DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4, the claim recite “a surface of the light-permeable portions is flush with the or lower than,” which is incomplete and unclear, as it does not clearly identify the surface with which it is flush with.
According to Applicant’s disclosure, the light-permeable portions are described as being “flush with or lower than the front side 11a of the reflective cover 11”. Therefore, the Examiner interprets claim 4 as reciting that a surface of the light-permeable portions is flush with or lower than the front side of the reflective cover.
Regarding claim 18, the claim recite “the ramp section” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 7-11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHEN et al. (US 2020/0333908 hereinafter refer as “CHEN”) in view of Tsuji (US 2002/0000056).
Regarding claim 1. CHEN discloses a display device (100), comprising: a cover (130, see Fig. 1, Para. 0042) disposed having a plurality of segments (seven-segment display corresponding to the light transmission areas 134, see Fig. 1, Para. 0042) formed on a front side of the cover and a plurality of segment structures (accommodating section 138, see Fig. 2, Para. 0043) correspondingly formed on a rear side of the cover (see Fig. 2); wherein a notch (see Fig. 2 annotated below) is formed at each of the segment structures, and an inner channel (see Fig. 2 annotated below) is formed between at least two adjacent ones of the segment structures and wherein positions of the notches of the at least two adjacent ones of the segment structures are not opposite to each other.
However, CHEN is silent as to whether the cover is a reflective.
Tsuji teaches a housing of a display device, comprising: a reflective cover (3, see Fig. 1(c), Para. 0036 and 0050) having a plurality of segments (32, see Fig. 2, Para. 0036 and 0044) formed on a front side of the reflective cover and a plurality of segment structures (see Fig. 1(C)) correspondingly formed on a rear side (35c, see Para. 0037) of the reflective cover.
Therefore, in view of Tsuji, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify CHEN by forming the cover as a reflective cover in order to prevent light leakage into adjacent segments or to the outside of the reflecting case, thereby ensuring that undesired segments are not illuminated, as suggested by Tsuji. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination to improve the display system.
Regarding claim 2. The teachings of CHEN have been discussed above.
However, CHEN does not explicitly disclose that a distance between the notches of the at least two adjacent ones of the segment structures is 0.5 to 2 times a length of the segment.
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify CHEN such that the distance between the notches of the at least two adjacent ones of the segment structures is 0.5 to 2 times a length of the segment as claimed, in order to provide an effective spacing between adjacent segments, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only ordinary skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. In this case, CHEN teaches the general structural configuration of the segments and notches, and the claimed distance range merely represent an optimization of spacing between adjacent segments to achieve effective structural performance.
Regarding claim 7. CHEN further disclose a placement of a gate (e.g. fixing member 142, see Fig. 2, Para. 0044) is between the at least two adjacent ones of the segment structures on the rear side of the reflective cover, and each of the notches of the at least two adjacent ones of the segment structures is located at a position away from the predetermined position of the gate.
Regarding claim 8. CHEN further disclose the reflective cover (130) includes a frame and a plurality of partitions (see Fig. 2), and the plurality of segment structures are defined by adjacent ones of the plurality of partitions.
Regarding claim 9. CHEN discloses a display device (100), comprising: a circuit substrate (110, see Fig. 1, Para. 0034); a cover (130, see Fig. 1, Para. 0042) disposed on the circuit substrate and having a plurality of segments (134, see Fig. 1, Para. 0042) formed on a front side of the cover and a plurality of segment structures (accommodating section 138, see Fig. 2, Para. 0043) correspondingly formed on a rear side of the cover (see Fig. 2); a plurality of light-emitting units (118, see Fig. 1, Para. 0042) respectively disposed in the segment structures and electrically connected to the circuit substrate (see Para. 0042), wherein a notch (see Fig. 2 annotated above) is formed at each of the segment structures (see Fig. 2), and positions of the notches of at least two adjacent ones of the segment structures are not opposite to each other.
However, CHEN is silent as to whether the cover is a reflective.
Tsuji teaches a housing of a display device, comprising: a reflective cover (3, see Fig. 1(c), Para. 0036 and 0050) having a plurality of segments (32, see Fig. 2, Para. 0036 and 0044) formed on a front side of the reflective cover and a plurality of segment structures (see Fig. 1(C)) correspondingly formed on a rear side (35c, see Para. 0037) of the reflective cover.
Therefore, in view of Tsuji, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify CHEN by forming the cover as a reflective cover in order to prevent light leakage into adjacent segments or to the outside of the reflecting case, thereby ensuring that undesired segments are not illuminated, as suggested by Tsuji. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination to improve the display system.
