DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-7 and 9-20 are pending in the case. Claims 1, 17, and 20 are independent claims. Claim 8 has been canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 9-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hwang et al. (US 2011/0175930 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hwang teaches a method of display control, comprising:
displaying, in a display area of a target application, at least part of pages opened in the target application (FIGS. 8A-E and [0150-0156]: as seen in FIG. 8D or FIG. 8E, a target application displays at least part of pages opened; [0127]: “the same application may be executed on each window”);
determining whether a number of pages opened in the target application exceeds n (FIGS. 8A-E and [0150-0156]: for example, n may be 2. In FIG. 8D, as a number of pages opened in the target application exceeds 2, at least part of pages are displayed; [0127]: “the same application may be executed on each window”),
displaying n opened pages in the display area of the target application and hiding other pages, and displaying a page identifier of a hidden page, based on the number of pages opened in the target application exceeding n, wherein n is not less than 1 (FIG. 8D and [0155]: 2 opened pages are displayed in the display area while other pages are hidden. Based on the number of pages opened exceeding 2, page identifier of a hidden page is displayed via an indicator which indicates the covered sub-window 810. Note that the indicator of FIG. 8D is described as “indicator 801” but should refer to element 802, as illustrated. The page which is now hidden in FIG. 8D was sub-window 810 of FIG. 8C); and
in response to a triggering operation on the page identifier, displaying a page corresponding to the triggered page identifier in the display area of the target application (FIGS. 8D-E and [0155-0156]: dragging the indicator causes display of a corresponding page. Note that the indicator referenced should be indicator 802 as shown in the discussed figures),
wherein displaying, in a display area of a target application, at least part of pages opened in the target application comprises:
displaying a session window in the display area; and
in response to an operation on a link element in the session window, opening a target page referenced by the link element in a page container at a same level as the session window (FIGS. 8A-D and [0150-0155]: initially, a session window includes sub-window 810 as seen in FIG. 8C. In response to an operation on a link element/key 804 in the session window, a target page/sub-window 820 is displayed at the same level as the session window, as seen in FIG. 8D. The target page/sub-window 820 is opened as it is referenced by the link element in a page container at a same level as the session window; FIG. 8E and [0156]: Note how sub-window 810 may be uncovered and displayed alongside sub-window 820).
Regarding claim 2, Hwang further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein
the n opened pages displayed in the display area are horizontally arranged for display (FIG. 8D and [0155]);
the page identifier of the hidden page is vertically arranged on a left sidebar side or a right sidebar side of the display area (FIG. 8D and [0155]: indicator is vertically arranged on a right sidebar side of the display area).
Regarding claim 3, Hwang further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein
the target application is an instant messaging application; or, the target application is an application suite that integrates an instant messaging application and at least one further application (FIGS. 8A-D and [0150-0155], [0127]: target application is an instant messaging application).
Regarding claim 4, Hwang further teaches the method of claim 3, wherein the pages opened in the target application comprises a session window (FIGS. 8A-D and [0150-0155]: as seen in FIG. 8D, the session window includes at least sub-window 820 for a messaging session with Michael).
Regarding claim 5, Hwang further teaches the method of claim 3, wherein the pages opened in the target application comprise a session window of a first session and a further page;
the further page is a page opened directly or indirectly based on the session window of the first session (FIGS. 8A-D and [0150-0155]: as seen in either FIG. 8D or 8E, pages opened comprise a session window of a first session. The session window includes at least sub-window 820. A further page is sub-window 810 which is represented by the indicator as being hidden. This further page is opened directly based on the session window of the first session for messaging with Michael).
Regarding claim 6, Hwang further teaches the method of claim 5, further comprising:
in response to switching from the first session to a second session, closing the session window of the first session and the further page that are opened before switching to the second session (FIGS. 8A-F and [0150-0157]: switching from the first session to a second session involves dragging the indicator, as seen in FIG. 8E, so that the session window is closed, as seen in the resulting FIG. 8F, which indicates switching to a second session).
Regarding claim 7, Hwang further teaches the method of claim 3, wherein
n is not less than 2, and the target application has an information flow window located in the display area; if n pages are displayed in a display area of a communication client, hiding the information flow window; if a number of pages displayed in the display area is less than n, displaying the information flow window (FIG. 3A and [0129], FIGS. 8A-D and [0150-0155]: information flow window is reprented by sub-window 810 located in the display area as seen in FIG. 8C. If 2 pages are displayed, as seen in FIG. 8D, the information flow window is hidden. If a number of pages displayed is 1, then the information flow window can be displayed by “reducing the main window to its maximum level such that the main window is not displayed” as stated in [0133] and exemplified in FIG. 4D).
