DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and under exam herein.
Priority
The instant Application is a Continuation U.S. Application No. 16/217,328 filed December 12, 2018, now US Patent 11,871,995, which claims the benefit under 35 USC §119(e) to U.S. Provisional Application 62/599,930 filed December 18, 2017. Priority for each of claims 1-20 is acknowledged to the EFD of 18 December 2017.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed 14 November 2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and has therefore been considered. A signed copy of the IDS is included with this Office Action.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figures 1, 7-8, 10, 15, 18, and 20-24 include text that is not legible due to blurred reproduction. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
Note: All references to the Specification herein pertain to the PG publication:
US 2024/0081910.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
The instant rejection reflects the framework as outlined in the MPEP at 2106.04:
Framework with which to Evaluate Subject Matter Eligibility:
(1) Are the claims directed to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter;
(2A) Prong One: Do the claims recite a judicially recognized exception, i.e. a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea;
Prong Two: If the claims recite a judicial exception under Prong One, then is the judicial exception integrated into a practical application (Prong Two); and
(2B) If the claims do not integrate the judicial exception, do the claims provide an inventive concept.
Framework Analysis as Pertains to the Instant Claims:
Step 1 Analysis: Are claims directed to process, machine, manufacture/composition of matter
With respect to step (1): yes, the claims are directed to a method of generating a coronary artery model for a patient (claims 1-17); a method for determining a patient-specific treatment plan (claims 18-19); and a method of generating a boundary condition for a coronary artery blood flow model (claim 20).
Step 2A, Prong 1 Analysis: Do claims recite abstract idea
With respect to step (2A)(1), the claims recite abstract ideas. The MPEP at 2106.04(a)(2) further explains that abstract ideas are defined as:
mathematical concepts, (mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical relationships and mathematical calculations);
certain methods of organizing human activity (fundamental economic practices or principles, managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people); and/or
mental processes (procedures for observing, evaluating, analyzing/ judging and organizing information).
With respect to the instant claims, under the (2A)(1) evaluation, the claims are found herein to recite abstract ideas that fall into the grouping of mental processes (in particular procedures for observing, analyzing and organizing information) and in conjunction with mathematical concepts (in particular mathematical relationships and formulas).
The claim steps to abstract ideas are as follows:
Claim 1:
generating an anatomical model of at least a portion of the patient’s coronary arteries using anatomical structure data obtained from the patient, wherein said operation is directed to steps that under the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) of the claims, as each claim is assessed herein, cover performance in the mind or with pen and paper wherein a person could create a representation of an anatomical model of a patient’s coronary arteries given a visual of a patient’s medical images. There are no steps beyond said interpretation to suggest otherwise and therefore the step is abstract.
generating an inflow or an outflow boundary condition for a computational fluid dynamics (CFD) simulation of blood flow in the anatomical model using continuous blood pressure waveform data obtained from the patient, wherein the step of generating a boundary condition relies on mathematical computation wherein data (the blood pressure waveform data) is subject to calculations, such as using Murray’s law for volumetric flow rate waveforms to determine outlet as described at [0032] of the Specification. Further calculations can include those of velocity, mass flux etc. [0033]; RR intervals [0043] and the like. As such, said step is abstract.
using the inflow or the outflow boundary condition for the CFD simulation of blood flow, wherein said operation is a mathematical calculation wherein flow is modeled using, for example, lumped parameter modeling [0065]; use of volumetric flow rate [0068]; Newtonian modeling [0070] and the like. As such, said operation is mathematical.
determining, based at least in part on the CFD simulation, one or more hemodynamic parameters associated with the patient's coronary arteries, thereby generating a coronary artery model for the patient, wherein making a determination is a mental operation whereby one can assess the given data and determine parameters using mathematical calculations, as for example at [0071] , including FFR, OSI, iFR, WSS and the like. As such, said operation is mental/mathematical operation.
