DETAILED ACTION
1. This Office Action is responsive to claims filed for No. 18/509,277 on August 6, 2026. Please note Claims 1-3, 5-11 and 13-17 are pending and have been examined.
America Invents Act
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-3, 5-11 and 13-17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jesus et al. ( US 2021/0256746 A1 ).
Jesus teaches in Claim 1:
A method of operating a tile-based graphics processing system in which a render output is sub-divided into a plurality of tiles for rendering ( Abstract details tiling primitives in a tile based graphics processing system in which a rendering space is divided into a plurality of tiles ), and in which primitives in a sequence of primitives to be processed are written to primitive lists corresponding to respective regions of the render output ( [0009] discloses a list in which transformed primitives which fall into a particular tile, can be classified into ), the method comprising:
for an individual primitive to be processed ( Figure 6, [0099] discloses analyzing and identifying a primitive block to be tiled ):
determining a set of regions of the render output covered by a primitive ( Applicant defines a same set of regions as being the same layer of the hierarchy, such as in [0043]. Likewise, Jesus teaches in [0023] that each tile group may be at a same level of hierarchy, meaning this is a requirement to be associated with a certain tile group );
before writing the primitive to a primitive list, first determining whether the primitive can be grouped with one or more previous primitives in the sequence of primitives, for the purpose of being written to one or more primitive lists, by comparing the set of regions covered by the primitive with respective sets of regions covered by one or more previous primitives ( Figure 6, [0100] discloses receiving information identifying a primitive block, for step 604. For step 604, before generating a control stream, etc, there is a determination of association of the primitive block with one or more tile groups, i.e. determining if the primitive block falls within these tile(s), (read as comparing). Please interpret this as determining if the primitive can be grouped with one or more previous primitives );
when it is determined that the primitive can be grouped with one or more previous primitives, grouping the primitive with the one or more previous primitives ( Figures 6 and 7, [0100]-[0101] discloses a process to determine if the primitive block falls within certain tiles and if so, grouping it with those tile groups ); and thereafter:
writing grouped primitives together to one or more primitive lists corresponding to one or more respective regions of the render output, such that the grouped primitives written to a primitive list for a region of the render output consist solely of primitives individually determined to cover that region of the render output ( Figure 6, [0116] discloses step 610 which generates a control stream for each/individual tile group, including information identifying a primitive block indicating a location in memory, etc. Figures 3-5 show examples of locations (read as regions) for the tile groups and the above analysis determines where to place tile blocks, on an individual basis. Only tile blocks in a particular location/region are grouped together, i.e. they are determined to be valid to be in that primitive tile group, i.e. if it falls within the bounds of that tile at that region )
Jesus teaches in Claim 2:
The method of claim 1, further comprising:
when it is determined that the primitive cannot be grouped with one or more previous primitives, triggering writing one or more previous primitives together to one or more primitive lists without grouping the primitive with one or more previous primitives. ( Figure 6, [0115] discloses that if there are no more primitive blocks to be tiled, then the method proceeds to step 610, which is generating a control stream for each tile group. To clarify, if the primitive cannot be grouped, i.e. not associated, then the tile group, which is not associated with this current primitive, continues on to step 610 )
Jesus teaches in Claim 3:
The method of claim 1, wherein the step of writing grouped primitives together to one or more primitive lists comprises:
for each of the one or more regions covered by the grouped primitives writing to the primitive list corresponding to that region all of the grouped primitives that cover that region in a single primitive list write cycle. ( Figure 7, [0103] discloses tile groups being classified if they completely encompass a bounding box, thus associating with a certain level tile group. To clarify, the certain level is based on the region the primitive is located in and the concept is to associate/group primitives which are completely within a region, as shown in Figure 7 )
Jesus teaches in Claim 5:
