DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: the phrase “the at least one unit comprise a heat exchanger” should be written as “the at least one unit comprises a heat exchanger.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the CO2." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites that at least some of the carbon dioxide is pass to a greenhouse to “optimize growing” of plants. Claim 6 is rendered particularly indefinite insofar as it is unclear what is structurally meant by optimizing growing (e.g. optimize growing in terms of yield, height, coverage area, color, etc.).
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the electric energy." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the waste." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "includes a hydrothermal carbonization that utilizes unit from the solid oxide fuel cell.” It is unclear what is meant by said phrase based on the use of the term “unit.” For purposes of examination, Claim 14 will interpreted as requiring that the system includes a hydrothermal carbonization unit to process waste generated by the complex (as in Claim 10).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the amount." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Geinoz et al. (US 10,876,057).
Regarding Claim 1, Geinoz teaches an energy extraction system which produces electrical energy from a fuel cell and utilizes heat generated by the fuel cell elsewhere in the system (“system for producing electrical energy and utilizing associated heat”) (Abstract, col. 4 lines 30-37, col. 4 line 48 to col. 5 line 3, col. 6 lines 14-24). As illustrated in Figure 4, Geinoz teaches that the system comprises a fuel source (“source of fuel”) (36), an air or oxygen source (39) (“source of oxygen”), and a solid oxide fuel cell (38) (“solid oxide fuel cell configured to oxidize the fuel to create electrical energy and heat”) (col. 6 lines 14-24). As illustrated in the annotated Figure 1 below, the system comprises at least one unit configured to utilize heat generated by the solid oxide fuel cell (e.g. the system includes a “biomass drying unit” insofar as steam, carrying heat generated by the solid oxide fuel cell, is routed through heater (4) to dry biomass waste, and the system includes a “water distillation unit” insofar as water, turned into steam by heat generated by the solid oxide fuel cell, is distilled from the waste and used elsewhere in the system (col. 4 line 48 to col. 5 line 3, col. 6 lines 14-24).
Regarding Claim 2, Geinoz teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 1, as previously described.
As previously described (See Claim 1), Geinoz teaches at least two units configured to utilize heat generated by the solid oxide fuel cell (i.e. the biomass drying unit and the water distillation unit).
Regarding Claim 4, Geinoz teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 1, as previously described.
Geinoz teaches that the fuel source is hydrogen (col. 4 lines 30-37, col. 6 lines 37-40).
Regarding Claim 8, Geinoz teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 1, as previously described.
As previously described (See Claim 1), the solid oxide fuel cell generates an exhaust of hot gases (e.g. steam), wherein the biomass drying unit functions as a heat exchanger that draws heat from said exhaust.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geinoz et al. (US 10,876,057), and further in view of Pham (US 2005/0003247).
Regarding Claim 3, Geinoz teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 1, as previously described.
Geinoz does not explicitly teach at least a third unit as instantly claimed.
However, it is first noted that as illustrated in Figure 2 of Geinoz, the system includes a pyrolyzer unit (13) which processes the dried biomass waste (col. 5 lines 4-27).
Furthermore, Pham teaches the integration of a fuel cell with a pyrolysis reactor (Abstract). As illustrated in Figure 1, Pham teaches that heat generated by a solid oxide fuel cell (20) is, at least in part, routed so as to be used in a pyrolysis reactor (10) ([0052]-[0057]). Pham teaches that this integration enhances system efficiency insofar as it recycles otherwise exhausted energy back to the system, and helps reduce or eliminate the need to burn another fuel or carbon source to enable pyrolysis ([0018], [0057]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would further route at least a portion of the heat generated by the solid oxide fuel cell of Geinoz so as to be used by the pyrolyzer unit (i.e. the pyrolyzer unit functions as a third “unit” configured to utilize heat generated by the solid oxide fuel cell), as taught by Pham, given that such integration would enhance system efficiency by recycling otherwise exhausted energy back to the system, and help reduce or eliminate a need to burn another fuel or carbon source to enable pyrolysis.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geinoz et al. (US 10,876,057), and further in view of Weingaertner (US 2020/0168935).
Regarding Claim 5, Geinoz teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 1, as previously described.
