DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to communication filed on December 17, 2025.
Status of claims within the present application:
Claims 1 – 20 are pending.
Claims 1 – 3, 5 – 8, 10 – 14, 16, and 18 – 19 are amended.
Claims 21 – 25 are cancelled.
Response to Amendment
With regards to claim interpretations to claims 1 and 21 – 25, applicant’s amendments, see page [1] of applicant’s remarks, filed December 17, 2025, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the claim interpretations have been withdrawn.
With regards to claims 21 – 25 that were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, regards as the invention, applicant’s cancellation of claims 21 - 25, see page [1] of applicant’s remarks, filed December 17, 2025, have been fully considered. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn.
With regards to claims 1 – 20 that were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20190092053 A1 to Tanaka in view of WO 2014141139 A1 to Ignatchenko et al., (hereinafter,” Ignatchenko”) applicant’s amendments, see page [1 – 3] of applicant’s remarks, filed December 17, 2025, have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Therefore, the applicant is directed to the response below:
With respect to independent claim 1, applicant argued that the prior arts does not teach “wherein the controller is further configured so that, in a case where the update from the first data to the second data is not within the update restricted range set for the first area, the controller verifies a signature received from the external apparatus together with the first command, and, in a case where a verification result of the signature is verification success, the controller stores the second data at the first address and, in a case where the verification result of the signature is verification failure, the controller does not store the second data at the first address.” Examiner noted that the prior art of Tanaka teaches “in a case where the value of the consumption amount information (the consumption amount) is equal to or less than zero (S41: NO), in S42 the subtraction counter circuit 43 replaces the value of the consumption amount information with a value of zero after the process of reading the remaining amount information 91 (S32) and before the subtraction process (S33)” [para. 52] and the prior art of Ignatchenko teaches “the refill device 210 may receive a reply from the authorization server (e.g., the central server 230) and determine whether the reply is an authorization or denial of authorization. If the reply is a denial of authorization, the process 315 may be aborted at block 334. For example, the refill device 210 may report an error message to an operator of the device and end the refill process 315. If the reply is an authorization, the process 315 may proceed to block 332, at which the refill device 210 may forward the reply to the cartridge 110 and also perform the physical act of refilling the cartridge. In some embodiments, the reply may be encrypted by the authorization server, for example, using the authorization server's private key. The refill device 210 may use one or more of the following ways to determine whether the reply is an authorization. For example, the refill device 210 may have a copy of the public key 124 that corresponds to the authorization server's private key and may use its copy of the public key 124 to decrypt the reply. Alternatively, the authorization server may send an additional message with the reply that indicates that the request has been granted. In one embodiment, the additional message may be signed by the refill device 210's public key (taken from the database 235). In another example, the reply to be forwarded to the cartridge 110 may be a part of a larger message sent to the refill device 210. The larger message may be signed by a public key of the refill device 210. In yet another example, the refill device 210 may receive all data over a secure connection (e.g., SSL), and the received data may contain both a message for the cartridge 110 and the permission for refill.” [Para. 37]. The teaching of Tanaka map to the updating steps to determine if the it is within an accepted range or value that is presented by the consumption amount information before the subtraction process which is within the understanding of getting the value within the range. Meanwhile the teaching of Ignatchenko provides the authorization/verification steps to determine whether to store the data or not store the data. The combine teaching of the prior arts does disclose the current application. Therefore the rejection still stands.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20190092053 A1 to Tanaka in view of WO 2014141139 A1 to Ignatchenko et al., (hereinafter,” Ignatchenko”).
Regarding claim 1, Tanaka teaches a storage device comprising: a storage unit; and a controller configured to determine, when a first command to update first data stored at a first address in a first area of the storage unit to second data is received from an external apparatus, [Tanaka, para. 42 discloses the commands to overwrite information includes the write command 82 and the reset command 83. The write command 82 is generated by the controller 52, and then output from the image recording apparatus 50. Specifically, the write command 82 is output when the recording material 1 is consumed (or has been consumed) through the image recordation on the sheet(s) by the image recording apparatus 50. The write command 82 instructs the electric circuit 16 to update the remaining amount information 91. The write command 82 includes input information 82b in addition to the corresponding command identifier 82a. The input information 82b is used to overwrite the remaining amount information 91. The input information generator 52a generates the input information 82b in accordance with the consumption amount of recording material 1 consumed in the image recording. The input information 82b is then added to the write command 82.] whether or not an update from the first data to the second data is within an update restricted range set for the first area, [Tanaka, para. 48 discloses In a case where the value of the remaining amount information 91 is less than the value of the threshold information 93 (S18: NO), in S21 the controller 52 cancels start of the image recording. Para. 49 discloses In a case where the current remaining amount is equal to or larger than the threshold value (S18: YES), in S24 the controller 52 executes the image recording process.] and store the second data at the first address in a case where the update from the first data to the second data is within the update restricted range set for the first area, [Tanaka, para. 50 discloses In S33 the subtraction counter circuit 43 calculates a difference value by subtracting the consumption amount from the remaining amount. In S34 the subtraction counter circuit 43 writes (overwrites) the difference value as the updated (new) remaining amount information 91 in the remaining amount storage 31. Para. 53 discloses the remaining amount writing circuit 42 (the subtraction counter circuit 43) mounted in the circuit board 13 only permits updates of the remaining amount information 91 to be a value less than before the update. In a conceivable case where the process S42 would not be performed even if input information with a negative value is output to the interface 20, the remaining mount would increase in the subtraction process S33.] wherein the controller is further configured so that, in a case where the update from the first data to the second data is not within the update restricted range set for the first area, [Tanaka, para. 52 discloses in a case where the value of the consumption amount information (the consumption amount) is equal to or less than zero (S41: NO), in S42 the subtraction counter circuit 43 replaces the value of the consumption amount information with a value of zero after the process of reading the remaining amount information 91 (S32) and before the subtraction process (S33)], but Tanaka does not teach the controller verifies a signature received from the external apparatus together with the first command, and, in a case where a verification result of the signature is verification success, the controller stores the second data at the first address and, in a case where the verification result of the signature is verification failure, the controller does not store the second data at the first address.
