DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This is a non-final rejection in response to claims filed on 03/02/2026. Claims 6-19 have been cancelled. Claims 1-5 and 20 are currently amended, and remain pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP2022-185030, filed on 11/18/2022.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-5 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: Is the claim to a Process, Machine, Manufacture, or Composition of Matter?
Claims 1-5: An information processing system comprising circuitry configured to:
Claim 20: A non-transitory recording medium carrying computer readable codes which, when executed by a computer system, cause the computer system to carry out a method
All of the claims fall under at least potentially eligible subject matter category, at least “machine, or manufacture,” therefore the claims are to be further analyzed under step 2.
Step 2a Prong 1: Is the claim reciting a Judicial Exception(A Law of Nature, a Natural Phenomenon (Product of Nature), or An Abstract Idea?)
The claims under the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification are analyzed herein. Representative claims 1 and 20 are marked up, isolating the abstract idea from additional elements, wherein the abstract idea is in bold and the additional elements have been italicized as follows:
Claim 1: An information processing system comprising circuitry configured to:
receive position information and direction information of a plurality of users in a physical space;
identify, based on the position information, a predetermined output device, among a plurality of output devices disposed in the physical space, the predetermined output device having a predetermined positional relationship with the plurality of users;
determine, based on the direction information, that the predetermined output device is an output device to be used by the plurality of users; and
when the predetermined output device is determined to be the output device to be used by the plurality of users, cause the predetermined output device to output a message to one or more of the plurality of users.
Claim 20: A non-transitory recording medium carrying computer readable codes which, when executed by a computer system, cause the computer system to carry out a method in a physical space in which a plurality of output devices are disposed, the method comprising:
acquiring position information and direction information of a plurality of users in the physical space
identifying, based on the position information, a predetermined output device, among the plurality of output devices disposed in the physical space, the predetermined output device having a predetermined positional relationship with the plurality of users
determining, based on the direction information, that the predetermined output device is an output device to be used by the plurality of users; and
when the predetermined output device is determined to be the output device to be used by the plurality of users, causing the predetermined output device to output a message to one or more of the plurality of users.
When evaluating the bolded limitations of the claims under the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification, it is clear that representative claims 1 and 20 recite an abstract idea under “mental processes.” MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III) states, “The courts consider a mental process (thinking) that "can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper" to be an abstract idea...Accordingly, the "mental processes" abstract idea grouping is defined as concepts performed in the human mind, and examples of mental processes include observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions...” When considering the limitations in bold, the steps of the claims are recited at such a high level of generality such that they can practically be performed in the human mind. For example, receiving position and direction information of a plurality of users is merely collecting data, identifying a predetermined output device out of a plurality of devices, the predetermined output device having a predetermined positional relationship with the plurality of users, determining, based on direction information that the predetermined output is to be used, and causing the predetermined output a message to one or more of the plurality of users. When considering that the claims do not particularly limit how the determining using position information or direction information is performed, it is clear that the steps are recited with enough breadth such that they can encompass mere judgments by a human. For example, receiving position and direction information can merely be an observation of users in a physical space, followed by manually selecting an output based on the position, and finally determining an output device based on direction in which to output a message. MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(A) states, “claims do recite a mental process when they contain limitations that can practically be performed in the human mind including... "collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis," where the data analysis steps are recited at a high level of generality such that they could practically be performed in the human mind.”
Furthermore, even though the claims instruct the steps to be performed on product claims, “Examiners should keep in mind that both product claims (e.g., computer system, computer-readable medium, etc.) and process claims may recite mental processes.” Furthermore, MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C) states, “In evaluating whether a claim that requires a computer recites a mental process, examiners should carefully consider the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim in light of the specification. For instance, examiners should review the specification to determine if the claimed invention is described as a concept that is performed in the human mind and applicant is merely claiming that concept performed 1) on a generic computer, or 2) in a computer environment, or 3) is merely using a computer as a tool to perform the concept. In these situations, the claim is considered to recite a mental process.” Therefore, though the claims are described as being performed on a computer, since the claimed functions can practically be performed in the human mind, it is still reciting an abstract idea. Therefore, the claims at least recite an abstract idea under “mental processes,” and are to be further analyzed under Step 2a Prong 2.