Geinoz does not explicitly teach that the fuel source is methane.
However, Weingaertner teaches a fuel cell system (Abstract). Weingaertner teaches that solid oxide fuel cell systems are generally configured to operate most efficiently when using, for example, methane as the fuel ([0016]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would configured the system of Geinoz such that the fuel source of the solid oxide fuel cell is methane, as taught by Weingaertner, given that such a fuel would enhance the efficiency of the solid oxide fuel cell.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geinoz et al. (US 10,876,057), and further in view of Weingaertner (US 2020/0168935) and Hong (KR 20210041732 using the provided machine translation for citation purposes).
Regarding Claim 6, Geinoz, as modified by Weingaertner, teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 5, as previously described.
Geinoz, as modified by Weingaertner, does not explicitly teach that at least come of the carbon dioxide generated by the solid oxide fuel cell is passed to a greenhouse to optimize plant growth.
However, Hong teaches a fuel cell power generation system for greenhouses ([0001]). Hong teaches that carbon dioxide formed as a byproduct from operation of the system (e.g. carbon dioxide produced through the electrochemical reaction of the fuel cell) is passed to a greenhouse to provide smooth carbon dioxide fertilization and promote active photosynthesis ([0002]-[0003], 0014]-[0015]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would pass at least some of the carbon dioxide generated by the solid oxide fuel cell of Geinoz, as modified by Weingaertner, to a greenhouse, as taught by Hong, given that such passage would enhance carbon dioxide fertilization of plants and promote active photosynthesis (“optimize growing of plants”).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geinoz et al. (US 10,876,057), and further in view of Weingaertner (US 2020/0168935) and Lackner et al. (US 6,790,430).
Regarding Claim 7, Geinoz, as modified by Weingaertner, teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 5, as previously described.
As illustrated in Figure 2 of Geinoz, the system includes a pyrolyzer unit (13) (”solid waste pyrolysis unit”) which processes the dried biomass waste (“organic waste”) to thereby produce biochar (“biochar”) which sequesters carbon to at least some degree (col. 5 lines 4-27).
Geinoz, as modified by Weingaertner, does not explicitly teach that the biochar is produced such that more carbon is sequestered than is released by the methane fuel source.
However, Lackner teaches the generation of electricity from carbon containing fuels (Abstract, col. 1 lines 13-17). Lackner teaches that carbon dioxide emissions should be sequestered for isolation and disposal into sinks other than the atmosphere because of the role of carbon dioxide as a greenhouse gas contributing to global warming (col. 1 lines 20-27).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would ensure that the biochar of Geinoz, as modified by Weingaertner, is produced such that more carbon is sequestered than is released by the methane in order to help maximize sequestration and isolation of carbon, given that sequestering more than is released in such a manner would help reduce the effects of global warming due to the presence of greenhouse emissions.
Claims 9-10, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geinoz et al. (US 10,876,057), and further in view of Chang et al. (“Proposing Strategies for Efficiency Improvement by Using a Residential Solid Oxide Fuel Cell Co-Generation System in a Small-Scale Apartment Building”),
Regarding Claim 9, Geinoz teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 1, as previously described.
Geinoz does not explicitly teach that the system is adapted to provide electric energy used in a multi-residence complex.
However, it is first noted that Geinoz teaches that the system is adapted to at least produce electricity using municipal waste/garbage as an input stream (col. 4 lines 48-51).
Furthermore, Chang teaches a solid oxide fuel cell system adapted to provided electric energy used in a small-scale apartment building (Abstract, “Research Background” and “Research Contribution” of Introduction, Conclusion). Chang teaches that the solid oxide fuel cell system provides efficient, clean energy for the residents of the small-scale apartment and help reduce greenhouse gas emissions (Abstract, Research Background” and “Research Contribution” of Introduction, Conclusion).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would integrate the system of Geinoz with a small-scale apartment building (“multi-residence complex”) to provide electric energy, produced at least in part from waste/garbage generated by the building, used in the building, as taught by Chang, given that such an integration with the system would help provide efficient, clean energy for the residents of the building and help reduce greenhouse emissions.