The method of claim 1, wherein it is determined that the primitive can be grouped with one or more previous primitives when the primitive is determined to cover a set of regions of render output that exactly matches the set of regions covered by one or more previous primitives. ( Figure 7, [0103] discloses tile groups being classified if they completely encompass a bounding box, thus associating with a certain level tile group. To clarify, the certain level is based on the region the primitive is located in and the concept is to associate/group primitives which are completely within a region, as shown in Figure 7 )
Jesus teaches in Claim 6:
The method of claim 1, wherein it is determined that the primitive can be grouped with one or more primitives when the primitive is determined to cover a set of regions that is sufficiently similar or overlapping with a set of regions covered by one or more previous primitives. ( The same reasoning applied above is also applicable here as well, namely because of concepts of completely encompassed (read as sufficiently similar or overlapping): Figure 7, [0103] discloses tile groups being classified if they completely encompass a bounding box, thus associating with a certain level tile group. To clarify, the certain level is based on the region the primitive is located in and the concept is to associate/group primitives which are completely within a region, as shown in Figure 7 )
Jesus teaches in Claim 7:
The method of claim 6, wherein it is determined that the primitive can be grouped with one or more previous primitives when a determined bounding box for the primitive is offset from a determined bounding box for a previous primitive, within an offset threshold ( Figure 7, [0101] discloses the use of abounding box encompassing or enclosing all of the primitives in the primitive block, i.e. part of the definition/determination of these blocks and tiles. As for the offset threshold, please note [0110] which discloses that if the percentage of tiles used in the bounding box is above a predetermined threshold, i.e. an offset threshold ), and wherein the method further comprises:
when grouping the primitive with the one or more previous primitives, storing bounding box offset data for the primitive; and using the stored bounding box offset data when writing grouped primitives together to one or more primitive lists. ( [0101] discloses, for example, a 4x4 block of tiles and comparing it to the above threshold, to determine the certain Level tile group. Also, note the testing of tile groups to see if there is sufficient coverage and this process stops when the threshold is met. Furthermore, this threshold is applied to all of the primitives, i.e. using stored data )
Jesus teaches in Claim 8:
The method of claim 1, wherein the step of writing grouped primitives together to one or more primitive lists is triggered by the number of grouped primitives reaching a threshold. ( [0110] discloses the process stops when there is a set of tile groups that are covered above the predetermined threshold and collectively contain all of the primitives in the primitive block. Also, please note the concept of capping as well )
Jesus teaches in Claim 9:
A tile-based graphics processing system in which a render output is sub-divided into a plurality of tiles for rendering ( Abstract details tiling primitives in a tile based graphics processing system in which a rendering space is divided into a plurality of tiles ), and comprising a tiling circuit configured to write primitives in a sequence of primitives to be processed to primitive lists corresponding to respective regions of the render output ( [0009] discloses a list in which transformed primitives which fall into a particular tile, can be classified into ), wherein the tiling circuit comprises:
a primitive coverage circuit configured to determine a set of regions of the render output covered by an individual primitive ( Applicant defines a same set of regions as being the same layer of the hierarchy, such as in [0043]. Likewise, Jesus teaches in [0023] that each tile group may be at a same level of hierarchy, meaning this is a requirement to be associated with a certain tile group. As for an individual primitive: Figure 6, [0099] discloses analyzing and identifying a primitive block to be tiled )
a primitive grouping circuit ( [0226] discloses a circuit for the tiling engines, control stream decoders and graphics processing systems ) configured to:
before the primitive is written to a primitive list, first determine whether the primitive can be grouped with one or more previous primitives in the sequence of primitives, for the purposes of being written to one or more primitive lists, by comparing the set of regions covered by the primitive with respective sets of regions covered by one or more previous primitives ( Figure 6, [0100] discloses receiving information identifying a primitive block, for step 604. For step 604, before generating a control stream, etc, there is a determination of association of the primitive block with one or more tile groups, i.e. determining if the primitive block falls within these tile(s), (read as comparing). Please interpret this as determining if the primitive can be grouped with one or more previous primitives ); and
when it is determined that the primitive can be grouped with one or more previous primitives, group the primitive with the one or more previous primitives ( Figures 6 and 7, [0100]-[0101] discloses a process to determine if the primitive block falls within certain tiles and if so, grouping it with those tile groups ); and
