DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/9/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 10-11, the applicant argued that Xu does not teach “the first time indicating a threshold amount of time during which receiving device is to request and monitor for one or more missed packet data units”.
Xu teaches [0208] RLC configuration information, including an SN length of an RLC PDU, a reassembly timer for segments, a maximum quantity of times of retransmission of acknowledged mode (AM) RLC.
First, a person with ordinary skill in the art would understand a timer indicates a threshold amount of time. For example, Xu teaches [0375] when the timer expires, the terminal stops monitoring the PDCCH scrambled by the C-RNTI.
Secondly, a person with ordinary skill in the art would understand a reassembly timer is about a duration “which receiving device is to request and monitor for one or more missed packet data units”. For example, Baek teaches [0056] In the NTN, a long retransmission delay is assumed due to a long propagation delay, and a length of a T-reassembly (reassembly) timer of an RLC layer may be configured long due to such a long retransmission delay. However, in case that HARQ feedback for downlink transmission is disabled, retransmission with a long retransmission delay does not occur;
A person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the length of T-reassembly timer includes the duration for the HARQ NACK triggered retransmission. And disabling HARQ would reduce the number of retransmissions thus reducing the length of T-reassembly timer. The HARQ NACK and retransmissions are enabling “receiving device is to request and monitor for one or more missed packet data units”.
The applicant further argued that Baek doesn’t teach the first and second timers.
However, Baek teaches [0014] “configuring, in case that the information is the deactivation information, a first timer and a second timer of a radio link control (RLC) layer, wherein the first timer and the second timer are related to a reassembly timer of a packet, and wherein the first timer is greater than or equal to the second timer.”
The applicant could clarify that the first timer and the second timer are associated with times other than reassembly timer (such as ARQ timer or MRW timer, see [0041] of the specification), or only one of the two timers are associated with reassembly, in order to overcome the rejection.
For the reasons above, the argument is not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu; Xiaoying et al. US PGPUB 20220225465 A1, in view of BAEK; Sangkyu et al. US PGPUB 20230421306 A1.
Regarding claim 1. Xu teaches A receiving device, comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code (Fig. 24, Storage element, Processing Element.) to cause the receiving device to:
receive control signaling ([0206] It may be understood that, in this embodiment of this application, there may be two different scenarios in which the network device properly indicates the configuration parameter to the terminal in the inactive state by using the first information.) indicating a first timer corresponding to a radio link control acknowledgement mode, the first timer indicating a threshold amount of time during which the receiving device is to request and monitor for one or more missed packet data units; ([0208] RLC configuration information, including an SN length of an RLC PDU, a reassembly timer for segments, a maximum quantity of times of retransmission of acknowledged mode (AM) RLC, a request parameter for controlling the RLC in the AM mode to send a status report to a receive end, and a prohibition timer for sending an RLC status report by the AM RLC.)
Xu does not teach
receive one or more packet data units of a first set of packet data units, each packet data unit of the first set of packet data units corresponding to a respective sequence number, wherein at least a first packet data unit is missing from the first set of packet data units;
initiate the first timer and a second timer upon detecting the first packet data unit is missing;
transmit, upon expiration of the second timer, a request for a retransmission of the first packet data unit according to the radio link control acknowledgement mode; and
deliver the one or more packet data units to higher layers of the receiving device for decoding based at least in part on a failure to receive the first packet data unit and expiration of the first timer.