Regarding Claim 10, Geinoz, as modified by Chang, teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 9, as previously described.
As previously described (See Claim 9), the system is integrated with the building so as to provide electric energy produced at least in part from waste/garbage generated by the building. In particular, and as illustrated in Figure 2 of Geinoz, the system includes a pyrolyzer unit (13) (“solid waste pyrolysis unit”) which processes the dried biomass waste, wherein the dried biomass waste is produced at least in part from the waste/garbage generated by the building (col. 5 lines 4-27).
Regarding Claim 12, Geinoz teaches an energy extraction system which produces electrical energy from a fuel cell and utilizes heat generated by the fuel cell elsewhere in the system (“system”) (Abstract, col. 4 lines 30-37, col. 4 line 48 to col. 5 line 3, col. 6 lines 14-24). As illustrated in Figure 4, Geinoz teaches that the system comprises a fuel source (“source of fuel”) (36), an air or oxygen source (39) (“source of oxygen”), and a solid oxide fuel cell (38) (“solid oxide fuel cell configured to oxidize the fuel to create electrical energy” and “to create heat”) (col. 6 lines 14-24). As illustrated in the annotated Figure 1 below, the system comprises at least one unit configured to provide a utility other than electrical energy and utilize heat generated by the solid oxide fuel cell (e.g. the system includes a “biomass drying unit” insofar as steam, carrying heat generated by the solid oxide fuel cell, is routed through heater (4) to dry biomass waste (col. 4 line 48 to col. 5 line 3, col. 6 lines 14-24).
Geinoz does not explicitly teach that the system is used in a multi-residence complex by at least creating the electrical energy for use in the complex and using the biomass drying unit for drying biomass generated by residents of the complex, by outside producers, or by both.
However, it is first noted that Geinoz teaches that the system is adapted to at least produce electricity using municipal waste/garbage as an input stream (col. 4 lines 48-51).
Furthermore, Chang teaches a solid oxide fuel cell system adapted to provided electric energy used in a small-scale apartment building (Abstract, “Research Background” and “Research Contribution” of Introduction, Conclusion). Chang teaches that the solid oxide fuel cell system provides efficient, clean energy for the residents of the small-scale apartment and help reduce greenhouse gas emissions (Abstract, Research Background” and “Research Contribution” of Introduction, Conclusion).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would integrate the system of Geinoz with a small-scale apartment building (“multi-residence complex”) to provide electric energy, produced at least in part from waste/garbage generated by the residents of the building (“biomass”), outside producers, or by both, for use in the building, as taught by Chang, given that such an integration with the system would help provide efficient, clean energy for the residents of the building and help reduce greenhouse emissions.
Claims 11, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geinoz et al. (US 10,876,057), and further in view of Chang et al. (“Proposing Strategies for Efficiency Improvement by Using a Residential Solid Oxide Fuel Cell Co-Generation System in a Small-Scale Apartment Building”) and Spitzer et al. (“Using hydrothermal carbonization for sustainable treatment and reuse of human excreta”).
Regarding Claim 11, Geinoz, as modified by Chang, teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 10, as previously described.
Geinoz, as modified by Chang, does not explicitly teach that the system comprises a hydrothermal carbonization unit to process blackwater generated by the building.
However, Spitzer teaches the hydrothermal carbonization of black water (i.e. human excreta) using a hydrothermal carbonization reactor and the potential use of the resulting char and aqueous paste (Abstract, 2nd paragraph of Introduction). Spitzer teaches that hydrothermal carbonization functions as a sustainable sanitation treatment technology for black water given that it recovers energy and enables the reuse of nutrients (Abstract, Introduction, Conclusion).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would further include, in the system of Geinoz, as modified by Chang, a hydrothermal carbonization reactor to process blackwater generated by the building, as taught by Spitzer, given that hydrothermal carbonization would serve as a sustainable sanitation treatment means for the blackwater given that it recovers energy and enables the reuse of nutrients.
Regarding Claim 14, Geinoz, as modified by Chang, teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 12, as previously described.
Geinoz, as modified by Chang, does not explicitly teach that the system comprises a hydrothermal carbonization unit to process blackwater generated by the building.
