DETAILED ACTION
In amendments dated 02/02/2026, applicant(s) amened claims 1, 3, 9 – 14, 17 and 18; and cancelled claim 2. Claims 1 and 3 - 18 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
In the remarks on page 9 the applicant notes that the title have been amended to overcome the prior objections. In view of the amendments to the title the prior objections regarding the title is hereby withdrawn.
In the Remarks on page 9 the Applicant notes that claims 1 and 3 - 18 have been amended to overcome the prior 35 USC §101 judicial rejections. However, even with the amendments, the issue is not resolved yet, therefore prior 35 USC §101 judicial rejections are still rejected.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 3 - 18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
The claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claims 1 – 18 are directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claims 1, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101, because the claimed invention directed to abstract idea without significantly more. The claim recites “An information processing apparatus comprising: a hardware processor configured to: acquire acquisition information of an image forming apparatus, the acquisition information including at least one of job information, error information, time information, or machine information of the image forming apparatus; acquire environment information of the image forming apparatus, the environment information including temperature information and humidity information of the image forming apparatus; and generate., as display information to be displayed on a display device, image data in which the acquired acquisition information is displayed simultaneously and in association with the acquired environment information.
The claim limitation of “acquire acquisition information of an image forming apparatus, the acquisition information including at least one of job information, error information, time information, or machine information of the image forming apparatus”, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the human activity but for the recitation of generic computer component. That is, other than reciting “a hardware processor” nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the human activity. For example, but for the “processor” language, “acquire” in the content of this claim encompass the user to collect first data (e.g., a piece of annotated/printed paper, defective paper, etc.) from an image forming apparatus.
Similarly, the claim limitation of “acquire environment information of the image forming apparatus, the environment information including temperature information and humidity information of the image forming apparatus”, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the human activity but for the recitation of generic computer component. That is, other than reciting “a hardware processor” nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the human activity. For example, but for the “processor” language, “acquire” in the content of this claim encompass the user to collect second data (e.g., another piece of annotated/printed paper that contains environmental feature(s), etc.) from the image forming apparatus.
Similarly, the limitations of “generate., as display information to be displayed on a display device, image data in which the acquired acquisition information is displayed simultaneously and in association with the acquired environment information”, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the human activity but for the recitation of generic computer component. For example, but for the “processor” language, “generate/display” in the context of this claim encompass the user to make a composite image, upon collecting both data, and placing all data together (simultaneously), by sorting based on temperature/humidity, in a table to show (display or present). If a claim limitations, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the human activity but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim only recites one additional element – using a hardware processor to perform the acquiring and generate/display steps.
The hardware processor in first step is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic control unit acquiring and displaying) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using a hardware processor to perform acquiring and generating/displaying steps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is still not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7, 9, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shibata (U.S PreGrant Publication No. 2023/0061231 A1, hereinafter ‘Shibata’).
With respect to claim 1, Shibata teaches an information processing apparatus (e.g. a server 104, ¶0034 - ¶0036, Fig. 1) comprising: a hardware processor configured to:
acquire acquisition information of an image forming apparatus, the acquisition information including at least one of job information, error information, time information, or machine information of the image forming apparatus (e.g., acquiring job history information, job information, log information, replacement information of components, and so forth from an image forming apparatus, ¶0034, ¶0036, ¶0041, ¶0050, ¶0055); acquire environment information of the image forming apparatus, the environment information including temperature information and humidity information of the image forming apparatus (e.g., acquiring temperature and humidity from a environment sensor 420, in which is by (around) said image forming apparatus, ¶0044); and
generate, as display information to be displayed on a display device, image data in which the acquired acquisition information is displayed simultaneously and in association with the acquired environment information (e.g., generate, as display information to be displayed on an operation display section 429, maintenance information, lifetime or consumable component information in which at least job history information, consumable component name, device information, job information, log information or replacement information of components is concurrently displayed (Figs. 6F, Fig. 7 – show information together at the same time) and in association with the acquired temperature and/or humidity (e.g., environment condition) upon recalculation, ¶0044 - ¶045, ¶0057 - ¶0061, ¶0072 - ¶0074, ¶0098, Fig. 7, Fig. 11 & Fig. 19).
With respect to claim 7, Shibata teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the hardware processor is configured to generate display information by associating the machine information with the environment information (e.g., generate maintenance information, lifetime or consumable component information by associating the device information with environment condition, ¶0044, ¶0074, Fig. 7).