Claim 2: wherein the continuous blood pressure waveform data are obtained from a non-invasive measurement, which is a further limit of the data for blood pressure.
Claim 3: wherein the continuous blood pressure waveform data comprise a continuous arterial blood pressure waveform, which is a further limit of the data for blood pressure.
Claim 4: wherein the inflow or the outflow boundary condition comprises a waveform component, which is a further limit on the data for the boundary condition calculations.
Claim 5: calculating a volumetric blood flow rate for the inflow or the outflow boundary condition using the continuous blood pressure waveform data, wherein said operation is a calculation and thus a mathematical process further limiting that steps in claim 1.
Claim 6: wherein the inflow or the outflow boundary condition comprises a pressure component derived from the continuous blood pressure waveform data and the volumetric blood flow rate calculated from the continuous blood pressure waveform data, wherein said operation is a calculation and thus a mathematical process further limiting that steps in claim 1.
Claim 7: wherein the inflow boundary condition is a coronary artery inflow boundary condition, which further limits the generation to an inflow calculation and is abstract.
Claim 8:
generating the coronary artery inflow boundary condition comprises:
i) determining a volumetric blood flow rate based at least in part on a blood circulation system model and the continuous blood pressure waveform data;
ii) determining a ventricle pressure based at least in part on a heart chambers pressure-volume model and the volumetric blood flow rate; and
iii) determining a coronary artery inlet flow rate based at least in part on a coronary blood flow model and the ventricle pressure, thereby generating the coronary artery inflow boundary condition, wherein said operations are directed to mathematical calculations as described above and further limiting to the claim 1 judicial exceptions.
Claim 9: wherein the heart chambers pressure-volume model comprises a time-varying elastance model, which is a mathematical operation further limiting the model operations in claim 8 and are directed to abstract ideas.
Claim 10: determining an outflow boundary condition using the coronary artery inflow boundary condition, which is a mathematical operation further limiting the model operations in claim 7 and are directed to abstract ideas.
Claim 11: wherein the anatomical structure data are from a non-invasive measurement, which is a further limit to the data types for said abstract operations as above.
Claim 12: wherein the anatomical structure data are from a computed tomography angiogram, which is a further limit to the data types for said abstract operations as discussed above.
Claim 13: wherein generating the anatomical model does not include segmenting an aorta, which recites a further limit to the model generation of claim 1 and is thus directed to an abstract idea.
Claim 14: wherein the anatomical model is a model of only the patient's coronary arteries, which recites a further limit to the model generation of claim 1 and is thus directed to an abstract idea.
Claim 15: wherein the CFD simulation is carried out using a transient solver or a steady-state solver, which recites a further limit to the CFD simulation of claim 1 and is thus directed to an abstract idea.
Claim 16: wherein the CFD simulation comprises determining vessel flow and pressure drop characteristics with a steady-state approach, which recites a further limit to the CFD simulation of claim 1 and is thus directed to an abstract idea.
Claim 17: wherein the one or more hemodynamic parameters comprise blood pressure, blood flow, blood flow rate, wall shear stress (WSS), oscillatory shear index (OSI), relative residence time (RRT), fractional flow reserve (FFR), instantaneous wave-free ration (iFR), or coronary flow reserve (CFR), which recites a further limit to the determinations of hemodynamics parameters of claim 1 and is thus directed to an abstract idea.
Claim 18:
generating an anatomical model of at least a portion of the patient's coronary arteries using anatomical structure data obtained from the patient, wherein said operation is directed to steps that under the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) of the claims, as each claim is assessed herein, cover performance in the mind or with pen and paper wherein a person could create a representation of an anatomical model of a patient’s coronary arteries given a visual of a patient’s medical images. There are no steps beyond said interpretation to suggest otherwise and therefore the step is abstract.
simulating blood flow in the anatomical model using a computational fluid dynamics (CFD) simulation comprising continuous blood pressure waveform data obtained from the patient, wherein said operation is a mathematical calculation wherein flow is modeled using, for example, lumped parameter modeling [0065]; use of volumetric flow rate [0068]; Newtonian modeling [0070] and the like. As such, said operation is mathematical.
