DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application filed on November 15, 2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 8, 10-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen (US-7736173-B2).
With respect to Claim 1:
Chen discloses a connector terminal 2 for electrically connecting a cable 302 (Fig. 4), comprising:
a clamping part 16, a side of a first end of the clamping part 16 has a first barb structure 18 (Fig. 5), and a pair of sides of a second end of the clamping part 16 each have a second barb structure 42 (Fig. 5), the first end is opposite to the second end (Fig. 5); and
a contacting part 33 extending along a first direction (Fig. 5: vertical direction) from the second end of the clamping part 16 and electrically contacting a terminal paired with the connector terminal (col. 3, lines 7-10: contacts a conductive through hole of a PCB).
With respect to Claim 2:
Chen discloses the connector terminal according to claim 1.
Chen also discloses wherein the clamping part 16 has a slot 26 and the cable 302 is clamped in the slot 26 (Figs. 4-6).
With respect to Claim 3:
Chen discloses the connector terminal according to claim 2.
Chen also discloses wherein the slot 26 has a blade-type inner wall 24 piercing an insulating casing of the cable 302 and forming an electrical connection between the cable 302 and the connector terminal 2 (col. 2, final paragraph).
With respect to Claim 5:
Chen discloses the connector terminal according to claim 1.
Chen also discloses wherein a cross section of the second barb structure 42 is triangular (Fig. 5), a width of the second end of the clamping part 16 is greater than a width of a second snapping groove (Fig. 6: the passage enclosed by side edges 56 and 58) of a connector housing 61 fitting with the connector terminal 2 (Fig. 6). (Although the "second snapping groove" is assigned to the same parts in Chen as the "first snapping groove" in the 103 rejection of claim 4, claim 5 does not depend on claim 4.)
With respect to Claim 8:
Chen discloses the connector terminal according to claim 5.
Chen also discloses wherein a side of the second barb structure 42 extends obliquely from a bottom of the second end of the clamping part 16 along a second angle (Fig. 5), the second angle between the side of the second barb structure 42 and the first direction (Fig. 5: vertical direction) has a range of 15° to 45° (Fig. 5).
With respect to Claim 10:
Chen discloses a connector terminal 2 for electrically connecting a cable 302 (Fig. 4), comprising:
a clamping part 16, a side of a first end of the clamping part 16 has a first barb structure 18 (Fig. 5);
a connecting part 10 coupled to a second end of the clamping part (Fig. 5), an end of the connecting part 10 has a second barb structure 34/40 (Fig. 5); and
a contacting part 33 coupled to the connecting part 10 and extending along a first direction (Fig. 5: vertical direction), the contacting part 33 electrically contacting a terminal paired with the connector terminal (col. 3, lines 7-10: contacts a conductive through hole of a PCB), the first end of the clamping part 16 is opposite to the second end in the first direction (Fig. 5).
With respect to Claim 11:
Chen discloses the connector terminal according to claim 10.
Chen also discloses wherein the clamping part 16 has a slot 26 and the cable 302 is clamped in the slot 26 (Figs. 4-6).
With respect to Claim 12:
Chen discloses the connector terminal according to claim 11.
Chen also discloses wherein the slot 26 has a blade-type inner wall 24 piercing an insulating casing of the cable 302 and forming an electrical connection between the cable 302 and the connector terminal 2 (col. 2, final paragraph).
With respect to Claim 14:
Chen discloses the connector terminal according to claim 10.
Chen also discloses wherein a cross section of the second barb structure 42 is triangular (Fig. 5), a width of the connecting part 10 in a third direction (Fig. 5: horizontal direction) is greater than a width of a second snapping groove (Fig. 6: the passage enclosed by side edges 56 and 58, the relative widths shown by the stop edge 50) of a connector housing 61 fitting with the connector terminal 2 (Fig. 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 6-7, 9, 13, 15-19 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US-7736173-B2) in view of Burke, et al. (US-6328592-B1).
With respect to Claim 4:
Chen discloses the connector terminal according to claim 1.
Chen also discloses wherein a width of the first end of the clamping part 16 is greater than a width of a first snapping groove (Fig. 6: the passage enclosed by side edges 56 and 58) of a connector housing 61 fitting with the connector terminal 2 (Fig. 6).
Chen does not explicitly disclose wherein a cross section of the first barb structure 18 is triangular (Fig. 5: a cross section of the hook portion 18 is rounded, not triangular).