However, Baek teaches
receive one or more packet data units of a first set of packet data units, (Fig. 2, 230, transmit downlink data) each packet data unit of the first set of packet data units corresponding to a respective sequence number, wherein at least a first packet data unit is missing from the first set of packet data units; ([0060] As an operation in case that the T-reassembly timer expires, in the case of acknowledged mode (AM) RLC, a value of the RX_Highest_Status status variable may be updated to an SN of a first RLC SDU having an SN greater than RX_Next_Status_Trigger that does not receive all bytes.)
initiate the first timer and a second timer upon detecting the first packet data unit is missing; ([0061] In the embodiment of FIG. 6, it may be assumed that the UE has two T-reassembly timer values. In case that HARQ feedback for downlink transmission is enabled, a first T-reassembly timer value having a relatively long time length may be applied. In case that HARQ feedback for downlink transmission is disabled, a second T-reassembly timer value having a relatively short time length may be applied.)
transmit, upon expiration of the second timer, a request for a retransmission of the first packet data unit according to the radio link control acknowledgement mode; ([0061] the second T-reassembly timer value may be applied (or reconfigured) (630). In order to transmit a reception status of the RLC layer of the UE to the base station, the UE may transmit an RLC status report message indicating a packet reception/non-reception status. ) and
deliver the one or more packet data units to higher layers of the receiving device for decoding based at least in part on a failure to receive the first packet data unit and expiration of the first timer. ([0081] In case that the T-reordering timer expires, the UE may have a COUNT value smaller than RX_REORD, or stored PDCP SDUs having continuous COUNT values after RX_REORD may be transmitted to an upper layer in ascending order after header compression is released. An RX_DELIV status variable may be updated with a COUNT value of a first PDCP SDU that has a COUNT value greater than or equal to RX_REORD and that has not been transferred to the upper layer. )
in order to reduce transmission delay ([0376])
Xu and Baek are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Xu with the technique of separate RLC timers in Baek in order to reduce transmission delay.
Regarding claim 2. Xu and Baek teaches The receiving device of claim 1, and Xu teaches wherein the control signaling comprises a radio link control configuration information comprising a semi-static value indicating a duration of the first timer. ([0208] RLC configuration information, including an SN length of an RLC PDU, a reassembly timer for segments, a maximum quantity of times of retransmission of acknowledged mode (AM) RLC, a request parameter for controlling the RLC in the AM mode to send a status report to a receive end, and a prohibition timer for sending an RLC status report by the AM RLC.)
Regarding claim 3. Xue and Baek teaches The receiving device of claim 1, Xu does not teach wherein the control signaling comprises a set of candidate timer durations.
However, Baek teaches wherein the control signaling comprises a set of candidate timer durations. ([0061] In the embodiment of FIG. 6, it may be assumed that the UE has two T-reassembly timer values. In case that HARQ feedback for downlink transmission is enabled, a first T-reassembly timer value having a relatively long time length may be applied. In case that HARQ feedback for downlink transmission is disabled, a second T-reassembly timer value having a relatively short time length may be applied.)
in order to reduce transmission delay ([0376])
Xu and Baek are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Xu with the technique of separate RLC timers in Baek in order to reduce transmission delay.
Regarding claim 4. Xu and Baek teaches The receiving device of claim 3, Xue does not teach wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the receiving device to: select, from the set of candidate timer durations, a duration of the first timer.
However, Baek teaches
wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the receiving device to: select, from the set of candidate timer durations, a duration of the first timer. ([0061] In the embodiment of FIG. 6, it may be assumed that the UE has two T-reassembly timer values. In case that HARQ feedback for downlink transmission is enabled, a first T-reassembly timer value having a relatively long time length may be applied. In case that HARQ feedback for downlink transmission is disabled, a second T-reassembly timer value having a relatively short time length may be applied.)
in order to reduce transmission delay ([0376])
Xu and Baek are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Xu with the technique of separate RLC timers in Baek in order to reduce transmission delay.
Regarding claim 5. Xu and Baek teaches The receiving device of claim 1, Xu teaches
wherein, to control signal, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the receiving device to:
a first control message comprises a radio resource control message indicating a first duration of the first timer; ([0208] One type of information is RLC configuration information, including an SN length of an RLC PDU, a reassembly timer for segments,) and a second control message comprise a media access control (MAC) control element (CE) indicating a second duration of the first timer, ([0148] the second timer is an RRC layer timer or a MAC layer timer other than the T319 timer, and during running of the first timer,)
Xu does not teach
wherein the second duration of the first timer overrides the first duration of the first timer, and wherein initiating the first timer is in accordance with the second duration of the first timer.
