Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a receiver module in claim 1
a gaze tracking module in claims 1, 8-9
an artificial Intelligence (AI) audio generation module in claims 1, 11-12
a rendering module in claims 1, 10, 12, 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the rendering module”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 and 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by PLA I CONESA et al. (US Pub. 2021/0303107 A1, hereinafter “PLA”).
Claim 1: PLA teaches A system for automated audio furnishing amidst reading of a digital media ([0260]-[0261], Figs. 7A-7D, e.g., electronic device 101), the system comprising:
a receiver module to receive data associated with the digital media that is displayed on an electronic device, display settings of the electronic device, and facial movement data of a user reading the digital media on the electronic device in real-time (“PLA”, Figs. 7C, [0265], the electronic device 101 determines motion of the user’s gaze 716b and identifies the portion of text being read);
a gaze tracking module to determine a portion of the digital media being read in real-time based at least on: the received data associated with the digital media, display settings, and real-time facial movement (“PLA”, Figs. 7C-7D, [0024], [0265], [0267], the electronic device 101 determines that motion of the gaze 716b indicates the user is reading a first portion 9724a) or second portion (724b) of text);
an Artificial Intelligence (AI) audio generation module to generate an audio based at least on one of: the received data associated with the digital media and the determined portion of the digital media (“PLA”, Figs. 7C-7D, [0265]-[0268], the electronic device 101 generates first audio associated with the first portion of text and second audio associated with the second portion of text. AI audio generation module is interpreted as software configured to generate audio, which satisfies claimed functional requirement); and
a rendering module to render the generated audio to the user in the real-time, such that the user hears the generated audio while reading the determined portion of the digital media (“PLA”, Figs. 7C-7D, [0265], [0268], [0271], the electronic device 101 plays audio corresponding to the portion of the text currently being read).
Claim 2: PLA teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the digital media corresponds to a media having textual content and includes at least one of: a document, a website, an image, and a video (“PLA”, Figs. 7A-7C, [0095], [0099], content browsing region 700 includes textual content and images).
Claim 3: PLA teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the data associated with the digital media includes at least one of: title, genre, and content of the digital media (“PLA”, Figs. 7A-7C, [0095], [0099], content browsing region 700 includes textual content title).
Claim 4: PLA teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the electronic device corresponds to a digital display device having a camera and includes at least one of: a mobile phone, a Personal Digital Assistant (PDA), a tablet, a desktop, a laptop, a television, and a smartboard (“PLA”, Figs. 1 and 7A-7C, [0029], [0147], electronic device 101).
Claim 5: PLA teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the display settings include at least one of: position of the digital media on a display of the electronic device and a zoom level associated with the displayed digital media (“PLA”, Fig. 7C, [0097], [0100], -[0103], e.g., expanded content region 714).
Claim 6: PLA teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the facial movement data corresponds to data associated with eye-movement and head-movement of the user while reading the digital media on the electronic device (“PLA”, Abstract, [0008], [0026], [0050]).
Claim 7: PLA teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the facial movement data includes one or more image frames of the user while reading the digital media on the electronic device and may be captured via a camera associated with the electronic device (“PLA”, Fig. 5, [0078], [0087]).
Claim 8: PLA teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the gaze tracking module is configured to:
extract one or more features from the received facial movement data, wherein the one or more features include at least one of: ocular co-ordinates and head co-ordinates of the user; identify a user focus position on a display of the electronic device by analyzing the one or more extracted features; and identify content of the digital media being displayed in proximity of the identified user focus position to determine the portion of the digital media being read (“PLA”, Fig. 5, [0076]-[0079], [0087], e.g., eye tracking device 130).
Claim 9: PLA teaches the system of claim 8, wherein the gaze tracking module is further configured to determine a user's reading speed by tracking the identified user focus position (“PLA”, Fig. 7C, [0113], [0119], [0135], [0212], [0269]-[0271]).
Claim 10: PLA teaches the system of claim 9, wherein the rendering module renders the generated audio based on the user reading speed (“PLA”, Fig. 7C, [0119], [0269]-[0271]).
