Status of Claims
This is the first Office Action on the merits. Claims 1-18 are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/22/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-8, and 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mailer (US6876920B1) in view of Heiniger et al. (US20100185366A1), hereinafter Mailer and Heiniger, respectively.
Regarding claim 1, Mailer teaches of a system for determining the pass width of an agricultural harvester ("guidance assist system which is mounted to a tractor or other agricultural vehicle and which assists in directing the tractor back and forth…in passes that are parallel…offset from each other by a distance which is settable…and which is typically the working width of an implement towed by the tractor", Col. 1 line 66 - Col. 2 line 5), the system comprising: an agricultural harvester including a base vehicle configured to support a harvesting implement configured to engage crop material during each pass across a field ("a paddock including parallel rows 1 produced by passes of tractor 5 back and forth across the paddock", Col. 3 line 61-62, "tractor 5 tows an implement 17", Col. 7 line 15), the harvesting implement defining a cutting width extending between a first side and a second side of the harvesting implement perpendicular to a direction of travel ("the working width 15 of implement 17", Col. 3 line 67, "offset from each other by a distance which is settable…and which is typically the working width of an implement towed by the tractor", Col. 2 line 5, see at least FIG. 1 also shows implement 17 being perpendicular to the direction of travel); and a computing system ("System memory 73, stores a program which is operatively executed by microprocessor board 61 in order to effect the functioning of the overall system", Col. 6 line 56-59) configured to: control an operation of the agricultural harvester ("processor 19 also sends commands to actuators of steering assist 21, which mechanically steer the tractor", Col. 4 lines 46-48, "FIG. 1A depicts…towing a field working implement along a closed path", Col. 3 lines 32-33, implies a perimeter); and determine a pass width, extending parallel to the cutting width, for the agricultural harvester to make each pass across the field ("FIG. 1…the straight-line segments…11A - 11E of path 12 are all parallel and are offset from each other at a distance 13 which is identical to the working width 15 of implement 17", Col. 3 lines 60-67) wherein the determined pass width is the same for each pass across the field ("FIG. 1…the straight-line segments…11A - 11E of path 12 are all parallel and are offset from each other at a distance 13 which is identical to the working width 15 of implement 17", Col. 3 lines 60-67).
However, Mailer does not teach of such that the agricultural harvester travels along a perimeter the field; access an input indicative of a dimension of the perimeter of the field; determine the dimension of the perimeter of the field based on the accessed input; and based on the determined dimension of the perimeter of the field.
Heiniger, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of such that the agricultural harvester travels along a perimeter the field ("Field boundaries can initially be located by driving them with the vehicle 4 while the system 2 logs the GPS boundary data points", [0049]); access an input indicative of a dimension of the perimeter of the field ("Field boundaries can initially be located by driving them with the vehicle 4 while the system 2 logs the GPS boundary data points. The logged data can be stored in the memory of the microprocessor 20 for later reference", [0049]); determine the dimension of the perimeter of the field based on the accessed input ("For example, the system 2 can calculate the area of a field using the GPS coordinates of the field perimeter, which information can be processed, stored and displayed with the mapping module", [0046]); and based on the determined dimension of the perimeter of the field ("Field boundaries can initially be located by driving them with the vehicle 4 while the system 2 logs the GPS boundary data points", [0049], "For example, the system 2 can calculate the area of a field using the GPS coordinates of the field perimeter, which information can be processed, stored and displayed with the mapping module", [0046])
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have modified the system of Mailer with the teachings of Heiniger to travel along the field perimeter and determine and access a perimeter of the field with reasonable expectations of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to increase the effectiveness of the system by enabling it to work with irregular (e.g., non-rectangular) fields (Heiniger, [0012]), and allow for downstream operations relevant to field dimensions such as mapping (Heiniger, [0046]).
Regarding claim 2, modified Mailer teaches of all limitations of claim 1 as stated above, additionally, the computing system further configured to: access a second input indicative of the cutting width ("The data entry means allows the driver to enter data indicating…the distance through which consecutive passes of the vehicle should be offset", Col. 2 lines 8-13, "System 10 calculates a set of concentric waylines offset from each other by the working implement width entered by the operator", Col. 6 lines 19-21); and determine the pass width based on the accessed second input and the determined dimension of the perimeter of the field ("The data entry means allows the driver to enter data indicating…the distance through which consecutive passes of the vehicle should be offset", Col. 2 lines 8-13 ).