a primitive list writing circuit configured to write grouped primitives together to one or more primitive lists corresponding to one or more respective regions of the render output, such that the grouped primitives written to a primitive list for a region output consist solely of primitives individually determined to cover that region of the render output ( Figure 6, [0116] discloses step 610 which generates a control stream for each/individual tile group, including information identifying a primitive block indicating a location in memory, etc. Figures 3-5 show examples of locations (read as regions) for the tile groups and the above analysis determines where to place tile blocks, on an individual basis. Only tile blocks in a particular location/region are grouped together, i.e. they are determined to be valid to be in that primitive tile group, i.e. if it falls within the bounds of that tile at that region )
Jesus teaches in Claim 10:
The tile-based graphics processing system of claim 9, wherein the primitive grouping circuit is configured to:
when it is determined that a primitive cannot be grouped with one or more previous primitives, trigger writing one or more previous primitives together to one or more primitive lists without grouping the primitive with one or more previous primitives. ( Figure 6, [0115] discloses that if there are no more primitive blocks to be tiled, then the method proceeds to step 610, which is generating a control stream for each tile group. To clarify, if the primitive cannot be grouped, i.e. not associated, then the tile group, which is not associated with this current primitive, continues on to step 610 )
Jesus teaches in Claim 11:
The tile-based graphics processing system of claim 9, wherein the primitive list writing circuit is configured to write grouped primitives together to one or more primitive lists by:
for each of the one or more regions covered by the grouped primitives writing to the primitive list corresponding to that region all of the grouped primitives that cover that region in a single primitive list write cycle. ( Figure 7, [0103] discloses tile groups being classified if they completely encompass a bounding box, thus associating with a certain level tile group. To clarify, the certain level is based on the region the primitive is located in and the concept is to associate/group primitives which are completely within a region, as shown in Figure 7 )
Jesus teaches in Claim 13: The tile-based graphics processing system of claim 9, wherein the primitive grouping circuit is configured to determine that a primitive can be grouped with one or more previous primitives when the primitive is determined to cover a set of regions of render output that exactly matches the set of regions covered by one or more previous primitives. ( Figure 7, [0103] discloses tile groups being classified if they completely encompass a bounding box, thus associating with a certain level tile group. To clarify, the certain level is based on the region the primitive is located in and the concept is to associate/group primitives which are completely within a region, as shown in Figure 7 )
Jesus teaches in Claim 14:
The tile-based graphics processing system of claim 9, wherein the primitive grouping circuit is configured to determine that a primitive can be grouped with one or more primitives when the primitive is determined to cover a set of regions that is sufficiently similar or overlapping with a set of regions covered by one or more previous primitives. ( The same reasoning applied above is also applicable here as well, namely because of concepts of completely encompassed (read as sufficiently similar or overlapping): Figure 7, [0103] discloses tile groups being classified if they completely encompass a bounding box, thus associating with a certain level tile group. To clarify, the certain level is based on the region the primitive is located in and the concept is to associate/group primitives which are completely within a region, as shown in Figure 7 )
Jesus teaches in Claim 15:
The tile-based graphics processing system of claim 14, wherein the primitive grouping circuit is configured to:
determine that a that the primitive can be grouped with one or more previous primitives when a determined bounding box for the primitive is offset from a determined bounding box for a previous primitive, within an offset threshold ( Figure 7, [0101] discloses the use of abounding box encompassing or enclosing all of the primitives in the primitive block, i.e. part of the definition/determination of these blocks and tiles. As for the offset threshold, please note [0110] which discloses that if the percentage of tiles used in the bounding box is above a predetermined threshold, i.e. an offset threshold ); and