determining, based at least in part on the simulation, one or more hemodynamic parameters associated with the patient's coronary arteries, wherein making a determination is a mental operation whereby one can assess the given data and determine parameters using mathematical calculations, as for example at [0071], including FFR, OSI, iFR, WSS and the like. As such, said operation is mental/mathematical operation.
determining the patient-specific treatment plan using the one or more hemodynamic parameters associated with the patient’s coronary arteries, wherein making a determination of a treatment plan is an operation that is mental whereby one can assess the data as gleaned from modeling and determine the course of appropriate treatment for a patient.
Claim 19: wherein determining the patient-specific treatment plan comprises using the one or more hemodynamic parameters to: i) plan a coronary revascularization procedure, ii) plan a coronary artery bypass procedure, iii) determine an optimal location for stent placement, iv) support a virtual cardiopulmonary exercise test, v) estimate fractional flow reserve in the patient, vi) estimate oxygen blood saturation in the patient, or vii) a combination thereof, which are operations that are mental in nature whereby a physician of skill can readily plan a procedure, for example of determine optimal stent location given the modeling data. As such, said operations are further abstract processes.
Claim 20: generating a boundary condition for a coronary artery blood flow model comprising assigning continuous waveform blood pressure data to the boundary condition or using the continuous waveform blood pressure data to model the boundary condition, thereby generating the boundary condition for the coronary artery blood flow model, wherein steps directed to generating boundary conditions are mathematical operations that include, for example, mathematical computation wherein data (the blood pressure waveform data) is subject to calculations, such as using Murray’s law for volumetric flow rate waveforms to determine outlet as described at [0032] of the Specification. Further calculations can include those of velocity, mass flux etc. [0033]; RR intervals [0043] and the like. As such, said step is abstract.
Hence, the claims explicitly recite numerous elements that, individually and in combination, constitute abstract ideas.
The abstract ideas recited in the claims are evaluated under the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI) and determined herein to each cover performance either in the mind (calculations by hand or pen and paper or with the aid of a computer as a tool) and performance by mathematical operation (calculation for assessment of boundary conditions and model simulation). There are no specifics as to the methodology involved in “the “generation” given the data or the use for “simulation” or in “determining” and thus, under the BRI, one could simply, for example, perform said operations with pen and paper, or, alternatively with the aid of a generic computer as a tool to perform said calculations. These recitations are similar to the concepts of collecting information, analyzing it and providing certain results from the collection and analysis (Electric Power Group, LLC, v. Alstom (830 F.3d 1350, 119 USPQ2d 1739 (Fed. Cir. 2016)), organizing and manipulating information through mathematical correlations (Digitech Image Techs., LLC v Electronics for Imaging, Inc. (758 F.3d 1344, 111 U.S.P.Q.2d 1717 (Fed. Cir. 2014)) and comparing information regarding a sample or test to a control or target data in (Univ. of Utah Research Found. v. Ambry Genetics Corp. (774 F.3d 755, 113 U.S.P.Q.2d 1241 (Fed. Cir. 2014) and Association for Molecular Pathology v. USPTO (689 F.3d 1303, 103 U.S.P.Q.2d 1681 (Fed. Cir. 2012)) that the courts have identified as concepts that can be practically performed in the human mind with pen and paper, and can include mathematical concepts.
