Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant has changed the scope of claim 1 by eliminating some features from the claim that previously were considered as the inventive part of the application. The amended claim 1, now focuses on a multi-section rotor wherein the poles of each rotor section is staggered with respect to its neighboring sections. Applicant has claimed that Reddy does not teach a multi-section rotor with staggered magnetic tile grooves.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. First, it should be noted that a magnetic tile groove is referred to a void or an empty circumferential space between adjacent poles of the rotor. It follows that if the poles of one rotor section are rotated with respect to the poles of an adjacent rotor section, the magnetic tile grooves- the empty spaces- must follow the poles and rotate by the same amount. If as Applicant has acknowledged that in Reddy’s case, the “shaft protrusion cut” is angularly shifted, then the grooves- the empty spaces- must also shift. Referring to the annotated fig. 3 presented in this Office action, one can clearly see an angular shift between adjacent rotor sections.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, for claim 2, “a projection of a centerline of each magnetic tile groove on an end face of the rotor section” and “a circle centered on the center of the end face of the rotor section” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In claim 2, the limitation of “a projection of a centerline of each magnetic tile groove on an end face of the rotor section is tangential to a circle centered on the center of the end face of the rotor section” has not been described in the specification or shown on any of the figures.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In Claim 2, the limitation “a projection of a centerline of each magnetic tile groove on an end face of the rotor section is tangential to a circle centered on the center of the end face of the rotor section” is indefinite. It’s not clear what the applicant is trying to communicate. The word “tangential” has been used only once in the specification: “The Cogging torque is the torque generated by the interaction between the permanent magnet and the stator core when the permanent magnet motor winding is not energized. It is caused by the tangential component of the interaction between the permanent magnet and the armature teeth.” But this instant of tangential has nothing to do with the limitation in claim 2. Also, the word “circle” has not appeared even once in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 7 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reddy et al. (US 20150035402 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Reddy discloses a motor rotor structure (10, fig. 3) comprising:
a rotor iron core comprising a plurality of rotor sections (rotor sections, annotated fig. 3; stacks of laminations forming a plurality of lamination groups- see the abstract) arranged along an axial direction (axis, annotated fig. 3); and
a plurality of magnetic tile grooves (grooves, annotated fig. 1A) uniformly distributed on a circumference of each rotor section (see fig. 1A);
wherein magnetic tile grooves on adjacent ones of the plurality of rotor sections are circumferentially offset from one another at a joint surface between the adjacent rotor sections (see offsets between adjacent rotor sections in annotated fig. 3); and
wherein the magnetic tile grooves of the adjacent rotor sections are staggered at an angle (same as the rotation angle between adjacent rotor sections; see para [0039]: “As shown in FIGS. 8 and 9, the shaft protrusion cut 58 is formed so as to be offset from center 76 by an angle--indicated as 88 - that is selected during manufacturing of the lamination.”).
Reddy does not disclose the angle is in the range of 0.5° to 7° but does disclose that the relative rotation of poles in adjacent rotor segments results in reduced torque ripple (see para [0002]: “rotor laminations are shifted along an axial length of the machine to reduce torque ripple”) and the value is selected during manufacturing.
Reddy, in para [0037], also provides a maximum range for the angular offset between adjacent rotor segments: “The angle 80 by which the shaft protrusion cut 58 is positioned off-center has a maximum value of about half of the slot pitch--which is defined as the angle between two slots multiplied by the number of pole-pairs. It is recognized that the angular offset 80 of the shaft protrusion cut 58 from center 76 could be less than this maximum value.”
Adjusting the relative rotation angle between adjacent rotor sections and measuring torque ripple as a function of the rotation angle is within the skills of a person having ordinary skills in the art.
To minimize the torque ripple, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the rotation angle is the range of 0.5° to 7°.
Regarding claim 3, Reddy discloses the motor rotor structure according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of rotor sections comprises two rotor sections (see two rotor sections in the annotated fig. 3).
Regarding claim 5, Reddy discloses the motor rotor structure according to claim 1, wherein an outer wall of each rotor section is uniformly formed with rotor skewing (see skewing between adjacent rotor sections in fig. 3), the rotor skewing comprising a plurality of surface features (surface features, annotated fig. 3; see the dips or channels on top of the embedded magnets) distributed around the circumference of the rotor section.
Regarding claim 7, Reddy discloses the motor rotor structure according to claim 5, but does not disclose wherein a first connection line between a midpoint of a first magnetic tile groove (interpreted as: midpoint of an outer radial side of a first magnetic tile groove) on an end face of the rotor section and a center of the end face of the rotor section, and a second connecting line between the midpoint of a bottom edge of the rotor skewing (interpreted as: midpoint of an inner radial side of a first magnetic tile groove) on a same end face of the rotor section and the center of the end face of the rotor section having an angle of 0° to 1°.
However, Reddy discloses a “spoke” type permanent magnet rotor (see the title) which implies the magnets are placed radially and this implies the angle will be zero.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to that the rotation angle is 0° to 1°.
Regarding claim 11, Reddy discloses an electric motor (10, fig. 1A) comprising a motor rotor structure as described in claim 1.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reddy et al. (US 20150035402 A1) in view of Xiao et al. (CN 217720984 U).
Regarding claim 6, Reddy discloses the motor rotor structure according to claim 1, but does not disclose: wherein the plurality of magnetic tile grooves is configured to receive magnetic steel elements of different lengths.
Xiao teaches a rotor (see fig. 2, above) that is similar to the rotor disclosed by Cai. However, Xiao uses magnetic steel elements of different lengths to achieve the best level of cost (see abstract: “according to the requirement of the motor performance, dividing a magnetic tile body into 2-4 magnetic separating tiles according to the design performance requirement, each magnetic tile can be designed into different sizes and materials with different performance and price according to the requirement, The performance of the designed new motor can reach the requirement (there is no excess or shortage), and the best level of the cost is achieved.”)
To optimize cost, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the rotor structure in such a way that: the plurality of magnetic tile grooves is configured to receive magnetic steel elements of different lengths.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Lin et al. (CN 116526712 A) discloses a multi-section rotor structure assembly wherein each section has a plurality of magnetic tile grooves magnets are uniformly distributed on a circumference of each rotor section (fig. 1); wherein magnetic tile grooves on adjacent ones of the plurality of rotor sections are circumferentially offset from one another at a joint surface between the adjacent rotor sections (fig. 2); and wherein the magnetic tile grooves of the adjacent rotor sections are staggered at an angle of 2° to 25°. Several additional references pertinent to the instant application are listed on the form PTO-892.
/MASOUD VAZIRI/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/OLUSEYE IWARERE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834