migration sandbox 260, administrative console 270, or administrative console 272, as applicable, responsive to the redirected source file system 150 and source registry 155 calls received from the virtual migration sandbox 260, administrative console 270, or administrative console 272, as applicable; Note: The virtual migration sandbox knows to redirect calls made by the application/threads back to the source computing environment (the first node) to obtain resources. Because the proxy process (sandbox) knows that the thread’s origin and required resources reside on the source node, the proxy process inherently knows that the “home” (i.e., the source) of the thread is on another node of the system).
Regarding claim 2, Woodward discloses
wherein the second thread daemon is further configured to create system information that points to the proxy process (paragraph [0061]: the migration registry 255 is also modified during the migration setup step to re-direct out-of-process calls from the native system process 230 to the migration system process 265; paragraph [0088]: The preparation step 308 also includes instantiation of the virtual migration sandbox 260 within the target OS 202 of the migration computing environment 200. The virtual migration sandbox 260 may be created by the administrative console 270, 272).
Regarding claim 4, Woodward discloses
wherein the second thread daemon is further configured to send return code to the first thread daemon (paragraph [0073]: The source agent 405 and migration agent 410 may establish a compressed encrypted data pipe … and forward calls and responses; paragraph [0109]: During execution of the source application 105, the source runtime 662 and the surrogate system process 630 report captured in‐process and out‐of‐process calls to the source agent 605. The source agent 605 transmits the captured in‐process and out‐of‐process calls to the migration agent 610; Note: Under a broad but reasonable interpretation, a “return code” is simply the status or outcome of a migrated execution call. In Woodward, the migration agent 410 (i.e., second thread daemon”) forwards call results to the source agent 405 (i.e., first thread daemon) over the established data pipe).
Regarding claims 7 and 18, Woodward discloses
wherein the first thread daemon is configured to locally instantiate a thread in response to a request, from the process on the first node, to run the thread on a core of the first plurality of cores of the first node (paragraph [0045]: Some of the objects are out-of-process components which will run in their own threads of execution; paragraph [0109]: “During execution of the source application 105, the source runtime 662 and the surrogate system process 630 report captured in-process and out-of-process calls to the source agent 605).
Regarding claims 8 and 19, Woodward discloses
wherein the second thread daemon is configured to locally instantiate a thread in response to a request, from a process on the second node, to run the thread on a core of the second plurality of cores of the second node (paragraph [0045]: an application 105 may need access to a number of resources provided by the source OS 102 … Some of the objects are out-of-process components which will run in their own threads of execution; paragraph [0093]: an application 205 is instantiated within the virtual migration sandbox 260; paragraph [0113]: The electronic device 752 typically includes a processor 754, such as a Central Processing Unit (CPU), and may further include specialized processors such as a Graphics Processing Unit (GPU) or other such processor).
Regarding claim 9, Woodward discloses
wherein the first thread daemon is configured to gather information about the thread in response to the request from the process on the first node (paragraph [0045]: Some of the objects are out-of-process components which will run in their own threads of execution; paragraph [0109]: During execution of the source application 105, the source runtime 662 and the surrogate system process 630 report captured in-process and out-of-process calls to the source agent 605).