Further, see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2), subsection III. The courts do not distinguish between mental processes that are performed entirely in the human mind and mental processes that require a human to use a physical aid (e.g., pen and paper or a slide rule) to perform the claim limitation (see, e.g., Benson, 409 U.S. at 67, 65, 175 USPQ at 674-75, 674: noting that the claimed "conversion of [binary-coded decimal] numerals to pure binary numerals can be done mentally," i.e., "as a person would do it by head and hand."); Synopsys, Inc. v. Mentor Graphics Corp., 839 F.3d 1138, 1139, 120 USPQ2d 1473, 1474 (Fed. Cir. 2016): holding that claims to a mental process of "translating a functional description of a logic circuit into a hardware component description of the logic circuit" are directed to an abstract idea, because the claims "read on an individual performing the claimed steps mentally or with pencil and paper"). Nor do the courts distinguish between claims that recite mental processes performed by humans and claims that recite mental processes performed on a computer. As the Federal Circuit has explained, "[c]ourts have examined claims that required the use of a computer and still found that the underlying, patent-ineligible invention could be performed via pen and paper or in a person’s mind" (see Versata Dev. Group v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1335, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1702 (Fed. Cir. 2015); Mortgage Grader, Inc. v. First Choice Loan Servs. Inc., 811 F.3d 1314, 1324, 117 USPQ2d 1693, 1699 (Fed. Cir. 2016): holding that computer-implemented method for "anonymous loan shopping" was an abstract idea because it could be "performed by humans without a computer").
Step 2A, Prong 2 Analysis: Integration to a Practical Application
Because the claims do recite judicial exceptions, direction under (2A)(2) provides that the claims must be examined further to determine whether they integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application (MPEP 2106.04(d). A claim can be said to integrate a judicial exception into a practical application when it applies, relies on, or uses the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. This is performed by analyzing the additional elements of the claim to determine if the abstract idea is integrated into a practical application (MPEP 2106.04(d).I.; MPEP 2106.05(a-h)). If the claim contains no additional elements beyond the abstract idea, the claim is said to fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (MPEP 2106.04(d).III).
With respect to the instant recitations, the claims do not recite additional elements.
Step 2B Analysis: Do Claims Provide an Inventive Concept
The claims are lastly evaluated using the (2B) analysis, wherein it is determined that because the claims recite abstract ideas, and do not integrate that abstract ideas into a practical application, the claims also lack a specific inventive concept. Applicant is reminded that the judicial exception alone cannot provide the inventive concept or the practical application and that the identification of whether the additional elements amount to such an inventive concept requires considering the additional elements individually and in combination to determine if they provide significantly more than the judicial exception. (MPEP 2106.05.A i-vi).
With respect to the instant claims, the claims fail to include additional elements beyond recitation of the abstract ideas as discussed above.
For these reasons, the claims, when the limitations are considered individually and as a whole, are rejected under 35 USC § 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taylor 2012/0041739 (corresponding to US 8,315,812-IDs document) in view of Itu et al. (US2017/0293735; filed 14 March 2017).
Instant claim 1 is directed to:
A method of generating a coronary artery model for a patient comprising (Taylor discloses patient-specific modeling including coronary artery modeling [0008]);
generating an anatomical model of at least a portion of the patient’s coronary arteries using anatomical structure data obtained from the patient (Taylor disclose creation of a three-dimensional model representing at least a portion of the patient's heart based on the patient-specific data [0010]; [0104]);
generating an inflow or an outflow boundary condition for a computational fluid dynamics (CFD) simulation of blood flow in the anatomical model using continuous blood pressure waveform data obtained from the patient (Taylor disclose time-varying patient-specific data as pertains to the portion of the anatomical structure at different times and change in blood flow over time [0025]; Taylor disclose boundary condition determinations, including use of lumped parameter modeling [0080]);
using the inflow or the outflow boundary condition for the CFD simulation of blood flow (Taylor disclose use of CFD simulations of blood flow using boundary conditions at least at [0193]; [0194]) ; and
determining, based at least in part on the CFD simulation, one or more hemodynamic parameters associated with the patient's coronary arteries, thereby generating a coronary artery model for the patient (Taylor disclose determination of hemodynamic parameters, such as cFFR [0108] using said modeling; Taylor disclose using CFD modeling at least at [0170])
Taylor does not specifically disclose the above modeling and simulations that include using continuous blood pressure waveform data obtained from the patient, as in claim 1. However, Itu et al. disclose “continuous measurements of patient data are received from a wearable sensor network. These measurements can include quantities like heart rate, blood pressure, pulse oximetry measurements, ECG, etc. These measurements can be continuously received or received at predetermined time intervals, such as every minute or every n minutes. At step 108, a patient-specific computational blood flow model is personalized and run to perform patient-specific blood flow simulations” [0022]; “cardiac output may be derived continuously using Pulse Wave Transit Time (PWTT), which is obtained by the pulse oximetry and ECG signals from each cycle of the ECG and peripheral pulse wave. This provides a real-time, continuous, and non-invasive cardiac output measurement” [0038]; and further wherein “the personalized computational blood flow model performs CFD computations of the blood flow and pressure values at each point in the patient-specific systemic arterial model over a plurality of time points based on the personalized inlet flow profile, the personalized wall properties, and the personalized outlet boundary conditions” [0041].
