Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 - 3, 6, 7, 26 and 31 - 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stark (US 2014/0299251) in view of Tough (US 2019/0277438).
With regards to claims 1 and 3, Stark teaches a method of preparing a multilayered fabric for use in lining pipes (Abstract), the method comprising the steps:
Providing a flattened carrier tube with first fold lines defined by flattened edges of the tube (Figure 1 items 1, 4 and 5)
Placing a first fabric layer above the carrier tube, with intermediate adhesive, and a second fabric below the carrier tube, with intermediate adhesive, each of the first and second fabric layers having a width that is approximately equal to or greater than a width of the flattened carrier tube, the placing being such that each edge of the flattened carrier tube is aligned with at least one edge of at least one of the fabric layers (Figure 1 items 10 and 11, Figure 18 items 30 and 31, paragraphs 47 and 89)
Laminating the carrier tube and fabric layer assembly (paragraphs 84 and 88)
Opening and re-flattening the coated carrier tube such that the carrier tube has second fold lines defined by its flattened edges, where the second fold lines are not coincident with the first fold lines (paragraph 28)
Placing a third fabric layer above the laminated carrier tube assembly, with intermediate adhesive, and a fourth fabric layer below the laminated carrier tube assembly, with intermediate adhesive, each of the third and fourth fabric layers having a width that is approximately equal to or greater than a width of the flattened laminated carrier tube assembly, the placing being such that each edge of the flattened laminated carrier tube assembly is aligned with at least one edge of at least one of the fabric layers (Figure 4 items 12 and 13, paragraph 89).
Laminating the laminated carrier tube assembly and third and fourth fabric layers (paragraphs 84, 87 and 88).
Stark states that the fabric layers a first set of inlay yarns, a second set of inlay yarns that extend in a machine direction through the fabric, a third set of inlay yarns and a set of warp-knitted yarns that interlink with the inlay yarns (paragraphs 21 and 22). Stark fails to explicitly that the first and third set of inlay yarns, each yarn of which has a path that is achieved by moving a first and third predetermined number of needle positions to the left and then a second and fourth predetermined number of needle positions to the right in successive stitch-forming processes.
Tough teaches a material for use in lining large-diameter pipes (Abstract), in the same field of endeavor as Stark, where Tough teaches that the first and third set of inlay yarns, each yarn of which has a path that is achieved by moving a first and third predetermined number of needle positions to the left and then a second and fourth predetermined number of needle positions to the right in successive stitch-forming processes (paragraphs 26 and 30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first and third set of inlay yarns, each yarn of which has a path that is achieved by moving a first and third predetermined number of needle positions to the left and then a second and fourth predetermined number of needle positions to the right in successive stitch-forming processes, as suggested by Tough, in Starks’ method. The rationale being that, as stated by Tough, it is sufficiently porous to encourage resin infusion and has an expansivity and conformability that is well suited to caisson applications (paragraph 29).
With regards to claim 2, the teachings of Stark and Tough are presented above. Additionally, Stark teaches that the width of the first and second fabric layers is greater than the width of the flattened carrier tube and each aligned at one edge with a respective edge of the flattened carrier tube; and the width of the third and fourth fabric layers is greater than the width of the flattened laminated carrier tube assembly and each aligned at one edge with a respective edge of the flattened carrier tube assembly; thereby creating in the prepared fabric, narrow longitudinally extending regions of an additional layer’s thickness where each fabric layer overlaps the fabric layer that is subject to the same placing step (paragraphs 31 and 32).
With regards to claim 6, the teachings of Stark and Tough are presented above. Additionally, Stark teaches that the intermediate adhesive is applied to each fabric layer prior to its placing above or below the carrier tube or carrier tube assembly (paragraph 47).
With regards to claim 7, the teachings of Stark and Tough are presented above. Additionally, Stark teaches that the intermediate adhesive is in the form of an adhesive web (paragraph 47).
With regards to claim 26, the teachings of Stark and Tough are presented above. Additionally, teaches that the step of placing the fabric layer above the carrier tube or carrier tube assembly includes the step of aligning a set of inlay yarns with a longitudinal axis of the carrier tube (paragraphs 21 and 22).
With regards to claim 31, the teachings of Stark and Tough are presented above. Additionally, Tough teaches that the first predetermined number of needle positions is the same as the second predetermined number of needle positions such that the path followed by the first set of inlay yarns extends to one and then another side of an axis that is generally parallel to the machine direction (paragraphs 26 and 30).
With regards to claim 32, the teachings of Stark and Tough are presented above. Additionally, Tough teaches that the third predetermined number of needle positions is the same as the fourth predetermined number of needle positions such that the path followed by the third set of inlay yarns extends to one and then another side of an axis that is generally parallel to the machine direction (paragraphs 26 and 30).
With regards to claim 33, the teachings of Stark and Tough are presented above. Additionally, Tough teaches that the first, second, third and fourth predetermined numbers of needle positions are all equal (paragraphs 26 and 30).
With regards to claim 34, the teachings of Stark and Tough are presented above. Additionally, Tough teaches that the paths followed by the first set of inlay yarns are aligned with the paths followed with the third set of inlay yarns (as seen in Figures 2 and 3, paragraphs 26 and 30).
With regards to claim 35, the teachings of Stark and Tough are presented above. Additionally, Tough teaches that the predetermined number of needle positions is 4 (as seen in Figures 2 and 3, paragraphs 26 and 30).
With regards to claim 36, the teachings of Stark and Tough are presented above. Additionally, Stark teaches that the first, second and third sets of inlay yarns are all glass fiber (paragraphs 72 and 73).
With regards to claim 37, the teachings of Stark and Tough are presented above. Additionally, Stark teaches that the warp-knitted yarn is glass fiber (paragraphs 21, 22, 72 and 73).
Claim(s) 4, 5, 38 and 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stark (US 2014/0299251) in view of Tough (US 2019/0277438) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Brandenburger et al (CA 2168756).
With regards to claims 4, 5 and 38, the teachings of Stark and Tough are presented above. Tough teaches that at least one of the first fabric layer, the second fabric layer, the third fabric layer and the fourth fabric layer includes a fourth set of inlay yarns that extend in a machine direction through the fabric (paragraphs 26 and 30). Stark and Tough fail to explicitly disclose that the method comprises placing a fifth and sixth fabric layer.
Brandenburger discloses a method of producing a tubular lining hose (Abstract), in the same field of endeavor as Stark, where Brandenburger discloses placing a fifth and sixth fabric layer, each yarn of which has a path that is achieved by moving a fifth predetermined number of needle positions to the left and then a sixth predetermined number of needle positions to the right in successive stitch-forming processes (Figure 12 items 103 and 114).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have repeated the placement steps in order to add a fifth and sixth fabric layer, as suggested by Brandenburger, in Stark’s method as modified by Tough. The rationale being that, as stated by Brandenburger, it allows to control the thickness of the lining hose (page 10 lines 1 – 11).
With regards to claim 39, the teachings of Stark, Tough and Brandenburger are presented above. Additionally, Tough teaches that the first, second, third, fourth, fifth and sixth predetermined numbers of needle positions are all equal (paragraphs 26 and 30).
Response to Arguments
Due to Applicant’s amendment, Applicant’s arguments, filed April 16, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-7 and 26 under 35 USC 112, 102(a)(1) and 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Tough (US 2019/0277438) as stated above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSHEL RIVERA/Examiner, Art Unit 1746
/MICHAEL N ORLANDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1746