Step 2A Prong 2: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
Claims 1 and 20 recite the following additional elements:
-Information Processing System comprising circuitry configured to: in claim 1
- a predetermined output device in claims 1 and 20
- a plurality of output devices disposed in the physical space in claims 1 and 20
- A non-transitory recording medium carrying computer readable codes which, when executed by a computer system, in claims 1 and 20
The additional elements listed above, when considered individually and in combination with the claim as a whole, no more than a recitation of the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception on generic computing components as outlined in MPEP 2106.05(f). In this case, the abstract idea of “detect a position and direction of a user, and use the position and direction to determine a predetermined output device in which to display a message” is being performed on generic computing components such as an information processing system comprising circuitry, non-transitory recording medium, output devices and computer system. Furthermore, these components are used to perform functions in their ordinary capacity, for example, an output device being used to output a message. In view of the specification, the output devices are devices such as a speaker and image display device which are no more than devices being used in their ordinary capacity to carry out the abstract idea (i.e. a speaker to output tonal information, or a display device to output an image). Furthermore, there is no improvement to the technology or technological field purported in the specification or recited within the scope of the actual claim language. (See MPEP 2106.05(a) for Improvements to Technology or Technical Field).
Even when considering the additional elements individually or as an ordered combination, the claims still are equivalent to “apply it,” because they are merely performing a mental process on a generic computer or on a computer environment such as “circuitry,” or “A non-transitory recording medium carrying computer readable codes which, when executed by a computer system.”
Therefore, the claims 1 and 20 are directed to an abstract idea without integration into a practical application.
Step 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
Claims 1 and 20 recite the following additional elements:
-Information Processing System comprising circuitry configured to: in claim 1
- a predetermined output device in claims 1 and 20
- a plurality of output devices disposed in the physical space in claims 1 and 20
- A non-transitory recording medium carrying computer readable codes which, when executed by a computer system, in claims 1 and 20
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, when considered separately and as an ordered combination, they do not add significantly more (also known as an “inventive concept”) to the exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using an information processing system comprising circuitry, output devices, non-transitory recording medium, and computer system to perform “detect a position and direction of a user, and use the position and direction to select a predetermined output in which to output a message” amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. Accordingly, even when viewed as a whole, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e. an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. Thus claims 1, and 20 are not patent eligible because the claims are directed to an abstract without significantly more.
Dependent claims 2-5 are also given the full two part analysis both individually and in combination with the claims they depend on herein:
Claim 2 adds more of the same abstract idea particularly, “wherein the circuitry is configured to determine the predetermined output device in accordance with the position and the direction information of the plurality of users.” Since the scope of the claim is still broad enough such that the data analysis can be performed practically in the human mind (since a human can determined an output device based on the position and direction of many users). Furthermore, the additional elements of circuitry and output device are repeated but are still “apply it” level elements because they are still used as a tool to carry out the mental process. Therefore, even when considering individually or as a combination, nothing in the claims integrates the abstract idea into a practical application. Furthermore, even when viewed as a whole nothing meaningfully limits the claims such that the recite significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claims 3 and 5 recite more of the same abstract idea because they are merely adding more steps of displaying the data, for example, claim 3 displays a “work area” for one or more of the plurality of users, and claim 5 displays a name of the plurality of users on the work area. Furthermore, claim 4 receives speech data of the plurality of users, and displays the speech data in the work area. Since the human mind can practically receive speech data from users and display speech data in that work area (by writing it down on a piece of paper) the claims are still mental processes. Furthermore, displaying a work area, whether it is a display of a user’s name, is merely using the additional element of “the predetermined output device” in its ordinary capacity to perform an economic or other task (using an output device to output information). Therefore, even when viewed as a whole, nothing meaningfully limits the abstract idea such that it recites significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Carlos et al. (US 20160373522 A1) hereinafter Carlos in view of Jorasch et al. (US 11606220 B2) hereinafter Jorasch.