However, Ignatchenko does teach the controller verifies a signature received from the external apparatus together with the first command, and, in a case where a verification result of the signature is verification success, the controller stores the second data at the first address and, [Ignatchenko, para. 37 discloses If the reply is an authorization, the process 315 may proceed to block 332, at which the refill device 210 may forward the reply to the cartridge 110 and also perform the physical act of refilling the cartridge. In some embodiments, the reply may be encrypted by the authorization server, for example, using the authorization server's private key. The refill device 210 may use one or more of the following ways to determine whether the reply is an authorization. For example, the refill device 210 may have a copy of the public key 124 that corresponds to the authorization server's private key and may use its copy of the public key 124 to decrypt the reply. Alternatively, the authorization server may send an additional message with the reply that indicates that the request has been granted. In one embodiment, the additional message may be signed by the refill device 210's public key (taken from the database 235). In another example, the reply to be forwarded to the cartridge 110 may be a part of a larger message sent to the refill device 210. The larger message may be signed by a public key of the refill device 210. In yet another example, the refill device 210 may receive all data over a secure connection (e.g., SSL), and the received data may contain both a message for the cartridge 110 and the permission for refill.] in a case where the verification result of the signature is verification failure, the controller does not store the second data at the first address. [Ignatchenko, para. 37 discloses If the reply is a denial of authorization, the process 315 may be aborted at block 334. For example, the refill device 210 may report an error message to an operator of the device and end the refill process 315.]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill within the art before the effective filling date to combine Ignatchenko’s system with Tanaka’s system, with a motivation for the refill device 210 may receive a reply from the authorization server (e.g., the central server 230) and determine whether the reply is an authorization or denial of authorization. [Ignatchenko, para. 37]
Regarding claim 2, modified Tanaka teaches the storage device according to claim 1, but Tanaka does not teach wherein the controller is further configured so that, in a case where the update from the first data to the second data is not within the update restricted range set for the first area and the signature has not been received from the external apparatus together with the first command, the controller does not store the second data at the first address.
However, Ignatchenko does teach wherein the controller is further configured so that, in a case where the update from the first data to the second data is not within the update restricted range set for the first area and the signature has not been received from the external apparatus together with the first command, the controller does not store the second data at the first address. [Ignatchenko, para. 34 discloses the reply may be generated by a central server such as the central server 230 and forwarded to the cartridge 110 by the refill device 210. At block 310, the cartridge chip 115 may validate the signature of the reply using the key 124 (e.g., by using the signature validation module 126) and validate that the received nonce (in the reply) is the same as the nonce generated at block 306. In one embodiment, the cartridge chip 115 may also ensure that the time period from sending the nonce until receiving the reply may be within a pre-defined threshold. The pre-defined threshold may be any amount of time and in one embodiment may be 15 seconds. If all validations are successful, the chip 115 may write the amount of toner (e.g., the amount of toner requested in a request for refill sent by the refill device to the central server) into the non-volatile memory 120. Para. 37 discloses If the reply is a denial of authorization, the process 315 may be aborted at block 334. For example, the refill device 210 may report an error message to an operator of the device and end the refill process 315.]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill within the art before the effective filling date to combine Ignatchenko’s system with Tanaka’s system, with a motivation for the refill device 210 may receive a reply from the authorization server (e.g., the central server 230) and determine whether the reply is an authorization or denial of authorization. [Ignatchenko, para. 37]
As per claim 3, modified Tanaka teaches the storage device according to claim 1, wherein the controller stores the second data. [Tanaka, para. 6 discloses the main body stores the recording material to be used in an image recordation process on a recording sheet by the image recording apparatus. The electric circuit is accommodated in the main body. The electric circuit includes a storage, an interface, and a reduction counter circuit. The storage stores residual amount information indicating a current residual amount of the recording material stored in the main body.]