However, Burke teaches a terminal 40 and a connector housing 10 for clamping a cable (Figs. 5-6), the terminal 40 comprises a barb structure 48c wherein a cross section of the barb structure 48c is triangular (Fig. 2).
Thus, Chen and Burke each disclose barbed terminals and housings for clamping cables. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the triangular barb structure of Burke could be combined with the hook portion 18 of Chen because it would provide a sharper edge which may better hold the cable. Furthermore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out the modification.
With respect to Claim 6:
Chen discloses the connector terminal according to claim 1.
Chen also discloses wherein a width of the first end of the clamping part 16 is greater than a width of a first snapping groove (Fig. 6: the passage enclosed by side edges 56 and 58) of a connector housing 61 fitting with the connector terminal 2 (Fig. 6).
Chen does not explicitly disclose wherein a cross section of the first barb structure is a plurality of triangles arranged along the first direction.
However, Burke teaches a terminal 40 and a connector housing 10 for clamping a cable (Figs. 5-6), the terminal 40 comprises a barb structure 48a/b/c wherein a cross section of the barb structure is a plurality of triangles arranged along the first direction (Fig. 2: 48a and 48c are separate triangles arranged vertically relative to each other). (In regards to the applicant's intent for this claim, disclosed in paragraph [0043] of the specification mailed on 11/15/2023, serrated edges along a clamping terminal are known in the art, such as in EP-0203639-A2.)
Thus, Chen and Burke each disclose barbed terminals and housings for clamping cables. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the triangular barb structure of Burke could be combined with the hook portion 18 of Chen because it would provide a sharper edge which may better hold the cable. Furthermore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out the modification.
With respect to Claim 7:
Chen in view of Burke discloses the connector terminal according to claim 4.
Burke also discloses wherein a side of the first barb structure 48c extends obliquely from a top of the first end of the clamping part 42 along a first angle (Fig. 2), the first angle between the side of the first barb structure 48c and the first direction (Fig. 2: vertical direction) has a range of 15° to 45° (Fig. 2).
With respect to Claim 9:
Chen in view of Burke discloses the connector terminal according to claim 4.
Chen also discloses wherein another side of the first end of the clamping part 16 has the first barb structure 18 (Fig. 5).
With respect to Claim 13:
Chen discloses the connector terminal according to claim 10.
Chen also discloses wherein a width of the first end of the clamping part 16 is greater than a width of a first snapping groove (Fig. 6: the passage enclosed by side edges 56 and 58) of a connector housing 61 fitting with the connector terminal 2 (Fig. 6).
Chen does not explicitly disclose wherein a cross section of the first barb structure 18 is triangular (Fig. 5: a cross section of the hook portion 18 is rounded, not triangular).
However, Burke teaches a terminal 40 and a connector housing 10 for clamping a cable (Figs. 5-6), the terminal 40 comprises a barb structure 48c wherein a cross section of the barb structure 48c is triangular (Fig. 2).
Thus, Chen and Burke each disclose barbed terminals and housings for clamping cables. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the triangular barb structure of Burke could be combined with the hook portion 18 of Chen because it would provide a sharper edge which may better hold the cable. Furthermore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out the modification.
With respect to Claim 15:
Chen discloses the connector terminal according to claim 10.
Chen also discloses wherein a width of the first end of the clamping part 16 is greater than a width of a first snapping groove (Fig. 6: the passage enclosed by side edges 56 and 58) of a connector housing 61 fitting with the connector terminal 2 (Fig. 6).
Chen does not explicitly disclose wherein a cross section of the first barb structure is a plurality of triangles arranged along the first direction.
However, Burke teaches a terminal 40 and a connector housing 10 for clamping a cable (Figs. 5-6), the terminal 40 comprises a barb structure 48a/b/c wherein a cross section of the barb structure is a plurality of triangles arranged along the first direction (Fig. 2: 48a and 48c are separate triangles arranged vertically relative to each other). (In regards to the applicant's intent for this claim, disclosed in paragraph [0043] of the specification mailed on 11/15/2023, serrated edges along a clamping terminal are known in the art, such as in EP-0203639-A2.)
Thus, Chen and Burke each disclose barbed terminals and housings for clamping cables. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the triangular barb structure of Burke could be combined with the hook portion 18 of Chen because it would provide a sharper edge which may better hold the cable. Furthermore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out the modification.
With respect to Claim 16:
Chen in view of Burke discloses the connector terminal according to claim 13.