Regarding Claim 1:
Carlos teaches:
Claim 1: An information processing system comprising circuitry configured to:
- receive position information of a plurality of users in a physical space;(Carlos [0063] Alternatively or additionally, in some embodiments, camera 443 or one or more RFID sensors may be employed in sensor system 240 for detection of one or more users that are proximate interactive display wall 220, or other positions within collaboration venue 280. In such embodiments, collaboration system controller 210 may include data in presence detection data 202 indicating that one or more users are currently disposed at a particular location in collaboration venue 280, e.g., proximate interactive display wall 220. Thus, in remote collaboration venues 140 of collaboration environment 100 (not shown in FIG. 4), the location of one or more users can be indicated. [0041] Furthermore, presence detection data 202 may include location information for each user in collaboration venue 280. )
- identify, based on the position information, a predetermined output device, among a plurality of output devices disposed in the physical space, (Carlos [0064] Display proximity sensor 444 may be any technically feasible sensor capable of detecting, without user intervention, one or more users proximate interactive display wall 220 or identifying exactly which user or users are proximate to interactive display wall 220. In some embodiments, display proximity sensor 444 may also be capable of detecting, without user intervention, to which portion of interactive display wall 220 one or more users are proximate. [0048] Interactive display wall 220 may include the display surface or surfaces of any technically feasible display device or system type, including but not limited to the display surface of a light-emitting diode (LED) display,..., all as a single or multi-screen tiled array of displays. Display sizes may range from smaller handheld or head-mounted display devices to full wall displays. In the example illustrated in FIG. 2, interactive display wall 220 includes a plurality of display tiles 230 mounted in a 2×2 array. Other configurations and array dimensions of multiple electronic display devices, e.g. 1×4, 2×3, 5×6, etc., also fall within the scope of the present invention. One embodiment of a display tile 230 is illustrated in FIG. 3. [0049] FIG. 3 is a schematic diagram of a display tile 230,...display tile 230 includes, without limitation, a display screen region 310, a light engine module 320, and a control system 330. The display screen region 310 is configured to display digital images that are visible to a viewer. [0057] For a tiled display, as illustrated in FIG. 2, image data signals 205 are appropriately distributed among display tiles 230 such that a coherent image is displayed on a display surface 221 of interactive display wall 220. [0063] In some embodiments, presence detection data 202 may indicate to what portion of interactive display wall 220 each of the one or more users are proximate. ) Since Carlos’s system identifies which display tile or portion of the display wall to activate in response to the user’s location, the limitation is satisfied.
- the predetermined output device having a predetermined positional relationship with the plurality of users;(Carlos [0064] Display proximity sensor 444 may include a simple motion-detection apparatus, such as an infrared-based motion detector, so that collaboration system controller 210 may include data in presence detection data 202 indicating that one or more users are proximate to interactive display screen 220. [0074] User 601 has been detected proximate interactive display wall 220A, and icon 701 is accordingly disposed proximate the portion of diagram 721 that represents interactive display wall 220A. By contrast, users 602 and 603 have been detected as entering first collaboration venue 681, but have not been detected proximate interactive display wall 220A.) Fig. 7 displays a predetermined area that falls within the scope of “positional relationship” with the plurality of users.
- determine, based on the position information, that the predetermined output device is an output device to be used(Carlos [0094] In some embodiments, the sensor information may further include a location of the first user within the collaboration venue and/or relative to a display device of the collaboration venue, such as interactive display wall 220. In some embodiments, the sensor information may indicate to what portion of the display device the first user is proximate, e.g., left portion, right portion, or center portion. [0096] In step 1002, location module 128 determines whether the first user is proximate a display device of the first collaboration venue, for example based on the notification received in step 1001.)
- when the predetermined output device is determined to be the output device to be used by the plurality of users, cause the predetermined output device to output a message to one or more of the plurality of users. (Carlos [0027] An interactive window asset, or “asset,” may be any interactive renderable content that can be displayed on a display surface of collaboration system client 140...Assets may include application environments, images, videos, web browsers, documents, mirroring or renderings of laptop screens, presentation slides, any other graphical user interface (GUI) of a software application, and the like. [0044] By contrast, when all users present in collaboration venue 280 are authorized to view and/or hear the particular asset, such a status would indicate that the asset should be displayed or played normally. [0073] First collaboration venue 681 is depicted with a user 601 located within first collaboration venue 681 and proximate interactive display wall 220A, a user 602 located somewhere within first collaboration venue 681, and a user 603 that is just entering first collaboration venue 681. As shown, each of users 601, 602, and 603 has an authorization level of “A,” indicating that each may view and edit all assets currently displayed by interactive display wall 220A.) The broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) of “outputting a message” is satisfied by Carlos, in which content such as images, videos, documents, or presentation slides are displayed on the surface of the output device proximate to a user.
