DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed on 2/17/2026 has been entered.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on 2/18/2026 fails to list the most pertinent prior art with regard to the scope of the invention as claimed in this instant application. With the IDS encompassing about 180 separate references, it would be a significant burden on the Office to have to key in and search all of the non-relevant references. Further, an applicant has a duty to not just disclose pertinent prior art references but to make a disclosure in such way as not to “bury” it within other disclosures of less relevant prior art. See Golden Valley Microwave Foods Inc. v. Weaver Popcorn Co. Inc., 24 U.S.P.Q.2d 1801 (N.D. Ind. 1992); Molins PLC v. Textron Inc., 26 U.S.P.Q.2d 1889, 1899 (D. Del. 1992); Penn Yan Boats, Inc. v. Sea Lark Boats, Inc. et al., 175 U.S.P.Q. 260, 272 (S.D. Fl. 1972).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-13, 15-19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Kim (2024/0140662).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a storage container (fig.1-2) comprising: a lower portion (10, see fig.1) comprising a top panel defining a first opening (11 is extending from the top panel of 10), the lower portion configured to hold a liquid; an upper portion (20) received by and in fluid communication with the lower portion (see fig.2), the upper portion comprising a bottom panel defining a second opening (see fig.2, opening in marked area of the panel 25); and a spout (21) extending from the upper portion, wherein when the upper portion and lower portion are coupled together in an assembled configuration (see fig.2), at least a portion of the liquid can be poured from the spout of the storage container (see fig.2), and wherein in the assembled configuration the top panel corresponds with the bottom panel (see fig.2).
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses at least one of the first opening or the second opening is a threaded opening (see threads in fig.2).
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses a cap (30) to cover the spout, the cap to prevent the liquid from pouring through the spout.
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses the storage container is reusable and the lower portion is configured to receive a different liquid (via removal of 20).
Regarding claim 7, Kim discloses the lower portion to receive the liquid via the first opening; the upper portion to dispense the liquid via the spout; the first opening is larger than an opening of the spout (see opening 11 and 24).
Regarding claim 8, Kim discloses the first opening is larger than an opening of the spout and the storage container is manipulatable between: a first use in which the lower portion to receive the liquid via the first opening with the upper portion uncoupled from the lower portion; and a second use in which the upper portion to dispense the liquid via the spout with the upper portion coupled with the lower portion (via threads associated with 10 and 20).
Regarding claim 9, Kim discloses the storage container is manipulatable between: a load configuration in which the lower portion to receive liquid via the first opening with the upper portion uncoupled from the lower portion; and a storage configuration in which the upper portion is coupled with the lower portion (see fig.2).
Regarding claim 10, Kim discloses a reusable storage container (fig.1-2), comprising: a lower portion comprising a top panel defining a first opening to receive a liquid (see opening 11 of 10 with the panel); and an upper portion to couple with the lower portion (20 on 110, see fig.2), the upper portion comprising a bottom panel defining a second opening in fluid communication with the first opening(see panel in marked area 25), the second opening to dispense the liquid, wherein in an assembled configuration of the lower portion and the upper portion, the top panel engages the bottom panel in a facing engagement (see fig.2).
Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses the reusable storage container is manipulatable between: a first use in which the reusable storage container to receive the liquid in the lower portion via the first opening; and a second use in which the reusable storage container to dispense the liquid via a spout extending from the upper portion (see fig.2).
Regarding claim 12, Kim discloses the reusable storage container is manipulatable between: a load configuration in which the lower portion to receive the liquid via the first opening; and a storage configuration in which the upper portion is coupled with the lower portion with at least a portion of the liquid stored within the lower portion (see fig.2).
Regarding claim 13, Kim discloses a spout extending from the upper portion, the second opening configured to allow fluid communication between the spout and the first opening; wherein at least a portion of the liquid can be poured from the spout (via 24 of 21).
Regarding claim 15, Kim discloses a cap to cover the spout with the reusable storage container in a storage configuration in which at least a portion of the liquid is stored within the lower portion (via 30).
Regarding claim 16, Kim discloses a method of using a storage container (fig.1-2) comprising: loading a lower portion of the storage container with a liquid via a first opening (via 10-12), wherein the lower portion comprises a top panel defining the first opening (see fig.1); coupling an upper portion of the storage container with the lower portion (20 on 10), wherein the upper portion comprises a bottom panel defining a second opening (panel in area of 25 and opening in area of 21), and wherein in a coupled configuration of the upper portion and lower portion the top panel corresponds with the bottom panel (see fig.2); and pouring the liquid from the upper portion of the storage container (see fig.2).
Regarding claim 17, Kim discloses prior to loading the lower portion with the liquid, the method comprising: opening the lower portion via uncoupling the upper portion from the lower portion to expose the first opening (see fig.1).
Regarding claim 18, Kim discloses the method comprising: storing the storage container in an environment with at least a portion of the liquid stored within the lower portion (see fig.1).
Regarding claim 19, Kim discloses the method comprising: pouring the liquid from the storage container via a spout extending from the upper portion (see fig.2).
The device shown by Kim will perform the method recited in claims 16-19 during normal use and operation of the dispensing device.
Regarding claim 21, Kim discloses each of the top panel and the bottom panel has an external perimeter, and wherein the external perimeter of the top panel has the same dimensions as the external perimeter of the bottom panel (see fig.2 in coupling position).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (2024/0140662) in view of Regas (US 2012/0090210).
Kim is silent in disclosing a customization surface of at least one of the upper
portion and the lower portion, the customization surface to display information related to
the liquid; and the method comprising: customizing a customization surface of at least
one of the upper portion and the lower portion with information related to the liquid. However, Regas teaches the commonality of having a customization surface of at least one of the upper portion and the lower portion, the customization surface to display information related to the liquid (see fig. 1B, 2A and [0045]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the application to add content information as taught by Regas to the container of Kim, in order to provide consumers with a choice of selecting a desired ingredient. The device shown by Kim and Regas will perform the method recited in claim 20 during normal use and operation of the dispensing device.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (2024/0140662).
Kim is silent in disclosing the upper portion defines an internal space of the upper portion having a dome shape. Instead, Kim discloses the internal space of the upper portion is cylindrical (see fig.1-2). It appears that Applicant has neither placed criticality on use of such a dome shape nor has disclosed that such features provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem other than accommodating the opening of the lower portion, in which Kim provides such an end result (see fig.1-2). Therefore, at the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the upper portion of Kim as such to include a dome as specified in claim 22, because such a modification would have been considered an obvious alteration to the upper portion of Kim which fails to be patentably distinguished. The device shown by Kim will perform the method recited in claim 22 during normal use and operation of the dispensing device.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the above claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BOB ZADEH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754