However, Baek teaches
wherein the second duration of the first timer overrides the first duration of the first timer, ([0066] in case that the operating T-reassembly timer expires or is stopped, the second T-reassembly timer value may be applied (or reconfigured) (830). Otherwise, if the T-reassembly timer is not operating at the time point at which HARQ feedback for downlink transmission is disabled, the second T-reassembly timer value may be applied (or reconfigured) immediately (840).) and wherein initiating the first timer is in accordance with the second duration of the first timer. (Id. in case that the operating T-reassembly timer expires or is stopped, the second T-reassembly timer value may be applied (or reconfigured) (830). Otherwise, if the T-reassembly timer is not operating at the time point at which HARQ feedback for downlink transmission is disabled, the second T-reassembly timer value may be applied (or reconfigured) immediately (840).)
in order to reduce transmission delay ([0376])
Xu and Baek are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Xu with the technique of separate RLC timers in Baek in order to reduce transmission delay.
Regarding claim 6. Xu and Baek teaches The receiving device of claim 1, Xu does not teach wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the receiving device to: adjust a duration of the first timer based at least in part on one or more conditions, wherein initiating the first timer is in accordance with the adjusted duration of the first timer.
However, Baek teaches
wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the receiving device to: adjust a duration of the first timer based at least in part on one or more conditions, wherein initiating the first timer is in accordance with the adjusted duration of the first timer. ([0066] in case that the operating T-reassembly timer expires or is stopped, the second T-reassembly timer value may be applied (or reconfigured) (830). Otherwise, if the T-reassembly timer is not operating at the time point at which HARQ feedback for downlink transmission is disabled, the second T-reassembly timer value may be applied (or reconfigured) immediately (840).) and wherein initiating the first timer is in accordance with the second duration of the first timer. (Id. in case that the operating T-reassembly timer expires or is stopped, the second T-reassembly timer value may be applied (or reconfigured) (830). Otherwise, if the T-reassembly timer is not operating at the time point at which HARQ feedback for downlink transmission is disabled, the second T-reassembly timer value may be applied (or reconfigured) immediately (840).)
in order to reduce transmission delay ([0376])
Xu and Baek are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Xu with the technique of separate RLC timers in Baek in order to reduce transmission delay.
Regarding claim 7. Xu and Baek teaches The receiving device of claim 6, Xu does not teach wherein the one or more conditions comprise a block error rate corresponding to wireless communications in the radio link control acknowledgement mode, a round trip time corresponding to the wireless communications in the radio link control acknowledgement mode, or both.
However, Baek teaches wherein the one or more conditions comprise a block error rate corresponding to wireless communications in the radio link control acknowledgement mode, a round trip time corresponding to the wireless communications in the radio link control acknowledgement mode, or both. ([0046] The retransmission delay may also be referred to as a retransmission round trip time (RTT). In case that a feedback message transmitted by the UE to the satellite base station indicates a transmission failure or that a feedback message is not transmitted well, the satellite base station may retransmit downlink data (250). The retransmitted message also arrives at the UE after a time corresponding to the propagation delay (255) has elapsed. )
in order to reduce transmission delay ([0376])
Xu and Baek are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Xu with the technique of separate RLC timers in Baek in order to reduce transmission delay.
Regarding claim 8. Xu and Baek teaches The receiving device of claim 1, Xu teaches wherein the control signaling comprises a radio link control packet data unit. (([0208] RLC configuration information, including an SN length of an RLC PDU,)
Regarding claim 9. Xu and Baek teaches The receiving device of claim 1, Xu does not teach wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the receiving device to: monitor for the first packet data unit based at least in part on transmitting the request for the retransmission of the first packet data unit, wherein the failure to receive the first packet data unit is based at least in part on the monitoring; and set a status of the first packet data unit that is missing to a received status based at least in part on expiration of the first timer, wherein delivering the one or more packet data units to the higher layers of the receiving device for decoding is based at least in part on setting the status of the first packet data unit to the received status.