Regarding claim 10, Woodward discloses
A method of (fig. 1-7) migrating threads across a first node comprising a first plurality of cores running a first operating system and a second node comprising a second plurality of cores running a second operating system that is a different instance than the first operating system (paragraph [0021]: In an embodiment a method is provided for migrating an application from a source computing environment having a source Operating System (OS) to a target computing environment, the target computing environment having a target OS; paragraph [0041]: In some embodiments, the source computing environment and the target environment may share a same hardware processor, though the source computing environment and the target computing environment may comprise separate instances of different operating systems, or different versions of a same operating system … The source computing environment and the target computing environment may each comprise different instances of a same operating system (typically different versions of that operating system; paragraph [0113]: The electronic device 752 typically includes a processor 754, such as a Central Processing Unit (CPU), and may further include specialized processors such as a Graphics Processing Unit (GPU) or other such processor), the method comprising:
receiving, by a first thread daemon of the first node, a request from a process on the first node (paragraph [0109]: During execution of the source application 105, the source runtime 662 and the surrogate system process 630 report captured in-process and out-of-process calls to the source agent 605) to migrate a thread of the process to a core of the second plurality of cores on the second node (paragraph [0045]: an application 105 may need access to a number of resources provided by the source OS 102 … Some of the objects are out-of-process components which will run in their own threads of execution; paragraph [0093]: an application 205 is instantiated within the virtual migration sandbox 260; paragraph [0113]: The electronic device 752 typically includes a processor 754, such as a Central Processing Unit (CPU), and may further include specialized processors such as a Graphics Processing Unit (GPU) or other such processor);
sending, by the first thread daemon of the first node, the request to a second thread daemon of the second node (paragraph [0109]: During execution of the source application 105, the source runtime 662 and the surrogate system process 630 report captured in-process and out-of-process calls to the source agent 605. The source agent 605 transmits the captured in-process and out-of-process calls to the migration agent 610); and
instantiating, by a second thread proxy on the second node, the thread within a proxy process of the second node (paragraph [0045]: an application 105 may need access to a number of resources provided by the source OS 102 … Some of the objects are out-of-process components which will run in their own threads of execution; paragraph [0088]: The preparation step 308 also includes instantiation of the virtual migration sandbox 260 within the target OS 202 of the migration computing environment 200. The virtual migration sandbox 260 may be created by the administrative console 270; paragraph [0093]: an application 205 is instantiated within the virtual migration sandbox 260),
wherein the proxy process knows a home of the thread is on another node (paragraph [0045]: Some of the objects are out-of-process components which will run in their own threads of execution; paragraph [0074]: The migration agent 410 acting as an interface to receive source file system 150 calls and source registry 155 calls redirected by the virtual migration sandbox 260 to serve a call by the application(s) 205 that is not supportable by the migration computing environment 200 in its current migration state. The migration agent 410 operative to direct the received calls to the source agent 405 operative in the source computing environment 100. The source agent 405 operative to receive the calls from the migration agent 410, and to access the source file system 150 and source registry 155 to obtain the resources corresponding to the received calls. The source agent 405 further operative to return the obtained resources responsive to the calls received from the migration agent 410. The migration agent 410 receiving the obtained resources from the source agent 405 and providing the obtained resources to the virtual migration sandbox 260, administrative console 270, or administrative console 272, as applicable, responsive to the redirected source file system 150 and source registry 155 calls received from the virtual migration sandbox 260, administrative console 270, or administrative console 272, as applicable; Note: The virtual migration sandbox knows to redirect calls made by the application/threads back to the source computing environment (the first node) to obtain resources. Because the proxy process (sandbox) knows that the thread’s origin and required resources reside on the source node, the proxy process inherently knows that the “home” (i.e., the source) of the thread is on another node of the system).
Regarding claim 11, Woodward discloses
further comprising creating, by the second thread daemon of the second node, the proxy process on the second node (paragraph [0045]: an application 105 may need access to a number of resources provided by the source OS 102 … Some of the objects are out-of-process components which will run in their own threads of execution; paragraph [0088]: The preparation step 308 also includes instantiation of the virtual migration sandbox 260 within the target OS 202 of the migration computing environment 200. The virtual migration sandbox 260 may be created by the administrative console 270).
Regarding claim 13, Woodward discloses
further comprising gathering, by the first thread daemon of the first node, information about the thread prior to the sending of the request (paragraph [0045]: Some of the objects are out-of-process components which will run in their own threads of execution; paragraph [0109]: During execution of the source application 105, the source runtime 662 and the surrogate system process 630 report captured in-process and out-of-process calls to the source agent 605).