As per claim 4, modified Tanaka teaches the storage device according to claim 1, wherein the second data is included in the first command. [Tanaka, para. 41 discloses the command to read out information includes the remaining amount checking command 81. The remaining amount checking command 81 is generated by the controller 52, and then output from the image recording apparatus 50. Specifically, the remaining amount checking command 81 is output when the image recording apparatus 50 checks the remaining amount of the recording material 1. The remaining amount checking command 81 instructs the electric circuit 16 to read and output the remaining amount information 91 and the threshold information 93.]
Regarding claim 5, modified Tanaka teaches the storage device according to claim 1, but Tanaka does not teach further comprising: a verifying unit including a signature verification key, and configured to determine, when the signature and a message is received from the controller, whether or not the signature is generated from the message using the signature verification key, and notify the controller of the verification success when determining that the signature is generated from the message, and notify the controller of the verification failure when determining that the signature is not generated from the message, wherein the controller is configured to verify the signature by receiving the message from the external apparatus together with the first command and by transmitting the message received from the external apparatus together with the first command and the signature to the verifying unit.
However, Ignatchenko does teach further comprising: a verifying unit including a signature verification key, [Ignatchenko, para. 26 discloses the key 124 may be a public encryption key of a public/private key pair. For example, the key 124 may be an Elliptic Curve Cryptography (ECC) public key (e.g., ECC-224), or an RSA public key. The signature verification module 126 may implement a signature verification algorithm based on the public key 124. For example, the signature verification module 126 may implement a secure hash algorithm (e.g., SHA-0, SHA-1, or SHA-2) and/or ECC verification.] and configured to determine, when the signature and a message is received from the controller, whether or not the signature is generated from the message using the signature verification key, [Ignatchenko, para. 34 discloses the cartridge chip 115 may validate the signature of the reply using the key 124 (e.g., by using the signature validation module 126) and validate that the received nonce (in the reply) is the same as the nonce generated at block 306.] and notify the controller of the verification success when determining that the signature is generated from the message, [Ignatchenko, para. 37 discloses If the reply is an authorization, the process 315 may proceed to block 332, at which the refill device 210 may forward the reply to the cartridge 110 and also perform the physical act of refilling the cartridge.] and notify the controller of the verification failure when determining that the signature is not generated from the message, [Ignatchenko, para. 37 discloses If the reply is a denial of authorization, the process 315 may be aborted at block 334. For example, the refill device 210 may report an error message to an operator of the device and end the refill process 315.] wherein the controller is configured to verify the signature by receiving the message from the external apparatus together with the first command and by transmitting the message received from the external apparatus together with the first command and the signature to the verifying unit. [Ignatchenko, para. 34 discloses the reply may be generated by a central server such as the central server 230 and forwarded to the cartridge 110 by the refill device 210. At block 310, the cartridge chip 115 may validate the signature of the reply using the key 124 (e.g., by using the signature validation module 126) and validate that the received nonce (in the reply) is the same as the nonce generated at block 306. In one embodiment, the cartridge chip 115 may also ensure that the time period from sending the nonce until receiving the reply may be within a pre-defined threshold. The pre-defined threshold may be any amount of time and in one embodiment may be 15 seconds. Para. 37 discloses the refill device 210 may have a copy of the public key 124 that corresponds to the authorization server's private key and may use its copy of the public key 124 to decrypt the reply.]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill within the art before the effective filling date to combine Ignatchenko’s system with Tanaka’s system, with a motivation for the refill device 210 may receive a reply from the authorization server (e.g., the central server 230) and determine whether the reply is an authorization or denial of authorization. [Ignatchenko, para. 37]
Regarding claim 6, modified Tanaka teaches the storage device according to claim 5, but Tanaka does not teach wherein the controller is further configured so that, in a case where the message does not include predetermined data stored at a predetermined address of the storage unit, the controller does not verify the signature and does not to store the second data at the first address.