With respect to claim 2, Itu et al. disclose non-invasive determinations of blood pressure [0021].
With respect to claim 3, Itu et al. disclose continuous arterial blood pressure as would be obtained measureing blood pressure [0021].
With respect to claim 4, Itu et al. disclose boundary conditions that include waveform components [0036]; [0038].
With respect to claim 5, Itu et al. disclose calculating a volumetric blood flow rate for inflow or outflow that include blood pressure waveform data [0039].
With respect to claim 6, Itu et al. disclose pressure derived from blood pressure data at [0021].
With respect to claim 7, Itu et al. disclose artery inflow boundary conditions at [0036]. Taylor disclose modeling of the coronary arteries, as described above.
With respect to claim 8, Itu et al. disclose a blood circulation model and continuous blood pressure waveform data and further include determinations of pressure based on pressure-volume models and flow rate [0037]; [0041] wherein using said data to determine coronary artery inflow rate would be obvious in view of the inflow boundary condition parameters as disclosed in Taylor wherein Taylor disclose determinations of inflow boundaries using pressure determinations at [0107]; [-113].
With respect to claim 9, Taylor disclose elasticity modeling at [0171]; [0194].
With respect to claim 10, Taylor disclose determining outflow using inflow at [0113].
With respect to claim 11, Taylor disclose non-invasive measurements for anatomical data [0219].
With respect to claim 12, Taylor disclose CT angiogram data [0181].
With respect to claim 13, Taylor disclose that the model may contain only segmented portions of the coronary arteries, for example and not the aorta [0136]; [0140].
With respect to claim 14, Taylor disclose wherein the model may only be that of the coronary arteries [0136]; [0140].
With respect to claim 15, Taylor disclose CFD analysis which fairly include steady-state or transient solvers as Tylor disclose both closed-loop systems and over-time operations [0170]; [0193].
With respect to claim 16, Taylor disclose analysis of flow and pressure drop in steady-state operations at [0175]; [0177]; [0200].
With respect to claim 17, Taylor disclose determinations of hemodynamic parameters such as FFR, blood flow, blood pressure and the like [0007].
Claim 18 is directed to:
A method for determining a patient-specific treatment plan, comprising (Taylor disclose determining treatment plans at [0008]; [0013] etc):
generating an anatomical model of at least a portion of the patient's coronary arteries using anatomical structure data obtained from the patient (Taylor disclose creation of a three-dimensional model representing at least a portion of the patient's heart based on the patient-specific data [0010]; [0104]);
simulating blood flow in the anatomical model using a computational fluid dynamics (CFD) simulation comprising continuous blood pressure waveform data obtained from the patient (Taylor disclose time-varying patient-specific data as pertains to the portion of the anatomical structure at different times and change in blood flow over time [0025]; Taylor disclose boundary condition determinations, including use of lumped parameter modeling [0080]);
determining, based at least in part on the simulation, one or more hemodynamic parameters associated with the patient's coronary arteries (Taylor disclose determination of hemodynamic parameters, such as cFFR [0108] using said modeling; Taylor disclose using CFD modeling at least at [0170]); and
determining the patient-specific treatment plan using the one or more hemodynamic parameters associated with the patient’s coronary arteries (Taylor disclose the determination of treatment plans using said simulations [0015]; [0230]; [0231]; [0233]).