However, modified Mailer does not teach of wherein the accessed input corresponds to an accessed first input.
Heiniger, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of wherein the accessed input corresponds to an accessed first input ("Field boundaries can initially be located by driving them with the vehicle 4 while the system 2 logs the GPS boundary data points. The logged data can be stored in the memory of the microprocessor 20 for later reference", [0049]).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have modified the teachings of modified Mailer with the teachings of Heiniger to access the first input, a perimeter of the field with reasonable expectations of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow for downstream operations relevant to field dimensions such as mapping (Heiniger, [0046]).
Regarding claim 3, modified Mailer teaches of all limitations of claim 2 as stated above, additionally, wherein the computing system is further configured to: determine the pass width based on the determined width of the field and the accessed second input ("FIG. 1…the straight-line segments…11A - 11E of path 12 are all parallel and are offset from each other at a distance 13 which is identical to the working width 15 of implement 17", Col. 3 lines 60-67).
However, modified Mailer does not teach of determine a width of the field, extending perpendicular to the direction of travel, based on the accessed first input.
Heiniger, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of determine a width of the field, extending perpendicular to the direction of travel, based on the accessed first input ("Field boundaries can initially be located by driving them with the vehicle 4 while the system 2 logs the GPS boundary data points", [0049], "For example, the system 2 can calculate the area of a field using the GPS coordinates of the field perimeter, which information can be processed, stored and displayed with the mapping module", [0046]).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have modified the teachings of modified Mailer with the teachings of Heiniger to determine and access a perimeter of the field/width of the field with reasonable expectations of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow for downstream operations relevant to field dimensions such as mapping (Heiniger, [0046]).
Regarding claim 4, modified Mailer teaches of all limitations of claim 1 as stated above.
However, modified Mailer does not teach of further comprising: a sensor configured to generate data indicative of the dimension of the perimeter of the field, and wherein, when determining the dimension of the perimeter of the field based on the accessed input, the computing system is further configured to: determine the dimension of the perimeter of the field based on the data generated by the sensor.
Heiniger, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of further comprising: a sensor configured to generate data indicative of the dimension of the perimeter of the field ("The automatic steering system 2 includes a guidance module comprising a guidance controller and a path planner 12 and a GPS receiver 14 receiving signals from GPS signal sources", [0045], "Field boundaries can initially be located by driving them with the vehicle 4 while the system 2 logs the GPS boundary data points", [0049]), and wherein, when determining the dimension of the perimeter of the field based on the accessed input ("For example, the system 2 can calculate the area of a field using the GPS coordinates of the field perimeter, which information can be processed, stored and displayed with the mapping module", [0046]), the computing system is further configured to: determine the dimension of the perimeter of the field based on the data generated by the sensor ("the system 2 can calculate the area of a field using the GPS coordinates of the field perimeter, which information can be processes, stored and displayed with the mapping module 32", [0046]).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have modified the teachings of modified Mailer with the teachings of Heiniger to utilize a sensor for determining dimensions of a field and determine and access a perimeter of the field with reasonable expectations of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow for a constant stream of accurate data to use for mapping the dimensions of the field (Heiniger, [0012]), and allow for downstream operations relevant to field dimensions such as mapping (Heiniger, [0046]).
Regarding claim 6, modified Mailer teaches of all limitations of claim 4 as stated above.
However, modified Mailer does not teach of wherein the sensor is configured as a location sensor.
Heiniger, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of wherein the sensor is configured as a location sensor ("The automatic steering system 2 includes a guidance module comprising a guidance controller and a path planner 12 and a GPS receiver 14 receiving signals from GPS signal sources", [0045], "Field boundaries can initially be located by driving them with the vehicle 4 while the system 2 logs the GPS boundary data points", [0049]).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have modified the teachings of modified Mailer with the teachings of Heiniger to utilize a location sensor with reasonable expectations of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve accuracy of the system by utilizing real-time location data to support mapping for the dimensions of the field (Heiniger, [0005]).
Regarding claim 7, modified Mailer teaches of all limitations of claim 1 as stated above.