However, Ignatchenko does teach wherein the controller is further configured so that, in a case where the message does not include predetermined data stored at a predetermined address of the storage unit, the controller does not verify the signature and does not to store the second data at the first address. [Ignatchenko, para. 34 discloses the reply may be generated by a central server such as the central server 230 and forwarded to the cartridge 110 by the refill device 210. At block 310, the cartridge chip 115 may validate the signature of the reply using the key 124 (e.g., by using the signature validation module 126) and validate that the received nonce (in the reply) is the same as the nonce generated at block 306. In one embodiment, the cartridge chip 115 may also ensure that the time period from sending the nonce until receiving the reply may be within a pre-defined threshold. The pre-defined threshold may be any amount of time and in one embodiment may be 15 seconds. If all validations are successful, the chip 115 may write the amount of toner (e.g., the amount of toner requested in a request for refill sent by the refill device to the central server) into the non-volatile memory 120. Para. 37 discloses If the reply is a denial of authorization, the process 315 may be aborted at block 334. For example, the refill device 210 may report an error message to an operator of the device and end the refill process 315.]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill within the art before the effective filling date to combine Ignatchenko’s system with Tanaka’s system, with a motivation for the refill device 210 may receive a reply from the authorization server (e.g., the central server 230) and determine whether the reply is an authorization or denial of authorization. [Ignatchenko, para. 37]
Regarding claim 7, modified Tanaka teaches the storage device according to claim 5, Tanaka does not teach wherein the controller is further configured so that, in a case where the message does not include a random number transmitted to the external apparatus by the controller before the first command is received from the external apparatus or a value indicating a number of updates of data stored at the first address, the controller does not verify the signature and not to store the second data at the first address.
However, Ignatchenko does teach wherein the controller is further configured so that, in a case where the message does not include a random number transmitted to the external apparatus by the controller before the first command is received from the external apparatus or a value indicating a number of updates of data stored at the first address, the controller does not verify the signature and not to store the second data at the first address. [Ignatchenko, para. 34 discloses the reply may be generated by a central server such as the central server 230 and forwarded to the cartridge 110 by the refill device 210. At block 310, the cartridge chip 115 may validate the signature of the reply using the key 124 (e.g., by using the signature validation module 126) and validate that the received nonce (in the reply) is the same as the nonce generated at block 306. In one embodiment, the cartridge chip 115 may also ensure that the time period from sending the nonce until receiving the reply may be within a pre-defined threshold. The pre-defined threshold may be any amount of time and in one embodiment may be 15 seconds. If all validations are successful, the chip 115 may write the amount of toner (e.g., the amount of toner requested in a request for refill sent by the refill device to the central server) into the non-volatile memory 120. Para. 37 discloses If the reply is a denial of authorization, the process 315 may be aborted at block 334. For example, the refill device 210 may report an error message to an operator of the device and end the refill process 315.]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill within the art before the effective filling date to combine Ignatchenko’s system with Tanaka’s system, with a motivation for the refill device 210 may receive a reply from the authorization server (e.g., the central server 230) and determine whether the reply is an authorization or denial of authorization. [Ignatchenko, para. 37]
Regarding claim 8, it recites features similar to features within claim 5, therefore, it is rejected in a similar manner.
As per claim 9, modified Tanaka teaches the storage device according to claim 8, wherein the predetermined data includes specific information of the storage device or a unit using the storage device. [Tanaka, para. 36 discloses the threshold information 93 indicates a prescribed threshold value and is information used to determine whether the user is notified that the remaining amount of the recording material 1 is small. The threshold information 93 is compared with the remaining amount information 91. Para. 49 discloses the write command 82 may be transmitted in S26 each time a prescribed amount of the image recordation is performed, for example, each time a prescribed area of the image is recorded or prescribed number of sheets is recorded.]
As per claim 10, modified Tanaka teaches the storage device according to claim 8, wherein the controller is configured to generate the message based on the predetermined data and the second data. [Tanaka, para. 49 discloses the write command 82 may be transmitted in S26 each time a prescribed amount of the image recordation is performed, for example, each time a prescribed area of the image is recorded or prescribed number of sheets is recorded.]
Regarding claim 11, modified Tanaka teaches the storage device according to claim 8, but Tanaka does not teach wherein the controller is configured to generate the message based on the predetermined data and a random number transmitted to the external apparatus before the first command is received from the external apparatus.
However, Ignatchenko does teach wherein the controller is configured to generate the message based on the predetermined data and a random number transmitted to the external apparatus before the first command is received from the external apparatus. [Ignatchenko, para. 43 discloses a print job from a computer (not shown) may be received by the printing device 140. The printing device 140 may estimate how much toner it needs to perform this job and generate a random number R using the RNG 142. The estimated amount of toner needed may be referred to as DINC. At block 404, the printing device 140 may generate or obtain an operation input value RR. In some embodiments, the operation input value RR may be a set of random bits.]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill within the art before the effective filling date to combine Ignatchenko’s system with Tanaka’s system, with a motivation for the refill device 210 may receive a reply from the authorization server (e.g., the central server 230) and determine whether the reply is an authorization or denial of authorization. [Ignatchenko, para. 37]
Regarding claim 12, modified Tanaka teaches the storage device according to claim 11, but Tanaka does not teach wherein the controller is further configured so that, in a case where the update from the first data to the second data is not within the update restricted range set for the first area and the random number has not been transmitted to the external apparatus before the first command is received from the external apparatus, even if the signature is received together with the first command from the external apparatus, the controller does not verify the signature and does not to store the second data at the first address.
