Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use terms used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder for performing the claimed function, and are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a phase acquisition unit”, “a calibration unit”, “a point cloud acquisition unit”, “a depth map acquisition unit”, and “a depth map fusion unit” recited in claims 6 and 9.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure(s) described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: the processor disclosed in par. 119 of the pre-granted publication.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In particular, these claims recite “a main camera located at the top and a side camera located on at least one side surface”. It is not clear “located at the top” and “located on at least one side surface” are with respect to what. For example, does “located at the top” mean the main camera is located at the top of an object of interest, or at the top of the projector, or at the top of something else?
Clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taubin et al. (Pub. No. US 2019/0101382), in view of Rudd et al. (Pub. No. US 2016/0078610).
Regarding claim 1, Taubin discloses a three-dimensional (3D) calibration method for
acquiring a phase that is data required for 3D reconstruction from parameters of at least one camera and a projector based on a phase measuring profilometry (PMP) method (Par. 60 discloses acquiring an absolute phase which is data required for 3D reconstruction of an object (see Fig. 2D) from parameters of a camera (e.g. camera offset oc and camera amplitude ac discussed in pars. 50-51) and a projector (e.g. projector offset op and projector amplitude ap discussed in par. 49. The acquisition is based on the PMP method because it includes features such as structured-light projection, phase shifting (see pars. 42 and 48), image capturing, and phase wrapping/unwrapping (see par. 38));
defining a phase-to-depth function for each camera-and-projector combination (Par. 61: “In act 341, a spatial coordinate is determined for a three-dimensional point associated with the pixel being analyzed. The coordinate may comprise a set of coordinates defining a position in three-dimensional space and/or may comprise a distance measurement such as a depth value”) and performing calibration of optimizing the parameters of the camera and the projector (Par. 64: “In some use cases, it may be preferable to select a value of n so that one or more of the sinusoidal patterns has a period equal to an integer number of pixels”. Selecting a proper value of n could be interpreted as performing calibration of optimizing the parameters of the camera and projector); and
acquiring a point cloud that includes depth information using the optimized parameters of the camera and the projector (Par. 27: “When the pattern of image 205 is projected onto a target, each of the stripes of light effectively represents a different angle between the projector and the location where the light is incident in the scene. When a camera images the target, therefore, if the horizontal position within the pattern of image 205 can be determined, this establishes an angle between the projector and the imaged position, allowing triangulation of the position as discussed above and shown in FIG. 1B. For instance, pixels within the image of a hand illuminated with a high frequency sinusoidal pattern, as shown in FIG. 2C, can be analyzed to determine positions of a number of three-dimensional points to build a so-called “point cloud” of the hand as shown in FIG. 2D”. In particular, if n is selected such that one or more of the sinusoidal patterns has a period equal to an integer number of pixels, as disclosed in par. 64 cited above, it could be said the acquired point cloud uses optimized parameters of the camera and projector).
Taubin, however, does not disclose that its method is multi-views.
In the same field of endeavor, Rudd teaches a method of and system for measuring a three-dimensional surface by projecting structured illumination on the surface and acquiring a plurality of sets of images. The sets of images are processed to obtain a plurality of point clouds. A spatial accumulator is defined. A first point cloud of the plurality of point clouds is combined with a second point cloud of the plurality of point clouds into the spatial accumulator. Spatial coordinates of the surface are generated based on the contents of the spatial accumulator (See the abstract). Rudd further teaches a multi-camera system for acquiring images of the 3D surface (See Figs. 3 and 9 and the associated description).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the multi-camera system of Rudd into Taubin to fill in areas of occlusion resulted from using a single, fixed camera (Rudd, par. 41).
Regarding claim 2, Taubin in view of Rudd teaches the 3D calibration method of claim 1, wherein the acquiring of the phase comprises:
projecting a series of structured light images using the projector; detecting projected light that is reflected from an object using a sensor of the at least one camera; and acquiring the phase required for the 3D reconstruction using a single camera-and-projector pair (See Fig. 3 and par. 27).
Regarding claim 3, Taubin in view of Rudd teaches the 3D calibration method of claim 1, wherein the acquiring of the phase comprises configuring a main camera located at the top and a side camera located on at least one side surface, and acquiring the phase based on the PMP method using the projector located between the main camera and the side camera (Fig. 3 and pars. 41-42 of Rudd would render this limitation obvious).
Claims 6-8 recite similar limitations as respective claims 1-3, but are directed to a 3D calibration apparatus. Since Taubin also discloses such an apparatus (See par. 93), these claims could be rejected under the same rationales set forth in the rejection of their respective claims.
Claim(s) 4-5 and and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taubin in view of Rudd, and further in view of Lu et al. (Pub. No. US 20240119613).
Regarding claim 4, Taubin in view of Rudd teaches the 3D calibration method of claim 1, further comprising:
performing transformation from world coordinates to camera coordinates for all points in the point cloud, storing a z value of the camera coordinates, and acquiring a depth map for each camera-and-projector pair (See Fig. 1B and par. 61 of Taubin);
.
In the same field of endeavor, Lu teaches computing pixel-wise confidences of a first depth map and a second depth map, and performing a confidence-based depth map fusion that integrates the first and second depth maps into a single depth map based on the confidences (See Figs. 4A-4B and par. 29).
In light of Lu’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Taubin by inputting the initial depth map created at step 341 to a first kernel and a second kernel to generate a first depth map and a second depth map, and fusing the first and second depth maps to create a fused depth map based on pixel-wise confidence levels. The motivation would have been to avoid a dilemma of adopting a larger kernel of pixels with greater depth accuracy (but less resolution) or adopting a smaller kernel of pixels with larger resolution (but less depth accuracy) (Lu, par. 3).
Regarding claim 5, Taubin in view of Rudd and Lu teaches the 3D calibration method of claim 4, wherein the performing of the 3D reconstruction by acquiring the final point cloud comprises:
performing a depth map fusion through a weighted sum with a depth map of the main camera along with a corresponding confidence for points visible to the main camera, with respect to points in a 3D space acquirable through a depth of each pixel when computing the pixel-wise confidences of the depth maps; and performing the depth map fusion through a weighted sum in a depth map of a remaining side camera for points not visible to the main camera (Lu discloses at par. 28 a weighting component that performs a weighted sum of the first and second depth maps to generate the fused depth map. Since the system of Taubin as modified by Rudd comprises multiple cameras, the weighted sum operation should be performed on depth maps corresponding to each camera).
Claims 9 and 10 recite similar limitations as respective claims 4 and 5, but are directed to a 3D calibration apparatus. Since Taubin also discloses such an apparatus (See par. 93), these claims could be rejected under the same rationales set forth in the rejection of their respective claims.
Conclusion
/PHONG X NGUYEN/ Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2617