However, modified Mailer does not teach of wherein: when accessing the input indicative of the dimension of the perimeter of the field, the computing system is configured to access a field map depicting the dimension of the perimeter of the field; and when determining the dimension of the perimeter of the field based on the accessed input, the computing system is configured to determine the dimension of the perimeter of the field based on the accessed field map.
Heiniger, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of wherein: when accessing the input indicative of the dimension of the perimeter of the field ("Field boundaries can initially be located by driving them with the vehicle 4 while the system 2 logs the GPS boundary data points", [0049]), the computing system is configured to access a field map depicting the dimension of the perimeter of the field ("For example, the system 2 can calculate the area of a field using the GPS coordinates of the field perimeter, which information can be processed, stored and displayed with the mapping module", [0046]); and when determining the dimension of the perimeter of the field based on the accessed input, the computing system is configured to determine the dimension of the perimeter of the field based on the accessed field map ("For example, the system 2 can calculate the area of a field using the GPS coordinates of the field perimeter, which information can be processed, stored and displayed with the mapping module", [0046]).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have modified the teachings of modified Mailer with the teachings of Heiniger to determine and access a perimeter of the field and utilize a field map to depict field dimensions with reasonable expectations of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow for downstream operations relevant to field dimensions such as mapping (Heiniger, [0046]), and improve operator awareness and planning by allowing the field dimension data to be displayed in a readable format (Heiniger, [0045]).
Regarding claim 8, modified Mailer teaches of all limitations of claim 1 as stated above, additionally, wherein the computing system ("System memory 73, stores a program which is operatively executed by microprocessor board 61 in order to effect the functioning of the overall system", Col. 6 line 56-59) is further configured to: after determining the pass width ("FIG. 1…the straight-line segments…11A - 11E of path 12 are all parallel and are offset from each other at a distance 13 which is identical to the working width 15 of implement 17", Col. 3 lines 60-67), control the operation of the agricultural harvester such that at least a portion of the cutting width that is substantially equal to the determined pass width is used ("guidance assist system which is mounted to a tractor or other agricultural vehicle and which assists in directing the tractor back and forth…in passes that are parallel…offset from each other by distance which is settable…and which is typically the working width of an implement towed by the tractor", Col. 1 line 66 - Col. 2 line 5) to engage the crop material while the agricultural harvester makes each pass across the field ("the microprocessor is programmed to determine if the tractor is moving in the desired direction and if it is offset the correct amount from the previous pass", Col. 2 lines 15-18).
Regarding claim 10, Mailer teaches of a method for determining the pass width of an agricultural harvester ("guidance assist system which is mounted to a tractor or other agricultural vehicle and which assists in directing the tractor back and forth…in passes that are parallel…offset from each other by a distance which is settable…and which is typically the working width of an implement towed by the tractor", Col. 1 line 66 - Col. 2 line 5), the method comprising: controlling, with a computing system, an operation of an agricultural harvester ("processor 19 also sends commands to actuators of steering assist 21, which mechanically steer the tractor", Col. 4 lines 46-48, "FIG. 1A depicts…towing a field working implement along a closed path", Col. 3 lines 32-33, implies a perimeter); determining, with the computing system, a pass width for the agricultural harvester to make each pass across the field ("FIG. 1…the straight-line segments…11A - 11E of path 12 are all parallel and are offset from each other at a distance 13 which is identical to the working width 15 of implement 17", Col. 3 lines 60-67); and controlling, with the computing system, the operation of the agricultural harvester ("processor 19 also sends commands to actuators of steering assist 21, which mechanically steer the tractor", Col. 4 lines 46-48, "FIG. 1A depicts…towing a field working implement along a closed path", Col. 3 lines 32-33, implies a perimeter).
However, Mailer does not teach of to travel along a perimeter of a field; accessing, with the computing system, an input indicative of a dimension of the perimeter of the field; determining, with the computing system, the dimension of the perimeter of the field based on the accessed input; based on the determined dimension of the perimeter of the field, wherein the determined pass width is the same for each pass across the field; and based on the determined pass width.
