DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a1) as being anticipated by Dworzak et al. (PGPUB# US 2007/0199452 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Dworzak teaches a hot beverage preparation device (figure 1 and abstract), comprising: at least one hot water boiler (par. 25 and 80: Tank 7 and parts within tank) for heating and storing hot water and/or hot steam for preparing hot beverages, the at least one hot water boiler has a cold water inlet (Plug 70 defines an inlet for cold water) , a storage vessel (6) having a heater (45), and a hot water and/or steam outlet (92: Hot water outlet); and the storage vessel is at least partially provided or surrounded with a vacuum insulation (par. 69, at least one internal wall 72 and external wall 74 is provided with a vacuum insulating layer 73.).
Regarding claim 2, Dworzak teaches wherein an outer wall (72) of the storage vessel includes a double-walled area (71) at least in some regions for the vacuum insulation and the double-walled area of the outer wall encloses an evacuated space (par. 69, at least one internal wall 72 and external wall 74 is provided with a vacuum insulating layer 73.).
Regarding claim 3, Dworzak teaches wherein the storage vessel (6) which includes the double-walled area at least in some regions has a non-vacuum-insulated cover (70), through which at least one of electrical or hydraulic connections (90,92, 910) are led.
Regarding claim 4, Dworzak teaches wherein the storage vessel (6) is received in an external envelope (74) that has a double-walled area at least in some regions, the double-walled area (71) of which encloses an evacuated space, for the vacuum insulation (par. 69, at least one internal wall 72 and external wall 74 is provided with a vacuum insulating layer 73.).
Regarding claim 5, Dworzak teaches wherein the external envelope which includes the double-walled area at least in some regions has a non-vacuum-insulated cover (70), through which at least one of electrical or hydraulic connections (90,92, 910) are led.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dworzak et al. (PGPUB# US 2007/0199452 A1) in view of Diester et al. (DE 102014104907 A1 using machine translation).
Regarding claim 6, Dworzak teaches wherein the storage vessel (6/8) is a pressure vessel. (par. 71)
Dworzak does not explicitly teach in which the hot water is stored in operation at a temperature of greater than 100C and the hot water outlet is connected to a metering valve (40) for adding cold water in a metered manner, in order to admix cold water to the hot water during dispensing, so that mixed water having a temperature of less than 100C is dispensed for the beverage preparation.
However, Diester teaches a similar hot beverage preparation device. (par. 1-4 and figure 1) Diester teaches that it is known to provide metering valves to provide dosed amounts of hot and cold water to provide water at a lower temperature than the temperature provided in the water boiler suitable for use in preparing a hot beverage. (par. 5, 22-41) Diester teaches hot water provided at 90-130C, cold water at 1-35C, to create a mixed water at a temperature of 70-100C. (par. 50-54)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a mixing unit with metered valves providing hot and cold water of Diester, to the apparatus of Dworzak, in order to provide water at a lower temperature than the temperature provided in the water boiler suitable for use in preparing a hot beverage as taught by Diester. The mixing unit would be applied using the discharge of the hot water 92 of Dworzak.
Regarding claim 7, Dworzak teaches wherein the storage vessel (6/8) is configured to store hot water in operation at a temperature of greater than 110°C. (par. 56)
Regarding claim 8, Dworzak does not explicitly wherein the metering valve (40) for adding cold water comprises a controllable valve, and the hot beverage preparation device has a temperature sensor (44) for determining a mixed water temperature and a control device for regulating the mixed water temperature by activating the metering valve (40).
However, Diester teaches a similar hot beverage preparation device. (par. 1-4 and figure 1) Diester teaches that it is known to provide metering valves to provide dosed amounts of hot and cold water to provide water at a lower temperature than the temperature provided in the water boiler suitable for use in preparing a hot beverage. (par. 5, 22-41) Diester teaches hot water provided at 90-130C, cold water at 1-35C, to create a mixed water at a temperature of 70-100C. (par. 50-54) Diester teaches using a temperature measuring device/sensor in use with a control unit by selectively activating dosing valves to control the temperature of water that exits the water mixing unit. (par. 35-37 and 61-63)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a mixing unit with metered valves providing hot and cold water and temperature sensor and control unit of Diester, to the apparatus of Dworzak, in order to provide water at a lower temperature than the temperature provided in the water boiler suitable for use in preparing a hot beverage as taught by Diester. The mixing unit would be applied using the discharge of the hot water 92 of Dworzak.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dworzak et al. (PGPUB# US 2007/0199452 A1) in view of Diester et al. (DE 102014104907 A1 using machine translation) and Urech (PGPUB# US 2021/0284522 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Dworzak in view of Diester teaches a mixing unit positioning between metering valves and temperature sensor. (Diester Figure 1, par. 35, 36, and 63)
The combination of Dworzak in view of Diester does not explicitly a static mixer arranged between the metering valve and the temperature sensor for mixing the cold and hot water flows.
However, Urech teaches a similar hot beverage preparation device. (Abstract and figure 1) Urech teaches that it is known in the art to provide a static mixing tube as a mixing unit. (par. 19)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the static mixer of Urech, into the mixing unit of Dworzak in view of Diester, in order to provide simple means of mixing the hot and cold streams.
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dworzak et al. (PGPUB# US 2007/0199452 A1) in view of Wang et al. (CN211022227U using machine translation).
