Detailed Action
Claim Rejection 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 1-4, 9-16, 18 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al. (US Pub. 20180197904) hereinafter referred to as Oh and Fujii et al. (US Pub. 20220367558), hereinafter known as Fujii.
Regarding claim 1, Oh teaches an image sensor (Oh, 100, Fig. 12, para. 31) comprising: a substrate (Oh, 110, Fig. 12, para. 31) including a first surface (Oh, 110A, Fig. 12, para. 44), a second surface opposing the first surface (Oh, 110B, Fig. 12, para. 44), an active pixel region (Oh, PR, Fig. 12, para. 31), and a dummy pixel region (Oh, DR, Fig. 12, para. 31) adjacent to the active pixel region; first to fourth photoelectric conversion elements (PDs) (Oh, DR1B-DR4B, Fig. 6, para. 67) in the dummy pixel region; a plurality of first pixel separation structures (Oh, 130, Figs. 6, 12, para. 87) configured to separate the first to fourth PDs from each other; a second pixel separation structure (Oh, 130, Fig. 12, para. 31, attached to 140); an insulating layer on the first surface (Oh, 2018, 156, Fig. 12, para. 53); a contact (Oh, 2018, 140, Fig. 12, para. 31, bottom portion, see diagram below) vertically overlapping the second pixel separation structure and electrically coupled to the second pixel separation structure, and a pad (Oh, 2018, 140, para. 31, top portion, see diagram below) between the second pixel separation structure and the contact, the contact being electrically coupled to the pad (Oh, Fig. 12), wherein the first to fourth PDs are arranged in a 2 x 2 matrix in a plan view (Oh, DR1B-DR4B, Fig. 6, para. 67), wherein the second pixel separation structure is disposed at a center of the 2 x 2 matrix in the plan view (Oh, 140B, Fig. 6), wherein the contact at least partially penetrates the insulating layer (Oh, 140, Fig. 12, contact portion at least partially penetrates into insulation layer 156), and wherein the image sensor is configured to receive light from the second surface (Oh, para. 27).
Oh does not teach wherein a width of the second pixel separation structure on the first surface in a first direction parallel to the first surface in a cross sectional view is greater than a width of the contact in the first direction, and wherein a width of a portion of the pad on the first surface in the first direction is greater than the width of the contact in the first direction.
However, Fujii teaches an image sensor wherein the element isolation region (Fujii, 702, Fig. 91A, para. 454) has a width in the direction parallel to the first surface greater than the width of the contact (Fujii, 823a, Fig. 91A, para. 452). Additionally, Fujii teaches a pad (Fujii, 905A, Fig. 91A para. 453) wherein the portion on the first surface is greater than the width of the contact in the direction parallel to the first surface.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to utilize the thinner contact related to the isolation region of Fujii combined with the structure of Oh in order to increase the element density (Fujii, para. 2) and increase the element area (Fujii, para. 3).
Regarding claim 2, modified Oh teaches the image sensor of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of first pixel separation structures is in contact with the first and second surfaces (Oh, Fig. 12, para. 87).
Regarding claim 3, modified Oh teaches the image sensor of claim 2, wherein each of the plurality of first pixel separation structures is disposed in a trench (Oh, Fig. 13, 130H, para. 93).
Regarding claim 4, modified Oh 2018 teaches the image sensor of claim 3, wherein each of the plurality of first pixel separation structures includes a lower insulating layer (Oh 2018, 134, Fig. 12, para. 39) that is in contact with the first surface.
Regarding claim 9, modified Oh teaches the image sensor of claim 1, wherein a portion of the pad extends into the substrate from the first surface (Fujii, 905a, Fig. 91A para. 453, extends into semiconductor layer 701).
Regarding claim 10, modified Oh teaches an image sensor (Oh, 100, Fig. 12, para. 31) comprising: a substrate (Oh, 110, Fig. 12, para. 31) including a first surface (Oh, 110A, Fig. 12, para. 44), a second surface opposing the first surface (Oh, 110B, Fig. 12, para. 44), an active pixel region (Oh, PR, Fig. 12, para. 31), and a dummy pixel region (Oh, DR, Fig. 12, para. 31) adjacent to the active pixel region; first to fourth photoelectric conversion elements (PDs) (Oh, DR1B-DR4B, Fig. 6, para. 67) in the dummy pixel region; an insulating layer (Oh, 156, Fig. 12, para. 53) arranged on the first surface; a plurality of first pixel separation structures (Oh, 130, Figs Figs. 6, 12, para. 87) configured to separate the first to fourth PDs from each other, a second pixel separation structure (Oh, 130, Fig. 12, para. 31, attached to 140); a pad (Oh, 2018, 140, para. 31, top portion, see diagram above) vertically overlapping the second pixel separation structure and electrically coupled to the second pixel separation structure and a contact (Oh, 2018, 140, Fig. 12, para. 31, bottom portion, see diagram above) electrically coupled to the pad,
wherein the first to fourth PDs are arranged in a 2 x 2 matrix in a plan view (Oh, DR1B-DR4B, Fig. 6, para. 67), wherein the second pixel separation structure is disposed at a center of the 2 x 2 matrix in the plan view (Oh, 140B, Fig. 6), wherein the pad is between the second pixel separation structure and the contact (Oh, Fig. 12),and wherein the image sensor is configured to receive light from the second surface (Oh, para. 27).