Heiniger, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of to travel along a perimeter of a field ("Field boundaries can initially be located by driving them with the vehicle 4 while the system 2 logs the GPS boundary data points", [0049]); accessing, with the computing system, an input indicative of a dimension of the perimeter of the field ("Field boundaries can initially be located by driving them with the vehicle 4 while the system 2 logs the GPS boundary data points. The logged data can be stored in the memory of the microprocessor 20 for later reference", [0049]); determining, with the computing system, the dimension of the perimeter of the field based on the accessed input ("For example, the system 2 can calculate the area of a field using the GPS coordinates of the field perimeter, which information can be processed, stored and displayed with the mapping module", [0046]); based on the determined dimension of the perimeter of the field, wherein the determined pass width is the same for each pass across the field ("Field boundaries can initially be located by driving them with the vehicle 4 while the system 2 logs the GPS boundary data points", [0049], "For example, the system 2 can calculate the area of a field using the GPS coordinates of the field perimeter, which information can be processed, stored and displayed with the mapping module", [0046]); and based on the determined pass width ("Field boundaries can initially be located by driving them with the vehicle 4 while the system 2 logs the GPS boundary data points", [0049], "For example, the system 2 can calculate the area of a field using the GPS coordinates of the field perimeter, which information can be processed, stored and displayed with the mapping module", [0046]).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have modified the method of Mailer with the teachings of Heiniger to travel along the field perimeter and determine and access a perimeter of the field with reasonable expectations of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to increase the effectiveness of the system by enabling it to work with irregular (e.g., non-rectangular) fields (Heiniger, [0012]), and allow for downstream operations relevant to field dimensions such as mapping (Heiniger, [0046]).
Regarding claim 11, modified Mailer teaches of all limitations of claim 10 as stated above, the method further comprising: accessing, with the computing system ("System memory 73, stores a program which is operatively executed by microprocessor board 61 in order to effect the functioning of the overall system", Col. 6 line 56-59), a second input indicative of a cutting width defined by the harvesting implement perpendicular to a direction of travel ("FIG. 1…the straight-line segments…11A - 11E of path 12 are all parallel and are offset from each other at a distance 13 which is identical to the working width 15 of implement 17", Col. 3 lines 60-67); and determining, with the computing system, the pass width based on the accessed second input ("FIG. 1…the straight-line segments…11A - 11E of path 12 are all parallel and are offset from each other at a distance 13 which is identical to the working width 15 of implement 17", Col. 3 lines 60-67).
However, modified Mailer does not teach of wherein the accessed input corresponds to an accessed first input, and the determined dimension of the perimeter of the field.
Heiniger, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of wherein the accessed input corresponds to an accessed first input ("Field boundaries can initially be located by driving them with the vehicle 4 while the system 2 logs the GPS boundary data points. The logged data can be stored in the memory of the microprocessor 20 for later reference", [0049], "For example, the system 2 can calculate the area of a field using the GPS coordinates of the field perimeter, which information can be processed, stored and displayed with the mapping module", [0046]), and the determined dimension of the perimeter of the field ("Field boundaries can initially be located by driving them with the vehicle 4 while the system 2 logs the GPS boundary data points. The logged data can be stored in the memory of the microprocessor 20 for later reference", [0049], "For example, the system 2 can calculate the area of a field using the GPS coordinates of the field perimeter, which information can be processed, stored and displayed with the mapping module", [0046]).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have modified the teachings of modified Mailer with the teachings of Heiniger to determine and access a perimeter of the field with reasonable expectations of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow for downstream operations relevant to field dimensions such as mapping (Heiniger, [0046]).
Regarding claim 12, modified Mailer teaches of all limitations of claim 11 as stated above, further comprising: determining, with the computing system, the pass width ("FIG. 1…the straight-line segments…11A - 11E of path 12 are all parallel and are offset from each other at a distance 13 which is identical to the working width 15 of implement 17", Col. 3 lines 60-67) and the accessed second input ("The data entry means allows the driver to enter data indicating…the distance through which consecutive passes of the vehicle should be offset", Col. 2 lines 8-13, "System 10 calculates a set of concentric waylines offset from each other by the working implement width entered by the operator", Col. 6 lines 19-21).
However, modified Mailer does not teach of determining, with the computing system, a width of the field, extending perpendicular to the direction of travel, based on the accessed first input; and based on the determined width of the field.
