Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nettenstrom et al. (US 2019/0046745) in view of Mcevoy et al. (WO 2022/238119).
Regarding claims 1-3, Nettenstrom teaches an adjustable aerosol generation apparatus (Nettenstrom para 6, 91) comprising a suction nozzle (mouthpiece) (Nettenstrom para 31, item 250), a housing (shell) (Nettenstrom para 47, item 410/480), a liquid storage member (reservoir) (Nettenstrom para 26, item 270), an atomization core (atomization chamber) (Nettenstrom para 50, item 465), a sealing base (cartomizer plug) (Nettenstrom para 50, item 462), an adjusting member (Nettenstrom para 91), and a controller (Nettenstrom para 48, 85, item 300). Nettenstrom further teaches that the suction nozzle (mouthpiece) (item 250) is connected to the housing (item 480) via latches (item 413) where the housing has a receiving cavity (Nettenstrom fig 4, unnumbered) and air intake hole (item 214) (Nettenstrom fig 8B, para 33). The liquid storage member (item 270) slots into the receiving cavity (fig 4) and as it holds e-liquid is therefore configured to store to-be-atomized liquid (Nettenstrom para 26-29); the atomization core is situated within the liquid storage member (reservoir) (Nettenstrom para 56) and is configured to atomize the liquid (Nettenstrom para 51-56); and a sealing bases covers an end face, opposite the suction nozzle of the liquid storage member and acts as an end seal for the reservoir (Nettenstrom para 50, item 460). The air intake hole is at the base of the device (Nettenstrom fig 8B) and an air guide hole (item 583) is provided to the atomization chamber (Nettenstrom para 62); and the controller is electrically connected to the atomization core (Nettenstrom para 26-29).
Finally, Nettenstrom teaches that the air intake may be subjected to a user-controlled baffle or other mechanism (adjusting member) to increase or decrease airflow by a desired amount (Nettenstrom para 91).
Nettenstrom is silent with respect to the air intake adjustment being movably disposed on a side of the sealing base opposite the liquid storage member, and is configured to adjust the air intake volume of the air guide hole and is configured to adjust an air intake volume.
Nettenstrom and Mcevoy are related in the field of aerosol generation devices. Mcevoy teaches providing such a device with an adjustable member disposed on a side of the unit such as a screw (which can push or pull), or other mechanical mechanisms like levers that have the same effect (Mcevoy para 31-33, 35-37). Mcevoy further teaches that the adjustable member may comprise a sheet which may protrude into the air flow channel, moving perpendicularly to cut airflow (Mcevoy para 32) and that the adjustable member may extend into the air flow path, but not cut it off fully (Mcevoy para 36, fig 1, 2 item 17).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the adjusting member of Nettenstrom to specifically be a user-controlled baffle (adjusting sheet) that can be mechanically moved across the air guide hole via a mechanism such as a screw (push/pull protrusion) such that it is not of a greater depth than the air intake hole as taught by Mcevoy because this allows a user to control the amount of air drawn by the air intake/air flow guide holes.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record does not teach or suggest the combination of features and structural elements set forth in claims 4-17.
Conclusion
/LAURA B FIGG/Examiner, Art Unit 1781 3/21/2026