With respect to claim 9, Shibata teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the environment information includes environment information of an image former provided in the image forming apparatus (e.g., said environment condition include information from any of components in the image forming apparatus, ¶0041, Fig. 6F).
With respect to claim 17, this is a method claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 1. Therefore, this is rejected for the same reasons as the apparatus claim 1.
With respect to claim 18, arguments analogous to claim 1 are applicable. The use of a non-transitory storage medium executed by at least a computer (CPU) as described in claim 18 is explicitly taught by ¶0148 and claim 14 of Shibata.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibata in view of Brunner et al. (U.S PreGrant Publication No. 2017/0236042 A1, hereinafter ‘Brunner’).
With respect to claim 3, Shibata teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, but fails to teach: wherein the hardware processor is configured: to change display information generated by associating the job information with the environment information into a format that classifies information by job, change display information generated by associating the error information with the environment information into a format that classifies information by error, change display information generated by associating the time information with the environment information into a format that classifies information by time, or change display information generated by associating the machine information with the environment information into a format that classifies information by machine.
However, the mentioned claimed limitations are well-known in the art as evidenced by Brunner. In particular, Brunner teaches wherein the hardware processor is configured to change display information generated by associating the job information with the environment information into a format that classifies information by job, change display information generated by associating the error information with the environment information into a format that classifies information by error, change display information generated by associating the time information with the environment information into a format that classifies information by time, or change display information generated by associating the machine information with the environment information into a format that classifies information by machine (e.g., change display information generated by associating at least a job information with environment information into an order/sort that arrange information by job, ¶0032, ¶0037, Fig. 2; or change display information generated by associating the time information with environment information into an order that classified by time, ¶0032, ¶0036, Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the information processing apparatus of Shibata as taught by Brunner since Brunner suggested in ¶0032 - ¶0037 and Fig. 2 that such modification would have a schedule in order to avoid/reduce interruptions in a printing process, thereby its’s convenient that a plurality of print jobs is scheduled and sorted in advance.
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibata in view of Oishi et al. (U.S PreGrant Publication No. 2023/0064610 A1, hereinafter ‘Oishi’).
With respect to claim 4, Shibata teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, but fails to teach the hardware processor is configured to generate display information in which the environment information is unified for each day.
However, in the same field of endeavor of collecting temperature/humidity information, Oishi teaches the hardware processor is configured to generate display information in which the environment information is unified for each day (Oishi: e.g., generate display information in which temperature/humidity information is along each day, ¶0070 - ¶0071, ¶0075, Fig. 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the information processing apparatus of Shibata as taught by Oishi since Oishi suggested within ¶0070 - ¶0071, ¶0075 and Fig. 5 that such modification of generating/displaying environment information for each day would guide the user to categorize/classify the information in order to improve in productivity through reduction in standby time or down time.
With respect to claim 5, Shibata teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the hardware processor is configured to generate display information that is unified for each day and sorted according to the environment information.
However, in the same field of endeavor of collecting temperature/humidity information Oishi teaches wherein the hardware processor is configured to generate display information that is unified for each day and sorted according to the environment information (Oishi: e.g., Generate display information that is linked for each day and it’s displayed in time order linking with print conditions (temperature/humidity), ¶0075, Figs. 4 – 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the information processing apparatus of Shibata as taught by Oishi since Oishi suggested within ¶0070 - ¶0071, ¶0075 and Fig. 5 that such modification of generating/displaying environment information for each day would guide the user to categorize/classify the information in order to improve in productivity through reduction in standby time or down time.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibata in view of Zhang et al. (U.S PreGrant Publication No. 2012/0041569 A1, hereinafter ‘Zhang’).
With respect to claim 6, Shibata teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, where Shibata teaches everything except that the environment information is displayed along a time axis.
However, Zhang teaches generate display information that displays the environment information along a time axis (Fig. 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the information processing apparatus of Shibata as taught by Zhang by adding the time-graphic of Zhang (Fig. 6) that such modification of displaying along would improve by showing/displaying history of cooling performance and/or may be implemented to provide cost and/or power savings when the performance is found to be within predetermined specifications.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibata in view of Sato et al. (U.S PreGrant Publication No. 2018/0245031 A1, hereinafter ‘Sato’).
With respect to claim 8, Shibata teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, but fails to teach: wherein the hardware processor is configured to generate display information in which the environment information is classified into arbitrary sections.