However, Carlos fails to teach:
- direction information of a plurality of users
- that the determine step is determining, based on the direction information, that the predetermined output device is an output device to be used by the plurality of users; and
Alternatively, Jorasch teaches:
- receiving direction information of a plurality of users(Jorasch [Col. 170 Lines 20-25] At step 9109, camera 4100 may identify a state of the object in the second image. A state of the object may include the object's color, size (e.g., if the object is a plant), configuration, state of repair, location, orientation, an indication of a possessor of the object, an indication of a user of an object, and/or any other state of the object. [Col. 170 Lines 59-67] In various embodiments, the object is identified in the second image based on the object's relationship (e.g., physical relationship) to the second user. The object may be identified based on its proximity to the second user, based on its possession by the second user, based on the second user being in contact with the object, based on the second user pointing to the object, based on the second user looking at the object and/or based on any other relationship to the second user. [Col. 175 Lines 18-32] In various embodiments, camera 4100 may determine if the distance between the first user and the object is less than or equal to a predetermined proximity threshold (e.g., less than or equal to two feet, less than or equal to zero). In various embodiments, if the distance is less than or equal to a predetermined proximity threshold, a triggering condition may be satisfied, and a signal may subsequently be output (e.g., projected). Various embodiments contemplate other triggering conditions, such as conditions where the user is looking at the object, looking in the direction of the object, gesturing towards the object (e.g., a “movement vector” computed for the motion of the first user's appendages is directed towards the object), holding the object, and/or interacting with and/or relating to the object in some other way. )
- that the determine step is determining, based on the direction information, that the predetermined output device is an output device to be used by the plurality of users; and (Jorasch [Col. 177 Lines 39-57] To do so, camera 4100 may determine, in an image, a first vector between the object and the individual (e.g., user, toddler, pet), which may represent a first distance and a first direction separating the object and the individual. Camera 4100 may also identify at least one location in the image that defines a second vector with the individual. The second vector may represent a second distance and a second direction separating the location and the individual. The location is where camera 4100 will create the distraction (e.g., by projecting a laser pointer or other light to the location). As such, the camera may identify the location such that the second vector is offset from the first vector by at least a threshold offset value, e.g., the distraction is at least the threshold offset value away from the object. The camera may then determine a direction (“bearing”) from an output device (e.g., a laser pointer, light, etc.) to the location. The camera may then cause the output device to project a signal (e.g., the distracting signal) in accordance with the bearing (e.g., in the direction of the bearing [Col. 413 Lines 55-62] In various embodiments, a projector may project an image of a speaker to a more convenient location for viewing the speaker. In a car, various embodiments provide for projecting an image of a user speaking from a backseat into the driver's visual range so the driver doesn't have to turn around to talk to the user in the backseat. Likewise, the image of the driver could be displayed on a screen of one or more of the seat backs, towards the backseats.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill the art before the effective filing date of the present disclosure to modify Carlos with the teachings of Jorasch, particularly by adding the use of direction information in Carlos’s determination of an output device to be used by a plurality of users. By additionally using direction and position information in Carlos’s teachings, one would reasonably expect the outcome of determining, based on position and direction information, an output device to be used by a plurality of users. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform this combination as it provides a more convenient location for the user, based not on just where they are but where they are facing, reducing the need for a user to turn around. (Jorasch [Col. 413 Lines 55-62] In various embodiments, a projector may project an image of a speaker to a more convenient location for viewing the speaker. In a car, various embodiments provide for projecting an image of a user speaking from a backseat into the driver's visual range so the driver doesn't have to turn around to talk to the user in the backseat.)
Regarding Claim 2:
The combination of Carlos and Jorasch teach The information processing system according to claim 1:
Furthermore, Carlos teaches:
- wherein the circuitry is configured to determine the predetermined output device in accordance with the position information of the plurality of users(Carlos [0030] In some embodiments, collaboration server 120 may receive information from one collaboration system client 140 that indicates arrival and/or departure of particular users, and then disseminates such information to the remaining collaboration system client 140. [0067] It will be further appreciated, that the sensor system setup for each venue location will allow for approximate location of one or more users with respect to position the one or more display walls and the position of what part of the display wall. In one embodiment, if two users are at one display device in collaboration venue 280, sensor system 240 will determine if the first user is positioned near one side of the display device and the other user is positioned near the other side of the display device. )
However, Carlos fails to teach:
-that the determining of the predetermined output device is in accordance with both position information AND direction information of the plurality of users.
