DETAILED ACTION
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claims status: amended claims: the claims are the same as previously presented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues in pg.4 of the remarks that Xue et al. do not teach the pyroelectric substrate has an active area where the pyroelectric substrate is thinned. The examiner respectfully disagrees because Xue et al. teach in para. [0004] “high-sensitivity infrared pyroelectric sensors require ultra-thin lithium tantalate crystals of 5-60 μm”. Additionally, Xue et al. teach in para. [0026] ultrathin wafers in the range of 2-8um. In pg.5 of the remarks applicant asserts that the combination of Ito et al. and Xue et al. do not teach all the limitations of claim 1.
Ito et al. & Xue et al. teach all the limitations of claim 1. Ito et al. disclose: A pyroelectric infrared detector device comprising an arrangement of a plurality of pyroelectric elements integrated on a pyroelectric substrate and electrically coupled in series each with a same polarization direction (fig.6 pyroelectric elements are arranged in series with a same polarization), wherein the plurality of the pyroelectric elements share a single pyroelectric substrate and wherein each pyroelectric element has a pair of opposing electrodes arranged on a front side and a back side of the active area (Abstract, fig.5, electrodes 111 - 118 of pyroelectric elements are arranged on opposite sides of the substrate). Xue et al. disclose: the pyroelectric substrate has an active area where the pyroelectric substrate is thinned, and wherein each pyroelectric element has a pair of opposing electrodes arranged on a front side and a back side of the active area (para. [0004], [0026]) motivated by the benefits for a highly sensitive infrared detector (Xue et al. para. [0004]). Ito et al. was not referred to teach a thinned substrate. In 1st para. of pg.6 of the remarks applicant the final wafer is thicker that the target wafer. In para. [0004] Xue et al. teach a pyroelectric wafer used for IR detectors having a thickness of 5-60um and para. [0026]- [0027] teach the final wafer has a thickness of 2-80um. The thicknesses as taught in para. [0004] & [0026]- [0027]] are similar and are ultra-thin. Finally, applicant argues in part B. of the additional references do not cure the deficiencies of the combination of Ito et al. & Xue et al. Ito et al. & Xue et al. are not deficient in teaching an ultra-thin wafer used for IR pyroelectric detectors. Therefore, the rejection is maintained and made final.
Please see some relevant arts that teach ultra-thin pyroelectric: CN 2128738 Y, CN 108565333 A, CN 109065508 A, CN 109671801 A, CN 106784290 B.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-6, 8-9, 11-12, 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito et al. (4,598,163; pub. Jul. 1, 1986) in view of Xue et al. (CN109065508A; pub. Dec. 21, 2018).
Regarding claim 1, Ito et al. disclose: A pyroelectric infrared detector device comprising an arrangement of a plurality of pyroelectric elements integrated on a pyroelectric substrate and electrically coupled in series each with a same polarization direction (fig.6 pyroelectric elements are arranged in series with a same polarization), wherein the plurality of the pyroelectric elements share a single pyroelectric substrate and wherein each pyroelectric element has a pair of opposing electrodes arranged on a front side and a back side of the active area (Abstract, fig.5, electrodes 111 – 118 of pyroelectric elements are arranged on opposite sides of the substrate).
Ito et al. are silent about: the pyroelectric substrate has an active area where the pyroelectric substrate is thinned.
In a similar field of endeavor, Xue et al. disclose: the pyroelectric substrate has an active area where the pyroelectric substrate is thinned, and wherein each pyroelectric element has a pair of opposing electrodes arranged on a front side and a back side of the active area (para. [0004], [0009], [0026]- [0027]) motivated by the benefits for a highly sensitive infrared detector (Xue et al. para. [0004]).
In light of the benefits for a highly sensitive infrared detector as taught by Xue et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Yoshizaki with the teachings of Xue et al.
Regarding claim 5, Xue et al. disclose: the single pyroelectric substrate is monocrystalline (para. [0004], [0009]) motivated by the benefits for a highly sensitive infrared detector (Xue et al. para. [0004]).
Regarding claim 6, Xue et al. disclose: the single pyroelectric substrate comprises lithium tantalate (para. [0004], [0009]) motivated by the benefits for a highly sensitive infrared detector (Xue et al. para. [0004]).
Regarding claim 8, Xue et al. disclose: the pyroelectric substrate has a thickness of between 10 -50 um and/or wherein the active area has a thickness of 1-10 um (para. [0004], [0009]) motivated by the benefits for a highly sensitive infrared detector (Xue et al. para. [0004]).