However, Ignatchenko does teach wherein the controller is further configured so that, in a case where the update from the first data to the second data is not within the update restricted range set for the first area and the random number has not been transmitted to the external apparatus before the first command is received from the external apparatus, [Ignatchenko, para. 45 discloses the response, for example, may include a calculation result generated by the computation module 128. Then at block 410, the printing device 140 may determine whether the response matches an expected value and, optionally, may determine whether the response is received within a pre-defined time threshold. The pre-defined time threshold may be any finite amount of time. Para. 47 discloses If, however, the calculation result check fails (and/or the result is received outside the pre-defined time threshold), then process 400 may proceed to block 414, at which the print job may be aborted and an error may be reported (e.g., on a user interface of the printing device 140, and/or sent to a computer that sends the print job, and/or sent to a monitoring device coupled to the printing device 140).] even if the signature is received together with the first command from the external apparatus, [Ignatchenko, para. 37 discloses If the reply is a denial of authorization, the process 315 may be aborted at block 334. For example, the refill device 210 may report an error message to an operator of the device and end the refill process 315.] the controller does not verify the signature and does not to store the second data at the first address. [Ignatchenko, para. 34 discloses the reply may be generated by a central server such as the central server 230 and forwarded to the cartridge 110 by the refill device 210. At block 310, the cartridge chip 115 may validate the signature of the reply using the key 124 (e.g., by using the signature validation module 126) and validate that the received nonce (in the reply) is the same as the nonce generated at block 306. In one embodiment, the cartridge chip 115 may also ensure that the time period from sending the nonce until receiving the reply may be within a pre-defined threshold. The pre-defined threshold may be any amount of time and in one embodiment may be 15 seconds. If all validations are successful, the chip 115 may write the amount of toner (e.g., the amount of toner requested in a request for refill sent by the refill device to the central server) into the non-volatile memory 120. Para. 37 discloses If the reply is a denial of authorization, the process 315 may be aborted at block 334. For example, the refill device 210 may report an error message to an operator of the device and end the refill process 315.]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill within the art before the effective filling date to combine Ignatchenko’s system with Tanaka’s system, with a motivation for the refill device 210 may receive a reply from the authorization server (e.g., the central server 230) and determine whether the reply is an authorization or denial of authorization. [Ignatchenko, para. 37]
Regarding claim 13, modified Tanaka teaches the storage device according to claim 11, but Tanaka does not teach wherein the controller is configured to manage a maximum number of data updates outside of the update restricted range set for the first area, and in a case where the update from the first data to the second data is not within the update restricted range set for the first area and a number of updates of the first address has reached the maximum number, even if the signature is received together with the first command from the external apparatus, the controller is configured not to verify the signature and not to store the second data at the first address.
However, Ignatchenko does teach wherein the controller is configured to manage a maximum number of data updates outside of the update restricted range set for the first area, and in a case where the update from the first data to the second data is not within the update restricted range set for the first area and a number of updates of the first address has reached the maximum number, [Ignatchenko, para. 51 discloses the determination at block 424 may be performed by tracking the amount of toner used from the cartridge (instead of the amount of toner remaining in the cartridge). More particularly, for example, the cartridge chip may record the amount of toner used from the cartridge by keeping a cumulative sum of the amounts DINC and comparing that cumulative sum to the maximum capacity of the toner cartridge. In other words, the comparison at block 424 may be performed by subtracting the amount of toner that would be used (i.e., all amounts used since the toner was last filled or refilled and the amount to be used presently) from the maximum toner capacity of the cartridge. In such an embodiment, at block 428 the process 420 may add the amount of toner used during the current print job to the amount of toner used in all print jobs since the cartridge was last filled or refilled and store that value in the memory 120.] even if the signature is received together with the first command from the external apparatus, [Ignatchenko, para. 37 discloses If the reply is a denial of authorization, the process 315 may be aborted at block 334. For example, the refill device 210 may report an error message to an operator of the device and end the refill process 315.] the controller is configured not to verify the signature and not to store the second data at the first address. [Ignatchenko, para. 34 discloses the reply may be generated by a central server such as the central server 230 and forwarded to the cartridge 110 by the refill device 210. At block 310, the cartridge chip 115 may validate the signature of the reply using the key 124 (e.g., by using the signature validation module 126) and validate that the received nonce (in the reply) is the same as the nonce generated at block 306. In one embodiment, the cartridge chip 115 may also ensure that the time period from sending the nonce until receiving the reply may be within a pre-defined threshold. The pre-defined threshold may be any amount of time and in one embodiment may be 15 seconds. If all validations are successful, the chip 115 may write the amount of toner (e.g., the amount of toner requested in a request for refill sent by the refill device to the central server) into the non-volatile memory 120. Para. 37 discloses If the reply is a denial of authorization, the process 315 may be aborted at block 334. For example, the refill device 210 may report an error message to an operator of the device and end the refill process 315.]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill within the art before the effective filling date to combine Ignatchenko’s system with Tanaka’s system, with a motivation for the refill device 210 may receive a reply from the authorization server (e.g., the central server 230) and determine whether the reply is an authorization or denial of authorization. [Ignatchenko, para. 37]
Regarding claim 14, modified Tanaka teaches the storage device according to claim 1, but Tanaka does not teach wherein the controller is further configured so that, in a case where the update from the first data to the second data is not within the update restricted range set for the first area and a verification result of the signature is the verification success, the controller stores the second data at the first address after storing the first data at a backup address determined from the first address.