Oh does not teach wherein the pad partially extends into the substrate from the first surface, and wherein a width of a portion of the pad on the first surface in a first direction parallel to the first surface is greater than a width of the contact in the first direction.
However, Fujii teaches an image sensor wherein the element isolation region (Fujii, 702, Fig. 91A, para. 454) has a width in the direction parallel to the first surface greater than the width of the contact (Fujii, 823a, Fig. 91A, para. 452). Additionally, Fujii teaches a pad (Fujii, 905A, Fig. 91A para. 453) wherein the portion on the first surface is greater than the width of the contact in the direction parallel to the first surface.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to utilize the thinner contact related to the isolation region of Fujii combined with the structure of Oh in order to increase the element density (Fujii, para. 2) and increase the element area (Fujii, para. 3).
Regarding claim 11, modified Oh teaches the image sensor of claim 10, wherein each of the plurality of first pixel separation structures is disposed in a trench (Oh Fig. 13, 130H, para. 93).
Regarding claim 12, modified Oh teaches the image sensor of claim 11, wherein each of the plurality of first pixel separation structures includes a lower insulating layer (Oh, 134, Fig. 12, para. 39) that is in contact with the first surface.
Regarding claim 13, modified Oh teaches the image sensor of claim 12, wherein a height of the pad in a thickness direction of the substrate is different from a height of the lower insulating layer in the thickness direction of the substrate (Oh, Fig. 12), Fujii Fig. 91A, the pad of 91A penetrate slightly into the substrate and partially through layer 721, while the insulating layer of Oh extends through the depth of the entire substrate).
Regarding claim 14, modified Oh teaches the image sensor of claim 12, wherein the second pixel separation structure further comprises a conductive layer (Oh, 132, Fig. 12, para. 39), and wherein the pad is electrically coupled to the conductive layer (Oh, Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 15, modified Oh teaches the image sensor of claim 14, wherein the conductive layer is directly in contact with the pad (Oh, Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 16, modified Oh teaches the image sensor of claim 14 wherein the contact extends through at least partially penetrates the insulating layer. Oh, Fig. 12 shows the contact portion of 140 partially penetrating into insulation layer 156. Additionally, Fujii, Fig. 91A shows contact 823a penetrating through part of insulating layer 721 and insulating film 802.
Regarding claim 18, Oh teaches an image sensor (Oh, 100, Fig. 12, para. 31) comprising: a substrate (Oh, 110, Fig. 12, para. 31) including a first surface (Oh, 110A, Fig. 12, para. 44), a second surface opposing the first surface (Oh, 110B, Fig. 12, para. 44), an active pixel region (Oh, PR, Fig. 12, para. 31), and a dummy pixel region (Oh, DR, Fig. 12, para. 31) adjacent to the active pixel region; a first set of four photoelectric conversion elements (PDs) in the dummy pixel region arranged in a first 2 x 2 matrix (Oh, DR1B-DR4B, Fig. 6, para. 67); a second set of four PDs in the dummy pixel region arranged in a second 2 x 2 matrix (Oh, Fig. 6 shows two additional sets of pixels below DR1B-DR4B in the Y axis, arranged in 2 x 2 matrices); an insulating layer (Oh, 156, Fig. 12, para. 53) arranged on the first surface, a plurality of first pixel separation structures (Oh, 130, Figs Figs. 6, 12, para. 87) configured to separate the PDs of the first set from each other; a plurality of second pixel separation (Oh, 130, Figs. 6, 12, para. 87) structures configured to separate the PDs of the second set from each other; a third pixel separation (Oh, 130, Fig. 12, para. 31, attached to 140,) structure disposed at a center of the first set of four PDs in a plan view and in contact with the first and second surfaces; a contact (Oh, 140, Fig. 12, bottom portion, see diagram above) vertically overlapping the third pixel separation structure and electrically coupled to the third pixel separation structure (Oh, Fig 12), wherein the contact at least partially penetrates the insulating layer (Oh, 140, Fig. 12, contact portion at least partially penetrates into insulation layer 156), and a pad between the second pixel separation structure and the contact (Oh, 140, Fig. 12, upper portion, see diagram above), the contact being electrically coupled to the pad (Oh, Fig. 12), wherein the plurality of second separation structures comprises first, second, third, and fourth pixel separation structures (Oh, Fig. 6), wherein the first, second, third, and fourth pixel separation structures of the plurality of second pixel separation structures are spaced apart from each other in the plan view (Oh, Fig. 6, see diagram below), and wherein the image sensor is configured to receive light from the second surface (Oh, para. 27.