Alternatively, Jorasch teaches:
-that the determining of the predetermined output device is in accordance with both position information AND direction information of the plurality of users. (Jorasch [Col. 177 Lines 39-57] To do so, camera 4100 may determine, in an image, a first vector between the object and the individual (e.g., user, toddler, pet), which may represent a first distance and a first direction separating the object and the individual. Camera 4100 may also identify at least one location in the image that defines a second vector with the individual. The second vector may represent a second distance and a second direction separating the location and the individual. The location is where camera 4100 will create the distraction (e.g., by projecting a laser pointer or other light to the location). As such, the camera may identify the location such that the second vector is offset from the first vector by at least a threshold offset value, e.g., the distraction is at least the threshold offset value away from the object. The camera may then determine a direction (“bearing”) from an output device (e.g., a laser pointer, light, etc.) to the location. The camera may then cause the output device to project a signal (e.g., the distracting signal) in accordance with the bearing (e.g., in the direction of the bearing [Col. 413 Lines 55-62] In various embodiments, a projector may project an image of a speaker to a more convenient location for viewing the speaker. In a car, various embodiments provide for projecting an image of a user speaking from a backseat into the driver's visual range so the driver doesn't have to turn around to talk to the user in the backseat. Likewise, the image of the driver could be displayed on a screen of one or more of the seat backs, towards the backseats.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill the art before the effective filing date of the present disclosure to modify Carlos with the teachings of Jorasch, particularly by adding the use of direction information in Carlos’s determination of an output device to be used by a plurality of users. By additionally using direction and position information in Carlos’s teachings, one would reasonably expect the outcome of determining, based on position and direction information, an output device to be used by a plurality of users. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform this combination as it provides a more convenient location for the user, based not on just where they are but where they are facing, reducing the need for a user to turn around. (Jorasch [Col. 413 Lines 55-62] In various embodiments, a projector may project an image of a speaker to a more convenient location for viewing the speaker. In a car, various embodiments provide for projecting an image of a user speaking from a backseat into the driver's visual range so the driver doesn't have to turn around to talk to the user in the backseat.)
Regarding Claim 3:
The combination of Carlos and Jorasch teach The information processing system according to claim 2:
Furthermore, Carlos teaches:
- wherein the circuitry is configured to display, on the predetermined output device disposed in the physical space, a work area for one or more of the plurality of users(Carlos [0070] Client software 261 pulls digital content 201 from collaboration server 120 (shown in FIG. 1) via network 105, and generates workspaces based on this digital content 201. As described above, a workspace is the digital canvas on which assets are arranged and interacted with, and can be displayed on interactive display wall 220. [0072] Users located within first collaboration venue 681 and second collaboration venue 682 are collaboratively working on a workspace that is currently displayed by interactive display walls 220A and 220B. [0077] FIG. 8A illustrates a collaboration workspace 801A displayed by interactive display wall 220A in first collaboration venue 681, and FIG. 8B illustrates a workspace 801 B displayed by interactive display wall 220B in second collaboration venue 682, according to various embodiments of the present invention. Workspace 801 includes multiple assets 802 and a workspace menu 810. As shown, each asset 802 may be positioned at a particular location on display surface 221, and may be displayed across one or multiple display tiles 230. Each asset 802 includes asset content 803 that is displayed within a presentation window 804. Workspace menu 810 includes icons representing some or all of the workspaces associated with a particular project. For example, in the embodiment illustrated in FIGS. 8A and 8B, workspace 801 is indicated in workspace menu 810 by an icon 801A (cross-hatched).)
Regarding Claim 4:
The combination of Carlos and Jorasch teach The information processing system according to claim 3:
Furthermore, Carlos teaches:
- display data in the work area displayed on the predetermined output device disposed in the physical space.(Carlos [0070] Client software 261 pulls digital content 201 from collaboration server 120 (shown in FIG. 1) via network 105, and generates workspaces based on this digital content 201. As described above, a workspace is the digital canvas on which assets are arranged and interacted with, and can be displayed on interactive display wall 220. Client software 261 may also receive digital content 201 from software applications 251, which reside on local computing device 250, and generate assets to be displayed on interactive display wall 220.)
However, Carlos fails to teach or suggest:
- wherein the circuitry is further configured to: receive speech data of one or more of the plurality of users;
and display the speech data in the work area displayed on the predetermined output device disposed in the physical space.
Alternatively, Jorasch teaches or suggests:
- wherein the circuitry is further configured to: receive speech data of one or more of the plurality of users;(Jorasch [Col. 361 Lines 6-30] The central controller could detect how much time each headset wearer spends in different conversational roles such as speaker, direct addressee, audience, and bystander roles. The central controller could provide descriptive statistics about the amount of time individuals of legally protected groups or other groups of interest speak during meetings or the amount of time spent in particular conversational roles. The central controller could allow individuals to access their own speaking data and compare their metrics to other members of the team or enterprise, or compare averages for similar roles within the organization. (2389) Audio and other device inputs could be used to train an AI module that detects how speakers engage with one another based upon sentiment content in verbal audio content. This module could be trained using verbal content... Likewise, audio elements such as voice quality, rate, pitch, loudness, as well as rhythm, intonation and syllable stress could be used to train an AI module that analyzes how individuals react to the speech of others.)