However, Ignatchenko does teach wherein the controller is further configured so that, in a case where the update from the first data to the second data is not within the update restricted range set for the first area and a verification result of the signature is the verification success, [Ignatchenko, para. 34 discloses the reply may be generated by a central server such as the central server 230 and forwarded to the cartridge 110 by the refill device 210. At block 310, the cartridge chip 115 may validate the signature of the reply using the key 124 (e.g., by using the signature validation module 126) and validate that the received nonce (in the reply) is the same as the nonce generated at block 306. In one embodiment, the cartridge chip 115 may also ensure that the time period from sending the nonce until receiving the reply may be within a pre-defined threshold. The pre-defined threshold may be any amount of time and in one embodiment may be 15 seconds. Para. 37 discloses If the reply is an authorization, the process 315 may proceed to block 332, at which the refill device 210 may forward the reply to the cartridge 110 and also perform the physical act of refilling the cartridge. In some embodiments, the reply may be encrypted by the authorization server, for example, using the authorization server's private key. The refill device 210 may use one or more of the following ways to determine whether the reply is an authorization.] the controller stores the second data at the first address after storing the first data at a backup address determined from the first address. [Ignatchenko, para. 37 discloses the refill device 210 may use one or more of the following ways to determine whether the reply is an authorization. For example, the refill device 210 may have a copy of the public key 124 that corresponds to the authorization server's private key and may use its copy of the public key 124 to decrypt the reply. Alternatively, the authorization server may send an additional message with the reply that indicates that the request has been granted. In one embodiment, the additional message may be signed by the refill device 210's public key (taken from the database 235). In another example, the reply to be forwarded to the cartridge 110 may be a part of a larger message sent to the refill device 210. The larger message may be signed by a public key of the refill device 210. In yet another example, the refill device 210 may receive all data over a secure connection (e.g., SSL), and the received data may contain both a message for the cartridge 110 and the permission for refill.]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill within the art before the effective filling date to combine Ignatchenko’s system with Tanaka’s system, with a motivation for the refill device 210 may receive a reply from the authorization server (e.g., the central server 230) and determine whether the reply is an authorization or denial of authorization. [Ignatchenko, para. 37]
As per claim 15, modified Tanaka teaches the storage device according to claim 1, wherein the first area includes one or more areas from among an area provided with the update restriction of only allowing an update to increase a data value, [Tanaka, para. 6 discloses The reduction counter circuit is configured to: subtract the consumption amount based on the consumption amount information from the current residual amount to acquire the updated residual amount; and update the residual amount information in the storage so that the residual amount information indicates the updated residual amount in a case where the consumption amount is larger than zero.] an area with the update restriction of only allowing an update to decrease a data value, [Tanaka, para. 28 discloses Operation in the image recording apparatus 50 gradually decreases the remaining amount of the recording material 1 in the recording material cartridge 10 attached to the cartridge attachment portion 51. After the recording material cartridge 10 is emptied, the user removes the empty recording material cartridge 10 from the cartridge attachment portion 51. Then, the user newly attaches a recording material cartridge 10 filled with the recording material 1 to the cartridge attachment portion 51.] an area provided with the update restriction of only allowing a data value to be updated once, [Tanaka, para. 28 discloses the “reused cartridge” refers to the recording material cartridge 10 produced by refilling the recording material 1 into the storage chamber 12 of the recording material cartridge 10 that has been used at least once. The “new cartridge” refers to the recording material cartridge 10 that has yet to be used after the cartridge manufacturer shipped, or the recording material cartridge 10 that has never been refilled with the recording material 1.] and an area provided with the update restriction of not allowing a data value to be updated. [Tanaka, para. 37 discloses the various specification information 94 is also stored in the corresponding readable/writable device. The threshold information 93 may be stored in a read-only device since the threshold information 93 does not particularly need to be rewritten.]
