DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2.. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
31066.. Claims 1, 3-6, and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki et al (EP Pub: 0784294) and in further view of Hossepian (US Patent: 10,185,525).
Regarding claim 1, Suzuki et al teaches: An image processing apparatus comprising: a generation unit that generates image data for printing in which a plurality of images included in a plurality of print jobs are arranged in a print area of a sheet [p0035 (Each frame associated with an ID number is a job.)]; and a size adjustment unit that performs size adjustment on an image to be placed in the print area [p0191, figs 34], wherein in a case in which the generation unit generates the image data for printing in which the plurality of images are arranged in order in a specified direction, the size adjustment unit performs the size adjustment on an image to be placed such that the size of the image to be placed is within the size of a blank area located in the specified direction relative to an image placed immediately beforehand [p0192, p0193f, figs. 36].
Suzuki et al arrange multiple frames of a film in a print area of a sheet. In the same field of endeavor, Hossepian teaches: a plurality of images included in a plurality of print jobs are arranged in a print area of a sheet [col 4: lines 20-24]. Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the two to arrange images of multiple jobs in a print area of a sheet for flexible layout arrangement.
Regarding claim 3, the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporate herein. Suzuki et al further teaches: The image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the size adjustment is resizing an image or cutting out part of an image [p0191].
Regarding claim 4, the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. Suzuki et al further teaches: The image processing apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising a setting unit with which a size adjustment range is set for each of the images, wherein the size adjustment unit performs the size adjustment on the plurality of images within the size adjustment ranges [p0191-p0193].
Regarding claim 5, the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 4 has been incorporated herein. Suzuki et al further teaches: The image processing apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the size adjustment range is specified out of standard sheet sizes of the sheet [p0099, p0147].
Regarding claim 6, the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. Suzuki et al teaches: The image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the size adjustment unit includes a calculation unit that calculates the size of the blank area in the print area by using the size of the print area and the sizes of the images placed in the print area, and the size adjustment unit performs the size adjustment according to the size of the blank area calculated by the calculation unit [p0191, p0202, p0203].
Claim 9 has been analyzed and rejected with regard to claim 1 and in accordance with Hossepian‘s further teaching: An image forming apparatus comprising: a reception unit that receives a print job; and a print unit that prints images based on the image data for printing onto the sheet [col 7: lines 15-24].
Claim 10 has been analyzed and rejected with regard to claim 1.
Claim 11 has been analyzed and rejected with regard to claim 11 and in accordance with Hossepian’s further teaching on: A non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a program that causes a computer to execute an image processing method [col 8: lines 50-60].
41066.. Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki et al (EP Pub: 0784294) and Hossepian (US Patent: 10,185,525); and in further view of Ujike (US Pub: 2016/0231966).
Regarding claim 2, the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. Suzuki et al in view of Hossepian does not specify roll paper explicitly. In the same field of endeavor, Ujike teaches: The image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the sheet is roll paper, and the specified direction is perpendicular to a conveyance direction of the sheet [figs.10 and 11]. Therefore, the combined teaching of all would have made horizontal frame/image layout on a roll of sheets conveyed vertically obvious to a skilled in the art.
51066.. Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki et al (EP Pub: 0784294) and Hossepian (US Patent: 10,185,525); and in further view of Hilt (US Pub: 2014/0307980).
Regarding claim 7, the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. Suzuki et al further teaches: The image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein in a case in which even if the size adjustment is performed on the image to be placed, the size of the image to be placed subjected to the size adjustment is not within the size of the blank area, the size adjustment unit performs the size adjustment on an image placed in the print area such that the size of the image to be placed is within the size of the blank area [p0218, p0219].
For a redundant teaching in the same field of endeavor, Hilt further teaches size adjustment performed on the image to be placed as well as the image placed to make fit [p0033, p0034]. Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of all to resize image placed and image to be place for making them fit better.
Regarding claim 8, the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 7 has been incorporated herein. Hilt further teaches: The image processing apparatus according to claim 7, wherein the size adjustment unit performs the size adjustment according to one of a precedence priority setting in which the size adjustment is performed in order from an image placed later out of the images placed in the print area, an equal width setting in which lengths in the specified direction of the images placed in the print area are set equal to one another, and an equal ratio setting in which resizing ratios in the specified direction of the images placed in the print area are set equal to one another [p0034, figs. 5C and 5D (Length in horizontal direction of image 1 is equal to that of image 4. Images 1 and 4 have equal ratio.)].
Contact
/Fan Zhang/
Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2682