Regarding claim 10, Dworzak does not explicitly teach wherein the heater (45) comprises a heating coil arranged inside the storage vessel.
However, Wang teaches a heating coil for use in a kettle. (figure 1 and abstract). Wang teaches that it is known in the art to produce the heater by using a coiled tube with a coiled heating wire inside. Wang teaches that the gaps between the tube and wire are filled with magnesium oxide sand. (par. 10, 31, 32 and figures 1 and 2)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the heater tube/wire/magnesium oxide , for the heater of Dworzak, as doing so would have been simple substitution of known water heating elements.
Regarding claim 11, Dworzak does not explicitly teach wherein the heating coil extends inside a coiled heating tube.
However, Wang teaches a heating coil for use in a kettle. (figure 1 and abstract). Wang teaches that it is known in the art to produce the heater by using a coiled tube with a coiled heating wire inside. Wang teaches that the gaps between the tube and wire are filled with magnesium oxide sand. (par. 10, 31, 32 and figures 1 and 2)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the heater tube/wire/magnesium oxide , for the heater of Dworzak, as doing so would have been simple substitution of known water heating elements.
Regarding claim 12, Dworzak does not explicitly wherein the coiled heating tube is filled with magnesium oxide powder for the electrical insulation of the heating coil.
However, Wang teaches a heating coil for use in a kettle. (figure 1 and abstract). Wang teaches that it is known in the art to produce the heater by using a coiled tube with a coiled heating wire inside. Wang teaches that the gaps between the tube and wire are filled with magnesium oxide sand. (par. 10, 31, 32 and figures 1 and 2)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the heater tube/wire/magnesium oxide , for the heater of Dworzak, as doing so would have been simple substitution of known water heating elements.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dworzak et al. (PGPUB# US 2007/0199452 A1) in view of Arimura et al. (JP2017127630A using machine translation).
Regarding claim 13, Dworzak teaches the claimed hot water boiler surrounded with vacuum insulation as cited in claim 1.
Dworzak does not explicitly teach a second hot water boiler provided for steam production, and the second hot water boilers are both provided or surrounded with the vacuum insulation.
However, Arimura teaches a similar hot beverage system. (figures 1&2) Arimura teaches that separate hot water tank 13 and steam tank 11 can be used while forming a desired hot beverage. (par. 1-15)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the additional tank of Arimura, into the apparatus of Dworzak, in order to provide steam into the beverage formation system. It would have also been obvious to have vacuum insulated both tanks in order to efficiently retain heat in each tank as taught by Dworzak.
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dworzak et al. (PGPUB# US 2007/0199452 A1) in view of Peteri et al. (US Pat#6,612,268 B1).
Regarding claims 14 and 15, Dworzak does not explicitly teach a getter material introduced into the evacuated space (claim 14) and a reflective film introduced into the evacuated space (claim 15).
However, Peteri teaches a similar hot beverage system. (figures 1 and abstract) Peteri teaches that it is known to provide a reflective film on a vacuum wall surrounding a tank in order to inhibit the loss of radiation. Peteri further teaches it is known in the art to provide a getter inside the evacuated space to maintain a high vacuum for years. (col. 5, lines 64-67)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the reflective foil and getter material of Peteri, into the evacuated space of the apparatus of Dworzak, in order to inhibit radiation loss and maintain a vacuum for years as taught by Peteri.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dworzak et al. (PGPUB# US 2007/0199452 A1) in view of Peteri et al. (US Pat#6,612,268 B1) and Nelson (PGPUB US 2015/0377544 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Dworzak does not explicitly teach a controller configured with programming, which is connected to a temperature sensor arranged inside the at least one hot water boiler for at least one of monitoring or regulating the hot water temperature or steam temperature, and the controller is configured to detect a cooling time after the heater is switched off and to generate an error message, which indicates a defective vacuum insulation, upon falling below a threshold value.
However, Peteri teaches a similar hot beverage system. (figures 1 and abstract) Peteri teaches the use of a temperature sensor inside a hot water boiler coupled to a thermostatically regulated control unit to maintain the heated water at a set temperature. (figure 1 and col. 4 lines 48-61)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the temperature and control unit of Peteri, into the apparatus of Dworzak, in order to automatically maintain the heated water at a set temperature as taught by Peteri.
The combination of Dworzak and Peteri does not explicitly teach the controller is configured to detect a cooling time after the heater is switched off and to generate an error message, which indicates a defective vacuum insulation, upon falling below a threshold value.
However, Nelson teaches solving the problem of monitoring the state of operation of a vacuum insulated panel. (par. 2-6) Nelson teaches that measuring the amount of heat loss to the exterior can be used to determine whether a failure of the vacuum insulation has occurred. Nelson teaches that monitoring the heat loss can be conducted by measuring the temperature difference between the inside and outside of the vacuum insulated panel. (par. 33) Nelson teaches that once a controller determines that a temperature/heat loss threshold has passed a failure notification can be sent to the user to prompt a repair. (par. 35 and 52)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the temperature/heat loss montoring/warning system of Nelson, into the apparatus of Dworzak in view of Peteri, in order to send a warning to a user that vacuum insulation has failed and is in need of repair as taught by Nelson.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of copending Application No 19/119556. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both make claims to a similar hot beverage apparatus with vacuum insulation.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/IBRAHIME A ABRAHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761