Regarding claim 10. CHEN further discloses the reflective cover (130, see Fig. 2) includes a frame and a plurality of partitions (see Fig. 2), and the plurality of partitions are disposed between at least two adjacent ones of the light-emitting units (118, see Fig. 1); wherein the frame, the partitions, and the light-emitting units have a relation of X−Y<Z, where X is a thickness of the frame, Y is a thickness of the partitions, and Z is a height of the light-emitting units.
Regarding claim 11. The teachings of CHEN have been discussed above.
However, CHEN is silent at least one of the plurality of partitions disposed between the at least two adjacent ones of the light-emitting units has a rough surface or has carbon black or a light-absorbing film provided thereon.
Tsuji further teaches the reflecting case (3) is made of resin, and the inner walls of the light conducting portions are colored in a light-reflective color whereas the remaining outer surface of the reflecting case inclusive of the bottom is colored in light-absorptive color (see Para. 0018).
Therefore, in view of Tsuji, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify CHEN’s light-emitting units to have a rough surface or has carbon black or a light-absorbing film provided thereon so that the light does not leak into an adjacent segment or the outside of the reflecting case, as suggested by Tsuji. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination to improve the display system.
Regarding claim 13. The teachings of CHEN have been discussed above.
However, CHEN does not explicitly disclose that a distance between the notches of the at least two adjacent ones of the segment structures is 0.5 to 2 times a length of the segment.
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify CHEN such that the distance between the notches of the at least two adjacent ones of the segment structures is 0.5 to 2 times a length of the segment as claimed, in order to provide an effective spacing between adjacent segments, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only ordinary skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. In this case, CHEN teaches the general structural configuration of the segments and notches, and the claimed distance range merely represent an optimization of spacing between adjacent segments to achieve effective structural performance.
Claims 3-6, 12, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHEN in view of Tsuji and further in view of Wan et al. (US 8,485,709 hereinafter refer as “Wan”).
Regarding claims 3-5. CHEN further disclose a plurality of first light transmission areas (134, see Figs. 1 and 2, Para. 0042), and the plurality of segments correspond to the plurality of light transmission areas respectively; wherein a surface of the light-permeable portions (134) is flush with or lower than front side of the reflective cover (see Fig. 1).
However, CHEN does not explicitly disclose the light transmission areas includes a light-permeable body that includes a communication portion that connects at least two adjacent ones of the light-permeable portions in the inner channel; wherein a thickness of the at least two adjacent ones of the light-permeable portions is different from a thickness of the communication portion; wherein the communication portion is formed by a plurality of step sections, by a plurality of slope sections, or by a combination of the plurality of step sections and the plurality of slope sections being connected to each other.
Tsuji further teaches the light-permeable body (light-permeable resin 4, see Fig. 2(c), Para. 0036); inner channel a plurality of light-permeable portions (see Figs. 2(a) and 2(c), Para. 0036), and the plurality of segments (32) correspond to the plurality of light-permeable portions (4), respectively.
Wan teaches a light-permeable body (6) including a cover (5, see Fig. 3) with segment; a communication portion (light conductive panel 7, see Fig. 3) that connects at least two adjacent ones of the light-permeable portions (6, see Fig. 3) in the inner channel; wherein a thickness of the at least two adjacent ones of the light-permeable portions is different from a thickness of the communication portion; wherein a surface of the light-permeable portions (6) is flush with or lower than front side of the cover (5, see Figs. 3 and 4); wherein the communication portion is formed by a plurality of step sections (sections withing the light conducting portions 32 and outside light conducting portion 32, see Fig. 2(c)), by a plurality of slope sections, or by a combination of the plurality of step sections and the plurality of slope sections being connected to each other.
Therefore, in view of Tsuji and Wan, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify CHEN such that the light transmission areas includes a light-permeable body having a communication portion that connects at least two adjacent light-permeable portions within an inner channel; wherein a thickness of the at least two adjacent ones of the light-permeable portions is different from a thickness of the communication portion and as claimed, thereby effectively controlling light within each segment. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination to improve the display system.
Regarding claim 6. The teachings of CHEN in view of Tsuji have been discussed above.
However, CHEN in view of Tsuji and Wan is silent with respect to the plurality of light-permeable portions are connected with the communication portion at a junction having an overlapping thickness in a thickness direction, and the overlapping thickness is greater than 15% and less than 35% of a thickness of the plurality of light-permeable portions.
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify CHEN such that the light-permeable portions are connected with the communication portion at a junction having an overlapping thickness in a thickness direction, and the overlapping thickness is greater than 15% and less than 35% of a thickness of the plurality of light-permeable portions, as claimed, in order to provide an effective thickness, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only ordinary skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. In this case, CHEN in view of Tsuji and Wan teaches the general structural conditions of the claimed junction.
Regarding claim 12. CHEN further disclose at least one of the plurality of partitions disposed between the at least two adjacent ones of the light-emitting units (134, see Figs. 1 and 2, Para. 0042).