Heiniger, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of determining, with the computing system, a width of the field, extending perpendicular to the direction of travel, based on the accessed first input ("Field boundaries can initially be located by driving them with the vehicle 4 while the system 2 logs the GPS boundary data points. The logged data can be stored in the memory of the microprocessor 20 for later reference", [0049], "For example, the system 2 can calculate the area of a field using the GPS coordinates of the field perimeter, which information can be processed, stored and displayed with the mapping module", [0046]); and based on the determined width of the field ("For example, the system 2 can calculate the area of a field using the GPS coordinates of the field perimeter, which information can be processed, stored and displayed with the mapping module", [0046]).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have modified the teachings of modified Mailer with the teachings of Heiniger to determine and access a perimeter of the field/width of the field with reasonable expectations of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow for downstream operations relevant to field dimensions such as mapping (Heiniger, [0046]).
Regarding claim 13, modified Mailer teaches of all limitations of claim 10 as stated above.
However, modified Mailer does not teach of wherein: when accessing the input indicative of the dimension of the field, the method includes receiving, with the computing system, sensor data indicative of the dimension of the perimeter of the field; and when determining the dimension of the perimeter of the field based on the accessed input, the method includes determining, with the computing system, the dimension of the perimeter of the field based on the received sensor data.
Heiniger, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of wherein: when accessing the input indicative of the dimension of the field, the method includes receiving, with the computing system ("For example, the system 2 can calculate the area of a field using the GPS coordinates of the field perimeter, which information can be processed, stored and displayed with the mapping module", [0046]), sensor data indicative of the dimension of the perimeter of the field ("The automatic steering system 2 includes a guidance module comprising a guidance controller and a path planner 12 and a GPS receiver 14 receiving signals from GPS signal sources", [0045]); and when determining the dimension of the perimeter of the field based on the accessed input, the method includes determining, with the computing system ("For example, the system 2 can calculate the area of a field using the GPS coordinates of the field perimeter, which information can be processed, stored and displayed with the mapping module", [0046]), the dimension of the perimeter of the field based on the received sensor data ("The automatic steering system 2 includes a guidance module comprising a guidance controller and a path planner 12 and a GPS receiver 14 receiving signals from GPS signal sources", [0045]).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have modified the teachings of modified Mailer with the teachings of Heiniger to utilize a sensor for determining dimensions of a field and determine and access a perimeter of the field with reasonable expectations of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow for a constant stream of accurate data to use for mapping the dimensions of the field (Heiniger, [0012]), and allow for downstream operations relevant to field dimensions such as mapping (Heiniger, [0046]).
Regarding claim 14, modified Mailer teaches of all limitations of claim 10 as stated above.
However, modified Mailer does not teach of wherein: when accessing the input indicative of the dimension of the perimeter of the field, the method includes accessing, with the computing system, a field map depicting the dimension of the perimeter of the field; and when determining the dimension of the perimeter of the field based on the accessed input, the method includes determining, with the computing system, the dimension of the perimeter of the field based on the accessed field map.
Heiniger, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of wherein: when accessing the input indicative of the dimension of the perimeter of the field, the method includes accessing, with the computing system, a field map depicting the dimension of the perimeter of the field ("For example, the system 2 can calculate the area of a field using the GPS coordinates of the field perimeter, which information can be processed, stored and displayed with the mapping module", [0046]); and when determining the dimension of the perimeter of the field based on the accessed input, the method includes determining, with the computing system, the dimension of the perimeter of the field based on the accessed field map ("For example, the system 2 can calculate the area of a field using the GPS coordinates of the field perimeter, which information can be processed, stored and displayed with the mapping module", [0046], "Field boundaries can initially be located by driving them with the vehicle 4 while the system 2 logs the GPS boundary data points. The logged data can be stored in the memory of the microprocessor 20 for later reference", [0049]).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have modified the teachings of modified Mailer with the teachings of Heiniger to determine and access a perimeter of the field and utilize a field map to depict field dimensions with reasonable expectations of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow for downstream operations relevant to field dimensions such as mapping (Heiniger, [0046]), and improve operator awareness and planning by allowing the field dimension data to be displayed in a readable format (Heiniger, [0045]).