As per claim 16, modified Tanaka teaches the storage device according to claim 15, wherein the controller is further configured to determine, when a second command to update third data stored at a second address in a second area of the storage unit different from the first area to fourth data is received from the external apparatus, [Tanaka, para. 42 discloses the commands to overwrite information includes the write command 82 and the reset command 83. The write command 82 is generated by the controller 52, and then output from the image recording apparatus 50. Specifically, the write command 82 is output when the recording material 1 is consumed (or has been consumed) through the image recordation on the sheet(s) by the image recording apparatus 50. The write command 82 instructs the electric circuit 16 to update the remaining amount information 91. The write command 82 includes input information 82b in addition to the corresponding command identifier 82a. The input information 82b is used to overwrite the remaining amount information 91. The input information generator 52a generates the input information 82b in accordance with the consumption amount of recording material 1 consumed in the image recording. The input information 82b is then added to the write command 82.] whether or not an update from the third data to the fourth data is within an update restricted range set for the second area, [Tanaka, para. 52 discloses in a case where the value of the consumption amount information (the consumption amount) is equal to or less than zero (S41: NO), in S42 the subtraction counter circuit 43 replaces the value of the consumption amount information with a value of zero after the process of reading the remaining amount information 91 (S32) and before the subtraction process (S33)], but Tanaka does not teach store the fourth data at the second address in a case where the update from the third data to the fourth data is within the update restricted range set for the second area.
However, Ignatchenko does teach store the fourth data at the second address in a case where the update from the third data to the fourth data is within the update restricted range set for the second area. [Ignatchenko, para. 37 discloses If the reply is an authorization, the process 315 may proceed to block 332, at which the refill device 210 may forward the reply to the cartridge 110 and also perform the physical act of refilling the cartridge. In some embodiments, the reply may be encrypted by the authorization server, for example, using the authorization server's private key. The refill device 210 may use one or more of the following ways to determine whether the reply is an authorization. For example, the refill device 210 may have a copy of the public key 124 that corresponds to the authorization server's private key and may use its copy of the public key 124 to decrypt the reply. Alternatively, the authorization server may send an additional message with the reply that indicates that the request has been granted. In one embodiment, the additional message may be signed by the refill device 210's public key (taken from the database 235). In another example, the reply to be forwarded to the cartridge 110 may be a part of a larger message sent to the refill device 210. The larger message may be signed by a public key of the refill device 210. In yet another example, the refill device 210 may receive all data over a secure connection (e.g., SSL), and the received data may contain both a message for the cartridge 110 and the permission for refill.]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill within the art before the effective filling date to combine Ignatchenko’s system with Tanaka’s system, with a motivation for the refill device 210 may receive a reply from the authorization server (e.g., the central server 230) and determine whether the reply is an authorization or denial of authorization. [Ignatchenko, para. 37]
Regarding claim 17, it recites features similar to features within claim 15, therefore, it is rejected in a similar manner.
As per claim 18, modified Tanaka teaches the storage device according to claim 15, wherein the controller is further configured to store, when a third command to update fifth data stored at a third address in a third area, to which an update restriction is not set, different from the first area of the storage unit to sixth data is received from the external apparatus, the sixth data at the third address. [Tanaka, para. 42 discloses the commands to overwrite information includes the write command 82 and the reset command 83. The write command 82 is generated by the controller 52, and then output from the image recording apparatus 50. Specifically, the write command 82 is output when the recording material 1 is consumed (or has been consumed) through the image recordation on the sheet(s) by the image recording apparatus 50. The write command 82 instructs the electric circuit 16 to update the remaining amount information 91. Para. 48 discloses In a case where the value of the remaining amount information 91 is less than the value of the threshold information 93 (S18: NO), in S21 the controller 52 cancels start of the image recording. Para. 49 discloses In a case where the current remaining amount is equal to or larger than the threshold value (S18: YES), in S24 the controller 52 executes the image recording process.]
Regarding claim 19, it recites features similar to features within claim 1, therefore, it is rejected in a similar manner.
Regarding claim 20, modified Tanaka teaches the replaceable unit according to claim 19, but Tanaka does not teach wherein the main body of the image forming apparatus is configured to be unable to generate the signature.