Taylor does not specifically disclose the above modeling and simulations that include using continuous blood pressure waveform data obtained from the patient, as in claim 1. However, Itu et al. disclose “continuous measurements of patient data are received from a wearable sensor network. These measurements can include quantities like heart rate, blood pressure, pulse oximetry measurements, ECG, etc. These measurements can be continuously received or received at predetermined time intervals, such as every minute or every n minutes. At step 108, a patient-specific computational blood flow model is personalized and run to perform patient-specific blood flow simulations” [0022]; “cardiac output may be derived continuously using Pulse Wave Transit Time (PWTT), which is obtained by the pulse oximetry and ECG signals from each cycle of the ECG and peripheral pulse wave. This provides a real-time, continuous, and non-invasive cardiac output measurement” [0038]; and further wherein “the personalized computational blood flow model performs CFD computations of the blood flow and pressure values at each point in the patient-specific systemic arterial model over a plurality of time points based on the personalized inlet flow profile, the personalized wall properties, and the personalized outlet boundary conditions” [0041].
With respect to claim 19, Taylor disclose at least planning a stenting procedure at [0233].
Claim 20 is directed to:
A method of generating a boundary condition for a coronary artery blood flow model comprising assigning continuous waveform blood pressure data to the boundary condition or using the continuous waveform blood pressure data to model the boundary condition, thereby generating the boundary condition for the coronary artery blood flow model.
The prior art to Taylor discloses time-varying patient-specific data as pertains to the portion of the anatomical structure at different times and change in blood flow over time [0025]; Taylor disclose boundary condition determinations, including use of lumped parameter modeling [0080]).
Taylor does not specifically disclose the above modeling and simulations that include using continuous blood pressure waveform data obtained from the patient, as in claim 1. However, Itu et al. disclose “continuous measurements of patient data are received from a wearable sensor network. These measurements can include quantities like heart rate, blood pressure, pulse oximetry measurements, ECG, etc. These measurements can be continuously received or received at predetermined time intervals, such as every minute or every n minutes. At step 108, a patient-specific computational blood flow model is personalized and run to perform patient-specific blood flow simulations” [0022]; “cardiac output may be derived continuously using Pulse Wave Transit Time (PWTT), which is obtained by the pulse oximetry and ECG signals from each cycle of the ECG and peripheral pulse wave. This provides a real-time, continuous, and non-invasive cardiac output measurement” [0038]; and further wherein “the personalized computational blood flow model performs CFD computations of the blood flow and pressure values at each point in the patient-specific systemic arterial model over a plurality of time points based on the personalized inlet flow profile, the personalized wall properties, and the personalized outlet boundary conditions” [0041].
With respect to claims 1-20 above, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the data for continuous blood pressure waveform data as disclosed by Itu et al. into the principals of coronary artery modeling as disclosed by Taylor and to have expected reasonable success in so doing because both references are in the same filed of endeavor. Taylor disclose the groundwork for establishing detailed coronary modeling using anatomical models, boundary condition parameters and CFD simulations to provide hemodynamic parameters for operations such as treatment planning procedures. Including measurements such as continuous blood pressure waveform data would provide further optimization of said modeling and readily be operational in the “blood pressure” inputs as taught by Taylor. The prior art to Itu et al. disclose that, in fact such is used in computational modeling, including for boundary condition parameters and therefore said operations are obvious in light of the disclosures in said references (see Itu et al. at least at [0036]; [0038]).