Burke also discloses wherein a side of the first barb structure 48c extends obliquely from a top of the first end of the clamping part 42 along a first angle (Fig. 2), the first angle between the side of the first barb structure 48c and the first direction (Fig. 2: vertical direction) has a range of 15° to 45° (Fig. 2).
With respect to Claim 17:
Chen discloses the connector terminal according to claim 14.
Chen also discloses wherein a side of the second barb structure 34 extends obliquely from an end of the connecting part 10 along a second angle (Fig. 5), the second angle between the side of the second barb structure 34 and the first direction (Fig. 5: vertical direction) has a range of 15° to 45° (Fig. 5).
With respect to Claim 18:
Chen in view of Burke discloses the connector terminal according to claim 13.
Chen also discloses wherein another side of the first end of the clamping part 16 has the first barb structure 18 (Fig. 5).
With respect to Claim 19:
Chen discloses a connector housing 61, comprising:
a body internally having a second snapping groove 54, a part of a connector terminal 2 is arranged in the second snapping groove 54 (Fig. 6), the connector terminal 2 including a clamping part 16 and a contacting part 33, a side of a first end of the clamping part 16 has a first barb structure 18 (Fig. 5) and a pair of sides of a second end of the clamping part 16 each have a second barb structure 42 (Fig. 5), the first end is opposite to the second end, the contacting part 33 extends along a first direction (Fig. 5: vertical direction) from the second end of the clamping part 16 (Fig. 5).
Chen does not explicitly disclose an end cap coupled to the body and internally having a first snapping groove, another part of the connector terminal is arranged in the first snapping groove.
However, Burke teaches a barbed terminal 40 and a connector housing 10 for clamping a cable (Figs. 5-6), wherein the connector housing 10 includes a body 12 and a cover/end cap 14 coupled to the body 12 (Fig. 1), wherein the end cap 14 comprises a first snapping groove 30, and wherein another part of the terminal 40 is arranged in the first snapping groove 30 (Fig. 6).
Thus, Chen and Burke each disclose barbed terminals and housings for clamping cables. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the end cap of Burke could be combined with the connector housing of Chen because it would help to secure the terminals within the housing. Furthermore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out the modification.
With respect to Claim 23:
Chen discloses a connector, comprising:
a connector terminal 2 including a clamping part 16 and a contacting part 33, a side of a first end of the clamping part 16 has a first barb structure 18 (Fig. 5) and a pair of sides of a second end of the clamping part 16 each have a second barb structure 42 (Fig. 5), the first end is opposite to the second end (Fig. 5), the contacting part 33 extends along a first direction (Fig. 5: vertical direction) from the second end of the clamping part 16 and electrically contacts a terminal paired with the connector terminal (col. 3, lines 7-10: contacts a conductive through hole of a PCB); and
a connector housing 61 having a body internally having a second snapping groove 54, a part of the connector terminal 2 is arranged in the second snapping groove 54 (Fig. 6).
Chen does not explicitly disclose wherein the connector housing also comprises an end cap coupled to the body and internally having a first snapping groove, and another part of the connector terminal is arranged in the first snapping groove.
However, Burke teaches a barbed terminal 40 and a connector housing 10 for clamping a cable (Figs. 5-6), wherein the connector housing 10 includes a body 12 and a cover/end cap 14 coupled to the body 12 (Fig. 1), wherein the end cap 14 comprises a first snapping groove 30, and wherein another part of the terminal 40 is arranged in the first snapping groove 30 (Fig. 6).
Thus, Chen and Burke each disclose barbed terminals and housings for clamping cables. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the end cap of Burke could be combined with the connector housing of Chen because it would help to secure the terminals within the housing. Furthermore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out the modification.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 20-22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 20, allowability resides, at least in part, with the prior art, taken alone or in combination not showing or fairly teaching or suggesting “wherein the body has: a first housing internally having the second snapping groove, the second snapping groove has an interference fit with the second barb structure; a pair of guide parts extending along a second direction from a top of a pair of opposite sides of the first housing, the second direction is opposite to the first direction; and a snapping part arranged on a third side of the first housing, the third side is adjacent to the pair of guide parts,” as recited in claim 20, in conjunction with all the remaining limitations of the base claims. The prior art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest these limitations as substantially described in claim 20. These limitations, in combination with remaining limitations of claim 20, are neither taught nor suggested by the prior art of record, before claim 19 is allowable.
Claims 21-22 are dependent on claim 20 and are therefore allowable.
Conclusion
/AMARA ANDERSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2831 /ABDULLAH A RIYAMI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2831