Regarding claim 14, Woodward discloses
further comprising sending, by the second thread proxy on the second node, return code to the first thread daemon on the second node (paragraph [0073]: The source agent 405 and migration agent 410 may establish a compressed encrypted data pipe … and forward calls and responses; paragraph [0109]: During execution of the source application 105, the source runtime 662 and the surrogate system process 630 report captured in‐process and out‐of‐process calls to the source agent 605. The source agent 605 transmits the captured in‐process and out‐of‐process calls to the migration agent 610; Note: Under a broad but reasonable interpretation, a “return code” is simply the status or outcome of a migrated execution call. In Woodward, the migration agent 410 (i.e., second thread daemon”) forwards call results to the source agent 405 (i.e., first thread daemon) over the established data pipe).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woodward et al. (US 2019/0272172, hereinafter Woodward) in view of Mahajan et al. (US 2020/0167177, hereinafter Mahajan).
Regarding claims 3 and 12, Woodward does not disclose wherein the system comprises a /proc/cpuinfo file containing a node identifier field indicating that the first plurality of cores is on the first node and the second plurality of cores is on the second node. Mahajan discloses wherein the system comprises a /proc/cpuinfo file containing a node identifier field indicating that the first plurality of cores is on the first node and the second plurality of cores is on the second node (paragraph [0042]: At S820, the automatically determined resource requirements of the virtual machine may include Central Processing Unit (“CPU”) core requirements including a frequency value and a count value. For example, the migration platform might perform this by using a text parsing tool such as grep to determine the content of the file /proc/cpuinfo and thus ascertain CPU core requirements (e.g., frequency and count). At S830, the automatically determined resource requirements of the virtual machine may include disk requirements. For example, the migration platform might perform this by ssh-ing into it and using basic Linux commands and files such as lsblk, blkid and/or df -hT to determine disk requirements). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Woodward’s migration system on Linux-based environments, to parse /proc/cpuinfo as taught by Mahajan to obtain CPU attributes needed for automated orchestration, including identifiers distinguishing cores across sockets/nodes, so that cores can be unambiguously associated with their respective nodes during cross-environment coordination. The motivation would have been to provide for the automatic migration of a virtual machine from one cloud computing provider to another in a fast, automatic, and accurate manner (Mahajan paragraph [0043).
Claims 5, 6, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woodward et al. (US 2019/0272172, hereinafter Woodward) in view of Banerjee et al. (US 2020/0366604, hereinafter Banerjee).
Regarding claim 5, Woodward discloses
wherein the first thread daemon of the first node is configured to send a request to the second thread daemon of the second node in response to a request, from a process on the first node (paragraph [0109]: During execution of the source application 105, the source runtime 662 and the surrogate system process 630 report captured in-process and out-of-process calls to the source agent 605. The source agent 605 transmits the captured in-process and out-of-process calls to the migration agent 610), to create a thread on a core of the second plurality of cores of the second node (paragraph [0045]: an application 105 may need access to a number of resources provided by the source OS 102 … Some of the objects are out-of-process components which will run in their own threads of execution; paragraph [0093]: an application 205 is instantiated within the virtual migration sandbox 260; paragraph [0113]: The electronic device 752 typically includes a processor 754, such as a Central Processing Unit (CPU), and may further include specialized processors such as a Graphics Processing Unit (GPU) or other such processor),
wherein the second thread daemon on the second node (paragraph [0109]: migration agent 610 and/or administrative computing environment 275) is configured to create a proxy process (paragraph [0088]: The preparation step 308 also includes instantiation of the virtual migration sandbox 260 within the target OS 202 of the migration computing environment 200. The virtual migration sandbox 260 may be created by the administrative console 270) and instantiate the thread in the proxy process in response to the request (paragraph [0093]: an application 205 is instantiated within the virtual migration sandbox 260).
Woodward does not disclose wherein the second thread daemon of the second node is further configured to send a request to the first thread daemon of the first node in response to a request, from a process on the second node, to create a thread on a core of the first plurality of cores of the first node, and wherein the first thread daemon on the first node is configured to create a proxy process and instantiate the thread in the proxy process in response to the request.
In other words, but Woodward does not explicitly teach the reverse sequence - i.e., the target-side daemon initiating a create-thread request back to the source-side daemon and the source-side daemon then creating a proxy process and instantiating the thread.
