DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Regarding rejections of the claims under §103:
Claims 1-2, 4, and 6-10 were rejected as being obvious over Lin in view of Sunonwealth. Claims 3, 11, and 13-15 were rejected as being obvious over Lin in view of Sunonwealth and Kuo. The Applicant amended claim 13 and added new claim 16.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/9/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argued that Lin does not teach a recess. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The drawings of Lin including FIG. 3A comprise part of the disclosure and the image depicts a recess in the rotor hub portion, therefore Lin discloses such a recess. The sectional view of FIG. 4 could be from an axis that does not intersect the recesses. The Applicant argued that Sunonwealth does not teach a hub extending through the at least one recess, wherein an outer peripheral surface of the rotor pot is completely surrounded by the hub. The Applicant points to the shaft not being accommodated in a hub, instead a joining member that does not constitute a hub extending through a recess. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. In view of the rotor hub of Lin, the corresponding hub of Sunonwealth comprises both the member 12 and the hub 14 as they are injection molded together and integrally combined. The Applicant also argued that Sunonwealth does not teach the rotor pot’s outer peripheral surface being completely surrounded. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As the member 12 and the hub 14 both comprise the rotor hub of Sunonwealth, the rotor pot’s outer peripheral surface that is on the radially outer surface is completely surrounded by the portion 14. The Applicant argued that there is no rationale to modify Lin with Sunonwealth. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Having an overmolded portion going through a hole in the rotor pot would create a more secure connection. Therefore, the claims remain rejected over the prior art of record.
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 16 line 4 the phrase “rotor out” appears to have been meant to be “rotor pot.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-10, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2006/0208590 to Lin et al. (hereinafter Lin; cited by Applicant on 3/28/2024) in view of Chinese Patent No. 202260696 to Sunonwealth Electr Mach Ind Co (hereinafter Sunonwealth; provided by Applicant on 3/28/2024).
Regarding claim 1, Lin teaches a rotor (Paragraph [0001]) with a rotor pot (FIG. 4, 50), a hub (FIG. 4, 70), and a shaft (FIG. 4, 60), wherein the rotor pot, the hub, and the shaft are rotatable about an axis of rotation of the rotor,
wherein the shaft is accommodated in a hub bushing of the hub to form a shaft-hub connection (Paragraph [0020]),
wherein the rotor pot has a receptacle (FIG. 4, 52) for the hub and the hub is secured to the rotor pot at least in the region of the receptacle (FIG. 4, 53),
wherein an edge portion (FIG. 4, 53) of the receptacle of the rotor pot extends at least partially parallel to the axis of rotation (FIG. 4, 53: extends axially), and
wherein at least one recess (see annotated FIG. 3A) is formed in the receptacle, in which the recess is located adjacent to the edge portion (FIG. 3A, 53).
Lin does not teach the hub extending through the at least one recess, wherein an outer peripheral surface of the rotor pot is completely surrounded by the hub and/or a fan wheel.
However, Sunonwealth teaches a hub (FIG. 8, 14) extending through a recess (FIG. 8, 114), wherein an outer peripheral surface of the rotor pot (FIG. 8, 11) is completely surrounded by the hub (FIG. 8, 14).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rotor of Lin with the hub recess configuration of Sunonwealth to form a more secure connection between the hub and the receptacle.
Regarding claim 2, Lin in view of Sunonwealth teaches the rotor according to claim 1, wherein Lin further teaches the edge portion of the receptacle extending parallel to the axis of rotation (FIG. 4, 53: extends axially).
Regarding claim 4, Lin in view of Sunonwealth teaches the rotor according to claim 1, wherein Lin further teaches the shaft having a portion with grooves (FIG. 3A, 61), wherein the portion is accommodated in the hub bushing (Paragraph [0022]).
Regarding claim 6, Lin in view of Sunonwealth teaches the rotor according to claim 1, wherein Lin further teaches a multiplicity of recesses being formed in the receptacle, wherein the recesses are arranged distributed in the circumferential direction of the receptacle (see annotated FIG. 3A above).
Regarding claim 7, Lin in view of Sunonwealth teaches the rotor according to claim 1, wherein Lin further teaches the at least one recess being arranged in a portion of the rotor pot, wherein the portion extends in a radial direction with respect to the axis of rotation (FIG. 3A, 52).
Regarding claim 8, Lin in view of Sunonwealth teaches the rotor according to claim 1, wherein Lin further teaches the hub completely enclosing the receptacle (FIG. 3C, 70; FIG. 4, 70).
Regarding claim 9, Lin in view of Sunonwealth teaches the rotor according to claim 1.