However, Ignatchenko does teach store wherein the main body of the image forming apparatus is configured to be unable to generate the signature. [Ignatchenko, para. 41 discloses When a request to refill is received, the server 230, using the chip ID, may obtain the public key corresponding to the private key and verify the signature. If the signature verification fails, the request for refill may be denied.]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill within the art before the effective filling date to combine Ignatchenko’s system with Tanaka’s system, with a motivation for the refill device 210 may receive a reply from the authorization server (e.g., the central server 230) and determine whether the reply is an authorization or denial of authorization. [Ignatchenko, para. 37]
Regarding claim 21, Tanaka teaches a processing apparatus for updating data stored in a storage device provided in a replaceable unit of an apparatus, comprising: a generation unit configured to generate a message in a case of updating first data stored at a first address in a first area, to which an update restriction is set, in the storage device to second data; [Tanaka, para. 42 discloses the commands to overwrite information includes the write command 82 and the reset command 83. The write command 82 is generated by the controller 52, and then output from the image recording apparatus 50. Specifically, the write command 82 is output when the recording material 1 is consumed (or has been consumed) through the image recordation on the sheet(s) by the image recording apparatus 50. The write command 82 instructs the electric circuit 16 to update the remaining amount information 91. The write command 82 includes input information 82b in addition to the corresponding command identifier 82a. The input information 82b is used to overwrite the remaining amount information 91. The input information generator 52a generates the input information 82b in accordance with the consumption amount of recording material 1 consumed in the image recording. The input information 82b is then added to the write command 82.] and a transmitting unit configured to transmit the signature to the storage device together with a command to store the second data at the first address [Tanaka, para. 50 discloses In S33 the subtraction counter circuit 43 calculates a difference value by subtracting the consumption amount from the remaining amount. In S34 the subtraction counter circuit 43 writes (overwrites) the difference value as the updated (new) remaining amount information 91 in the remaining amount storage 31. Para. 53 discloses the remaining amount writing circuit 42 (the subtraction counter circuit 43) mounted in the circuit board 13 only permits updates of the remaining amount information 91 to be a value less than before the update. In a conceivable case where the process S42 would not be performed even if input information with a negative value is output to the interface 20, the remaining mount would increase in the subtraction process S33.], but Tanaka does not teach an obtaining unit configured to obtain a signature generated based on a signature generation key corresponding to a signature verification key included in the storage device and the message;
However, Ignatchenko does teach an obtaining unit configured to obtain a signature generated based on a signature generation key corresponding to a signature verification key included in the storage device and the message; [Ignatchenko, para. 37 discloses If the reply is an authorization, the process 315 may proceed to block 332, at which the refill device 210 may forward the reply to the cartridge 110 and also perform the physical act of refilling the cartridge. In some embodiments, the reply may be encrypted by the authorization server, for example, using the authorization server's private key. The refill device 210 may use one or more of the following ways to determine whether the reply is an authorization. For example, the refill device 210 may have a copy of the public key 124 that corresponds to the authorization server's private key and may use its copy of the public key 124 to decrypt the reply. Alternatively, the authorization server may send an additional message with the reply that indicates that the request has been granted. In one embodiment, the additional message may be signed by the refill device 210's public key (taken from the database 235). In another example, the reply to be forwarded to the cartridge 110 may be a part of a larger message sent to the refill device 210. The larger message may be signed by a public key of the refill device 210. In yet another example, the refill device 210 may receive all data over a secure connection (e.g., SSL), and the received data may contain both a message for the cartridge 110 and the permission for refill.]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill within the art before the effective filling date to combine Ignatchenko’s system with Tanaka’s system, with a motivation for the refill device 210 may receive a reply from the authorization server (e.g., the central server 230) and determine whether the reply is an authorization or denial of authorization. [Ignatchenko, para. 37]
Regarding claims 22 – 23, they recite features similar to features within claim 10, therefore, they are rejected in a similar manner.
Regarding claim 24, it recites features similar to features within claim 11, therefore, it is rejected in a similar manner.
Regarding claim 25, modified Tanaka teaches the processing apparatus according to claim 21, but Tanaka does not teach wherein the obtaining unit is configured to transmit the message to a server apparatus via a network and obtain the signature from the server apparatus.
However, Ignatchenko does teach wherein the obtaining unit is configured to transmit the message to a server apparatus via a network and obtain the signature from the server apparatus. [Ignatchenko, para. 37 discloses If the reply is an authorization, the process 315 may proceed to block 332, at which the refill device 210 may forward the reply to the cartridge 110 and also perform the physical act of refilling the cartridge. In some embodiments, the reply may be encrypted by the authorization server, for example, using the authorization server's private key. The refill device 210 may use one or more of the following ways to determine whether the reply is an authorization. For example, the refill device 210 may have a copy of the public key 124 that corresponds to the authorization server's private key and may use its copy of the public key 124 to decrypt the reply. Alternatively, the authorization server may send an additional message with the reply that indicates that the request has been granted. In one embodiment, the additional message may be signed by the refill device 210's public key (taken from the database 235). In another example, the reply to be forwarded to the cartridge 110 may be a part of a larger message sent to the refill device 210. The larger message may be signed by a public key of the refill device 210. In yet another example, the refill device 210 may receive all data over a secure connection (e.g., SSL), and the received data may contain both a message for the cartridge 110 and the permission for refill.]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill within the art before the effective filling date to combine Ignatchenko’s system with Tanaka’s system, with a motivation for the refill device 210 may receive a reply from the authorization server (e.g., the central server 230) and determine whether the reply is an authorization or denial of authorization. [Ignatchenko, para. 37]
Conclusion
Pertinent prior art made of record however not relied upon:
US 10474097 B2 to Namiki et al.
“An image forming apparatus to which a cartridge including an electronic storage device can detachably be attached, comprises: an obtaining unit that obtains control information used for image formation from a first area of the electronic storage device and obtain determination information used to determine correctness of the control information stored in the first area from a second area configured to store the determination information; a determination unit that determines the correctness of the control information based on the control information and the determination information; and a controller that, if the determination unit determines that the control information is correct, controls image formation using the control information obtained by the obtaining unit.”
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/P.P./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2408
/LINGLAN EDWARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2408