However, CHEN does not explicitly disclose includes an extension portion of the light-permeable body, and the extension portion of the light-permeable body on the plurality of partitions has a rough surface or has carbon black or a light-absorbing film provided thereon.
Tsuji further teaches the light-permeable body (light-permeable resin 4, see Fig. 2(c), Para. 0036) includes a plurality of light-permeable portions (see Figs. 2(a) and 2(c), Para. 0036), and the plurality of segments (32) correspond to the plurality of light-permeable portions (4), respectively; the reflecting case (3) is made of resin, and the inner walls of the light conducting portions are colored in a light-reflective color whereas the remaining outer surface of the reflecting case inclusive of the bottom is colored in light-absorptive color (see Para. 0018).
Wan teaches a light-permeable body (6) including a cover (5, see Fig. 3) with segment; a communication portion (light conductive panel 7, see Fig. 3) that connects at least two adjacent ones of the light-permeable portions (6, see Fig. 3) in the inner channel; wherein a thickness of the at least two adjacent ones of the light-permeable portions is different from a thickness of the communication portion; wherein a surface of the light-permeable portions (6) is flush with or lower than front side of the cover (5, see Figs. 3 and 4); wherein the communication portion is formed by a plurality of step sections (sections withing the light conducting portions 32 and outside light conducting portion 32, see Fig. 2(c)), by a plurality of slope sections, or by a combination of the plurality of step sections and the plurality of slope sections being connected to each other.
Therefore, in view of Tsuji and Wan, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify CHEN such that the light transmission areas includes a light-permeable body having a light-emitting units to have a rough surface or has carbon black or a light-absorbing film provided thereon so that the light does not leak into an adjacent segment or the outside of the reflecting case, as suggested by Tsuji and Wan. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination to improve the display system.
Regarding claims 14 and 15. CHEN discloses a display device (100), comprising: a circuit substrate (110, see Fig. 1, Para. 0034); a plurality of light-emitting units (118, see Fig. 1, Para. 0042) disposed on the circuit substrate; a cover (130, see Fig. 1, Para. 0042) having a plurality of segments (accommodating section 138, see Fig. 2, Para. 0043) formed on a front side of the cover and arranged to substantially form a shape of a FIG. 8, and a plurality of segment structures correspondingly formed on a rear side of the cover; wherein each of the segment structures has a notch (see Fig. 2 annotated above) formed thereat, and wherein positions of the notches of at least two adjacent ones of the segment structures are not opposite to each other; a plurality of first light transmission areas (134, see Figs. 1 and 2, Para. 0042); wherein at least two adjacent ones of the segment structures have an inner formed therebetween (see Fig. 2 annotated above).
However, CHEN is silent as to whether the cover is a reflective, the light transmission areas includes a light-permeable body including a plurality of light-permeable portions; wherein the plurality of segments correspond to the plurality of light-permeable portions, respectively, and the light-permeable body further includes a communication portion that connects at least two adjacent ones of the light-permeable portions in the inner channel.
Tsuji teaches a housing of a display device, comprising: a reflective cover (3, see Fig. 1(c), Para. 0036 and 0050) having a plurality of segments (32, see Fig. 2, Para. 0036 and 0044) formed on a front side of the reflective cover and a plurality of segment structures (see Fig. 1(C)) correspondingly formed on a rear side (35c, see Para. 0037) of the reflective cover. Tsuji further teaches the light-permeable body (light-permeable resin 4, see Fig. 2(c), Para. 0036) includes a plurality of light-permeable portions (see Figs. 2(a) and 2(c), Para. 0036), and the plurality of segments (32) correspond to the plurality of light-permeable portions (4), respectively.
Wan teaches a light-permeable body (6) including a cover (5, see Fig. 3) with segment; a communication portion (light conductive panel 7, see Fig. 3) that connects at least two adjacent ones of the light-permeable portions (6, see Fig. 3) in the inner channel; wherein a thickness of the at least two adjacent ones of the light-permeable portions is different from a thickness of the communication portion; wherein a surface of the light-permeable portions (6) is flush with or lower than front side of the cover (5, see Figs. 3 and 4); wherein the communication portion is formed by a plurality of step sections (sections withing the light conducting portions 32 and outside light conducting portion 32, see Fig. 2(c)), by a plurality of slope sections, or by a combination of the plurality of step sections and the plurality of slope sections being connected to each other.
Therefore, in view of Tsuji, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify CHEN by forming the cover as a reflective cover in order to prevent light leakage into adjacent segments or to the outside of the reflecting case, thereby ensuring that undesired segments are not illuminated, as suggested by Tsuji. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination to improve the display system.
Furthermore, in view of Tsuji and Wan, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify CHEN such that the light transmission areas includes a light-permeable body having a communication portion that connects at least two adjacent light-permeable portions within an inner channel; wherein a thickness of the at least two adjacent ones of the light-permeable portions is different from a thickness of the communication portion and as claimed, thereby effectively controlling light within each segment. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination to improve the display system.