However, Spitzer teaches the hydrothermal carbonization of black water (i.e. human excreta) using a hydrothermal carbonization reactor and the potential use of the resulting char and aqueous paste (Abstract, 2nd paragraph of Introduction). Spitzer teaches that hydrothermal carbonization functions as a sustainable sanitation treatment technology for black water given that it recovers energy and enables the reuse of nutrients (Abstract, Introduction, Conclusion).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would further include, in the system of Geinoz, as modified by Chang, a hydrothermal carbonization reactor to process blackwater generated by the building, as taught by Spitzer, given that hydrothermal carbonization would serve as a sustainable sanitation treatment means for the blackwater given that it recovers energy and enables the reuse of nutrients.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geinoz et al. (US 10,876,057), and further in view of Chang et al. (“Proposing Strategies for Efficiency Improvement by Using a Residential Solid Oxide Fuel Cell Co-Generation System in a Small-Scale Apartment Building”) and Chaudron (US 2015/0340749).
Regarding Claim 13, Geinoz, as modified by Chang, teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 12, as previously described.
Geinoz, as modified by Chang, does not explicitly teach the presence of a second solid oxide fuel cell as instantly claimed.
However, Chaudron teaches a power-generating system (Abstract). Chaudron teaches that the system serves as a backup power system for a building ([0001]-[0002]). Chaudron teaches that the system includes a plurality (i.e. more than two) of solid oxide fuel cells whose capacity provides backup energy to a building ([0038]-[0040]). Chaudron teaches that the system helps provide power to supplement a main power source (e.g. electric grid) which has failed ([0087]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would provide the system of Geinoz, as modified by Chang, with at least a second solid oxide fuel cell whereby the first and second solid oxide fuel cells have a capacity to provide electric energy to the entire building to provide a backup power system, as taught by Chaudron, given that such a backup power system would help provide power in the event that a main power source, such as an electric grid, has failed.
Claims 15, 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geinoz et al. (US 10,876,057), and further in view of Chang et al. (“Proposing Strategies for Efficiency Improvement by Using a Residential Solid Oxide Fuel Cell Co-Generation System in a Small-Scale Apartment Building”) and Pham (US 2005/0003247).
Regarding Claim 15, Geinoz, as modified by Chang, teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 12, as previously described.
As illustrated in Figure 2 of Geinoz, the system includes a pyrolyzer unit (13) (“solid waste pyrolysis unit”) which processes the dried biomass waste to thereby produce biochar (“biochar”) which sequesters carbon to at least some degree (col. 5 lines 4-27).
Geinoz, as modified by Chang, does not explicitly teach that that the pyrolyzer unit uses heat from the solid oxide fuel cell.
However, Pham teaches the integration of a fuel cell with a pyrolysis reactor (Abstract). As illustrated in Figure 1, Pham teaches that heat generated by a solid oxide fuel cell (20) is, at least in part, routed so as to be used in a pyrolysis reactor (10) ([0052]-[0057]). Pham teaches that this integration enhances system efficiency insofar as it recycles otherwise exhausted energy back to the system, and helps reduce or eliminate the need to burn another fuel or carbon source to enable pyrolysis ([0018], [0057]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would further route at least a portion of the heat generated by the solid oxide fuel cell of Geinoz so as to be used by the pyrolyzer unit, as taught by Pham, given that such integration would enhance system efficiency by recycling otherwise exhausted energy back to the system, and help reduce or eliminate a need to burn another fuel or carbon source to enable pyrolysis.
Regarding Claim 17, Geinoz, as modified by Chang and Pham, teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 15, as previously described.
As previously described (See Claim 12), the system is adapted to at least produce electricity using municipal waste/garbage as an input stream (“solid waste generated outside the complex”) in addition to using waste/garbage generated by the residents of the building.
Regarding Claim 18, Geinoz, as modified by Chang and Pham, teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 15, as previously described.
As previously described (See Claim 12), the biomass drying unit dries the miomass prior to pyrolysis in the pyrolyzer unit.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geinoz et al. (US 10,876,057), and further in view of Chang et al. (“Proposing Strategies for Efficiency Improvement by Using a Residential Solid Oxide Fuel Cell Co-Generation System in a Small-Scale Apartment Building”) and Pham (US 2005/0003247) and Weingaertner (US 2020/0168935) and Lackner et al. (US 6,790,430).