Claim 13: Claim 13 is directed to a method for implementing the method steps of claim 1. Therefore, claim 13 is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 14: PLA teaches the method of claim 13,
wherein the digital media corresponds to a media having textual content and includes at least one of: a document, a website, an image, and a video (“PLA”, Figs. 7A-7C, [0095], [0099], content browsing region 700 includes textual content and images),
wherein the data associated with the digital media includes at least one of: title, genre, and content of the digital media (“PLA”, Figs. 7A-7C, [0095], [0099], content browsing region 700 includes textual content title),
wherein the electronic device corresponds to a digital display device having a camera and includes at least one of: a mobile phone, a Personal Digital Assistant (PDA), a tablet, a desktop, a laptop, a television, and a smartboard (“PLA”, Figs. 1 and 7A-7C, [0029], [0147], electronic device 101), and
wherein the display settings include at least one of: position of the digital media on a display of the electronic device and a zoom level associated with the displayed digital media (“PLA”, Fig. 7C, [0097], [0100], -[0103], e.g., expanded content region 714).
Claim 15: PLA teaches the method of claim 13,
wherein the facial movement data corresponds to data associated with eye-movement and head-movement of the user while reading the digital media on the electronic device (“PLA”, Abstract, [0008], [0026], [0050]), and wherein the facial movement data includes one or more image frames of the user while reading the digital media on the electronic device and may be captured via a camera associated with the electronic device (“PLA”, Fig. 5, [0078], [0087]).
Claim 16: Claim 16 is directed to the method of claim 13 for implementing the method steps of claim 8. Therefore, claim 16 is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 17: Claim 17 is directed to the method of claim 16 for implementing the method steps of claim 9. Therefore, claim 17 is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 18: Claim 18 is directed to the method of claim 17 for implementing the method steps of claim 10. Therefore, claim 18 is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-12 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable PLA in view of Escudero et al. (US 2024/0219720 A1, hereinafter "Escudero").
Claim 11: PLA teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the AI audio generation module is configured to:
identify genre of the digital media based on the received data (“PLA”, [0272], e.g., genre such as news article, chapter of e-book);
determine context of the portion of the digital media being read in real-time (“PLA”, [0265], [0272]-[0275], determines specific portion e.g., chapter/page/line/word being read and stored reading context with timestamps); and
generate the audio based at least on one of: the identified genre of the digital media and the determined context of the portion being read (“PLA”, [0265]-[0271], generates audio corresponding to the portion of text being read).
However, PLA does not explicitly teach identifying a genre of the digital media, determining context of the portion of digital media using a RNN and a machine learning (ML) model, or generating audio based on such context using a ML model.
Escudero explicitly teaches identifying a genre of the digital media, determining context using a machine learning (ML) model, or generating audio based on such context using a ML model (“Escudero”, [0143]-[0144], determining context of the portion of the digital media using ML/AI models and generate output including text-to-speech based on context determined via ML).
It would have been obvious to one having the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of PLA with the above teachings of Escudero to corporate machine learning based contextual analysis and content classification in order to improve contextual understanding and provide more relevant audio output. Further, the use of recurrent neural network represents a predictable implementation of a know machine learning model for processing sequential reading and gaze data.
Claim 12: PLA and Escudero teach the system of claim 11, wherein the AI audio generation module is further configured to:
identify adjacent portions to the portion of the digital media being read; and
generate one or more audios based on the adjacent portions to facilitate the rendering module for smooth transitioning from one audio to another while rendering to the user (“PLA”, Figs. 7C-7D, [0265]-[0269], the electronic device 101 generates first audio associated with the first portion of text and second audio associated with the second portion of text).
Claim 19: Claim 19 is directed to the method of claim 13 for implementing the method steps of claim 11. Therefore, claim 19 is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 20: Claim 20 is directed to the method of claim 19 for implementing the method steps of claim 12. Therefore, claim 20 is rejected under similar rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US Pub 2022/0114327 A1 (Faaborg et al.) — Disclose Text layout interpretation using eye gaze data.
US Pub 2016/0080874 A1 (Fullam et al.) — Disclose gaze-based audio direction.
US Pub 2020/0342223 A1 (Mixter et al.) — Disclose adapting automated assistant based on detected mouth movement and/or gaze.
Examiner has cited particular columns and line and/or paragraph numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
The examiner requests, in response to this Office action, support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line no(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the examiner in prosecuting the application.
When responding to this office action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections See 37 CFR 1.111(c).
Point of Contact
/PHUONG H NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2174