Double Patenting
1. Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,871,995, in view of Itu et al. (cited above). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are directed to a method of generating a coronary artery model for a patient comprising: generating an anatomical model of at least a portion of the patient’s coronary arteries using anatomical structure data obtained from the patient; generating an inflow or an outflow boundary condition for a computational fluid dynamics (CFD) simulation of blood flow in the anatomical model using continuous blood pressure waveform data obtained from the patient; using the inflow or the outflow boundary condition for the CFD simulation of blood flow; and determining, based at least in part on the CFD simulation, one or more hemodynamic parameters associated with the patient's coronary arteries, thereby generating a coronary artery model for the patient, wherein the steps of the ‘995 patent (exemplary claim 1) include those directed to:
A method of generating a coronary artery model comprising:
receiving patient-specific anatomical structure data and patient-specific physiological data, wherein the anatomical structure data comprises structural information about a patient's coronary arteries, and wherein the patient-specific physiological data comprises a continuously recorded blood pressure waveform from a non-invasive measurement;
generating, based at least in part on the anatomical structure data, an anatomical model of at least a portion of the patient's coronary arteries;
generating an inflow or an outflow waveform boundary condition for a computational fluid dynamics (CFD) simulation of blood flow in the anatomical model by:
(i) assigning the continuously recorded blood pressure waveform as the boundary condition, and
(ii) using the continuously recorded blood pressure waveform to model the boundary condition;
simulating blood flow in the anatomical model using CFD and the inflow or the outflow waveform boundary condition for the CFD simulation of blood flow; and
determining, based at least in part on the simulation, one or more hemodynamic parameters associated with the patient's coronary arteries,
thereby generating a coronary artery model.
The prior art to Itu et al. include disclosure of computational modeling, including for boundary condition parameters and therefore said operations are obvious in light of the disclosures in said reference (see Itu et al. at least at [0036]; [0038]).
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
E-mail Communications Authorization
Per updated USPTO Internet usage policies, Applicant and/or applicant’s representative is encouraged to authorize the USPTO examiner to discuss any subject matter concerning the above application via Internet e-mail communications. See MPEP 502.03. To approve such communications, Applicant must provide written authorization for e-mail communication by submitting following form via EFS-Web or Central Fax (571-273-8300): PTO/SB/439. Applicant is encouraged to do so as early in prosecution as possible, so as to facilitate communication during examination.
Written authorizations submitted to the Examiner via e-mail are NOT proper. Written authorizations must be submitted via EFS-Web or Central Fax (571-273-8300). A paper copy of e-mail correspondence will be placed in the patent application when appropriate. E-mails from the USPTO are for the sole use of the intended recipient, and may contain information subject to the confidentiality requirement set forth in 35 USC § 122. See also MPEP 502.03.
Inquiries
Papers related to this application may be submitted to Technical Center 1600 by facsimile transmission. Papers should be faxed to Technical Center 1600 via the PTO Fax Center. The faxing of such papers must conform to the notices published in the Official Gazette, 1096 OG 30 (November 15, 1988), 1156 OG 61 (November 16, 1993), and 1157 OG 94 (December 28, 1993) (See 37 CFR § 1.6(d)). The Central Fax Center Number is (571) 273-8300.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to (571) 272-0547.
Patent applicants with problems or questions regarding electronic images that can be viewed in the Patent Application Information Retrieval system (PAIR) can now contact the USPTO’s Patent Electronic Business Center (Patent EBC) for assistance. Representatives are available to answer your questions daily from 6 am to midnight (EST). The toll free number is (866) 217-9197. When calling please have your application serial or patent number, the type of document you are having an image problem with, the number of pages and the specific nature of the problem. The Patent Electronic Business Center will notify applicants of the resolution of the problem within 5-7 business days. Applicants can also check PAIR to confirm that the problem has been corrected. The USPTO’s Patent Electronic Business Center is a complete service center supporting all patent business on the Internet. The USPTO’s PAIR system provides Internet-based access to patent application status and history information. It also enables applicants to view the scanned images of their own application file folder(s) as well as general patent information available to the public.
/Lori A. Clow/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1687