Regarding claim 15, modified Mailer teaches of all limitations of claim 10 as stated above, additionally, wherein, after determining the pass width ("FIG. 1…the straight-line segments…11A - 11E of path 12 are all parallel and are offset from each other at a distance 13 which is identical to the working width 15 of implement 17", Col. 3 lines 60-67), the method further comprises: controlling, with the computing system, the operation of the agricultural harvester such that at least a portion of a cutting width, defined by an agricultural implement supported by a base vehicle of the agricultural harvester, that is substantially equal to the determined pass width is used to engage crop material while the agricultural harvester makes each pass across the field ("guidance assist system which is mounted to a tractor or other agricultural vehicle and which assists in directing the tractor back and forth…in passes that are parallel…offset from each other by distance which is settable…and which is typically the working width of an implement towed by the tractor", Col. 1 line 66 - Col. 2 line 5).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mailer in view of Heiniger, and further in view of Rotole et al. (US20180325032A1), hereinafter Rotole.
Regarding claim 5, modified Mailer teaches of all limitations of claim 4 as stated above.
However, modified Mailer does not teach of wherein the sensor is configured as an imaging device.
Rotole, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of wherein the sensor is configured as an imaging device ("For example, sensors that detect position may include…a camera", [0072]).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have modified the teachings of modified Mailer with the teaching of Rotole to utilize a camera as a sensor with reasonable expectations of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to increase the functionality of the system by detecting visual conditions in addition to the position of the implement (Rotole, [0072]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mailer and Heiniger as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Vanbergejk et al. (WO2014105927A1), hereinafter Vanbergejk.
Regarding claim 9, modified Mailer teaches of all limitations of claim 1 as stated above.
However, modified Mailer does not teach of wherein the agricultural harvester configured as an agricultural windrower.
Vanbergejk, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of wherein the agricultural harvester configured as an agricultural windrower ("there is no intent to limit it to the embodiments disclosed herein. For instance, in the description that follows, one focus is on an agricultural machine embodied as a windrower", [0014]).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have combined the elements of modified Mailer with the windrower of Vanbergerjk to yield predictable results. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these elements since windrowers are a known type of harvester for windrows, allowing for controlled placement of cut crop material.
Claims 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mailer in view of Heiniger, and further in view of Stephens (US20210185914A1), hereinafter Stephens.
Regarding claim 16, Mailer teaches of an agricultural harvester ("a paddock including parallel rows 1 produced by passes of tractor 5 back and forth across the paddock", Col. 3 line 61-62, "tractor 5 tows an implement 17", Col. 7 line 15), comprising: a frame ("tractor 5", Col. 3 line 2, frame is inherent); a pair of steerable wheels coupled to the frame and configured to move the agricultural harvester in a direction of travel ("steering assist 21, which mechanically steer the tractor", Col. 4 line 47, "…the tractor's steered wheels", Col. 8 line 7); a harvesting implement configured to engage crop material during each pass across a field, the harvesting implement defining a cutting width extending between a first side and a second side of the harvesting implement perpendicular to the direction of travel ("tractor 5 tows an implement 17", Col.7 line 15, "means and methods for increasing the efficiency of mechanised crop farming", Col. 1 lines 6-7); and a computing system ("System memory 73, stores a program which is operatively executed by microprocessor board 61 in order to effect the functioning of the overall system", Col. 6 line 56-59) configured to: control an operation of the agricultural harvester such that the agricultural harvester travels along a perimeter of the field ("processor 19 also sends commands to actuators of steering assist 21, which mechanically steer the tractor", Col. 4 lines 46-48, "FIG. 1A depicts…towing a field working implement along a closed path", Col. 3 lines 32-33, implies a perimeter); and determine a pass width, extending parallel to the cutting width, for the agricultural harvester to make each pass across the field based on the determined dimension of the perimeter of the field ("FIG. 1…the straight-line segments…11A - 11E of path 12 are all parallel and are offset from each other at a distance 13 which is identical to the working width 15 of implement 17", Col. 3 lines 60-67), wherein the determined pass width is the same for each pass across the field ("FIG. 1…the straight-line segments…11A - 11E of path 12 are all parallel and are offset from each other at a distance 13 which is identical to the working width 15 of implement 17", Col. 3 lines 60-67).