Oh does not teach wherein a width of the third pixel separation structure on the first surface in a first direction parallel to the first surface in a cross sectional view is greater than a width of the contact in the first direction, and wherein a width of a portion of the pad on the first surface in the first direction is greater than the width of the contact in the first direction.
However, Fujii teaches an image sensor wherein the element isolation region (Fujii, 702, Fig. 91A, para. 454) has a width in the direction parallel to the first surface greater than the width of the contact (Fujii, 823a, Fig. 91A, para. 452). Additionally, Fujii teaches a pad (Fujii, 905A, Fig. 91A para. 453) wherein the portion on the first surface is greater than the width of the contact in the direction parallel to the first surface.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to utilize the thinner contact related to the isolation region of Fujii combined with the structure of Oh in order to increase the element density (Fujii, para. 2) and increase the element area (Fujii, para. 3).
Regarding claim 22, modified Oh teaches the image sensor of claim 16, wherein the contact is configured to receive a voltage (Oh, para. 41).
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh and Fujii as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Kao et al. (US Pub. 20220344383), hereinafter referred to as Kao.
Regarding claim 5, modified Oh 2018 teaches the image sensor of claim 4, but does not teach wherein each of the plurality of first pixel separation structure further comprises two liners and a conductive layer, the liners and the conductive layer vertically overlapping the lower insulating layer.
However, Kao teaches an image sensor with isolation structures comprising a trench filling layer (Kao, 112, Fig. 1, para. 20), and inner high-k dielectric liner (Kao, 118, Fig. 1, para. 20, 23) and an outer high-k dielectric layer (Kao, 114, Fig. 1, para. 22-23) all three of which vertically overlap a high-k di-electric layer (Kao, 116, Fig. 1, para. 22)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the image sensor of Oh 2018 with the multiple insulation layers of Kao to reduce blooming and crosstalk (Kao, para. 20).
Regarding claim 6, modified Oh 2018 teaches the image sensor of claim 5, wherein the conductive layer (Oh 2018, 132, Fig. 12, para. 39) is in contact with the second surface (Oh, 110B, Fig. 12, para.87).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh and Fujii as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Kao.
Regarding claim 17, modified Oh 2018 teaches the image sensor of claim 14, but does not teach wherein each of the plurality of first pixel separation structures further comprises two liners .
However, Kao teaches an image sensor with isolation structures comprising a trench filling layer (Kao, 112, Fig. 1, para. 20), and inner high-k dielectric liner (Kao, 118, Fig. 1, para. 20, 23) and an outer high-k dielectric layer (Kao, 114, Fig. 1, para. 22-23).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the image sensor of Oh 2018 with the multiple insulation layers of Kao to reduce blooming and crosstalk (Kao, para. 20).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh, Fujii and Kao as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Lim et al. (US Pub 20210327930), hereinafter referred to as Lim.
However, Lim teaches an image sensor with micro lenses on the pixels (Lim 180, Fig. 15, para. 95) wherein some of the pixels may be dummy pixels (Lim, para. 129).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to combine the image sensor of Oh 2018 with the lens configuration of Lim in order to create a device having increased product reliability and quality (Lim para. 6).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh and Fujii as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Lim.
Regarding claim 21, modified Oh 2018 teaches the image sensor of claim 14, but does not teach further comprising a first microlens on the first PD and a second microlens on the second PD.
However, Lim teaches an image sensor with micro lenses on the pixels (Lim 180, Fig. 15, para. 95) wherein some of the pixels may be dummy pixels (Lim, para. 129).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to combine the image sensor of Oh 2018 with the lens configuration of Lim in order to create a device having increased product reliability and quality (Lim para. 6).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 7 line 8 to page 9 line 11, filed9/1/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1, 10 and 18 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of Oh and Fujii.
Applicant’s arguments center on the limitation of a pad between the second pixel separation structure (third in the case of claim 18) and the contact, and the new limitation wherein the pad has a greater width in a direction parallel to the first surface than the contact. Fujii provides a pad (Fujii, 905a, Fig. 91A) with a width greater than the contact (Fujii 823a, Fig. 91A) wherein the pad is between the contact and a pixel separation structure (Fujii, 702, Fig. 91A).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jang et al. (US Pub. 20220352216) teaches an image sensor consisting of active pixels and dummy pixels wherein each are separated by separation patterns.
/KIERAN M. CUNNINGHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/Britt Hanley/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893