- and display the speech data in the work area displayed on the predetermined output device disposed in the physical space.(Jorasch [Col. 370 Lines 3-7] For example, the user might speak into a microphone of the user's headset, with the audio signal being processed by the processor of the headset with speech to text software. The resulting text could be displayed in the space behind the user on the video call.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill the art before the effective filing date of the present disclosure to modify Carlos with the teachings of Jorasch, particularly by adding the collection and display of speech data to the workspace of Carlos. By adding receiving speech data and displaying the speech data to Carlos’ system, one would reasonably arrive at the claims since Carlos can display any viable application or GUI, such as Jorasch’s. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated by the additional interactivity of displaying the user’s speech on the screen while they are talking which would better inform the participants. (Jorasch [Col. 369 Line 66- Col. 370 Line 2] Instead of putting up a photo as a virtual backdrop behind her, the user could use her headset to create a more dynamic background that could entertain or inform other call participants)
Regarding Claim 5:
The combination of Carlos and Jorasch teach The information processing system according to claim 3:
Furthermore, Carlos teaches:
wherein the circuitry is configured to display a name of one or more of the plurality of users in the work area displayed on the predetermined output device disposed in the physical space. (Carlos [0075] Similarly, other identifying information may be displayed in or adjacent to each of icons 701-703 and 711-713, such as a user name, an employee number, a profile picture, and the like. [0043] Participant data 203 indicates particular users that are located at one or more remote collaboration system clients 140. In some embodiments, participant data 203 may include unique identifiers for each such user, such as a name, employee number, and the like. Furthermore, in some embodiments, participant data 203 may also include authorization information associated with each such user, such as the authorization level of each user. [0044] Asset metadata 204 includes a status associated with an asset currently displayed in collaboration venue 280 on interactive display wall 220.)
Regarding Claim 20:
Carlos teaches:
- A non-transitory recording medium carrying computer readable codes which, when executed by a computer system, cause the computer system to carry out a method in a physical space in which a plurality of output devices are disposed, the method comprising: (Carlos [0118] 14. In some embodiments, a non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform the steps of: receiving sensor information from one or more sensors disposed at a first collaboration venue indicating that a first user is present within the first collaboration venue; [0048] Interactive display wall 220 may include the display surface or surfaces of any technically feasible display device or system type, including but not limited to the display surface of a light-emitting diode (LED) display, a digital light (DLP) or other projection display, a liquid crystal display (LCD), an optical light-emitting diode display (OLED), a laser-phosphor display (LPD), and/or a stereo 3D display, all arranged as a single stand-alone display, head-mounted display, or as a single or multi-screen tiled array of displays. Display sizes may range from smaller handheld or head-mounted display devices to full wall displays. In the example illustrated in FIG. 2, interactive display wall 220 includes a plurality of display tiles 230 mounted in a 2×2 array. Other configurations and array dimensions of multiple electronic display devices, e.g. 1×4, 2×3, 5×6, etc., also fall within the scope of the present invention. One embodiment of a display tile 230 is illustrated in FIG. 3.)
- acquiring position information of a plurality of users in the physical space (Carlos [0063] Alternatively or additionally, in some embodiments, camera 443 or one or more RFID sensors may be employed in sensor system 240 for detection of one or more users that are proximate interactive display wall 220, or other positions within collaboration venue 280. In such embodiments, collaboration system controller 210 may include data in presence detection data 202 indicating that one or more users are currently disposed at a particular location in collaboration venue 280, e.g., proximate interactive display wall 220. Thus, in remote collaboration venues 140 of collaboration environment 100 (not shown in FIG. 4), the location of one or more users can be indicated. [0041] Furthermore, presence detection data 202 may include location information for each user in collaboration venue 280. )
- identifying, based on the position information, a predetermined output device, among the plurality of output devices disposed in the physical space, (Carlos [0064] Display proximity sensor 444 may be any technically feasible sensor capable of detecting, without user intervention, one or more users proximate interactive display wall 220 or identifying exactly which user or users are proximate to interactive display wall 220. In some embodiments, display proximity sensor 444 may also be capable of detecting, without user intervention, to which portion of interactive display wall 220 one or more users are proximate. [0048] Interactive display wall 220 may include the display surface or surfaces of any technically feasible display device or system type, including but not limited to the display surface of a light-emitting diode (LED) display,..., all as a single or multi-screen tiled array of displays. Display sizes may range from smaller handheld or head-mounted display devices to full wall displays. In the example illustrated in FIG. 2, interactive display wall 220 includes a plurality of display tiles 230 mounted in a 2×2 array. Other configurations and array dimensions of multiple electronic display devices, e.g. 1×4, 2×3, 5×6, etc., also fall within the scope of the present invention. One embodiment of a display tile 230 is illustrated in FIG. 3. [0049] FIG. 3 is a schematic diagram of a display tile 230,...display tile 230 includes, without limitation, a display screen region 310, a light engine module 320, and a control system 330. The display screen region 310 is configured to display digital images that are visible to a viewer. [0057] For a tiled display, as illustrated in FIG. 2, image data signals 205 are appropriately distributed among display tiles 230 such that a coherent image is displayed on a display surface 221 of interactive display wall 220. [0063] In some embodiments, presence detection data 202 may indicate to what portion of interactive display wall 220 each of the one or more users are proximate. ) Since Carlos’s system identifies which display tile or portion of the display wall to activate in response to the user’s location, the limitation is satisfied.