However, Mailer does not teach of a merger assembly supported relative to the frame and configured to direct severed crop material away from the agricultural harvester; access an input indicative of a dimension of the perimeter of the field; and determine the dimension of the perimeter of the field based on the accessed input.
Heiniger, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of access an input indicative of a dimension of the perimeter of the field ("Field boundaries can initially be located by driving them with the vehicle 4 while the system 2 logs the GPS boundary data points. The logged data can be stored in the memory of the microprocessor 20 for later reference", [0049]); and determine the dimension of the perimeter of the field based on the accessed input ("For example, the system 2 can calculate the area of a field using the GPS coordinates of the field perimeter, which information can be processed, stored and displayed with the mapping module", [0046]).
However, Heiniger does not teach of a merger assembly supported relative to the frame and configured to direct severed crop material away from the agricultural harvester.
Stephens, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of a merger assembly supported relative to the frame and configured to direct severed crop material away from the agricultural harvester ("Windrower 5 also includes a merger system 20 which is disposed under chassis 11 for directing crop material being discharged from header 12 to a location laterally displaced from the longitudinal centerline of the windrower 5", [0018]).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have modified the agricultural harvester of Mailer with the teachings of Heiniger to determine and access a perimeter of the field and the merger assembly of Stephens with reasonable expectations of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow for downstream operations relevant to field dimensions such as mapping (Heiniger, [0046]), and increase the efficiency of the system by directing the crop material from multiple passes into a windrower, reducing the number of passes needed (Stephens, [0003]).
Regarding claim 17, modified Mailer teaches of all limitations of claim 16 as stated above.
However, modified Mailer does not teach of further comprising: a sensor configured to generate data indicative of the dimension of the perimeter of the field, and wherein, when determining the dimension of the perimeter of the field based on the accessed input, the computing system is further configured to: determine the dimension of the perimeter of the field based on the data generated by the sensor.
Heiniger, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of further comprising: a sensor configured to generate data indicative of the dimension of the perimeter of the field ("The automatic steering system 2 includes a guidance module comprising a guidance controller and a path planner 12 and a GPS receiver 14 receiving signals from GPS signal sources", [0045], "Field boundaries can initially be located by driving them with the vehicle 4 while the system 2 logs the GPS boundary data points. The logged data can be stored in the memory of the microprocessor 20 for later reference", [0049]), and wherein, when determining the dimension of the perimeter of the field based on the accessed input ("For example, the system 2 can calculate the area of a field using the GPS coordinates of the field perimeter, which information can be processed, stored and displayed with the mapping module", [0046]), the computing system is further configured to: determine the dimension of the perimeter of the field based on the data generated by the sensor ("For example, the system 2 can calculate the area of a field using the GPS coordinates of the field perimeter, which information can be processed, stored and displayed with the mapping module", [0046]).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have modified the teachings of modified Mailer with the teachings of Heiniger to utilize a sensor for determining dimensions of a field and determine and access a perimeter of the field with reasonable expectations of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow for a constant stream of accurate data to use for mapping the dimensions of the field (Heiniger, [0012]), and allow for downstream operations relevant to field dimensions such as mapping (Heiniger, [0046]).
Regarding claim 18, modified Mailer teaches of all limitations of claim 16 as stated above, further comprising: an actuator coupled between the pair of steerable wheels and the frame, the actuator configured to steer the steerable wheels ("processor 19 also sends commands to actuators of steering assist 21, which mechanically steer the tractor", Col. 4 lines 46-48), and wherein, the computing system is further configured to: control an operation of the actuator to steer the steerable wheels ("processor 19 also sends commands to actuators of steering assist 21, which mechanically steer the tractor", Col. 4 lines 46-48) such that at least a portion of the cutting width that is substantially equal to the determined pass width is used ("FIG. 1…the straight-line segments…11A - 11E of path 12 are all parallel and are offset from each other at a distance 13 which is identical to the working width 15 of implement 17", Col. 3 lines 60-67) to engage the crop material when the agricultural harvester makes each pass across the field ("the microprocessor is programmed to determine if the tractor is moving in the desired direction and if it is offset the correct amount from the previous pass", Col. 2 lines 15-18).
Conclusion
ABIGAIL LEE ESPINOZA
Examiner
Art Unit 3657
/ADAM R MOTT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3657