However, in the same field of endeavor of displaying processing, Sato teaches wherein the hardware processor is configured to generate display information in which the environment information is classified into arbitrary sections (e.g., A display unit 9 displays evaluation result of temperature adjustment performance of the temperature adjustment element 2 calculated by the calculation unit 8. The display unit 9 displays, for example, the temperature adjustment performance 10, the recommended date of replacement 11, and the change of the temperature adjustment performance 12 of the temperature adjustment element 2. As for the display of the temperature adjustment performance 10, it is conceivable that the temperature adjustment performance 10 is represented not only by a numeric value but also, after the performance is classified in any arbitrary ranges, it is represented by any warning display 10a of, for example, three warning stage displays such as “good”, “caution needed”, and “replacement needed” in accordance with the current condition of the temperature adjustment performance, ¶0029).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the information processing apparatus of Shibata as taught by Sato since Sato suggested in ¶0029 that such modification of classifying into arbitrary sections would guide the user to categorize/classify the information in order to execute a simulation, the initial values of parameters such as temperature, a heat generation amount, and the like are set, or/and in order to lower a number of times of operation repetitions of which is deteriorated.
Claims 10 - 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibata in view of Noda (U.S Patent No. 10,048,908 B2, hereinafter ‘Noda’).
With respect to claim 10, Shibata teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the hardware processor is configured to: determine whether to issue a warning to a user, determine whether an environment of an image former provided in the image forming apparatus is unsuitable for image formation, and generate warning information when the environment is unsuitable.
However, in the same field of endeavor of collecting/acquiring environment information, Noda teaches wherein the hardware processor is configured to: determine whether to issue a warning to a user, determine whether an environment of an image former provided in the image forming apparatus is unsuitable for image formation, and generate warning information when the environment is unsuitable (Noda: e.g., when it is determined that effective ranges do not correspond to each other, image control CPU 113 controls LCD 141 to indicate a warning sign, Col 6 (lines 4 – 17); Col 7 (lines 23 – 48)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the information processing apparatus of Shibata as taught by Noda since Noda suggested within Col 6 (lines 4 – 17) & Col 7 (lines 23 – 48) that such modification of warning the user would inform the user that parameters are not in effective range in order to suggest/recommend the user to change said parameters.
With respect to claim 11, Shibata teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the hardware processor is configured to output a control signal based on the environment information to an environment changer, the environment information comprises environment information of an image former provided in the image forming apparatus, and the hardware processor is configured to cause the environment changer to perform control in accordance with the environment information of the image former by outputting a control signal based on the environment information of the image former to the environment changer.
However, Noda teaches wherein the hardware processor is configured to output a control signal based on the environment information to an environment changer, the environment information comprises environment information of an image former provided in the image forming apparatus, and the hardware processor is configured to cause the environment changer to perform control in accordance with the environment information of the image former by outputting a control signal based on the environment information of the image former to the environment changer (e.g., configured to send a signal based on a change made in the environment information, the environment information contains information required to change setting for the job (already started), the signal is sent once the environment information is changed, Col 4 (lines 26 – 40)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the information processing apparatus of Shibata as taught by Noda since Noda suggested within Col 4 (lines 26 - 40) that such modification of changing setting for the job would correct/edit the setting for the job in order to continue/resume printing operation under accepted environment conditions.
With respect to claim 12, Shibata teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the environment information comprises environment information of a sheet feeder provided in the image forming apparatus.
However, Noda teaches wherein the environment information comprises environment information of a sheet feeder provided in the image forming apparatus (Noda: e.g., acquire temperature and humidity of a sheet profile, in which include sheet type, basis weight, sheet color, etc., in order to continue a job, Col 3 (lines 54 – 62) & Col 9 (lines 54 – 62)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the information processing apparatus of Shibata as taught by Noda since Noda suggested within Col 3 (lines 54 – 62) and Col 9 (lines 54 – 62) that such modification of sheet profile as the sheet feeder would determine if the job can be executed under the effective range of the acquired environment information in order to continue/resume printing operation under accepted environment conditions and using the selected sheet profile.
With respect to claim 13, Shibata teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the hardware processor is configured to determine whether to issue a warning to a user, determine whether an environment of a sheet feeder provided in the image forming apparatus is unsuitable for feeding a sheet, and generate warning information when the environment is unsuitable.