-the predetermined output device having a predetermined positional relationship with the plurality of users (Carlos [0064] Display proximity sensor 444 may include a simple motion-detection apparatus, such as an infrared-based motion detector, so that collaboration system controller 210 may include data in presence detection data 202 indicating that one or more users are proximate to interactive display screen 220. [0074] User 601 has been detected proximate interactive display wall 220A, and icon 701 is accordingly disposed proximate the portion of diagram 721 that represents interactive display wall 220A. By contrast, users 602 and 603 have been detected as entering first collaboration venue 681, but have not been detected proximate interactive display wall 220A.) Fig. 7 displays a predetermined area that falls within the scope of “positional relationship” with the plurality of users.
- determining based on position information that the predetermined output device is an output device to be used by the plurality of users; and (Carlos [0094] In some embodiments, the sensor information may further include a location of the first user within the collaboration venue and/or relative to a display device of the collaboration venue, such as interactive display wall 220. In some embodiments, the sensor information may indicate to what portion of the display device the first user is proximate, e.g., left portion, right portion, or center portion. [0096] In step 1002, location module 128 determines whether the first user is proximate a display device of the first collaboration venue, for example based on the notification received in step 1001.)
- when the predetermined output device is determined to be the output device to be used by the plurality of users, causing the predetermined output device to output a message to one or more of the plurality of users. (Carlos [0027] An interactive window asset, or “asset,” may be any interactive renderable content that can be displayed on a display surface of collaboration system client 140...Assets may include application environments, images, videos, web browsers, documents, mirroring or renderings of laptop screens, presentation slides, any other graphical user interface (GUI) of a software application, and the like. [0044] By contrast, when all users present in collaboration venue 280 are authorized to view and/or hear the particular asset, such a status would indicate that the asset should be displayed or played normally. [0073] First collaboration venue 681 is depicted with a user 601 located within first collaboration venue 681 and proximate interactive display wall 220A, a user 602 located somewhere within first collaboration venue 681, and a user 603 that is just entering first collaboration venue 681. As shown, each of users 601, 602, and 603 has an authorization level of “A,” indicating that each may view and edit all assets currently displayed by interactive display wall 220A.) The broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) of “outputting a message” is satisfied by Carlos, in which content such as images, videos, documents, or presentation slides are displayed on the surface of the output device proximate to a user.
However, Carlos fails to teach:
- direction information of a plurality of users
- that the determine step is determining, based on the direction information, that the predetermined output device is an output device to be used by the plurality of users; and
Alternatively, Jorasch teaches:
- receiving direction information of a plurality of users(Jorasch [Col. 170 Lines 20-25] At step 9109, camera 4100 may identify a state of the object in the second image. A state of the object may include the object's color, size (e.g., if the object is a plant), configuration, state of repair, location, orientation, an indication of a possessor of the object, an indication of a user of an object, and/or any other state of the object. [Col. 170 Lines 59-67] In various embodiments, the object is identified in the second image based on the object's relationship (e.g., physical relationship) to the second user. The object may be identified based on its proximity to the second user, based on its possession by the second user, based on the second user being in contact with the object, based on the second user pointing to the object, based on the second user looking at the object and/or based on any other relationship to the second user. [Col. 175 Lines 18-32] In various embodiments, camera 4100 may determine if the distance between the first user and the object is less than or equal to a predetermined proximity threshold (e.g., less than or equal to two feet, less than or equal to zero). In various embodiments, if the distance is less than or equal to a predetermined proximity threshold, a triggering condition may be satisfied, and a signal may subsequently be output (e.g., projected). Various embodiments contemplate other triggering conditions, such as conditions where the user is looking at the object, looking in the direction of the object, gesturing towards the object (e.g., a “movement vector” computed for the motion of the first user's appendages is directed towards the object), holding the object, and/or interacting with and/or relating to the object in some other way. )