However, Baek teaches
monitor for the first packet data unit based at least in part on transmitting the request for the retransmission of the first packet data unit, ([0060] As an operation in case that the T-reassembly timer expires, in the case of acknowledged mode (AM) RLC, a value of the RX_Highest_Status status variable may be updated to an SN of a first RLC SDU having an SN greater than RX_Next_Status_Trigger that does not receive all bytes.) wherein the failure to receive the first packet data unit is based at least in part on the monitoring; (Id.) and set a status of the first packet data unit that is missing to a received status based at least in part on expiration of the first timer, ([0060] Further, in case that RX_Next_Highest is greater than a value obtained by adding 1 to RX_Highest_Status, or that RX_Next_Highest is equal to a value obtained by adding 1 to RX_Highest_Status and that there is an unreceived segment with an SN of RX_Highest_Status, the T-reassembly timer may be started and the RX_Next_Status_Trigger status variable may be configured to RX_Next_Highest.) wherein delivering the one or more packet data units to the higher layers of the receiving device for decoding is based at least in part on setting the status of the first packet data unit to the received status. ([0061] In order to transmit a reception status of the RLC layer of the UE to the base station, the UE may transmit an RLC status report message indicating a packet reception/non-reception status. Because an RLC segment (partially divided RLC service data unit (SDU)) stored in an RLC buffer may not be used any more, it may be discarded (640).)
in order to reduce transmission delay ([0376])
Xu and Baek are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Xu with the technique of separate RLC timers in Baek in order to reduce transmission delay.
Regarding claim 10. Xu and Baek teaches The receiving device of claim 1, Xu does not teach wherein a sequence number corresponding to the first packet data unit is lower than at least one sequence number corresponding to another packet data unit of the one or more packet data units. (
However, Baek teaches wherein a sequence number corresponding to the first packet data unit is lower than at least one sequence number corresponding to another packet data unit of the one or more packet data units. ([0060] As an operation in case that the T-reassembly timer expires, in the case of acknowledged mode (AM) RLC, a value of the RX_Highest_Status status variable may be updated to an SN of a first RLC SDU having an SN greater than RX_Next_Status_Trigger that does not receive all bytes.) in order to reduce transmission delay ([0376])
Xu and Baek are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Xu with the technique of separate RLC timers in Baek in order to reduce transmission delay.
Regarding claim 11. Xu and Baek teaches The receiving device of claim 1, Xu does not teach wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the receiving device to: monitor for a second set of packet data units based at least in part on delivering the one or more packet data units to higher layers of the receiving device for decoding, wherein a lowest sequence number corresponding to a first packet data unit of the second set of packet data units is higher than a highest sequence number corresponding to a second packet data unit of the first set of packet data units.
However, Baek teaches
monitor for a second set of packet data units based at least in part on delivering the one or more packet data units to higher layers of the receiving device for decoding, ([0060] As an operation in case that the T-reassembly timer expires, in the case of acknowledged mode (AM) RLC, a value of the RX_Highest_Status status variable may be updated to an SN of a first RLC SDU having an SN greater than RX_Next_Status_Trigger that does not receive all bytes.) wherein a lowest sequence number corresponding to a first packet data unit of the second set of packet data units is higher than a highest sequence number corresponding to a second packet data unit of the first set of packet data units. ([0060] As an operation in case that the T-reassembly timer expires, in the case of acknowledged mode (AM) RLC, a value of the RX_Highest_Status status variable may be updated to an SN of a first RLC SDU having an SN greater than RX_Next_Status_Trigger that does not receive all bytes. Further, in case that RX_Next_Highest is greater than a value obtained by adding 1 to RX_Highest_Status, or that RX_Next_Highest is equal to a value obtained by adding 1 to RX_Highest_Status and that there is an unreceived segment with an SN of RX_Highest_Status, the T-reassembly timer may be started and the RX_Next_Status_Trigger status variable may be configured to RX_Next_Highest.)
in order to reduce transmission delay ([0376])
Xu and Baek are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Xu with the technique of separate RLC timers in Baek in order to reduce transmission delay.
