DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention II (Claims 6-14) and Species A (Figures 1-4 and 6-9) in the reply filed on 12/26/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-5 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/26/2025.
Status of Claims
The status of the claims as filed in the submission dated 12/26/2025 are as follows:
Claims 1-14 are pending;
Claims 1-5 are withdrawn from consideration;
Claims 6-14 are being examined.
Claim Interpretation
The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked. As explained in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, claim limitations that meet the three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Currently, no claim limitations invoke 112(f).
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: “Heat Management System with Multi-Valve” or something similarly more descriptive.
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it refers to the purported merits of the invention and fails to adequately describe the actual structure of the invention. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giunta (US2024/0123869A1) in view of Kim (US2016/0363399A1).
Re Claim 6. Giunta teaches a heat management system (Figure 3A) including a multi-valve (60, 160) configured to circulate refrigerant selectively through a plurality of heat management components (radiator 70, power electronics 150, battery 82) in a cooling medium circulation line (88), the heat management system comprising (Figure 3A; Figures 3A-18B illustrate various modes of operation; Paragraphs 101-112):
a heat exchanger apparatus (chiller 84) connected to the multi-valve (Figure 3A; Paragraphs 101-112); and
other heat management components (radiator 70, power electronics 150, battery 82) in the cooling medium circulation line to adjust a temperature of the cooling medium, a plurality of circulation ports (84 contains ports for connection to 88) for circulation of the cooling medium (Figures 2-3A; Paragraphs 101-112).
Giunta teaches a generic heat exchanger apparatus (84) but fails to specifically teach the heat exchanger apparatus includes heat exchange plates for heat exchange between the cooling medium and heat exchange medium, and some of the circulation ports being arranged in a direction facing each other to form a bypass path in the heat exchanger apparatus.
However, Kim teaches the heat exchanger apparatus (100) includes heat exchange plates (111) for heat exchange between the cooling medium (in flow path 112a or 112b) and heat exchange medium (in flow path 112a or 112b), and some of the circulation ports (134, 180) being arranged in a direction facing each other to form a bypass path (via 125) in the heat exchanger apparatus (Figures 1-3).
Therefore, in view of Kim's teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form the chiller of Giunta as a plate heat exchanger in order to promote increased surface area contact between the two fluids, thereby increasing heat exchange between the two fluids. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to align the ports of the chiller of Giunta in order to form a bypass of the chiller, thereby allowing for reduced piping in Giunta (see paragraph 33 of Kim that states “such that it is possible to simplify a piping layout, and improve package properties, thereby reducing costs and weights”).
Re Claim 7. Giunta as modified by Kim teach the heat management components comprise a battery (Giunta 82), a radiator (Giunta 70), and power electronics (Giunta 72) (Giunta Figure 3A, Paragraph 102), and wherein the heat exchanger apparatus includes a first circulation path (lower conduit of 84 in Giunta; 136 of Kim) connected to the multi-valve, a second circulation path (upper conduit of 84 in Giunta; 180 of Kim) connected to the radiator or the PE, and a third circulation path (134 of Kim) connected to the battery or the multi-valve (Giunta Figures 3A-18B, Paragraphs 101-112; Kim Figures 1-3).
Re Claim 8. Giunta as modified by Kim teach the heat exchanger apparatus is configured to have a bypass path formed by the second and third circulation paths (Giunta Figures 3A-18B, Paragraphs 101-112; Kim Figures 1-3; Kim teaches the bypass path from the second to third circulation paths).
Re Claim 9. Giunta as modified by Kim teach the multi-valve is configured to close the first circulation path when cooling the battery or PE using the radiator to form a circulation flow allowing the cooling medium to enter the heat exchanger apparatus through the third circulation path and be discharged through the second circulation path (Giunta Figures 3A-18B, Figure 3A illustrates the battery being cooled by the radiator, Paragraphs 101-112; Kim Figures 1-3).
Re Claim 10. Giunta as modified by Kim teach the multi-valve is configured to circulate the cooling medium passed through the battery to the radiator through the PE and heat exchanger apparatus when cooling the battery or PE using the radiator (Giunta Figures 3A-18B, Figure 3A illustrates the battery being cooled by the radiator, Paragraphs 101-112; Kim Figures 1-3).
Re Claim 11. Giunta as modified by Kim teach the multi-valve is configured to open the first circulation path when cooling the battery using the heat exchanger apparatus to form a circulation flow allowing the cooling medium passed through the third circulation path of the heat exchanger apparatus to be discharged through the first circulation path (Giunta Figures 3A-18B, Figure 8A illustrates cooling the battery with the chiller 84, Paragraphs 101-112; Kim Figures 1-3).
Re Claim 12. Giunta as modified by Kim teach the multi-valve is configured to circulate the cooling medium passed through the battery to the heat exchanger apparatus when cooling the battery using the heat exchanger apparatus (Giunta Figures 3A-18B, Figure 8A illustrates cooling the battery with the chiller 84, Paragraphs 101-112; Kim Figures 1-3).
Re Claim 13. Giunta as modified by Kim teach the multi-value is configured to open the first circulation path when implementing heat pump functionality using the heat exchanger apparatus to form a circulation flow allowing the cooling medium passed through the second circulation path of the heat exchanger apparatus to be discharged through the first circulation path (Giunta Figures 3A-18B, Paragraphs 101-112; Kim Figures 1-3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to allow for reversing flows through the heat exchanger apparatus in order to allow for increased heat exchange possibilities. The use of reversing valves for heat pump use is well-known and understood in the mechanical arts. Therefore, the examiner takes Official Notice that implementing heat pump mode of operation is well-known and understood in the mechanical arts and that it would therefore be obvious to configure the multi-value to open the first circulation path when implementing heat pump functionality using the heat exchanger apparatus to form a circulation flow allowing the cooling medium passed through the second circulation path of the heat exchanger apparatus to be discharged through the first circulation path.
Re Claim 14. Giunta as modified by Kim teach the multi-valve is configured to circulate the cooling medium passed through the PE to the heat exchanger apparatus when implementing the heat pump functionality using the heat exchanger apparatus (Giunta Figures 3A-18B, Paragraphs 101-112; Kim Figures 1-3).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892 for other relevant prior art.
/TRAVIS RUBY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763