Applicant's request for reconsideration of the finality of the rejection of the last Office action is persuasive and, therefore, the finality of that action is withdrawn.
Claim(s) 1-13, 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0212455 in view of Tomoshige, U.S. Patent No. 4,039,560.
Wu discloses a composite structure comprising a nonwoven mat and a layer adhered to the nonwoven mat. The layer can be a plastic layer. See paragraph 0006. The nonwoven can be formed from glass, polymeric, miner, carbon, ceramic or natural fibers. See paragraph 0017. The glass can be A, C, E, S, ECR glass fibers. The glass fibers can have a fiber diameter of 6.5-20 microns, and blends of smaller and larger diameter glass fibers can also be used. See paragraph 0019. The glass fibers can have various length, from 0.25-2 inches. See paragraph 0020. Further, blends of glass and other types of fibers such as synthetic fibers can be used. See paragraph 0021, wherein the synthetic fibers can have a length of 1-25.4 mm and diameters of 3-20 microns and can be polyolefin or polyester fibers. Note that PET is a well-known type of polyester and therefore it would have been obvious to have employed PET fibers as the polyester fibers. See paragraphs 0022-0023. Additionally, the glass and synthetic fibers can be combined with natural fibers which can generally have a diameter of 5-45 microns and a variety of length from 1-26.4 mm. See paragraphs 0025-0027. The binder composition can include a thermoplastic material such as a polyacrylic acid, (which is a polyacrylate), wherein the binder is present in amounts of up to 90-99 % based on the total weight of the binder composition. The binder composition can include additional components including wetting agents, dyes, oils, filler, colorants, lubricants, UV stabilizers, etc., in amounts of 0-10% based on the total weight of binder composition. See paragraph 0034. The nonwoven can have a basis weight of 25-300 gsm and a thickness of 0.25-2 mm. See paragraph 0036-0037. The binder can be present in the nonwoven layer in amounts of 5-30% by weight. See paragraph 0029. The binder can include water and thus is an aqueous polymer binder. See paragraph 0035. The cover layer can be a polymer layer which is laminated to the nonwoven layer, which can be formed from a polyolefins, polyester, polyamide, polyimide, polyacrylate or polyurethane. Note that PET is a well-known and conventional type of polyester and therefore the use of PET would have been obvious to have used PET as the polyester. See paragraph 0040. The polymer layer can also include additives such as filler, fire retardants, dyes, pigments, etc. See paragraph 0041. The polymer layer can have a range of basis weights of 10-100 gsm. See paragraph 0042. The polymer layer can have a thickness of 1-300 microns. See paragraph 0043. The structure of Wu is suitable for use as an insulation product or as a facer for boards, decorative laminates, composite boards or floor coverings because it has the same structure as the claimed structure.
Wu differs from the claimed invention because while it discloses employing 10 % oils or lubricants, it does not clearly disclose employing an emulsified polymeric wax.
However, Tomoshige teaches adding polyethylene wax emulsions to binders for glass fibers in order to improve adhesion between the binder and the glass fibers. See col. 4, lines 41-56.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have added the polyethylene wax emulsion disclosed by Tomoshige to the composition of Wu in order to enhance binding between the fibers and the binder. It further would have been obvious to have selected a suitable amount to provide optimum bonding between the binder and the fibers through the process of routine experimentation since the purpose of adding the polyethylene wax is to improve bonding between the fibers and binder.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Tomoshige as applied to claims above, and further in view of Bell, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0396915.
Wu in view of Tomoshige disclose a laminate as claimed. Wu teaches that the composite material can be used to form floor coverings but does not disclose incorporating a foam layer.
However, Bell discloses that carpet tiles which include a nonwoven layer and a polymer layer can further comprise a foam layer. See paragraph 0035.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to have added a foam layer to the structure of Wu in order to provide additional cushioning and/or insulation to the floor covering of Wu.
Applicant’s arguments and the interview of 7/7/26 are sufficient to overcome the previous rejection. The argument that paraffinic slack wax is not a polymeric, which was newly presented in the after final filed 6/30/26, is persuasive and the previous rejection is withdrawn.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Schwarz, U.S. Patent No. 5,421,945 teaches impregnating woven or nonwoven fabric with an aqueous composition of a thermoplastic binder including 3-10% by weight of a dispersion of wax, (see col. 2, lines 4-19), wherein the wax can be polyethylene or polymeric wax dispersion, (see col. 4, lines 45-59). Schwarz does not teach the claimed structural features claimed.
/ELIZABETH M IMANI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789