Banerjee discloses migrating back to the original system (paragraph [0034]: the application migration may have been temporary, and the application migrated back to the original system after a short period of time; paragraph [0039]: if desired, once the original system is available, a kernel and application can be migrated back to the original system in a manner described herein; paragraph [0059]: Processing unit 206 may be a multi-core processor). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to Woodward’s bidirectional agent/sandbox architecture to support reverse-direction thread migration as taught by Banerjee - i.e., after migrating execution contexts from source to target, enable the same agents to carry migration requests in the opposite direction. Banerjee’s explicit teaching of returning a migrated application (and kernel) back to its original environment provides the motivation to invert Woodward’s messaging protocol: a target-side daemon would send a create-thread request to the source-side daemon, and the source-side daemon would then create the proxy process and instantiate the thread. Such reversal of a known, symmetric communication pattern is a routine design choice yielding predictable results and involves no more than ordinary engineering.
Regarding claim 15, Woodward discloses
receiving, by a first thread daemon of the first node, a request from a process on the first node (paragraph [0109]: During execution of the source application 105, the source runtime 662 and the surrogate system process 630 report captured in-process and out-of-process calls to the source agent 605) to migrate a thread of the process to a core of the second plurality of cores on the second node (paragraph [0045]: an application 105 may need access to a number of resources provided by the source OS 102 … Some of the objects are out-of-process components which will run in their own threads of execution; paragraph [0093]: an application 205 is instantiated within the virtual migration sandbox 260; paragraph [0113]: The electronic device 752 typically includes a processor 754, such as a Central Processing Unit (CPU), and may further include specialized processors such as a Graphics Processing Unit (GPU) or other such processor);
sending, by the first thread daemon of the first node, the request to a second thread daemon of the second node (paragraph [0109]: During execution of the source application 105, the source runtime 662 and the surrogate system process 630 report captured in-process and out-of-process calls to the source agent 605. The source agent 605 transmits the captured in-process and out-of-process calls to the migration agent 610); and
instantiating, by a second thread proxy on the second node, the thread within a proxy process of the second node (paragraph [0045]: an application 105 may need access to a number of resources provided by the source OS 102 … Some of the objects are out-of-process components which will run in their own threads of execution; paragraph [0088]: The preparation step 308 also includes instantiation of the virtual migration sandbox 260 within the target OS 202 of the migration computing environment 200. The virtual migration sandbox 260 may be created by the administrative console 270; paragraph [0093]: an application 205 is instantiated within the virtual migration sandbox 260).
Woodward does not disclose further comprising: receiving, by the second thread daemon of the second node, a request from a process on the second node to migrate a thread of the process to a core of the first plurality of cores on the first node; sending, by the second thread daemon of the second node, the request to the first thread daemon of the first node; and instantiating, by a first thread proxy on the first node, the thread within a proxy process of the first node.
In other words, but Woodward does not explicitly teach the reverse sequence - i.e., the target-side daemon initiating a create-thread request back to the source-side daemon and the source-side daemon then creating a proxy process and instantiating the thread.
Banerjee discloses migrating back to the original system (paragraph [0034]: the application migration may have been temporary, and the application migrated back to the original system after a short period of time; paragraph [0039]: if desired, once the original system is available, a kernel and application can be migrated back to the original system in a manner described herein; paragraph [0059]: Processing unit 206 may be a multi-core processor). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to Woodward’s bidirectional agent/sandbox architecture to support reverse-direction thread migration as taught by Banerjee - i.e., after migrating execution contexts from source to target, enable the same agents to carry migration requests in the opposite direction. Banerjee’s explicit teaching of returning a migrated application (and kernel) back to its original environment provides the motivation to invert Woodward’s messaging protocol: a target-side daemon would send a create-thread request to the source-side daemon, and the source-side daemon would then create the proxy process and instantiate the thread. Such reversal of a known, symmetric communication pattern is a routine design choice yielding predictable results and involves no more than ordinary engineering.
