DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kasahara (Pub. No. US20100211703)
As per claims 1, 8, 15, Kasahara discloses a computer-implemented method comprising:
monitoring a counter (paragraph 8, line 1, a microprocessor) for a software channel (paragraph 15, lines 5-6, the structure of software to be executed by the channel control unit e.g., on Channel 11 of figure 1), the software channel being coupled to a storage system (fig.1, storage apparatus 10), the software channel being configured to process an input/output (I/O) request (paragraph 6, process I/O request from the host computer) for the storage system;
receiving a request to modify a direct memory access (DMA) size (paragraph 8, line 4, variable-length DMA) of the software channel based on the counter reaching a predetermined threshold (paragraph 10, an identifier assigned to each CCW(chain command word) chain provided variable parameters that set on fixed-length DMA); and
modifying a number of DMA handles associated with the software channel (paragraph 10, chain ID, an identifier assigned to each channel (CCW)), based on receiving the request to modify the DMA size of the software channel (paragraph 7, lines 2-3, the fixed-length DMA adds a first integrity code generated based on the entire variable-length data to the last one of the fixed-length data sets.)
As per claims 2, 9, 16, Kasahara discloses wherein in response to the request to modify the DMA size of the software channel being to increase the DMA size, an additional DMA handle is created for the software channel (paragraph 10, an identifier assigned to each CCW (channel command word) chain provided variable parameters that set on fixed-length DMA).
As per claims 3, 10, 17, Kasahara discloses wherein in response to the request to modify the DMA size of the software channel being to decrease the DMA size, a DMA handle is deleted for the software channel (paragraph 10, chain ID, an identifier assigned to each CCW (channel command word) chain provided variable parameters that set on fixed-length DMA).
As per claims 4, 11, 18, Kasahara discloses the computer-implemented method further comprising:
sending the I/O request to a first DMA handle of the DMA handles of the software channel by default (paragraph 6, lines 8-11, DMA (Direct Memory Access) that performs data transfer of variable-length data sent or received to or from the host computer in accordance with the I/O request);
proceeding to use a second DMA handle of the DMA handles for the software channel, in response to the first DMA handle failing to have available DMA resources to accommodate the I/O request (paragraph 83, the second integrity code (SLRC) added thereto both fail to be updated and are incorrectly written due to a physical failure or the like, such a data error can be detected by using first integrity codes (TFLRCs)).
As per claims 5, 12, 19, Kasahara discloses the computer-implemented method further comprising: marking a DMA handle for deletion in the software channel upon initiation of the request to modify the DMA size (paragraph 102, Upon completion of the parameter setting, the DMA starts data transfer); and preventing any incoming I/O request assigned to the software channel from using the DMA handle marked for deletion. (paragraph 83, the second integrity code (SLRC) added thereto both fail to be updated and are incorrectly written due to a physical failure or the like, such a data error can be detected by using first integrity codes (TFLRCs)).
As per claims 6, 13, 20, Kasahara discloses the computer-implemented method further comprising deleting a DMA handle of the software channel one by one until a requested DMA size is met in the request to modify the DMA size (paragraph 10, chain ID, an identifier assigned to each CCW(chain command word) chain provided variable parameters that set on fixed-length DMA)
As per claims 7, 14, Kasahara discloses the computer-implemented method further comprising: incrementing the counter for the software channel in a driver (paragraph7, e.g., an integrity code) when there is an error associated with DMA resources for the software channel, wherein the predetermined threshold is a high value for increasing the number of the DMA handles associated with the software channel (paragraph 7, if any of the aforementioned fixed-length data sets and an integrity code added thereto both fail to be updated and thus are incorrectly written due to a physical failure or the like, such data error can be detected by using the first integrity code); and
decrementing the counter for the software channel in an absence of the error for a predetermined interval (paragraph 7, lines 2-3, the fixed-length DMA adds a first integrity code generated based on the entire variable-length data to the last one of the fixed-length data sets.), wherein the predetermined threshold is a low value for decreasing the number of the DMA handles associated with the software channel, wherein the high value is greater than the low value (paragraph 10, calculation value generated in the data transfer corresponding to each of the transfer parameters. The chain ID, an identifier assigned to each CCW (channel command word) chain provided variable parameters that set on fixed-length DMA).
3. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Ahmed et al. [Pub. No. US 20230138290] discloses processing I/O requests that are smaller in size than the large I/O request.
Conclusion
4. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to KIM T HUYNH whose telephone number is (571)272-3635 or via e-mail addressed to [kim.huynh3@uspto.gov]. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 7.00AM- 4:00PM. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Tsai Henry can be reached at (571)272-4176 or via e-mail addressed to [Henry.Tsai@USPTO.GOV].
The fax phone numbers for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned are (571)273-8300 for regular communications and After Final communications. Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist whose telephone number is (571)272-2100.
/K. T. H./
Examiner, Art Unit 2184
/HENRY TSAI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2184