Regarding claim 12. Xu and Baek teaches The receiving device of claim 1, Xu teaches wherein: the first set of packet data units correspond to multi-modal immersive reality communications comprising at least visual data and haptic data. ( [0209] Currently, some examples of the terminal are: a mobile phone, a tablet computer, a notebook computer, a palmtop computer, a mobile internet device (MID), a wearable device, a virtual reality (VR) device, an augmented reality (AR) device,)
Regarding claim 13. Xu teaches A transmitting device, comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the transmitting device to: (Fig. 25, Processor 2501 and Memory 2502)
setting, base at least in part on one or more parameters, a duration of a first timer corresponding to a radio link control acknowledgement mode, the first timer indicating a threshold amount of time during which a receiving device is to request and monitor for one or more missed packet data units; transmit control signaling indicating the first timer; (([0208] RLC configuration information, including an SN length of an RLC PDU, a reassembly timer for segments, a maximum quantity of times of retransmission of acknowledged mode (AM) RLC, a request parameter for controlling the RLC in the AM mode to send a status report to a receive end, and a prohibition timer for sending an RLC status report by the AM RLC.))
Xu does not teach
transmit a first set of packet data units, (Fig. 2, 230, transmit downlink data) each packet data unit of the first set of packet data units corresponding to a respective sequence number; ([0060] As an operation in case that the T-reassembly timer expires, in the case of acknowledged mode (AM) RLC, a value of the RX_Highest_Status status variable may be updated to an SN of a first RLC SDU having an SN greater than RX_Next_Status_Trigger that does not receive all bytes.)
receive a request for a retransmission of a first packet data unit of the first set of packet data units according to the radio link control acknowledgement mode; ([0061] the second T-reassembly timer value may be applied (or reconfigured) (630). In order to transmit a reception status of the RLC layer of the UE to the base station, the UE may transmit an RLC status report message indicating a packet reception/non-reception status. ) and
retransmit the first packet data unit according to the radio link control acknowledgement mode. (Fig. 2, step 250, retransmit downlink data)
in order to reduce transmission delay ([0376])
Xu and Baek are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Xu with the technique of separate RLC timers in Baek in order to reduce transmission delay.
Regarding claim 14. Xu and Baek teaches The transmitting device of claim 13, Xu teaches wherein the control signaling comprises a radio link control configuration information comprising a semi-static value indicating the duration of the first timer. ([0208] RLC configuration information, including an SN length of an RLC PDU, a reassembly timer for segments, a maximum quantity of times of retransmission of acknowledged mode (AM) RLC, a request parameter for controlling the RLC in the AM mode to send a status report to a receive end, and a prohibition timer for sending an RLC status report by the AM RLC.)
Regarding claim 15. Xu and Baek teaches The transmitting device of claim 13, Xu does not teach wherein the control signaling comprises a set of candidate timer durations comprising the duration of the first timer.
However, Baek teaches wherein the control signaling comprises a set of candidate timer durations. ([0061] In the embodiment of FIG. 6, it may be assumed that the UE has two T-reassembly timer values. In case that HARQ feedback for downlink transmission is enabled, a first T-reassembly timer value having a relatively long time length may be applied. In case that HARQ feedback for downlink transmission is disabled, a second T-reassembly timer value having a relatively short time length may be applied.)
in order to reduce transmission delay ([0376])
Xu and Baek are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Xu with the technique of separate RLC timers in Baek in order to reduce transmission delay.