Regarding claim 9, Hwang further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein displaying, in a display area of a target application, at least part of pages opened in the target application comprises:
displaying, in the display area, an information flow window and a session window (FIGS. 8A-D and [0150-0155]: information flow window, which includes sub-window 810 as seen in FIG. 8C, and a session window, which includes sub-window 810 as seen in FIG. 8C, are displayed); and
in response to an operation on a link element in the session window, opening a target page referenced by the link element in a page container at a same level as the session window, displaying the session window and the target page referenced by the link element in the display area, and hiding the information flow window (FIGS. 8C-D and [0153-0155]: in response to an operation on a link element/key 804, a target page/sub-window 820 is opened at a same level as the session window, the session window, now further including sub-window 820, and the target page/sub-window 820 while hiding the information flow window/sub-window 810).
Regarding claim 10, Hwang further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein in response to an operation on a link element in the session window, opening a target page referenced by the link element in a page container at a same level as the session window (FIGS. 8A-D and [0150-0155]: initially, a session window includes sub-window 810 as seen in FIG. 8C. In response to an operation on a link element/key 804 in the session window, a target page/sub-window 820 is displayed at the same level as the session window, as seen in FIG. 8D. The target page/sub-window 820 is opened as it is referenced by the link element in a page container at a same level as the session window) comprises:
in response to an operation on the link element in the session window, intercepting an event of opening the target page (FIGS. 8C-D and [0153-0155]: event intercepted in response to operation on key 804);
deciding whether the target page meets a condition of opening in the page container (FIGS. 8C-D and [0153-0155]: target page meets condition of opening when key 804 is selected);
if the condition is satisfied, adding a new page container and opening the target page in the newly added page container (FIGS. 8C-D and [0153-0155]: when condition is satisfied, target page/sub-window 820 is opened in the newly added page container);
if the condition is unsatisfied, opening the target page in a browser (This is a contingent limitation where the condition is not required to be unsatisfied. See MPEP 2111.04).
Regarding claim 11, Hwang further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the page container is a container implemented by an inline frame element (FIG. 8D and [0155]: page container is a container implemented by an inline frame element as illustrated).
Regarding claim 12, Hwang further teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
if n pages are displayed in the display area, in response to opening a new page in the target application, displaying n pages comprising the new page in the display area, hiding one of the n pages displayed before opening the new page, and displaying a page identifier corresponding to the hidden page (FIG. 8D and [0155]: 2 opened pages are displayed in the display area while other pages are hidden. A page identifier of a hidden page is displayed via an indicator which indicates the covered sub-window 810).
Regarding claim 13, Hwang further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein at least one of the following is satisfied:
a newly opened page in the target application locates on a first side of an opened page (FIGS. 8A-D and [0150-0155]: for example, a newly opened page may be seen in the transition of FIG. 8B to FIG. 8C, where the new page is sub-window 810 is located on a first side of an opened page/main window. As another example, a newly opened page is the transition from FIG. 8C to FIG. 8D, where in the new page is sub-window 820 next to first side of an opened page/main window);
if a second new page is opened by performing an operation on a first opened page, the second page is displayed at a location adjacent to a first side of the first page on which the operation is performed (FIGS. 8A-C and [0151-0154]: a second new page/sub-window 810 is opened by performing an operation on a first opened page/main window, the second page adjacent to a first side of the first page).
Regarding claim 14, Hwang further teaches the method of claim 13, wherein
n is not less than 2, and if the second new page is opened by performing an operation on the first opened page, displaying the first page and the second page in the display area (FIGS. 8A-C and [0151-0154]: a second new page/sub-window 810 is opened by performing an operation on a first opened page/main window, the second page adjacent to a first side of the first page); and/or
n is not less than 2, before performing an operation on the first opened page, n pages are displayed in the display area; if the first page is not a page closest to a first side in the display area, closing the page closest to the first side in the display area while opening the second page, and if the first page is the page closest to the first side in the display area, hiding a page closest to a second side in the display area, the second side and the first side being two opposite sides.
Regarding claim 15, Hwang further teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising at least one of:
a newly opened page in the target application displaying on a first side of an opened page, upon the page identifier being triggered, closing a page located on the first side of a page corresponding to the triggered page identifier;
in response to a page displayed in the display area moving out of the display area in a direction towards the first side of the display area, closing the page moved outside the display area (FIGS. 8E-F and [0156-0157]: a page, like sub-window 820, is moved out of the display area and hence closed, as seen in resulting FIG. 8F);
in response to closing a page currently displayed in the display area, displaying a page from the hidden pages that is adjacent to a location of the currently displayed page.