- that the determine step is determining, based on the direction information, that the predetermined output device is an output device to be used by the plurality of users; and (Jorasch [Col. 177 Lines 39-57] To do so, camera 4100 may determine, in an image, a first vector between the object and the individual (e.g., user, toddler, pet), which may represent a first distance and a first direction separating the object and the individual. Camera 4100 may also identify at least one location in the image that defines a second vector with the individual. The second vector may represent a second distance and a second direction separating the location and the individual. The location is where camera 4100 will create the distraction (e.g., by projecting a laser pointer or other light to the location). As such, the camera may identify the location such that the second vector is offset from the first vector by at least a threshold offset value, e.g., the distraction is at least the threshold offset value away from the object. The camera may then determine a direction (“bearing”) from an output device (e.g., a laser pointer, light, etc.) to the location. The camera may then cause the output device to project a signal (e.g., the distracting signal) in accordance with the bearing (e.g., in the direction of the bearing [Col. 413 Lines 55-62] In various embodiments, a projector may project an image of a speaker to a more convenient location for viewing the speaker. In a car, various embodiments provide for projecting an image of a user speaking from a backseat into the driver's visual range so the driver doesn't have to turn around to talk to the user in the backseat. Likewise, the image of the driver could be displayed on a screen of one or more of the seat backs, towards the backseats.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill the art before the effective filing date of the present disclosure to modify Carlos with the teachings of Jorasch, particularly by adding the use of direction information in Carlos’s determination of an output device to be used by a plurality of users. By additionally using direction and position information in Carlos’s teachings, one would reasonably expect the outcome of determining, based on position and direction information, an output device to be used by a plurality of users. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform this combination as it provides a more convenient location for the user, based not on just where they are but where they are facing, reducing the need for a user to turn around. (Jorasch [Col. 413 Lines 55-62] In various embodiments, a projector may project an image of a speaker to a more convenient location for viewing the speaker. In a car, various embodiments provide for projecting an image of a user speaking from a backseat into the driver's visual range so the driver doesn't have to turn around to talk to the user in the backseat.)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 03/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s remarks over claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101 have been fully considered in view of the amended claims. While the examiner appreciates that the claim no longer recites an abstract idea under “certain methods of organizing human activity,” the applicant’s assertions that the operations are not practically performable in the human mind are not persuasive. Firstly, the applicant asserts that the claim requires the use of spatial information obtained in a physical space and the conditional control of a particular physical output device among multiple devices. However, while the claims recite elements such as a predetermined output device, the claims are recited at such a high level of generality that they are claiming the identification and determination step without limiting the steps to a particular series of steps that cannot practically be performed in the human mind. The claims do not recite specific algorithm determinations, and merely claim the idea of identifying and determining the appropriate output device based on the position and directional information. Therefore, the applicant’s argument that the operations involve identifying and controlling specific physical hardware based on real-world positional and directional inputs are not persuasive because the claims are not necessarily limited a particular technological process. In other words, “cause the predetermined output device to output a message to one or more of the plurality of users,” is merely a set of instructions to perform a data output on the determined device, in any manner, but the decision of which device to output on is a judgment made in the human mind. Furthermore, even though the selection of a device is based on spatial relationships and the conditional activation of a device, since it recites mere data collection, data analysis, and data display steps wherein the data analysis is recited at such a high level of generality such that it can be performed in the human mind, it is still directed to an abstract idea. Furthermore, the examiner acknowledges that even if the output steps were more than “insignificant extra-solution activity,” the claims are still directed to an abstract idea without significantly more because the output does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Therefore, claims 1-5 and 20 are still patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 because they are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Regarding claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103, the applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive in view of the updated 103 rejection in view of Carlos and Jorasch. The applicant’s arguments in view of Shimizu, and Punwani have been fully considered but are moot as Shimizu and Punwani are not relied upon in the current amendments. Regarding Jorasch’s alleged failure to teach “identifying, based on the position information, a predetermined output device...” the applicant’s arguments are persuasive and the examiner concedes that Jorasch alone fails to teach the limitation above. However, in view of the amendments which now require physical output devices, Jorasch’s teachings are no longer relied upon alone. The combination of Carlos and Jorasch satisfy each and every limitation as clear in the rejection above. Therefore, claims 1-5 and 20 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
-Bajaj et al. (US 20230362026 A1) teaches determining the best output device available within a space, proximate to the input device based on the predicted origin point of the sound.
/NICO L PADUA/Junior Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3626
/JESSICA LEMIEUX/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3626