Regarding claim 16. Xu and Baek teaches The transmitting device of claim 13, Xu teaches wherein, to control signal, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the transmitting device to: a first control message comprises a radio resource control message indicating an initial duration of the first timer; ([0208] One type of information is RLC configuration information, including an SN length of an RLC PDU, a reassembly timer for segments,) and a second control message comprise a media access control (MAC) control element (CE) indicating the duration of the first timer, ([0148] the second timer is an RRC layer timer or a MAC layer timer other than the T319 timer, and during running of the first timer,)
Xu does not teach wherein the duration of the first timer overrides the initial duration of the first timer.
However, Baek teaches wherein the duration of the first timer overrides the initial duration of the first timer. ([0066] in case that the operating T-reassembly timer expires or is stopped, the second T-reassembly timer value may be applied (or reconfigured) (830). Otherwise, if the T-reassembly timer is not operating at the time point at which HARQ feedback for downlink transmission is disabled, the second T-reassembly timer value may be applied (or reconfigured) immediately (840).) and wherein initiating the first timer is in accordance with the second duration of the first timer. (Id. in case that the operating T-reassembly timer expires or is stopped, the second T-reassembly timer value may be applied (or reconfigured) (830). Otherwise, if the T-reassembly timer is not operating at the time point at which HARQ feedback for downlink transmission is disabled, the second T-reassembly timer value may be applied (or reconfigured) immediately (840).)
in order to reduce transmission delay ([0376])
Xu and Baek are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Xu with the technique of separate RLC timers in Baek in order to reduce transmission delay.
Regarding claim 17. Xu and Baek teaches The transmitting device of claim 13, Xu teaches wherein the control signaling comprises a radio link control control packet data unit. (([0208] RLC configuration information, including an SN length of an RLC PDU,)
Regarding claim 18. Xu and Baek teaches The transmitting device of claim 13, Xu teaches wherein the one or more parameters comprise quality of service parameters, wireless traffic parameters, quality of service flow identifiers, or any combination thereof. ([0208] whether an uplink/downlink SDAP header exists, whether a bearer is a default data bearer (data radio bearer, DRB), a quality of service flow identifier (QoS flow identifier, QFI))
Regarding claim 19. Xu and Baek teaches The transmitting device of claim 13, Xu does not teach wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the transmitting device to: monitor for a second request for the retransmission of the first packet data unit according to the radio link control acknowledgement mode for the duration of the first timer; and transmit a second set of packet data units based at least in part on the monitoring.
However, Baek teaches
monitor for a second request for the retransmission of the first packet data unit according to the radio link control acknowledgement mode for the duration of the first timer; ([0060] As an operation in case that the T-reassembly timer expires, in the case of acknowledged mode (AM) RLC, a value of the RX_Highest_Status status variable may be updated to an SN of a first RLC SDU having an SN greater than RX_Next_Status_Trigger that does not receive all bytes.) and transmit a second set of packet data units based at least in part on the monitoring. ([0060] As an operation in case that the T-reassembly timer expires, in the case of acknowledged mode (AM) RLC, a value of the RX_Highest_Status status variable may be updated to an SN of a first RLC SDU having an SN greater than RX_Next_Status_Trigger that does not receive all bytes. Further, in case that RX_Next_Highest is greater than a value obtained by adding 1 to RX_Highest_Status, or that RX_Next_Highest is equal to a value obtained by adding 1 to RX_Highest_Status and that there is an unreceived segment with an SN of RX_Highest_Status, the T-reassembly timer may be started and the RX_Next_Status_Trigger status variable may be configured to RX_Next_Highest.)
in order to reduce transmission delay ([0376])
Xu and Baek are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Xu with the technique of separate RLC timers in Baek in order to reduce transmission delay.
Regarding claim 20-27 Xu and Baek teaches A method for wireless communications at a receiving device, comprising the steps performed by the receiving devices in claims 1-12, they are rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 28-30. Xu and Baek teaches A method for wireless communications at a transmitting device, comprising the steps performed by the transmitting device in claims 13-19. They are rejected for the same reasons.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZHAOHUI YANG/ Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468