DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7-13, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shah et al (US Pat. Pub. No. 2017/0019779).
Regarding claim 1, Shah et al discloses a method comprising: a cellular telecommunication system application server (AS) electronically obtaining a cellular network subscriber user equipment (UE) location information from a Home Subscriber Server (HSS) of the cellular telecommunication system (abstract and paragraph 68 discloses that MMSC query HLR for current location and HLR to communicate the location of mobile device); and electronically supporting location-based services of the UE based on UE location information obtained from the HSS while the UE is on a home cellular network and while the UE is roaming (paragraph 68 discloses that MMSC to determine that mobile device is roaming).
Regarding claim 2, Shah et al discloses the AS includes one or more of: a short message service center (SMSC) of the cellular telecommunication system and a Multimedia Messaging Service Center (MMSC) of the cellular telecommunication system (paragraph 68 discloses MMSC).
Regarding claim 7, Shah et al discloses the AS electronically obtaining the cellular network subscriber UE location information from the HSS includes: the AS requesting location information from the HSS with a User-Data-Request (UDR) command using a telecommunication network Sh interface between the AS and the HSS; and receiving from the HSS a User-Data-Answer UDA message from the HSS including the cellular network subscriber UE location information (paragraph 73).
Regarding claim 8, Shah et al discloses the HSS is updated during registration of the subscriber UE by the HSS receiving Fifth Generation (5G) cellular telecommunications UE location data from a core network of the cellular telecommunication system (paragraph 45).
Regarding claim 9, Shah et al discloses the HSS receiving UE location data from a core network of the cellular telecommunication system includes the HSS receiving UE location data via a 5G Unified Data Management (UDM) network function and a 5G Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) (paragraph 45).
Regarding claim 10, Shah et al discloses the HSS receiving UE location data from a core network of the cellular telecommunication system includes the HSS receiving UE location data via a roaming network Mobility Management Entity (MME); and wherein the UDA message from the HSS includes a roaming location of the UE (paragraph 68).
Regarding claim 11, Shah et al discloses the HSS receiving UE location data via a roaming MME includes the HSS receiving UE location data via an S6a cellular telecommunication interface between the HSS and roaming network MME (paragraph 68).
Regarding claim 12, Shah et al discloses a system comprising: at least one memory (inherent in the MMSC) that stores computer executable instructions; and at least one processor (inherent in the MMSC) that executes the computer executable instructions to cause operations to be performed, the operations including: a cellular telecommunication system application server (AS) electronically obtaining a cellular network subscriber user equipment (UE) location information from a Home Subscriber Server (HSS) of the cellular telecommunication system (abstract and paragraph 68 discloses that MMSC query HLR for current location and HLR to communicate the location of mobile device); and electronically supporting location-based services of the UE based on UE location information obtained from the HSS while the UE is on a home cellular network and while the UE is roaming (paragraph 68 discloses that MMSC to determine that mobile device is roaming).
Regarding claim 13, Shah et al discloses the AS includes one or more of: a short message service center (SMSC) of the cellular telecommunication system and a Multimedia Messaging Service Center (MMSC) of the cellular telecommunication system (paragraph 68 discloses MMSC).
Regarding claim 17, Shah et al discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (inherent in the MMSC) having computer-executable instructions stored thereon that, when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to cause operations to be performed, the operations including: a cellular telecommunication system application server (AS) electronically obtaining a cellular network subscriber user equipment (UE) location information from a Home Subscriber Server (HSS) of the cellular telecommunication system (abstract and paragraph 68 discloses that MMSC query HLR for current location and HLR to communicate the location of mobile device); and electronically supporting location-based services of the UE based on UE location information obtained from the HSS while the UE is on a home cellular network and while the UE is roaming (paragraph 68 discloses that MMSC to determine that mobile device is roaming).
Regarding claim 18, Shah et al discloses the AS includes one or more of: a short message service center (SMSC) of the cellular telecommunication system and a Multimedia Messaging Service Center (MMSC) of the cellular telecommunication system (paragraph 68 discloses MMSC).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-6, 14-16, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Shah et al (US Pat. Pub. No. 2017/0019779) in view of Arends et al (US Pat. Pub. No. 2025/0008333).
Regarding claim 3, Shah et al specifically does not disclose the electronically supporting location-based services of the UE based on UE location information obtained from the HSS while the UE is on a home cellular network and while the UE is roaming includes determining whether the cellular network subscriber UE is roaming based on the UE location information obtained from the HSS. However, Arends et al from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the electronically supporting location-based services of the UE based on UE location information obtained from the HSS while the UE is on a home cellular network and while the UE is roaming includes determining whether the cellular network subscriber UE is roaming based on the UE location information obtained from the HSS (see at least paragraphs 73 discloses determining whether UE is roaming based on UE location). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Shah et al with Arends et al as they both determines roaming.
Regarding claim 4, Shah et al specifically does not disclose electronically performing analytics on the UE location information obtained from the HSS and the determination whether the UE is roaming to: determine how many messages are sent to and from the UE over a cellular home network of the UE; determine how many messages are sent to and from the UE over one or more particular cellular networks of roaming partners of the home network; and identify the one or more particular cellular networks of roaming partners over which messages are being sent to and from the UE. However, Arends et al from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches electronically performing analytics on the UE location information obtained from the HSS and the determination whether the UE is roaming to: determine how many messages are sent to and from the UE over a cellular home network of the UE; determine how many messages are sent to and from the UE over one or more particular cellular networks of roaming partners of the home network; and identify the one or more particular cellular networks of roaming partners over which messages are being sent to and from the UE (see at least paragraphs 47). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Shah et al with Arends et al as they both determines roaming.
Regarding claim 5, Shah et al discloses the determining whether the cellular network subscriber UE is roaming based on the UE location information obtained from the HSS includes: populating the location information obtained from the HSS into a call data record (CDR) of the UE; determining whether the cellular network subscriber UE is roaming based on the location information obtained from the HSS populated into the CDR (paragraph 34). Same motivation as claim 4.
Regarding claim 6, Shah et al discloses facilitating mobile network operator billing for messaging based on whether the UE is roaming using the determination of how many messages are sent to and from the UE over the cellular home network of the UE and the determination of how many messages are sent to and from the UE over one or more particular cellular networks of roaming partners of the home network (paragraph 34). Same motivation as claim 4.
Regarding claims 14-16 and 19-20, see above rejection of claims 3-6.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure.
The following prior art are cited to show a method, which is considered pertinent to the claimed invention:
Sood (US Pat. Pub. No. 2024/0073784) directed toward selective roaming for UE registered to the network.
/LITON MIAH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642