Lin does not teach the hub being made of a plastic and being injection-molded at least onto the receptacle by means of an injection molding process.
However, Sunonwealth teaches a hub (FIG. 8, 14) being made of a plastic and being injection-molded at least onto a receptacle by means of an injection molding process (Paragraph [0080]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rotor of Lin with the injection molding of Sunonwealth to have a more secure and easily formed rotor fabrication.
Regarding claim 10, Lin in view of Sunonwealth teaches the rotor according to claim 1, wherein Lin further teaches the rotor pot being made of a metallic material (Paragraph [0018]).
Regarding claim 16, Lin in view of Sunonwealth teaches the rotor according to claim 1, wherein Sunonwealth further teaches a projection of the hub extending radially with respect to the axis of rotation over a distal axial end of the rotor pot (FIG. 8, portion of 14 on lower portion of figure) that is distally located opposite a proximal end of the rotor pot in the region of the receptacle (FIG. 8, portion near 12).
Claims 3, 11, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Sunonwealth and in further view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0148086 to Kuo et al. (hereinafter Kuo; cited by Applicant on 3/28/2024).
Regarding claim 3, Lin in view of Sunonwealth teaches the rotor according to claim 1, wherein Lin further teaches the rotor comprising an accommodation space (see annotated FIG. 4), wherein the edge portion (FIG. 4, 53) extends into the accommodation space.
Lin in view of Sunonwealth does not teach an electric motor in the accommodation space.
However, Kuo teaches a rotor pot (FIG. 2, 22) with an electric motor (FIG. 2, 2M) in its accommodation space.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the electric motor of Kuo into the accommodation space of Lin in view of Sunonwealth as it is space efficient to place the motor in the rotor pot and results in a potentially more effective outer rotor design.
Regarding claim 11, Lin in view of Sunonwealth teaches the rotor according to claim 1.
Lin in view of Sunonwealth does not teach the rotor pot being formed, at least in sections, as a yoke ring.
However, Kuo teaches a rotor pot (FIG. 2, 22) being formed as a yoke ring (Paragraph [0021]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rotor of Lin in view of Sunonwealth with the yoke ring of Kuo to form a potentially more effective outer rotor design.
Regarding claim 13, Lin in view of Sunonwealth teaches the rotor according to claim 1.
Lin in view of Sunonwealth does not teach a fan with a fan wheel and a rotor, wherein in particular the hub is formed integrally with the fan wheel.
However, Kuo teaches a fan (FIG. 2, I) with a fan wheel (FIG. 2, B), wherein in particular the hub (FIG. 2, H) is formed integrally with the fan wheel (Paragraph [0011]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rotor of Lin in view of Sunonwealth by incorporating it into the fan of Kuo for the fan of Kuo to benefit from the features of the rotor of Lin in view of Sunonwealth.
Regarding claim 14, Lin in view of Sunonwealth teaches a method for producing a rotor according to claim 1, comprising the steps of:
deep-drawing (Lin Paragraph [0018]) the rotor pot in the region of the receptacle in such a manner that the edge portion of the receptacle of the rotor pot extends at least partially parallel to the axis of rotation (Lin FIG. 4, 53: extends axially);
punching at least one recess in the receptacle adjacent to the edge portion (Lin Paragraph [0018]);
overmolding the rotor pot at least in the region of the receptacle and the recess (Paragraph [0020]), wherein in particular the receptacle is completely overmolded (Lin FIG. 4, 52) and the recess is at least partially overmolded (Sunonwealth FIG. 8; 114, 14);
inserting the shaft into the hub bushing, in particular the portion of the shaft with grooves, when overmolding the rotor pot to form the shaft-hub connection (Lin FIG. 3A-3C; Paragraph [0012]; [0020]).
Lin in view of Sunonwealth does not teach the hub and in particular a fan wheel being formed integrally with the hub.
However, Kuo teaches a fan wheel (FIG. 2, B) being formed integrally with the hub (FIG. 2, H; Paragraph [0011]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lin in view of Sunonwealth by incorporating the rotor of Lin in view of Sunonwealth it into the fan of Kuo for the fan of Kuo to benefit from the features of the rotor of Lin in view of Sunonwealth.
Regarding claim 15, Lin in view of Sunonwealth and Kuo teaches the method according to claim 14, wherein Lin further teaches the shaft being pre-positioned in a predetermined manner in the recess before overmolding (FIG. 3A-3C; Paragraph [0020]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. 2013/0009494 to Oguma teaches an outer rotor hub and fan wheel cast of resin around a rotor pot.
/JOSHUA KIEL M RODRIGUEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2834