However, Noda teaches wherein the hardware processor is configured to determine whether to issue a warning to a user, determine whether an environment of a sheet feeder provided in the image forming apparatus is unsuitable for feeding a sheet, and generate warning information when the environment is unsuitable (Noda: e.g., when it is determined that effective ranges do not correspond to each other, image control CPU 113 controls LCD 141 to indicate a warning sign and then change/retrieve sheet profile until a current state is established, Col 6 (lines 4 – 17); Col 7 (lines 23 – 48), Fig. 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the information processing apparatus of Shibata as taught by Noda since Noda suggested within Col 6 (lines 4 – 17) & Col 7 (lines 23 – 48) that such modification of warning the user would inform the user that parameters are not in effective range in order to suggest/recommend the user to change said parameters.
With respect to claim 14, Shibata teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the hardware processor is configured to output a control signal based on the environment information to an environment changer, the environment information comprises environment information of a sheet feeder provided in the image forming apparatus, and the hardware processor is configured to cause the environment changer to perform control in accordance with the environment information of the sheet feeder by outputting a control signal based on the environment information of the sheet feeder to the environment changer.
However, Noda teaches wherein the hardware processor is configured to output a control signal based on the environment information to an environment changer, the environment information comprises environment information of a sheet feeder provided in the image forming apparatus, and the hardware processor is configured to cause the environment changer to perform control in accordance with the environment information of the sheet feeder by outputting a control signal based on the environment information of the sheet feeder to the environment changer (e.g., configured to send a signal based on a change made in the environment information, the environment information contains information required to change setting for the job (already started), the signal is sent once the environment information is changed, Col 4 (lines 26 – 40)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the information processing apparatus of Shibata as taught by Noda since Noda suggested within Col 4 (lines 26 - 40) that such modification of changing setting for the job would correct/edit the setting for the job in order to continue/resume printing operation under accepted environment conditions.
With respect to claim 15, Shibata teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, but fails to teach wherein a screen displayed on the display based on the display information is configured to display a display icon for displaying the environment information as a pop-up.
However, Noda teaches wherein a screen displayed on the display based on the display information is configured to display a display icon for displaying the environment information as a pop-up (Noda: wherein a screen is displaying at least an icon to cause displaying environment information as a pop-up, Col 4 (lines 26 – 40); Col 7 (lines 10 – 39); Col 10 (lines 26 – 31); Figs. 7 & 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the information processing apparatus of Shibata as taught by Noda since Noda suggested within Col 4 (lines 26 – 40); Col 7 (lines 10 – 39); Col 10 (lines 26 – 31); Figs. 7 & 9 that such modification of having a display icon for causing displaying as a pop-up would overrule the system in order to force the user to take immediate action to continue printing the print job.
With respect to claim 16, Shibata teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the hardware processor is configured to generate display information whose information is narrowed down by the environment information.
However, in the same field of endeavor of collecting/acquiring humidity/temperature, Noda teaches wherein the hardware processor is configured to generate display information whose information is narrowed down by the environment information (Noda: e.g., generate display information wherein certain information is filtered or shaded, Col 6 (line 63) to Col 7 (line 4); Col 10 (lines 15 – 18)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the information processing apparatus of Shibata as taught by Noda since Noda suggested within Col 6 (line 63) to Col 7 (line 4); Col 10 (lines 15 – 18) that such modification of filtering information would reduce the amount of listing items or options in order to sort the amount of listing items or option in a reduced method; thereby convenient for the user to select a sheet profile based on the sort as desired by the user.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Patton (U.S PG Publication No. 2022/0397889 A1)1
Kawaguchi (U.S PG Publication No. 2021/0241052 A1)2
Sasaki (U.S PG Publication No. 2020/0034086 A1)3
1This reference teaches a system collecting at least job statuses, humidity, temperature and part inventory, in order to generate, together, display data that includes measured humidity, measured temperature, job statuses and/or part inventory.
2This reference teaches an information processing apparatus configured to at least collect history information indicating a history of printing by a printer and errors occurred in the printer; detect temperature and humidity; and then generate a statistical-information simultaneously with error information and type of printing media based on history information that associate at least the temperature and humidity.
3This reference teaches a print management device acquiring recovery time corresponding to an abnormality type from a printing device; acquiring a combination of temperature and humidity; and generate a statistical information according to recovering time and acquired environmental information in order to display a completion prediction time based on generated statistical information.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUAN M GUILLERMETY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2682