when grouping the primitive with the one or more previous primitives, store bounding box offset data for the primitive; and wherein the primitive list writing circuit is configured to use the stored bounding box offset data when writing grouped primitives together to one or more primitive lists. ( [0101] discloses, for example, a 4x4 block of tiles and comparing it to the above threshold, to determine the certain Level tile group. Also, note the testing of tile groups to see if there is sufficient coverage and this process stops when the threshold is met. Furthermore, this threshold is applied to all of the primitives, i.e. using stored data )
Jesus teaches in Claim 16:
The tile-based graphics processing system of claim 9, wherein the a primitive list writing circuit is configured to be triggered to write grouped primitives together to one or more primitive lists when the number of grouped primitives reaches a threshold. ( [0110] discloses the process stops when there is a set of tile groups that are covered above the predetermined threshold and collectively contain all of the primitives in the primitive block. Also, please note the concept of capping as well )
Jesus teaches in Claim 17:
A non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing instructions which, when the instructions are executed by a processor, cause the processor to carry out ( [0044] discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium with an integrated circuit to process ) a method of operating a tile-based graphics processing system in which a render output is sub-divided into a plurality of tiles for rendering ( Abstract details tiling primitives in a tile based graphics processing system in which a rendering space is divided into a plurality of tiles ), and in which primitives in a sequence of primitives to be processed are written to primitive lists corresponding to respective regions of the render output ( [0009] discloses a list in which transformed primitives which fall into a particular tile, can be classified into ), the method comprising:
for an individual primitive to be processed ( Figure 6, [0099] discloses analyzing and identifying a primitive block to be tiled ):
determining a set of regions of the render output covered by a primitive ( Applicant defines a same set of regions as being the same layer of the hierarchy, such as in [0043]. Likewise, Jesus teaches in [0023] that each tile group may be at a same level of hierarchy, meaning this is a requirement to be associated with a certain tile group );
before writing a primitive to a primitive list, first determining whether the primitive can be grouped with one or more previous primitives in the sequence of primitives, for the purpose of being written to one or more primitive lists, by comparing the set of regions covered by the primitive with respective sets of regions covered by one or more previous primitives ( Figure 6, [0100] discloses receiving information identifying a primitive block, for step 604. For step 604, before generating a control stream, etc, there is a determination of association of the primitive block with one or more tile groups, i.e. determining if the primitive block falls within these tile(s), (read as comparing). Please interpret this as determining if the primitive can be grouped with one or more previous primitives );
when it is determined that the primitive can be grouped with one or more previous primitives, grouping the primitive with the one or more previous primitives ( Figures 6 and 7, [0100]-[0101] discloses a process to determine if the primitive block falls within certain tiles and if so, grouping it with those tile groups ); and thereafter:
writing grouped primitives together to one or more primitive lists corresponding to one or more respective regions of the render output, including only writing grouped primitives that are determined to cover a region of the render output to the primitive list corresponding to that region of the render output ( Figure 6, [0116] discloses step 610 which generates a control stream for each/individual tile group, including information identifying a primitive block indicating a location in memory, etc. Figures 3-5 show examples of locations (read as regions) for the tile groups and the above analysis determines where to place tile blocks, on an individual basis. Only tile blocks in a particular location/region are grouped together, i.e. they are determined to be valid to be in that primitive tile group, i.e. if it falls within the bounds of that tile at that region )
Response to Arguments
5. Applicant’s arguments considered, but are respectfully not persuasive.
Please note the updated rejection in light of the claim amendments.
Respectfully, while Examiner appreciates the claim amendments, there does not seem to a significant change in scope. For example, when determining if a primitive falls into a particular group, there is naturally a comparison between the two sets and the grouping is only affirmed if the individual primitive is determined to cover that region, i.e. falls into that particular group.
To clarify, there is an already-existing primitive block and subsequent tile groups, comprised of individual primitives, etc, are analyzed/compared to see if it can be classified with that existing primitive block.
Conclusion
6. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DENNIS P JOSEPH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621