Regarding Claim 16, Geinoz, as modified by Chang and Pham, teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 15, as previously described.
Geinoz, as modified by Chang and Pham, does not explicitly teach that the fuel source is methane.
However, Weingaertner teaches a fuel cell system (Abstract). Weingaertner teaches that solid oxide fuel cell systems are generally configured to operate most efficiently when using, for example, methane as the fuel ([0016]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would configured the system of Geinoz, as modified by Chang and Pham, such that the fuel source of the solid oxide fuel cell is methane, as taught by Weingaertner, given that such a fuel would enhance the efficiency of the solid oxide fuel cell.
Geinoz, as modified by Chang and Pham and Weingaertner, does not explicitly teach that the biochar is produced such that more carbon is sequestered than is released by the methane fuel source.
However, Lackner teaches the generation of electricity from carbon containing fuels (Abstract, col. 1 lines 13-17). Lackner teaches that carbon dioxide emissions should be sequestered for isolation and disposal into sinks other than the atmosphere because of the role of carbon dioxide as a greenhouse gas contributing to global warming (col. 1 lines 20-27).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would ensure that the biochar of Geinoz, as modified by Chang and Pham and Weingaertner, is produced such that more carbon is sequestered than is released by the methane in order to help maximize sequestration and isolation of carbon, given that sequestering more than is released in such a manner would help reduce the effects of global warming due to the presence of greenhouse emissions.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geinoz et al. (US 10,876,057), and further in view of Chang et al. (“Proposing Strategies for Efficiency Improvement by Using a Residential Solid Oxide Fuel Cell Co-Generation System in a Small-Scale Apartment Building”) and Vialetto et al. (“Innovative household systems based on solid oxide fuel cells for the Mediterranean climate”).
Regarding Claim 19, Geinoz, as modified by Chang, teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 12, as previously described.
Geinoz, as modified by Chang, does not explicitly teach that the system includes a heat pump driven room heating and cooling unit wherein a volume of water is heated by heat from the solid oxide fuel cell to provide a heat sink for the heat pump.
However, Vialetto teaches the integration of a solid oxide fuel cell with a heat pump (Abstract). As illustrated in Figure 1, Vialetto teaches that the system comprises a solid oxide fuel cell and a heating/cooling heat pump, wherein a volume of water in a water tank is heated by heat generated by the solid oxide fuel cell to provide a heat sink for the heat pump (“Overview of the system”). Vialetto teaches that the integration of said systems provides for the recovery and use of heat from the solid oxide fuel cell for residential temperature control purposes (Abstract, Introduction).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would further integrate, with the solid oxide fuel cell in the system of Geinoz, as modified by Chang, a heating/cooling heat pump, as taught by Vialetto, wherein a volume of water in a water tank is heated by heat generated by the solid oxide fuel cell to provide a heat sink for the heat pump, given that such integration of systems would provide for recovery and use of heat from the solid oxide fuel cell for residential temperature control purposes.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geinoz et al. (US 10,876,057), and further in view of Chang et al. (“Proposing Strategies for Efficiency Improvement by Using a Residential Solid Oxide Fuel Cell Co-Generation System in a Small-Scale Apartment Building”) and Watanabe (JP H0711271, using the provided machine translation for citation purposes).
Regarding Claim 20, Geinoz, as modified by Chang, teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 12, as previously described.
Geinoz, as modified by Chang, does not explicitly teach that the system includes a unit for melting waste plastic items.
However, Watanabe teaches a system for producing a solid fuel from municipal waste ([0001]). Watanabe teaches that the system includes a unit for melting thermoplastic material in the waste, thereby forming a substance which may be subjected to downstream processing and turned into a fuel ([0004], [0006]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would further include, in the system of Geinoz, as modified by Chang, a unit for melting thermoplastic material in the municipal garbage/waste, as taught by Watanabe, given that such melting would allow for the formation of a substance which may be subjected to further processing and turned into a solid fuel.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW W VAN OUDENAREN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728