Regarding claim 16, Hwang further teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising at least one of:
in response to a number of pages opened in the target application reaches m, opening a newly opened page by a browser, m being greater than n;
the page having a first control for opening the page in a browser;
in response to the opened page being a document page, hiding at least one of document notification, comment area, or directory area by default;
in response to a control identifier hovering over the page identifier, displaying page information of a page corresponding to the page identifier;
in response to a moving operation on the page identifier, adjusting a display location of the page identifier (FIGS. 8D-E and [0155-0156]: page identifier/indicator is moved in response to moving operation on the indicator).
Regarding claims 17-19, the claims recite a terminal, comprising: at least one memory and at least one processor, wherein the at least one memory is configured to store program code, and the at least one processor is configured to call the program code stored in the at least one memory to perform acts (FIG. 1 and [0060-0061], [0096-0104]) comprising operations corresponding to the method of claims 1-3, respectively, and are therefore rejected on the same premises.
Regarding claim 20, the claim recites a non-transitory computer readable storage medium, wherein the computer readable storage medium is configured to store program code, and the program code, when executed by a computer, causes the computer to perform acts (FIG. 1, [0096-0104], [0216]) comprising operations corresponding to the method of claim 1 and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/23/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In Remarks, Applicant argues:
As for amended independent claim 1, Hwang does not disclose feature (5) (pp. 9-10 of Remarks).
As for amended independent claim 1, the main window and sub-windows display different applications rather than of the same application (pp. 10-11 of Remarks). Hwang does not disclose automatic hiding of pages (p. 11). Hwang’s indicators 801 and 805 serve a different function from the claimed “page identifier of a hidden page” (p. 11). Hwang does not disclose feature (4) (p. 11 of Remarks).
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Regarding point (a), Applicant argues, “The sub-window 810 shown in FIG. 8C appears because a text message is received… not because a user performed an operation on a link element within a session window” (p. 9 of Remarks). However, the mapping for feature (5) involves the progression from FIG. 8C to FIG. 8D, not beginning and ending at FIG. 8C as Applicant incorrectly argues. Contrary to Applicant’s assertion of a “passive” sub-window generation, Hwang teaches the user actively operating on a link element/key 804 in the session window, as seen in FIG. 8C, causing display of a target page/sub-window 820 at the same level as the session window, as seen in FIG. 8D. The target page/sub-window 820 is opened as it is referenced by the link element in a page container at a same level as the session window.
As for the argument that Hwang’s main window is at an upper layer while the sub-window is at a lower layer, the Examiner’s position is that Applicant’s claim of “a same level” does not include details that would preclude the teachings of Hwang. Hwang may refer to a main window being that of an “upper layer” and a sub-window being of a “lower layer”, as Applicant points out, but such reference bears no relevance to precluding these windows from being at “a same level”. In other words, windows can be at different “layers” while still being of the same level, especially when the claim does not define “a same level”. It is clear from at least FIG. 8D of Hwang that the main window and the sub-window may be of the same level. However, more importantly, the “session window” as mapped includes sub-window 810 of FIG. 8C and does not necessarily include the main window. Thus, in the transition from FIG. 8C to 8D, a target page is opened in a page container at a same level as the session window that is sub-window 810 by having sub-window 820 replace sub-window 810.
Regarding point (b), Applicant has mischaracterized the mapping. It is the sub-windows which are mapped as the pages, not one main window and one sub-window. for example, n may be 2. For example, in FIG. 8D, as a number of pages opened in the target application exceeds 2, at least part of pages are displayed. Hwang also sets forth in [0127] that “the same application may be executed on each window”. Note how sub-window 810 is automatically hidden in the transition from FIGS. 8C to 8D. Note also how. As for the page identifier, Applicant again mischaracterizes the mapping. Based on the number of pages opened exceeding 2, page identifier of a hidden page is displayed via an indicator which indicates the covered sub-window 810. Note that the indicator of FIG. 8D is described as “indicator 801” but should refer to element 802, as illustrated. The page which is now hidden in FIG. 8D was sub-window 810 of FIG. 8C. Following FIG. 8D, dragging the indicator triggers display of a corresponding page. Note that the indicator referenced should be indicator 802 as shown in the discussed figures. As such feature (4) is disclosed.
In conclusion, amended independent claim 1, and similarly amended independent claims 17 and 20, are properly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hwang et al. (US 2011/0175930 A1). The dependent claims accordingly remain rejected.
Conclusion
/KENNY NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171