Regarding claim 9, Ito et al. disclose: at least one of the front side electrode and/or at least one of the back side electrode are extended to an area of the pyroelectric substrate neighboring the active area (fig.4)
Regarding claim 11, Ito et al. disclose: the electrodes of the pyroelectric elements cover a rectangular area on the active area, and wherein each of the pyroelectric elements is shaped as a part of the rectangular area (fig.12).
Regarding claim 12, Ito et al. disclose: the electrical coupling of the pyroelectric elements in series comprises at least one bond wire connecting one of the at least one front side electrodes and contacting one of the at least one back side electrodes and which is fed around an edge of the pyroelectric substrate (fig5 & fig.6).
Regarding claim 15, Xue et al. disclose: the active area has a thickness of between 1-6 pm (para. [0004], [0009]) motivated by the benefits for a highly sensitive infrared detector (Xue et al. para. [0004]).
Regarding claim 16, Xue et al. disclose: the active area has a thickness of between 1-2 pm (para. [0004], [0009]) motivated by the benefits for a highly sensitive infrared detector (Xue et al. para. [0004]).
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito et al. (4,598,163; pub. Jul. 1, 1986) in view of Xue et al. (CN109065508A; pub. Dec. 21, 2018) and further in view of Binzaid et al. (US 2016/0238452 A1; pub. Aug. 18, 2016).
Regarding claim 2, the combined references are silent about: a pre-amplification circuit configured to operate the arrangement of the plurality of pyroelectric elements to generate an output voltage.
In a similar field of endeavor Binzaid et al. disclose: a pre-amplification circuit configured to operate the arrangement of the plurality of pyroelectric elements to generate an output voltage (para. [0060]-[0062], [0064], [0069]) motivated by the benefits for high integrated gain (Binzaid et al. para. [0064]).
In light of the benefits for high integrated gain as taught by Binzaid et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Ito et al. and Xue et al. with the teachings of Binzaid et al.
Regarding claim 3, Binzaid et al. disclose: the pre-amplification circuit is configured to operate the arrangement of the plurality of pyroelectric elements in voltage mode (para. [0060]-[0062], [0064], [0069]) motivated by the benefits for high integrated gain (Binzaid et al. para. [0064]).
Regarding claim 4, Binzaid et al. disclose: the pre-amplification circuit is configured to operate the arrangement of the plurality of pyroelectric elements in current mode (para. [0060]-[0062], [0064], [0069]) motivated by the benefits for high integrated gain (Binzaid et al. para. [0064]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito et al. (4,598,163; pub. Jul. 1, 1986) in view of Xue et al. (CN109065508A; pub. Dec. 21, 2018) and further in view of Watabe et al. (US 2015/0369668 A1; pub. Dec. 24, 2015).
Regarding claim 10, the combined references are silent about: the electrodes of the pyroelectric elements cover a circular area on the active area, and wherein each of the pyroelectric elements is shaped as an annular segment.
In a similar field of endeavor Watabe et al. disclose: the electrodes of the pyroelectric elements cover a circular area on the active area, and wherein each of the pyroelectric elements is shaped as an annular segment (para. [0310], fig.37) motivated by the benefits for higher sensitivity infrared detector (Watabe et al. para. [0062]).
In light of the benefits for high integrated gain as taught by Watabe et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Ito et al. and Xue et al. with the teachings of Watabe et al.
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito et al. (4,598,163; pub. Jul. 1, 1986) in view of Xue et al. (CN109065508A; pub. Dec. 21, 2018) in view of Binzaid et al. (US 2016/0238452 A1; pub. Aug. 18, 2016) and further in view of Klee et al. (US 2010/0277040 A1; pub. Nov. 4, 2010).
Regarding claim 13, the combined references are silent about: the pyroelectric substrate is attached to a carrier substrate, wherein electronic components of the pre-amplification circuit are attached on one main surface of the carrier substrate, particularly on a surface of the carrier substrate opposite to the surface on/above which the pyroelectric substrate is attached.
In a similar field of endeavor Klee et al. disclose: the pyroelectric substrate is attached to a carrier substrate, wherein electronic components of the pre-amplification circuit are attached on one main surface of the carrier substrate, particularly on a surface of the carrier substrate opposite to the surface on/above which the pyroelectric substrate is attached (para. [0105], [0114]) motivated by the benefits for a scalable detector (Klee et al. para. [0020]).
In light of the benefits for a scalable detector as taught by Klee et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Ito et al. and Xue et al. and Binzaid et al. with the teachings of Klee et al.
Regarding claim 14, Klee et al. disclose: the pyroelectric substrate is embedded in a package, wherein electronic components of the pre-amplification circuit are provided on a PCB external to the package and coupled to the arrangement of serially coupled pyroelectric elements (para. [0105], [0114]) motivated by the benefits for a scalable detector (Klee et al. para. [0020]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAMADOU FAYE/Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/UZMA ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884