Regarding claim 16. The teachings of CHEN in view of Tsuji have been discussed above.
However, CHEN in view of Tsuji is silent with respect to the plurality of light-permeable portions are connected with the communication portion at a junction having an overlapping thickness in a thickness direction, and the overlapping thickness is greater than 15% and less than 35% of a thickness of the plurality of light-permeable portions.
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify CHEN such that the light-permeable portions are connected with the communication portion at a junction having an overlapping thickness in a thickness direction, and the overlapping thickness is greater than 15% and less than 35% of a thickness of the plurality of light-permeable portions, as claimed, in order to provide an effective thickness, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only ordinary skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. In this case, CHEN in view of Tsuji teaches the general structural conditions of the claimed junction.
Regarding claim 17. The display device according to claim 15, wherein reflective cover further comprises two concave regions located in the center of the reflective cover; one of the concave regions is a closed concave slot and another one is a section of the inner channel that is substantially Z-shaped to connect two of the plurality of segment structures.
Regarding claim 18. The teachings of CHEN in view of Tsuji have been discussed above.
However, CHEN in view of Tsuji is silent with respect to the inclinations of the ramp section and the step section is substantially between 5 degrees and 10 degrees.
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify CHEN such that the light-permeable portions with inclinations of the ramp section and the step section is substantially between 5 degrees and 10 degrees, as claimed, in order to provide an effective thickness, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only ordinary skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. In this case, CHEN in view of Tsuji and Wan teaches the general structural conditions of the claimed ramp section.
Regarding claim 19. CHEN further disclose a plurality of first light transmission areas (134, see Figs. 1 and 2, Para. 0042), and the plurality of segments correspond to the plurality of light transmission areas respectively; wherein a surface of the light-permeable portions (134) is flush with or lower than front side of the reflective cover (see Fig. 1).
However, CHEN does not explicitly disclose the communication portion is formed by a plurality of step sections, by a plurality of slope sections, or by a combination of the plurality of step sections and the plurality of slope sections being connected to each other.
Tsuji further teaches the light-permeable body (light-permeable resin 4, see Fig. 2(c), Para. 0036) includes a plurality of light-permeable portions (see Figs. 2(a) and 2(c), Para. 0036), and the plurality of segments (32) correspond to the plurality of light-permeable portions (4), respectively; wherein the light-permeable body further includes a communication portion that connects at least two adjacent ones of the light-permeable portions in the inner channel; wherein a thickness of the at least two adjacent ones of the light-permeable portions is different from a thickness of the communication portion; wherein a surface of the light-permeable portions (4) is flush with or lower than front side of the reflective cover (3, see Fig.2(c)); wherein the communication portion is formed by a plurality of step sections (sections withing the light conducting portions 32 and outside light conducting portion 32, see Fig. 2(c)), by a plurality of slope sections, or by a combination of the plurality of step sections and the plurality of slope sections being connected to each other.
Therefore, in view of Tsuji, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify CHEN such that the light transmission areas includes a light-permeable body having a communication portion that connects at least two adjacent light-permeable portions within an inner channel; wherein a thickness of the at least two adjacent ones of the light-permeable portions is different from a thickness of the communication portion and as claimed, thereby effectively controlling light within each segment. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination to improve the display system.
Regarding claim 20. The teachings of CHEN have been discussed above.
However, CHEN does not explicitly disclose that a distance between the notches of the at least two adjacent ones of the segment structures is 0.5 to 2 times a length of the segment.
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify CHEN such that the distance between the notches of the at least two adjacent ones of the segment structures is 0.5 to 2 times a length of the segment as claimed, in order to provide an effective spacing between adjacent segments, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only ordinary skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. In this case, CHEN teaches the general structural configuration of the segments and notches, and the claimed distance range merely represent an optimization of spacing between adjacent segments to achieve effective structural performance.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. LIN et al. (US 20210/209974 hereinafter refer as “LIN”) disclose a housing of a display device, comprising: a reflective cover (2, see Fig. 2, Para. 0038) having a plurality of segments (22, see Fig. 2, Para. 0042-0043); TSAI et al. (US 2015/0306799 hereinafter refer as “TSAI”) discloses a housing of an LED display device includes the steps of: (a) filling a first material into a first mold assembly at a first place to form a cover with a plurality of first display holes, followed by moving the cover to a second place, filling a second material into a second mold assembly and the cover to seal one of the plurality of the first display holes via a plurality of first transparent members; and Zhao (US 2023/0043553) discloses a housing (2) of a display device, comprising: a cover having a plurality of segments formed on a front side of the cover and a plurality of segment structures correspondingly formed on a rear side of the cover.
/TSION TUMEBO/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875