Regarding claims 6 and 17, Woodward discloses
wherein the second thread daemon is further configured to send return code to the first thread daemon (paragraph [0073]: The source agent 405 and migration agent 410 may establish a compressed encrypted data pipe … and forward calls and responses; paragraph [0109]: During execution of the source application 105, the source runtime 662 and the surrogate system process 630 report captured in‐process and out‐of‐process calls to the source agent 605. The source agent 605 transmits the captured in‐process and out‐of‐process calls to the migration agent 610; Note: Under a broad but reasonable interpretation, a “return code” is simply the status or outcome of a migrated execution call. In Woodward, the migration agent 410 (i.e., second thread daemon”) forwards call results to the source agent 405 (i.e., first thread daemon) over the established data pipe).
Woodward does not disclose wherein the first thread daemon is configured to send return code to the second thread daemon.
Banerjee discloses migrating back to the original system (paragraph [0034]: the application migration may have been temporary, and the application migrated back to the original system after a short period of time; paragraph [0039]: if desired, once the original system is available, a kernel and application can be migrated back to the original system in a manner described herein; paragraph [0059]: Processing unit 206 may be a multi-core processor). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to Woodward’s bidirectional agent/sandbox architecture to support reverse-direction thread migration as taught by Banerjee - i.e., after migrating execution contexts from source to target, enable the same agents to carry migration requests in the opposite direction. Banerjee’s explicit teaching of returning a migrated application (and kernel) back to its original environment provides the motivation to invert Woodward’s messaging protocol: a target-side daemon would send a create-thread request to the source-side daemon, and the source-side daemon would then create the proxy process and instantiate the thread. Such reversal of a known, symmetric communication pattern is a routine design choice yielding predictable results and involves no more than ordinary engineering.
Regarding claim 16, Woodward discloses
further comprising creating, by the second thread daemon of the second node, the proxy process on the second node (paragraph [0045]: an application 105 may need access to a number of resources provided by the source OS 102 … Some of the objects are out-of-process components which will run in their own threads of execution; paragraph [0088]: The preparation step 308 also includes instantiation of the virtual migration sandbox 260 within the target OS 202 of the migration computing environment 200. The virtual migration sandbox 260 may be created by the administrative console 270).
Woodward does not disclose further comprising creating, by the first thread daemon of the first node, the proxy process on the first node.
Banerjee discloses migrating back to the original system (paragraph [0034]: the application migration may have been temporary, and the application migrated back to the original system after a short period of time; paragraph [0039]: if desired, once the original system is available, a kernel and application can be migrated back to the original system in a manner described herein; paragraph [0059]: Processing unit 206 may be a multi-core processor). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to Woodward’s bidirectional agent/sandbox architecture to support reverse-direction thread migration as taught by Banerjee - i.e., after migrating execution contexts from source to target, enable the same agents to carry migration requests in the opposite direction. Banerjee’s explicit teaching of returning a migrated application (and kernel) back to its original environment provides the motivation to invert Woodward’s messaging protocol: a target-side daemon would send a create-thread request to the source-side daemon, and the source-side daemon would then create the proxy process and instantiate the thread. Such reversal of a known, symmetric communication pattern is a routine design choice yielding predictable results and involves no more than ordinary engineering.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Vasetsky et al. (US 2018/0213036) discloses “Workload migration, as used herein, refers to transferring, from a source computing device to a target computing device, at least one workload computing process as well as the workload data itself. The workload migration processes that are described herein may be implemented using one or more computer programs, processes, daemons or other software elements that are hosted at or executed by the nodes that are further described herein for FIG. 1 … Typically, a hybrid network comprises a first sub-network connected to a second sub-network through one or more edge appliances that act as a proxy … “ (paragraph [0047]).
Kinsburskiy et al. (US 10,891,153) discloses “In the proxy mode, SPFS 610 redirects any attempt by a process to access the data on it to real data that can be located elsewhere (e.g., on other FS, or on a local file system tree)” (col. 14, lines 43-46) and “the user application (e.g., CRIU) will request the file switching process to mount the SPFS 610 in the “proxy” mode to the path where the NFS will be mounted later. The user application then creates all the paths (i.e. creates files, e.g., without content) it needs to open/mmap the files (i.e., paths of those files located on the original file system, such as FS 120A, that were used, opened, mapped, by the process, which will be migrated) on the SPFS 610” (col. 16, lines 45-52).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in [0037] CFR 1.136(a).
/SISLEY N KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2196 8/5/2026